Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Custom, Modern, Family Beach Home, Steps to Beach, Ocean View,

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Large High End Home indoor/outdoor living; Ocean Views sleeps 8 adults + kids

Location is everything, this home is located a block from the sandy beaches in North PB (Pacific Beach). Watch the sunset from one of our many decks or you can walk down to the beach and enjoy your morning coffee while watching local surfers or relax on the grassy park to enjoy a beautiful sunset. You can even stroll down the boardwalk to one of the many restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. There are many great eats within blocks of this beach home. Some of our favorite are: Kono's, Taco Surf, Mr. Moto Pizza, Oriental Thai, Water Bar, Leilani's, Breakfast Republic, and more.

The first floor of the home has the main living area with kitchen/great room. The kitchen is fully stocked, chef kitchen with everything you could need to cook in style with your family. Kitchen includes full set of pots, pans, coffee maker, French press coffee maker, espresso machine, blender, toaster, food processor, Cuisenart Knives, cooking utensils, silverware, drink ware, dishes, plastic dishes and cups, hand soap, dish soap, and dishwasher soap. In addition, we provide cooking oil, spices, foil, plastic wrap, baggies, multiple kitchen towels, paper plates, plastic cups and silverware, tub-a-ware, baggies, a new sponge, plenty of garbage bags, multiple paper towel and napkin refills, a bag of coffee for each day of your stay, creamers, and a variety of tea to ensure you have what you need on your vacation.

The great room has a 55" flat screen TV with cable and a Blueray player. comfortable couches for your family to relax.

The great room opens to the newly remodeled indoor outdoor luxury backyard which has a gas fireplace, built in professional grill and sink, and a outdoor shower. There is a bocce ball area on the side of the house and giant jenga available to use. In the backyard you will also find many thing to make your beach days more enjoyable, including beach chairs, beach toys for younger kids, boogie boards, and a soft top surf board. After a day at the beach, return your private backyard retreat, shower off outside, sit by the fire, grill and play some games.

There is also a den/playroom/5th bdrm off the kitchen with a 50" flat screen TV and Xbox 360. A queen air mattress is provided so the home sleeps up to 10. There are over two dozen games and movies to use. The TV is connected to a Roku so you can watch your Netflix, Prime Video and more in the room. This room has pocket doors to close so guess can enjoy an more intimate viewing experience (perfect for kids to enjoy their own shows)

The first floor also has 2 bedrooms (a queen and a full) and a full bathroom. The laundry area is also located on the first floor.

The 2nd floor has the master suite (King bed) and private on-suite. Bedroom 3 (2 twin bed) and a half bath are located on the 2nd floor. The 2nd floor living room opens up to a deck providing another area for you and your family to relax and enjoy the ocean breeze. A second BBQ is provided for you with propane on the deck. Take the spiral stair case up to the roof top deck where there is a dining table, bar top table, and chairs to enjoy the ocean view and sunset.

This home starts the beginning of the North End of the Pacific Beach boardwalk. Just a two blocks away from the Bird Rock area in La Jolla. Walk a few blocks to coffee shops, restaurants, and shopping. 5 minutes to Sea World. Jump on the 5 freeway and have quick access (10 -15 drive) to Balboa Park, Zoo, North Park, Hillcrest, Downtown, Petco park, Little Italy. Head north on the 5 freeway to spend the day in North County San Diego - Encinitas, Solana Beach, Cardiff, Carlsbad, Legoland and much more.

Guest Age Requirement: 25+ unless children accompanied by parents. All adult groups must be approved in advance.

Dog Friends: $100 dog fee

Master bedroom has new Tempurpedic mattress. All other beds have memory foam tops.

We provide one beach towel per guest, a set of 10 towels bath towels, one wash cloth per guest, hand towels, and fresh linens.

Note: Thank you so much for your interest in our home. Please be aware that due to a high number of requests, we book on a selective basis. Thank you for your understanding.

More Details

Owner
Jon and Mahogany
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2018

About Jon and Mahogany

Our families loves to travel. We love living in San Diego, especially because we are a block from the beach, but we enjoy spending our summers exploring. Since we live in Pacific Beach, a beautiful beach community in San Diego where the beach is our back yard, we wanted to share our home so other families can experience the beach and many attractions of San Diego. We welcome you into our home to make lifetime memories!

Jon and Mahogany purchased this house in 1999

What makes this house unique

This is a great area to walk to get any meal throughout the day. The beach is 1 block away. You can spend your entire trip enjoying the beach and great places to eat without ever leaving Pacific Beach. Sea World is a 5 minute car ride from the house. Want to venture out? Once you get on the 5 freeway you can easily reach all the great spots of San Diego: Balboa Park, Zoo, Downtown, Sea Port Village, Petco Park, Hillcrest/North Park, Little Italy, Encinitas, Lego Land.

