Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

AMAZING 4500 sq ft villa w/ huge POOL and 2 BEACHES within 5 min walking

Sleeps20
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 4,500 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 kingsize bedrooms w/ 4 ensuite bathrooms - Great Views!

100% OK AFTER IRMA & MARIA! POWER, WATER and THE BEST VIEWS!

When you’re planning the perfect getaway, what’s the first thing you look for when choosing a place to stay? For most people, it’s LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Here at The Blue Sandcastle, we’ve got that covered.

The Blue Sandcastle is a luxurious 5 star villa. One of few within walking to 3 different beaches! Our unobstructed views span from St. Croix to Vieques and Water Island. While being just a short 5 min. drive from shopping, groceries, restaurants and bars.

The Blue Sandcastle Villa is pretty close to perfect, yet far from normal. At the Blue Sandcastle you can indulge yourself in over 4500 square feet of luxury. The villa has the most spectacular views, a huge pool deck with lounges, a large grill, shaded seating and all the services you will find at a 5 star resort!

Enjoy your day at nearby Abi Beach- a relaxing, secluded, fun locals scene right on the water. Enjoy kayaks, stand-up paddle boards, and snorkel gear at special discounts just for you when you stay with us! Or enjoy a cook out at our large pool area. The pool is large enough to do laps if you feel like exercising. On the pool deck you will find a large grill, sun lounges and outdoor dining facilities. Relax and enjoy the privacy of our large pool while you gaze upon our endless views of the Caribbean Sea.

CHILDREN ARE WELCOME! Our living room features a huge TV, Playstation, Firestick, Wii and board games. Our pool is gated and also has a shallow end. We have plenty of pool toys for both kids and grown ups.

The villa is set up with WiFi and cable TV. There is also a separate A/C in every bedroom. All the rooms have large and effective ceiling fans as well.

Every bedroom is large and airy and has both a private bathroom and a separate entrance. The Master suite has it's very own private balcony with spectacular views. Our family rooms have several beds and we can also provide toddler beds or cribs without any additional costs.

The Blue Sandcastle is the perfect villa for families traveling together, larger groups or for hosting weddings and celebrations.

We also have some beach chairs, coolers, pool toys, beach tents for babies, high chairs and a car seat for you to enjoy while you stay at The Blue Sandcastle.

CONCIERGE INCLUDED IN YOUR STAY: Your own private concierge is included in your entire stay. You have the option of a private chef, onsite rental cars, private driver and guided tours. We also have the option of in house spa treatments, yoga sessions and more. We offer pre-arrival grocery shopping if you would like to stock the kitchen before you arrive.

DINING?

We have the option of onsite dining and catering to all our guests. We also do special menus and meals on request, everything from tapas to gourmet style.

NB! THERE IS A MOSQUITO MAGNET ONSITE. WE ALSO HAVE BUG SCREENS INSTALLED FOR ALL THE WINDOWS.

WE ARE SPECIALISTS IN WEDDINGS AND OTHER SPECIAL OCCASIONS!

DO NOT HESITATE TO CALL OR E-MAIL US AT ANY TIME IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS REGARDING BLUE SANDCASTLE VILLAS! WE DO NOT CHARGE ANYTHING FOR HELP PLANNING WEDDINGS OR SPECIAL OCCASIONS. THIS IS AN INCLUDED SERVICE WE PROVIDE TO OUR GUESTS.

Contact us if you are larger groups to check out our other listings nearby as well.

More Details

Owner
Ingrid Widvey
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, swedish, danish, norwegian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2018

About Ingrid Widvey

We are a Norwegian couple living in St. Thomas with our daughter and dogs. We are onsite owners and will also be available as concierges for our guests. We love the Virgin Islands and will be happy to assist you with your stay here.

We have over seven years of experience from running our own bakery, catering and event company.

Ingrid Widvey purchased this villa in 2015

Why Ingrid Widvey chose Bellevue

We just fell in love with the house! The house is amazing with it's all suite bedrooms with private baths. The views are spectacular and there is always a cool breeze.

What makes this villa unique

We have the perfect location and the best views. We are only a 5 minute walk down to Limetree beach, and just 5 min to Abi Beach. At the villa we are used to cater to larger groups and also offer the options of fresh made breakfast every day, dinners or our all inclusive option. We have over 70 day excursion options! Our guests also benefit from discounted kayaks, paddle boats and snorkel gear at Abi Beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have used airbnb several times before. Austin And Ingrid were the best experience we have received by far. They offer so much. From picking us up from the airport, restaurant recommendations, ect. The room is exactly what you see in the ad. Clean, quiet...Perfect for what we were going for. The pool is great. The views from anywhere on the property are beautiful. It's close enough to walk to a couple beaches. Bluebeards beach club and my favorite spot on the island the Abi beach bar. Great spot to have some drinks/food and spend the day. Overall I can't say enough great things. I am very happy we stayed with Austin and Ingrid. I hope to come back and visit again!
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Bellevue Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20 ...
  • Max. adults: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Bookings canceled at least 90 days prior will receive a 100% refund. Bookings canceled less than 45 days before will not be refunded.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathrooms (4) - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • Ensuite bathrooms for all the suites. Bathrooms have tub/ shower and cotton towels and beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master suite - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed
    Family room no. 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single
    Family room no. 1 - 1 king , 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed
    Suite no. 2 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , 1 baby crib
  • Kingsize beds w/ Egyptian cotton sheets. Ensuite bathroom w/ tub and shower. Private balcony in Master suite. Additional roll a away beds, toddler beds and cribs for use. The suites sleeps 4-6 guests each. Our large family suite has a kingsize bed and a twin over queen bunk bed. Our small family suite has two twins. Both have room for additional roll away beds or toddler beds. We do have additional bedrooms that can be added, both onsite and across the street.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Blue Sandcastle Villa has its own guest folder we share with our guests. Here you will find more info on the options of services we offer. Including catering, private chef, weddings, parties, our driver, excursions and so on. We also do weddings and other special occasions. The villa has 4 suites w/ an option to add on the 5th suite downstairs.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
14% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
AMAZING 4500 sq ft villa w/ huge POOL and 2 BEACHES within 5 min walking
average rating of 4.6285715 based on 37 reviews
5

amazing place to stay, great people, great views

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with the whole family. Had a great time and the view is specatular. Ingrid and Oystein were amazing hosts. Couldn't ask for anything better. The listing was completely accurate, very clean and well maintained. When we wanted to do things around the island, they had all the anwers and connections. Would highly recommend this place to everyone I know. Thank you

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Best of the Best!

  • 5 of 5

This place is breathtakingly beautiful. Upon arrival, the doors opened up to a view of the water where you can feel a nice breeze. We didn't use the ac until we went to bed each night as it wasn't needed. The beds are are so comfortable-the best sleep I could've gotten!! Everyone in my party loved the place. The pool area was great with plenty of chairs for everyone and the water was nice and cool. Ingrid and Austin were so helpful in answering any questions we had before and during our arrival. Pictures do not do this place justice.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Best Vacation of our Lives!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at Blue Sandcastle for a 7-day vacation. The home is beyond beautiful. Views from the huge front deck/covered porch go out into the ocean as far as your eyes can see. The scattered islands add to the beauty. The home is huge and sprawling and is very clean and welcoming. The pool is pristine with numerous tables, chairs, and umbrellas. They even have two swinging loungers that are great for an afternoon nap! Ingrid and Austin added a personal touch to our stay. They welcomed us with a tour of the villa and information about the surrounding islands, and things to do. They booked a taxi driver for us who was at our beck and call for our entire stay, scheduled a private chef to make dinner one night, and organized a snorkeling/boating trip to Buck Island where Ingrid was our tour guide. I can't say enough about their hospitality and the beauty of their home! We definitely plan to be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

Not worth the headache

  • 2 of 5

Nice Home, good view but I would stay elsewhere. Stayed a weekend in May, upon arrival, the owner stated our party could not arrive early.. which is fine, so when we get there 24 min before check in and stand outside, one would think no problem. The owner, texted me a nasty gram beginning with -"I thought I made myself clear".. I advised we are not inside,that the driver has driven us around for 2 hours and must leave that we've pulled up and are outdoors waiting..:( Long story short -we walked into the street to finish waiting, in the rain!!!

Once inside, the place was clean, however two beds were missing sheets. I then request and her response was .., are there more people?!

l state to her no, there's 12 as stated, but that does not mean we all want to sleep together, every bed SHOULD have bedding!

Went to grill, I called to say there is NO propane, she responds..." I thought your group were going out today"?!!... WTH, it doesn't matter what we do, that should be filled for each guest to use! On the first night, she texts that two bedroom windows are open w the air on, so of course I'm thinking 1, how do you know if your downstairs, and 2, how would one know that the owners opened all the windows prior to their arrival?!!

Bottom line, you cannot run the air except nights when you are in the room. This was posted NO WHERE in the advertising- I realize electric is expensive BUT for money spent, this should be factored in. Then on the last night, the air in one room stopped working, I call to be then be texted and told to text only since she's out to dinner, yet she pulled up 5 min before as the owners again., live under the rental.

There were a lot of other things that I could list but it could take forever. All in all, the property is nice with the open airways but for the wanderlust like myself- I have been to some amazing places with cost not being a factor but must say... I would never put my money in another stay here.

Things to know:

-Must take all your garbage away with you before you check out. (To the dumpster)

-The owners live below you and text throughout your stay.

-Abi Beach is 5 min away, walkable for the young or athletic..it's down the same hill you drive up to the property on. Not for the faint!

-Abi Beach is full w sand flies and rats (mongooses).

-Cabs will pick you up, cost about 30-35$ each way to most places.

-The owners come inside unit without warrant during your stay! Ran into them a few times unexpected!:(

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
2

Nice House but too many rules, regulations, and A/C was a major issue. Would not recommend this one.

  • 2 of 5

PROS-

House was nicely decorated and very large. Plenty of room for my family group (10 to 15 people)

Great view and location. 5min From town, right by the beach with a lovely view. House had all the amenities we needed. Kitchen was very well stocked with all accessories.

CONS-

When we arrived the owner gave us a “orientation” to the villa. This orientation was just a list of house rules...don’t do this, and don’t do that. It was not a “welcoming” to the villa as we had expected. The average age in our group was about 45yrs old, with no kids. My family group felt like the owner talked to us like we were children. Very unpleaseant welcoming experience.

The property was EXTREMELY HOT !!! They only have a/c in the bedrooms and they told us when we arriived that we could not turn on the a/c unless it was nighttime and we were sleeping. If we knew this prior we would not have booked with them. What’s the point of having a/c if you can not use it when you are HOT!!! The kitchen, dining room and living room were so hot we had to go out and buy 2 large fans.

On the surface the villa looked clean, but at further inspection the nets over the beds were very dirty, the couch had small toys, crumbs and dirt under the pillows and the refrigerator was not cleaned out. House had TONS OF MOSQUITOS! We had to leave the house for a couple of hours while it was being treated. This should have been done on the owners time not ours.

The owners live on the first floor and they rent out the second floor. This turned out to be a big problem because they micro-manage everything in the villa. They complained about use of the a/c, we were told we had it on for 3hours ( while we were in the house /rooms) and the owners needed it off to conserve energy. They complained about noise, visiting guest etc. Their young children cried and made noise during the day (when we were sleeping-because we were on vacation and did not have to get up early), but they complained that we were noisy at night. This was not an ideal vacation experience.

There is a chicken coop directly next to the house. The roosters woke us up every morning at the crack of dawn.

The owners do not allow any visitors at the villa that are not staying at the villa. We had a couple of friends on the island. Our friends were not able to have a cup of coffee with us or stop by for breakfast. This rule was ridiculous! Luckily, we were able to visit them at their villas where having guests was not an issue.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest and her review is a straight lie. We usually never respond. In this case we felt we have to. This guest did not book through VRBO and VRBO promised us that they would remove this very untrue review. First of all we do not have a chicken coop (nor is there one next to us), nor do we have young children and most of all we do not accept being treated as trash by our guests. We have never in all of our years doing this had to deal with more disrespectful people. All our guests sign a contract before booking. This guest in general knew VERY WELL our policies before booking and were also reminded of them several times before coming as they have emailed us over 200 times and also sent 500 texts the past months prior to arrival. NO, we do not accept that you book here and invite 20 people over from the Marriott to a pool party! (You KNEW that!) You were also told that we do allow events with a pre approved written notice. You COMPLETELY ignored this. And NO, you still cannot have a pool party at 1am and keep the neighbors up! And NO, we do not accept that you leave the house with the ACs running all day with doors and windows open. And NO, at 12am, 1am, 1.30am or 2am we cannot come and fix the wifi because we are sleeping. We are not your servers you can abuse. And NO, when you do not pay for all of your guests to stay here they cannot stay! The villa was spotless when you arrived and it took us a crew of 4 to be able to turn it around for our new guests checking in! Never have our villa been left so filthy and dirty with trash everywhere after a group staying. And we asked you if you wanted us to order an extra spray down for mosquitos, you said YES! If you do not like the sun or the heat I suggest that you plan your next trip to the Arctic in the summer because here in the Caribbean we are famous for nice and hot weather year around.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Amazing !

  • 5 of 5

We had an absolutely wonderful stay here, lovely house and outdoor area with swimming pool. Very welcoming hosts.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Cyril E King Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.19 Miles
Bluebeards Beach Club
Nearest Ferry
0.62 Miles
Charlotte Amalie
Nearest Restaurant
0.19 Miles
Bluebeards Beach Club
Nearest Beach
0.19 Miles
Limetree Beach
Car: recommended

The Blue Sandcastle is located just next to Bluebeard's Beach Club in Frenchman's Bay. We are only 5 minutes (by car) from Havensite/ Yacht Haven Grande/ downtown Charlotte Amalie . . We are about 20 minutes from the airport.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 12.5%

For full villa rental:
90 day cancellation = 100 % refund
45 day cancellation = 50 % refund


No cancellation less than 45 days prior to arrival for full villa rental.

Extra lower level 5th bedroom is automatically added to parties of 14 or more. Can also be added for an additional $100 pr night by request.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund