Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Galveston Seawall Vacation Rental at Casa del Mar, Beaches, Restaurants Shopping

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 475 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Recent upgrade to granite, new bathroom and kitchen. Light, Airy, Clean, Perfect

La Casita del Mar has been recently remodeled to make it modern, light and airy. New granite and fixtures, new decking, balcony, WIFI and HDTV all combine to ensure that you'll have a very pleasant stay. You're in the heart of the beach action with one of the best beach locations and proximity to numerous restaurants and coffee shops, convention center, bicycle rentals, shopping, jogging on the seawall and all that you could want to give you comfort, quality, location and proximity to many many amenities, attractions and conveniences. You are sure to enjoy your precious vacation here...oh and did we mention Wifi, Cable TV and 2 full parking spaces?


Owner
Carl and Veronica Lawrence
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Carl and Veronica Lawrence

Se Habla Espanol - We are long time residents of the Gulf area, specifically the NASA JSC Clear Lake area and we have always enjoyed coming to the Galveston Seawall and Strand area to enjoy the unique and very charming Galveston environment. Owning a condo in Galveston has been a dream of ours, and being able to share it with others makes it even better. We live close by and we'll do everything we can to make sure you have an enjoyable visit. Our goal is to have our guests return year after year. As we connect during the reservation process we'll be glad to share with you all we know about all the great Galveston amenities.

Carl and Veronica Lawrence purchased this condo in 2015

Why Carl and Veronica Lawrence chose Galveston

We chose this property because it is right in the center of one of the most dynamic sections of the Seawall Beach area and yet because it's a quiet side inner unit that makes you feel miles away from the crowds, but when you want to eat, go to the beach, the jetty, Moody's Garden, The Strand, the Seawall, the Convention Center, it's all right there. It's the best of both worlds

What makes this condo unique

Favorite part is sitting on the balcony looking over the Gulf, hearing the light roar of the waves, with that warm breeze coming off the water. You won't have to drive anywhere if you don't want to because it's all right there. Fishing pier right in front, great beaches with easy access right in front, multiple restaurants, shopping, convention center, jetties, biking, hiking, deck overlooking the gulf, quiet inner side unit with chairs to sit and read between naps...It all adds up to an easy stress free vacation and a very reasonable price.

Amenities

Galveston Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 475 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
  • Granite counter and luxury shower head to wash off the salt water after a long day of sunning and swimming in the gulf waters
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Master bedroom with private door to the restroom, Cable TV in bedroom, Cabinets to store your luggage
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
18% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Galveston Seawall Vacation Rental at Casa del Mar, Beaches, Restaurants Shopping
average rating of 4.72093 based on 43 reviews
Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
5

galveston getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had another great week on the Island and this time we were able to stay in the perfect condo. The owners had thought of everything including all the little extras that make a stay away from home so comfortable. Loved the pillows and mattress, the bath towels were lovely and fluffy and the little kitchen was equipped with everything I needed to make some great meals.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Pros- Great stay. Good location. Easy check in and check out. Property and Pools are well maintained. Felt very safe as they have a security officer that checks the property regularly. Easy and good access to WiFi. A/c cooled off the unit perfectly for the hot summer days. Bathroom/shower very clean, as well as the rest of the condo. Plenty of spices available for cooking. Higher end coffee maker was nice, along with local coffee grounds available. Tv worked great. Great value as far as money spent to quality of condo.

Cons- bunks are a little narrow for adults so keep that in my when planning your stay. No dishwasher, so be aware that you do have to do dishes regularly if you plan on eating in the condo a lot. Odd thing - the bowls available are not very deep, very shallow. So bring some paper/plastic bowls for things like cereal, etc. Lastly, there was only two chairs for the dining area, so sitting down as a family and eating was not available. We would just have to spread out by sitting at the kitchen bar, dining table, or on the couch.

Overall great experience for my family of 4! We will be staying again & I would recommend this condo.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Could use some improvements, ok overall.

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Condo was very clean and perfectly located. It was literally right across from the beach which made getting up and going super easy. Was also close to restaurants, grocery stores and anything else you would need.

