Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927


Bedrooms 3
Space 3,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights


About the property

Private 2900 Sf. 3b Home W/Stunning Views, Swaying Palms, Tranquil Surf

GORGEOUS VIEWS!! The ultimate family or couples beach vacation home base, this spacious single level home is seconds from the sand and the pristine Pacific. Stroll from the lanai to the surf line among dunes covered with beautiful flowering native shrubs and a small state-owned sanctuary for our endangered Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles, and then along the coastline for shell gathering, and whale-watching (in season).

Hear the lapping waves at night, and feel the trades off the water in the afternoons. A small stretch of sandy beach directly in front of the home is largely unknown to our island's visitors, making it a special place to experience seasonal whale-watching, sun-drenched lounging, and spectacular day's end sunsets.

Enjoy stunning views from the large, open living area, dining area and master bedroom with ocean-facing walk-out sliders equipped with solar shades.

Remodeled from the ground up in 2007, and well-maintained, this home is set up to seamlessly host indoor and outdoor living. A gracious kitchen is equipped with every necessity. The bedrooms are nicely separated, and are all en-suite.

Décor was hand selected on Bali and from other south seas destinations in tasteful island style. Every convenience, including central AC, cable, WiFi, washer/dryer, Weber gas BBQ grill, and plenty of beach equipment including comfortable Tommy Bahama beach chairs.

Master Bedroom has King with tub and shower and double sinks. Bedroom two: 2 Queens. Bedroom 3: Two custom over-sized twins.

Sorry, absolutely no wedding parties or other large gatherings, per our permit.

Hawaii Tax ID No. W22298820-01.

More Details

Property Manager
Sherry Spaise
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018

About Sherry Spaise

My clients and friends, Neal and Stacey Schneider, purchased this gorgeous home just two years ago with the dream of offering it to vacationers from all parts of the world. They have put many hours and thought into decorating and upgrading to ensure every guest has a beautiful Maui vacation experience. I am fortunate to live here on Maui, and ensure every reservation goes smoothly from the initial inquiry to the day of departure. We hope you'll enjoy our Kihei Beach House as much as we do. Aloha, Sherry

Sherry Spaise purchased this house in 2015

Why Sherry Spaise chose Kihei

This property is located on a gorgeous stretch of coastline , in one of the most desirable neighborhoods in south Maui. The views are spectacular. There are many activities and plenty of shopping and dining options within easy walking distance. The interior of the home is spacious and tastefully decorated, with all the comforts of home.

What makes this house unique

Wonderful location to view whales in the winter months. Spectacular sunsets every night. Perfect for tropical photography with swaying palm trees. Nearby Hawaiian green sea turtle nesting site. Launch kayaks right from shore. Large lanai area for dining, relaxing and enjoying the views.


Kihei House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Two custom over-sized twins 48"x80"
  • All bedrooms are en-suite
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair accessible
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Information about luaus, water sports, etc available on request.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.64 based on 25 reviews
St. Louis, MO

Amazing beach house

  • 5 of 5

This house is great! The view grabs you from the moment you walk in. Sitting on the back lanai is like looking a postcard. We stopped what we were doing each evening to watch the sun set over the ocean. Beautiful. The house is very well-equipped. Nice towels. Comfortable beds. Plush beach towels and comfy beach chairs. They even have coolers for days spent exploring other beaches. The cabinetry is stunning and kitchen has nice pots and knives. The beach behind the house was like a private beach. We enjoyed watching stingrays and sea turtles swimming right there! Sherry is quick to respond and made booking easy. We also appreciated the welcome flowers and treats. Such a nice touch! We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Don’t recommend for families with little kids

  • 2 of 5

The two stars is for Sherry, she is kind and easy to work with and easy to get ahold of. And the beach is a short walk down a public path to the left of the house. However for a few hundred more you can stay at a luxury home with amazing housekeepers. The house keeper at this property does not do a good job. We stayed at the house next door to the left the week before we moved over to this rental. We saw the renters before us leave and the house keeper didn’t show up until the day we were supposed to check in, the house smelled horrible and the fridge was not cleaned, however I didn’t complain because Sherry let us check in early. The house is comfortable but they have a white couch and white chairs that are hard to clean and just don’t make sense for a rental house. The house keeper also did not leave us much for a weeks stay, we had a roll of paper towels, some toilet paper, and a few trash bags, we didn’t even have a cleaner to clean up so we had to get some at the store. This rental is not worth the money. We cleaned emptied all trash and they still filed a claim because of a few Cheerios on the floor, some sand, and to clean the couch & one chair, and they said the maid had to stay longer. The maid needs a helper or a new job, she took pictures of Cheerios instead of just picking them up. I’m positive the couch was from the previous renters but the chair was from my toddler. So no I don’t recommend this home and if you do stay make sure take pictures of how it is when you arrive and when you leave. It took a long time to get any of our deposit back because of the claim, which is also why this review was not left earlier when we stayed. Sherry is great hopefully they can turn things around. One last tip for the home owners, the most comfortable outdoor furniture is in the front of the house that rarely gets used, maybe switch that to the back and make the backyard more comfortable instead of those awful hard chairs, the back could be so much more relaxing if it had comfortable furniture, a hot tub, and a more welcoming feel. Best of luck.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2018
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our guests experience is of utmost importance to us and we welcome any and all feedback. We were not prepared for what we encountered upon this guests check-out. Incidentally, this is the first guest in more than two years that we have assessed an additional cleaning fee, and it was well deserved. We’ll spare most of the details, but we regret we can’t post photos of the poor condition this guest left our beautiful home. The beige sofa and ALL dining room chairs were heavily soiled with food and unknown substances and had to be professionally cleaned. Some of these stains were larger than a hand. There was excessive sand on every surface, in every room, including the kitchen, in the beds and door tracks. The area rug beneath the dining room table apparently had a week’s worth of food and drink spillage and had obviously never been addressed during the entire stay. There was just a consistent disregard and disrespect for property that left us no choice but to respond with an additional fee. In our check-in instructions we encourage our guests NOT to go overboard with cleaning upon check-out – our goal is a leisurely, relaxed guest stay from start to finish. However, in this instance, our cleaning crew was just overwhelmed. With regards to the insurance claim and reimbursement for the cost of cleaning the sofa and chairs, we were in constant communication with this guest updating them of the claim process with the insurance company. Due to California's natural disasters and the resulting back-up of claims processing for vacation homes, it took a longer than usual amount of time from the filing date for the funds to arrive. It is true that our cleaners were on site the day of check-in, as they are with every booking, to open the house, turn on the lights and air conditioning and do a quick overview and touch up if needed. The house was cleaned thoroughly on the day the previous guest checked out, as is done with every booking. The claims of “smelling bad” and a dirty refrigerator are confusing. Our check-in instructions urge our guests to call us immediately if conditions aren’t perfect upon arrival. We didn’t receive a call about these conditions, nor did we hear about these issues at any point during or after the stay, until we read the review, which was posted 4 months after departure. We trust that our future guests judge our property and our practices among the overwhelming majority of our guest reviews and recognize this review for what it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Would NOT recommend this rental to anyone.

  • 2 of 5

The inside of the house was pleasant, plenty of room for the seven of us. For the money is was nothing to get excited about. The property outside was a total nightmare. Very small patio facing the ocean, the area where you sit to watch sunsets, barbecue, have morning coffee etc. Dirty. The landscape between patio and the ocean was unsightly. Plenty of thorny type bushes, NOT recommended or any children, we had three teenagers. We had to walk off to the side on a easement to get to the ocean. The ocean was NOT an area of interest also, no waves, etc.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: On the rare occasion that our guests do not have a wonderful stay at our beach front home (21 of our 24 reviews were rated 5 stars) we always look for ways to improve. However, despite our best efforts, we can't improve on Mother Nature: the landscape between our home and the ocean is a natural setting, not manicured. There is a soft, sandy path to the beach, right next to the home (in our photos). And the beach area out front is almost always calm -- for our guests who want waves, we direct them two blocks South, to "The Cove," our area's surf break. We can't help wondering -- since this guest stayed in May, and waited until February to post this review -- if there was something else going on. Maybe the insurance claim we had to file with VRBO's insurance carrier because of a soiled mattress? Having said all of that, we wish her nothing but Aloha.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful home on the beach!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house in Kihei through Maui Tropical Rentals and dealt with Sherry Spaise. We had an excellent experience. Sherry was very prompt in responding to emails and very helpful with our questions. The home we rented was exactly as described on the website. There were no surprises. The house was well maintained and had mostly everything you would need for a week in Maui. The location was ideal. The neighbourhood was quiet and enough away from the crowds to have a private evening watching the sunset in the backyard. Multiple beaches were just a short drive away. I have no hesitation in recommending this rental for your stay in Maui. I would also have no hesitation in renting through Sherry again.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect place for a family vacation!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we walked into this beautiful home, we felt immediately welcome! The home has gorgeous views and is very well kept. Everything we needed was on site. Very large living area made it comfortable for our whole family to relax after a fun filled day. Would recommend this rental property to all!!

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great rental, exactly as advertised

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay at this property, comfortably fit 5 adults. Great location, photos are exactly as advertised. Will definitely rent again in the future.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Taverna Maui
Italian Restaurant
Cane & Canoe
Hawaiian Restaurant
Kapalua Beach
The Banyan Tree
Seafood Restaurant
Merriman's Maui
Fine Dining Restaurant
Kitchen 5315
The Gazebo
American Restaurant
Burger Shack
Fast Food Restaurant
Oneloa Beach
Beach Bum's BBQ & Island Grill
Barbecue Restaurant
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Joey's Kitchen Napili
Mama's Rib's & Rotisserie
Barbecue Restaurant
Honolua Bay
China Boat Restaurant
Pan-Asian Restaurant
Honolua Farms Kitchen
Organic Restaurant
Maui Brewing Company Brewpub
Hawaiian Village Coffee
Coffee Shop
Dollie's Pub & Café
Pizza Restaurant
Miso Phat Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Beach House Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Bad Ass Coffee
Coffee Shop
Ohana Tacos - Maui
Taco Restaurant
Honokowai Okazuya & Deli
Fish Market Maui
Seafood Market
Teppanyaki 2 Go
Hawaiian Restaurant
L & L Hawaiian BBQ Honokowai
Hawaiian Restaurant
Java Jazz
Pizza Paradiso Mediterranean Grill
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nachos Grande
Mexican Restaurant
Slappy Cakes
Breakfast Restaurant
Duke's Beach House
Seafood Restaurant
Aina Gourmet Market
Coffee Shop
Pulehu, An Italian Grill
Italian Restaurant
Pailolo Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Castaway Cafe
American Restaurant
Royal Ocean Terrace Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
China Bowl Asian Cuisine
Chinese Restaurant
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Island Press Coffee
Coffee Shop
Hanks Haute Dogs
Fast Food Restaurant
Teppan-yaki Dan
Japanese Restaurant
Black Rock Steak & Seafood
Seafood Restaurant
The Cliff Dive Bar
Bar & Grill
Ka’anapali Beach
Tiki Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Tiki Terrace
Hawaiian Restaurant
Legends of Ka'anapali Luau
Hawaiian Restaurant
Häagen-Dazs® Ice Cream Shop
Dessert Shop
Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
40 Metres
Hidden Beach
Car: recommended

Located right on the ocean in one of South Maui's most exclusive neighborhoods, this home was designed to embrace the island's beach culture in a private setting that brings to mind Old Hawaii. Swaying coconut palms, beautiful flowering native shrubs, expansive ocean views, tropical breezes, and the sound of the lapping surf at night: this home is the perfect base for the ultimate family or couples vacation. Just a few blocks from the heart of Kihei's beach culture, and the world class Kamaole beaches. Lovely "Hidden Beach," known for its lack of foot traffic, fronts this amazing property. Beyond the back yard you will find a state-owned sanctuary, where our protected Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles come to nest and nap on the sun-drenched dunes. Starbucks, Kihei Library, Foodland, and a dozen restaurants are within 5 blocks. Surf South Maui's surf break (The Cove) just a few blocks south at beautiful Kalama Beach Park. Snorkel some of the most beautiful reef in the island, and sunbathe on South Maui's amazing postcard beaches...all just a short walk away. Paddleboard and kayak right from there (or rent gear/take lessons a few blocks away). Seven minutes from Wailea.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Management Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $375
Tax Rate 14.42%

Rates and fees are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Hawaii Accommodation Tax rate will increase by 1% to 14.42% beginning Jan 1, 2018. Any future guest booking made for dates between Nov 1, 2017 and Jan 1, 2018 that paid 14.42% in tax will receive a 1% refund after final balance is paid.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.