Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

The Maple Street House (Pets OK) 2d min. stay

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cozy 2 bedroom house perfect for 4 people, and your furry friend, (pet fee)

Welcome to the Maple Street House!

2 day min. stay, extra guest fee $10 per day, per person after 1st 2 guest. Pet fee of $20 per pet/per day.

Located in Monrovia and just bordering Arcadia. 20 miles NE of L.A at the base of the San Gabriel Mts., just eight miles east from the Pasadena area. Newly renovated, impeccably clean and fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including fresh linens and towels.

This charming house has 2 separate bedrooms, 1 full bath, washer/dryer and fully appointed kitchen. We have wifi, large screen tv with DVD player, and plenty of parking on a quiet residential cul de sac.

This cozy 2 bedroom house with comfortable queen beds and is perfect for 4 adults and great for families with kids. If you decide to travel with your furry friend, there is a pet fee of $20 per night. (Please let us know in advance so we can work out separate pricing.)

It's only a few miles from historic old town Monrovia street and the popular Myrtle Street Farmers Market every Friday evening. One of the best in the SoCal area. Plenty of produce and food vendors plus live music and lots of good food. Close to freeways 210 & 605, and conveniently located to the famous Santa Anita racetrack.

Within a few blocks, you will find some awesome restaurants, cafes, bars, several amazing supermarkets to explore.

More Details

Hedy Vanderaa
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 29, 2018

About Hedy Vanderaa

We are a family that have lived in the Monrovia area for as far as I can remember. All 5 of us kids have gone to elementary , middle and high school and college having lived in this house. Monrovia is a great town to raise a family and we've gotten to become part of the great Monrovia community. This location is perfect to be situated in the LA county and Pasadena area. Come enjoy this special place we call home.

Hedy Vanderaa purchased this house in 1962

Why Hedy Vanderaa chose Monrovia

Everything you might need is walking distance and only blocks away. Bus service is 1 block away that will take you around town or to the rail line that can take you into Pasadena or LA. It is convenient to have your own transportation and there is plenty of free parking in front of the house.

What makes this house unique

We are in a prime location:

Arcadia Mall - 7min

Los Angeles County Arboretum - 8min

Angeles National Forest - 20 min

Old Town Pasadena - 14min

Dodger Stadium - 27 min

Downtown LA - 28 min

Staples Center/LA Live - 28 min

Universal Studios - 32min

Griffith Observatory - 33 min

Hollywood Walk of Fame - 35

Disneyland - 37 min


Monrovia House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Modern bathroom with bidet sprayer and walk-in shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • 2 comfortable queen size beds to sleep 4 adults. Pull out couch sleeps 2 guest.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • hiking
  • tennis
We are in a prime location: Arcadia Mall - 7min Los Angeles County Arboretum - 8min Angeles National Forest - 20 min Old Town Pasadena - 14min Dodger Stadium - 27 min Downtown LA - 28 min Staples Center/LA Live - 28 min Universal Studios - 32min Griffith Observatory - 33 min Hollywood Walk of Fame - 35 Disneyland - 37 min


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
The Maple Street House (Pets OK) 2d min. stay
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
United States

Clean, well stocked, close to food and grocery store!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the maple house three nights while visiting family in South Pasadena. I worked from the home Friday while my husband took the kids to their grandparents. The wifi worked great and being walking distance to the store and some food options was great! Really appreciated being able to bring our dog and the place was clean and comfortable. Only negative is the proximity of the attached unit. The family living there was relatively quiet, but the gate they use to get to and from their door is very loud and will wake folks up if used after hours. Otherwise, no complaints! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We are happy you had a great experience staying in the cozy house. Thank you for the feedback about the gate noise. We had no idea it was an issue and It is an easy fix and we will take care it of right away. We hope you come visit us again soon. Edwin & Hedy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Summerfield, North Carolina

Great Visit

  • 4 of 5

The family and I really enjoyed our stay at this house. The home is very convenient to the 210 Freeway and is walking distance to several restaurants and stores. The only slightly negative experience was that we were locked out of the laundry room by the tenants in the back part of the house and were unable to do any laundry during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. We are glad you had a nice stay. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We have changed out the lock and reversed it so that you will have access to the laundry room from the main part of the house verses the other way around. We continue to listen to our guest and try to make a comfortable and safe environment for them to stay in.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint and quiet.

  • 5 of 5

I loved the property location and set up of the house. I would have loved access to the back yard, however relaxing on the front porch was very enjoyable. I would definitely book this property again.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Sweet Home, Comfortable Beds

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay on Maple Street. It was clean, with an extremely well stocked kitchen. The living area was furnished nicely. We especially found the beds to be very comfortable, from the combined softness of the padding and just right firmness of the mattress, and the luxurious feeling of the sheets. It's an older home, so the bathroom isn't spacious, but everything in it worked fine, and the towels felt new. The Wi-Fi was reliable and fast. Commercial areas with restaurants and shopping are within walking distance.

There were numerous little touches that show how much the owners care about the experience for their guests. A welcome basket, laundry detergent, fresh condiments in the refrigerator, tissue boxes in convenient locations, and extra grocery bags were just some of them.

The owners responded very quickly to our booking request, and any questions we had.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Phoenix, Arizona

Great place for our LA trip

  • 4 of 5

We so appreciated being able to stay at the Maple Street House. The location was perfect for us and being able to bring our pet along was a huge plus. The house was clean and exactly as described. Kitchen was well stocked for our cooking needs with a lot of little extras that most airbnb's don't provide. The home could use a bit of updating but all in all, we enjoyed our time there and will definitely look to return if in the area again. Thanks to Hedy for making everything so easy and clear!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Dirty, foul.

  • 1 of 5

AVOID. Don’t allow the one cute pic to fool you. This property is old, with filthy carpets (I will post pics) and near the highway. It’s also attached to a full time renter that you can hear when they go to the bathroom at 2 am. The owner has zero integrity to say this is anything other than a slum.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, thank you for the feedback about our cozy house. We welcome the opportunity to answer some of your concerns. We work very hard to accommodate all of our guests and keep our rental clean and free of any mold or health hazard. We have the property inspected regularly and cleaned by a professional cleaning crew in between all stays. My family has lived in this craftsman model home for over 20 years and we’ve never experienced any mold issues, then or now. As stated in our on-line description of the house, we do have a very quiet couple as full time renters in our in-law unit. However, their living space is detached from your area, But we will monitor the situation. We also include photos of the exterior of the house as well as photos for each room. We are not sure why you saw only one photo, try hitting the advance arrow next time. Scott, if you felt that you were staying in a slum and had serious concern for health reasons, we are confused why you did not reach out to call us or why you decided to stay the 2nd night? We are not opposed to guests complaints, as this will allow us to improve our vacation rental for others and resolve issues immediately. Thanks for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Old town - Charming little street with a great selection of restaurants (all types of cuisine from Indian to Italian to all covering most of Asia). Table service, casual cafés, coffee shops plus a few of the chains (pink berry, etc.). Plus a great selection of pubs and nice bars to hang out and enjoy a beer with friends.

Great mix of little retail shops from hobby shops to clothing - something for everyone. Plenty of parking too - all free! There is also a nice movie theater that anchors the area. With tons of eating places around the area.

The best thing is their farmers market every Friday evening. One of the best in the SoCal area. Plenty of produce and food venders plus live music and lots of good food. Also plenty of things for the little ones including pony rides, giant slide, jumper etc. A fun safe place for families and anyone to spend a weekend night at.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65
Additional Guest Fee $20 per person per night
Pet Fee $20
Refundable Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.