Amenities

North Pacific Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Outdoor heated shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Air mattress available to sleep up to 2 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Custom, Modern, Family Beach Home, Steps to Beach, Ocean View,
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
1

had potential, but an unhappy stay

  • 1 of 5

Our girls' weekend at this property started off poorly with the housekeepers still there when we arrived at 3pm, and they surprisingly left without mopping or finishing the cleaning. Then the AC broke, during a hot weekend, making it hard to sleep. Normally we'd just open the windows, but that wasn't an option because the property is on a busy street; traffic and passers were too noisy. The back and forth with the owners was a challenge and disappointing. We requested a discount on the 2 miserable nights, and all we got in response from the owner was an implication that we were lucky to get our damage deposit back, as if we had anything to do with the broken AC. There are other places to stay in this lovely area for the amount of $ being asked - I would book elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our family is sorry to hear you had an unhappy stay. We strive to provide only the best experience while you enjoy our home and our community on your vacation. Our house cleaners provide exceptional attention to detail, and we regret it took an extra 15 minutes to provide the spotless home you deserve upon your arrival. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, to prevent this problem in the future. We are sad and surprised to see your review, because when we spoke you thanked us and you mentioned “It was no big deal, we were able to co-mingle as they finished mopping, and the house was perfect.” Unforeseen events, out of our control, can occur. Unfortunately the AC coils froze over after it was set to run at 62 degrees, resulting in repair half way through your stay. When we were notified of the problem at 1:03 am Saturday morning we responded in minutes and were apologetic for not being able to provide an AC repairman in the middle of the night on a holiday weekend. We discussed solutions with you, including opening windows to enjoy the current ocean breeze of 71 degrees and using ceiling fans in each room, while allowing the unit to thaw out. At 10:30 am the next day, the AC was inspected and it was determined that we needed a replacement part to complete the repair. We provided extra fans for the rooms. Pacific Beach is one of the most popular destinations in San Diego. The 4th of July Weekend will draw ½ million people to enjoy perfect weather and beautiful beaches. We agree the house is in one of most desirable locations at the beach, and the crowds can produce noise. We appreciate that you sent us a message thanking us for promptly addressing the issue and doing everything we could to fix the AC. Our family is shocked to hear about your hardship, after your stay. We're sorry you couldn’t sleep due to the heat and people walking on the beach and you would like a refund. We responded within minutes to all questions and could have addressed your problems during your stay. We pride ourselves on making your stay the best it can be, and we do not feel sleeping in 71 degree temperatures at a desirable beach, warrants a refund of your stay. We know by not refunding your money, it caused a one star review, but we have learned from this, and we will prevent the AC unit from causing future headaches. Please feel free to read all of our other reviews, and thank you for understanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love this home!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with our family for a couple days get away and loved this Home. The interior design is top notch resort! The sinks were all custom and so neat. Loved the wood floors. Perfect location near beach and shops. We walked down to the light and across the street is the beach. We used one of the boogie boards and my nephew loved it! Thanks for all the supplied beach towels. We parked out front and ended up not having to drive much at all as we ordered from uber eats/ grub hub, we didn’t want to leave the house it was so fun and views better than any restaurant. Loved the seating arrangements to relax outside. The views of the water and sunset so worth the stay! Beds were comfy. We couldn’t find the air mattress and we didn’t ask but it all worked out with the 4 bedrooms since it only ended up being 8 of us. Loved the kitchen and tv room ; kids shut the door off and watched a movie. We sat out by the outdoor fireplace. Kitchen very well stocked. The only thing that would make it even better would be to have a couple more chairs on the roof that are bar height. There was a tall table with 2 bar stool chairs and a table w low chairs. The roof was the best! We used one of the shorter chairs and I couldn’t see the sun setting so I stood. But loved the fresh air and views . Beautiful home. Thank you for sharing your home with VRBO.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

SIMPLY AWESOME!

  • 5 of 5

We were here with a group of friends for a weekend getaway, and had a great time! A perfect house for our size group. The beds were super comfortable! And the outside spaces at the house are great to enjoy outside activities! Oh, and the LOCATION is awesome!!!

We would recommend this house without a doubt!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Graduation Getaway

  • 4 of 5

I went online looking for a last-minute beach getaway after our son graduated. The home is gorgeous! It is in close proximity to the beach, Belmont Park and much more!! Jon was attentive to our needs when we needed him. The only downfall I can say about the location is that the house is located on Mission so you do hear the traffic. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. In the summer everyone wants to be at our beach which can bring extra traffic. Sorry for the traffic but just think how lucky you are to stay in such a high demand area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family stay for College Graduation

  • 5 of 5

The house is beautifully kept and was ideal for our family to stay while attending our son's graduation from UCSD. It slept all of us very comfortably and the house is very well stocked for cooking and BBQing. Great location...easy walk to the beach for gorgeous sunset views and very walkable to downtown PB to enjoy the restaurants, etc. We brought our own air mattress for the extra bedroom and my only comment would be to either inform guests to bring their own extra blankets or provide some for guest use. Otherwise, it's a perfect home for a large family. Thank you for allowing us to use it.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed the house and BBQing. Sorry to hear about the sheets. In the downstairs closet we have extra sheets, a quilt, extra pillows and the air mattress. We will make sure they are labeled better next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Remarkable experience. Amazing home

  • 5 of 5

Truly a fantastic home. I was in town for a wedding and the home made our weekend that much more memorable. 5 stars all around. Clean, spacious and amazing location. The hosts were welcoming and easy to communicate with. A++++

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10.6 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Car: not necessary

Sea World 4.1 miles

Belmont Park Mission Beach 2.3 miles

San Diego Zoo 12.1 miles

Balboa Park 12.1 miles

Old Town San Diego 6.7 miles

Petco Park 11 miles

Sea Port Village 10.7 miles

San Diego Safari Park 34 miles

LEGOLAND 28.5 miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties