Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Quiet Hutchins Lake Cottage W/ Private Dock, Screened In Porch Near Boat Launch

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,230 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1230 Square Ft 2 Bedroom W/ Open Floor Plan And Extra Wide Shaded Lot.

New for 2017 : added brand new twin bed. We can now sleep seven people. Many new improvements for 2016 including 14 ft aluminum fishing boat. Enjoy your vacation on the crystal clear waters of Hutchins Lake at this peaceful getaway cottage. It is located on a short private street. Fish, swim, boat or just lounge from your private dock. Enjoy incredible sunsets over the lake. Extra-wide lot provides plenty of shade and space for lawn games. Fire pit is located down by the lake. Large screened in porch for eating or relaxation. Lake views from master bedroom, family room, kitchen and porch. Great location in Fennville just minutes away Crane's orchard-pie pantry and Fennville Winery. Lots to do in nearby Saugutuck-Douglas, South Haven and Holland. Hutchins Lake is just 6 miles from Lake Michigan with easy access from highway I196.


Owner
Herm Tammeling
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2018

About Herm Tammeling

I have been vacationing on Hutchins Lake for the past 35 years. I grew up in Chicago and fell in love with Hutchins Lake while going to college in SW Michigan.2

Why Herm Tammeling chose Fennville

Hutchins Lake is one of the premier lakes in southwest Michigan. The water is clean and excellent opportunity for water sports and fishing. The location is great being close to Saugatuck/Douglas, South Haven and Holland. It is also only 6 miles from Lake Michigan.

What makes this cottage unique

Hutchins like hideaway is located on a quiet peaceful part of Hutchins Lake. It is on a short private road with very little traffic. The rule of no wake before 11:00 and after 7:30 insurers quiet time for fishing, paddling or swimming.

Amenities

Fennville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1230 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Full bathroom with tub and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Two good-sized bedrooms with ceiling fans and air conditioning window units. Master bedroom has a view of the lake. Queen-size sleeper sofa in the family room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
60% Complete
26% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
Quiet Hutchins Lake Cottage W/ Private Dock, Screened In Porch Near Boat Launch
average rating of 3.4 based on 15 reviews
Washington, D.C.
4

Quaint lake house

  • 4 of 5

This ranch style cottage was perfect for our stay. We were in town for a wedding and the location was close to all of the events (i.e., Holland, Saugatuck, Crane Orchards). We also discovered some nearby attractions on a walk around the lake, including Fenn Valley Vineyards. We enjoyed being able to walk across the front yard to the lake to dip our feet in off the private dock or sit around an open fire pit. The neighborhood is very peaceful and full of friendly neighbors. The kitchen had everything we needed for a long weekend. The beds in the bedrooms were comfortable, but the sleeper sofa in the family room was not comfortable and we had to purchase an air mattress to sleep on instead. Otherwise, I recommend this cottage for anyone looking for a quiet, no-frills getaway on Hutchins Lake.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and you were able to take advantage of the local attractions and neighborhood. Thank you for the input on the sleeper sofa. I will work on replacing that sofa with a better sleeper.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful tranquility within minutes of all the fennville/Saugatuck area has to offer

  • 4 of 5

Its a cute little lake house, peaceful and quiet, surrounded by big old trees. We were thrilled that they could take a last minute reservation, especially as we were traveling with pets. We did run into an issue with the heat not working, but Herm was great and brought space heaters down right away. He even stopped by the next morning to check and make sure that all was well (it was). We had a great time exploring everything that southeastern Michigan has to offer and coming back to the absolute quiet of our cabin. Sunsets on the pier are a “must see”!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Rustic cottage in a great location

  • 3 of 5

For many years we had a family cottage on Lime Lake that was very similar to this place, so we were quite comfortable with the accomodations.

The cottage is rustic and there are bugs, but that is to be expected when you are staying on a lake.

Hutchins Lake is very nice and we enjoyed boating, fishing & kayaking.

My son brought his Swit ch & Google Chrome so he could play video games on rainy afternoons and we could watch movies if it was too wet or windy for a campfire.

The fire pit by the lake was nice and there was room for lawn games & lounging by the lake.

This is a great location-close to Lake Michigan, lots of attractions and good restaurants.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A typical Michigan lake house

  • 4 of 5

We were a little worried after reading the last review right before we left but we found none of the same issues. The house was very clean. There is a very strong musty smell when you first enter but once we we're in and moving around with windows open it wasn't that bad. There are spiders and spider webs in the windows. It is a lake house! However, I didn't actually see a spider the whole time. The house is old and not updated but it is functional for weekend purposes.

The lake is nice and access to it is about 100 yards away and the "road" you cross isn't really even a road - only for the few people who live on it. It is a little weedy but there is a little path by the dock that you can walk out to the deeper part and that isn't as weedy. It is mucky though - like a lake. This is not a place where you could have you little kids sit and play in the lake.

The house was perfectly cool with the 2 window air conditioners.

Highly recommend Holland State Park beach. Very nice for sunset!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

No frills place to stay if you just need somewhere to sleep.

  • 4 of 5

Staying at this house was like going to visit Grandma for a week. When you first walk in you are taken back by the smell and the old furnishings. Definately needs a lot of work. But by the time you leave, it's made an impression on you and you wish you could stay longer. Overall my family was comfortable there. We did use the 2-man kayak, which was a blast. We had to do a self repair, and clean a bunch of cobwebs, but that was not a big deal. Herm checked in on us to make sure we got settled ok, and that was nice. The beds weren't the most comfortable, and the water pressure was low. Overall, we'd come back if we were visiting the area again.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, Illinois
1

never again

  • 1 of 5

This place was dirty and disgusting. The amount of bugs, spider webs and dirt was gross. My wife had to go through several chairs just find one that was covered in spiders.

The water access was a joke. The amount of weeds you had to get through just to get into the water was horrible.

I wouldn’t recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry things did not work out for you. Your initial response to me after your arrival on a holiday week was very positive. However after a storm came through and knocked the power out for about an hour, you decided to head home. I offered you to spend the night in our personal cottage which had power and was only about 3 blocks away. Your message to me requesting a refund or you would post a bad review was not fair. I did offer you 2 free nights, but that was not accepted. Again I am sorry it did not work out for you, however I do not feel it is proper to leverage a review forum to demand a refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Ferry
8 Miles
Saugatuck Michigan
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Fennville Michigan
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Oval beach Saugatuck Michigan

Within 2 miles of Fenn Valley winery and Crane's orchards/pie pantry

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $100
Refundable Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund