Our lake house has 3 floors with 5 bedrooms. Upstairs has 2 bedrooms which sleeps 4 and has a full bath. The main floor has 2 bedrooms which also sleeps 4 with a full bath as well as the living room, dining area, kitchen and deck access. The bottom floor has a bedroom which sleeps 2 with a private bath and a large carpeted seating area which leads to the lower deck with steps that go down to the floating dock. Amenities include central AC and heat, microwave, stove/oven, dishwasher, washer and dryer, landline phone, cable TV and Wi-Fi access. There are two outside decks overlooking the lake and mountains.
- Cabin3300 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 nights
Five bedrooms, three full baths, outside decks overlooking lake and mountains
Will G. Jones
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Jun 19, 2018
About Will G. Jones
I have lived in Baton Rouge, Louisiana all of my 64 years. I graduated from LSU in elementary education and taught 5th grade for 25 years. I recently retired from teaching and am now involved in restoring classic mahogany boats. I was married and have four beautiful daughters from ages 19 to 27. I enjoy playing guitar, boating, water skiing and spending time with my family.
Will G. Jones purchased this Cabin in 1985
Why Will G. Jones chose Shoal Creek
My mom and dad originally purchased the lake house in '85 and enjoyed spending parts of each summer there. With their passing, it was left to my older brother and me and we still spend about a month there each year between my family and his. We have spent the last 30 years boating, water skiing, tubing, swimming, sailing and canoeing on the lake and have greatly enjoyed the peacefulness of the mountains and the lake. As one sits on the couch in the great room on the main floor and gazes out the double set of sliding glass doors, they are treated to a spectacular view of the distant mountains as well as a beautiful view of the lake. Over the years, guest, friends and family have commented that the view is like living in a postcard!
What makes this Cabin unique
My father and mother were lovers of the mountains as well as the water. When they purchased the lake house in 1985 from the original owners who had it built it in 1974, there were few waterfront properties available. I was but 33 at the time and have been vacationing there each summer with my family for 30 years. I still pinch myself each time I arrive at our lake house as I think back on all the wonderful times experienced with numerous family and friends over the years. As you will observe from the photo gallery, the house is very spacious and open with wonderful scenery available from every window. The lake house is a large log home with well designed spaces that flow between the inside and the two large decks. Two of the bedrooms that face the lake also have the added feature of double sliding doors opening onto the decks. The main deck which is roughly 400 feet from the lake's edge provides a constant slight breeze which makes for any BBQ a sheer delight. Most evening meals over the years indeed have been some type of BBQ delight with a picnic table providing a quality eating experience. Quite a few breakfasts have also been enjoyed outside on the main deck.
Pool / Spa
Sports & Adventure Activities
Great Property! Excellent location and well taken care off. Very responsible owner.
The best thing there was no service and we finally had a great family time with no technology interrupting.
Not what we expected
Very disappointing. Owner called the day before we departed to warn that the driveway was steep (said he'd had to be towed up the last time he attempted it in the rain) & possibly inaccessible and that the dock was a very steep walk, that some might have a problem with these areas. He was right! Too bad we spent our money on a place we couldn't really enjoy. Locked chain was across a drive almost too steep to walk down. I was afraid that I would fall halfway down, but too scared to turn around and go back up the vertical driveway. Wear shoes with good grips and prepare for a workout! The 2 hand carts provided were no use on the stairs from the parking area at the top of the hill.
110 steep steps down an overgrown path (no handrail or lights) to a dock with a dangerously steep, broken walkway. The kids sat on their butts and slid down to access the dock. So overgrown that the lake was hidden, except from the second floor balcony and the dock. There was enough room at the bottom of the steps for 2 chairs, but too much overgrowth to see the lake.
Roaches in the kitchen!!! UGH!!! - open a cabinet and one might fly out on you! Light bulbs were an issue. - 7 bulbs out in the den/dining area alone! The whole house had a musty/mildew smell, especially the bottom floor - damp-elimination bags were hung throughout the house. The main bathroom toilet was very difficult to flush. The handle on the low toilet had to be held down (think face near the toilet) while flushing and lifted back up to work. Big note on toilet with instructions.
The pictures posted of the interior were accurate. The pics of the exterior, especially the vehicle near the door, and the dock were VERY misleading.
So sad that this house has been neglected. With a little effort this could be a very nice place.
I definitely did not get my money's worth. I want my vacation back!
I also did not intend to give it one star!
We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at our lake home. We again called the pest control firm under contract since the two treatments in July had not taken care of the problem. We arranged for them to provide another, stronger treatment. We replaced the commode. We have installed a new dehumidifier in the downstairs to help keep the air fresh. We do want our guests to know well in advance about the steep driveway and steps to the lake, so we do include that information in the listing as well as speaking personally with guests before and during the visit. Thank you for calling problems to our attention so that we could take care of them.
Not very clean or well-maintained.
Our family has stayed in VRBO's before and never had a problem. We have never left a bad review for any vacation we've ever taken. However, this property was full of problems. When we arrived to this cabin, everything was locked up. We tried for an hour and a half to call the owner, but kept getting the message that his voice mail wasn't set up. We finally managed to get into the cabin when we discovered that a back sliding glass door was broken (it wouldn't close the whole way). While this cabin is beautiful, in a wonderful secluded spot, we were very disappointed to discover mouse droppings in the drawers in the bedrooms. Even worse, there were mouse droppings in the kitchen cabinets and drawers, on the pots and pans, silverware, and plates and bowls. We left a closed loaf of bread on the counter one night, and discovered it the next morning with mouse holes chewed into both sides. (We have several pictures of these things). Upstairs, there was a two inch blood spot on the mattress pad that had soaked through to the mattress. There were tissues under the dresser and on the floor, and a large brown spot on the floor that looked like chocolate. There were cobwebs in the upstairs rooms and dust covering the electrical outlets. (We have pictures of all these things, too.) Down by the dock, there was a broken step that would have been very dangerous if one of our group hadn't seen it first and warned us of it. On the upstairs deck, there were several broken recliner-style chairs. Around the property there were a couple of wooden steps that were rotted and dangerous to step on. We were disappointed to discover that there was no cell service in the cabin or on the property. You couldn't make phone calls, or text. We never saw the owner. We didn't see anyone until check-out, and then it was the owner's brother's girlfriend who was coming to clean it. When we got back home, we messaged the owner to tell him of the problems we had, but he never responded. I thought he would want to know of the rodent problem as well as the broken steps. All in all this was a very disappointing property. We would not recommend it to our friends.
We are very sorry you had difficulties during your stay. We very much regret the communication difficulties and have worked to be sure we are more accessible. We called our pest control service and arranged for two treatments during July. The broken steps and the deck chairs have been repaired. We have also worked with our cleaning service to be sure that a high level of cleanliness is achieved. We thank you for alerting us to these problems so that we could work to take care of them.
We love Lake Hiwassee!
We enjoyed our stay. Everything was perfect, but there were rats in the cabin and we had to pre wash every dish we used and put all food in bags. It was really a hassle and not as relaxing as it could have been due to this problem. Other than this we really enjoyed ourselves.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We have contacted our pest control service to arrange for more treatments for mice. We hope you'll visit us again.
Great Vacation Home
This is a wonderful home for a family vacation. It is an older home with a lot of comfortable appeal and is fully stocked with everything you can think of in the kitchen which makes cooking meals for a group very easy. The deck outside the living room offers a beautiful view of the lake and mountains and we all enjoyed starting and ending our days there. Thanks for a great time!
We rent a lake house every summer and this was the first year that we came to Lake Hiwassee. It was by far the most beautiful lake that we have ever been to. The water is clean, clear, and a great temperature! The night sky is so clear that you could see every star in the sky. This house was so private and secluded with no boat traffic which made it safe for everyone to swim. Very little issues, most of which couldn't be helped by the owner. Owner was very helpful when we did have a question and he even left fresh flowers on the table for our arrival. The house is well stocked with life jackets, appliances, pantry items, sheets, pillows, and blankets. There is a wonderful hammock on the porch to sit in and relax. The water pressure in the showers are great. The trek down to the lake is very steep with many stairs, but that's the price you pay with renting a mountain house. Thankfully we didn't take any grandparents on this trip they probably wouldn't have been able to make the trip down the driveway to the house or down the stairs to the lake. You have to park at the top of the driveway and then walk down to the house and then continue to walk down to the lake. The toilet on the main floor ran if the handle wasn't lifted after flushing and there were a few lightbulbs that were out, but we are a very laid back group so it didn't bother us any. We all have Verizon cell service and there was no service anywhere on the property, but again that's what you get with a secluded mountain home. Make sure you stop for groceries on the way, so you don't have to waste lake time driving back to town.
Located in the gated community of Bear Paw on Lake Hiwassee within the Nantahala National Forest, the lake house is a 30 minute drive from Murphy, North Carolina. Due to the distance of the cabin from any grocery stores in Murphy, we recommend people get groceries and supplies needed for your stay in one of the bigger cities on the drive in. The Bear Paw Community offers a club house, large swimming pool, tennis court, playground, covered basketball court and marina. There are 4 golf courses and whitewater rafting on the Ocoee and the Nantahala Rivers within a 45 minute drive. Steps lead from the lower deck of the house down to the lake with a private floating dock for swimming, sunbathing, reading and boat mooring. The experience of this lake house is one any family or couple would enjoy. The house's rustic simplicity along with modern conveniences blends into the beauty of the natural surroundings, providing an excellent place to unwind and spend quality time with loved ones. It should be noted that the three parking spots are at the top of the hill by the road a short but steep walk from the front door down a stairway with guide lights and a handrail. The walk down to the lake from the cabin is a 120-step trek and there is no handrail. The cabin is unfortunately not handicap friendly due to these steep walks.