Cons: The condo was quite small, there were only two of us and since we made meals in the condo kitchen space was an issue. Only one person at a time in there. The twin bunks were really small, I would venture to say kids over the age of 13-14 that are taller than 5'5 would be cramped.

I have VRBO'd a few beach places and all of them had beach accessories. This condo did not have any, to include beach towels. No beach towels, umbrellas, chairs, cooler, nothing! I believe there was enough space in the closet to store some of these so not sure why they didn't have them. Coming from a landlocked state, I kinda expected to at least have beach towels.

There was a nice guy renting two chairs and an umbrella for 30/day, basically 10-430 but save your money and go to the local sports store and buy a couple chairs and an umbrella for 35 bucks.

Lastly, I asked the owners for a couple extra hours on checkout and never heard a word back. I wouldn't have minded a "no" but to get nothing was kind of frustrating. I'm not sure if it was just circumstances but he was pretty good at reaponding prior to us staying there.

Overall it was ok, I would maybe stay there again if it was just the two of us. We were originally coming down with our spouses but they couldn't come last minutes so we just my girlfriend and I. I would say I was glad the boys didn't come just because it was kind of small and sharing one bathroom with two men sounds awful! You could make 4 adults work but honestly I would upgrade to a 2 bed, 2 bath if coming again with more than just 2 adults.

It was still fun, water was great, beach was in Good condition especially since Harvey wasn't long ago. If you like to collect seashells it's definitely the spot for you!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always try to accommodate our guests and we're always trying to improve the quality and comfort of our beach condo so I appreciate all your great tips. We are limited in our ability to give late checkouts, not because we don't want to, but because we have to give our cleaning staff a window of time to come clean our unit and prepare it for the next guests. We always state this on our guest welcoming letter through VRBO so that everyone will know that we're not trying to be mean or anything, but that we're trying to balance between a reasonable check-in time and a reasonable check-out time and still leave a reasonable window of time for the unit to be made ready. We always get great reviews for the cleanliness of the unit and our beach condo is always ready and available on-time so our efforts seem to be working. As far as beach amenities, we tried providing beach towels and chairs and umbrellas but things kept disappearing and even worse was all the sand that was being tracked in from the beach. We have instead put our efforts into great bath towels in our unit, and our guests always make positive comments about the fluffy clean white towels. We provide clean, high quality linens, soap, shampoo, coffee and other amenities and we have always received high ratings for our unit. Another thing we have is the teak chairs and table on our deck. most other units have plastic chairs. We have very nice quality bedspreads and extra pillows and blankets for our guests, and almost all of our guests seem to really appreciate the extra effort we put into making our unit as comfortable, clean, bright and well apportioned as possible. We always respond to guests in a timely manner whenever we get a request or a question. It's best to call or text using the phone number provided to ensure we get your message in a timely manner. Emails are not always a dependable form of communication and if for some reason it seems like I'm not responding then by all means please just pick up the phone or text and I'll be glad to talk and sort out any issue. We are always very responsive and realize how important it is to provide a great experience for our guests and would never purposefully ignore our guests. Thanks for staying and we hope you make it back again soon. Thanks, Carl
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

The condo was very neat and clean. It had everything we needed. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very cute condo

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very nice and quickly responded to all of my questions. The room was very comfortable and welcoming. It literally was a few minutes to walk to the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean Condo

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was perfect for 3 people. The condo was clean and comfortable. There is a view to the gulf from the balcony even though it is on the 1st floor. The towels were nice and the pillows were fluffy and comfortable.

Thank you for making this unit available!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark
The Strand Historic District
"Great place to see cruise ships, the Galveston port and seafood restaurants, antique shops, ..."
Moody Gardens
Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier
Sunflower Bakery and Cafe
"When we don't go to Mosquito Cafe we go to the Sunflower Bakery and Cafe, it's a very enjoya..."
Mosquito Cafe
Nearest Airport
41 Miles
Hobby International Airport - 51 minutes
Nearest Ferry
6.8 Miles
Galveston-Port Bolivar Ferry - Free Fun Ferry Ride
Nearest Golf
3.8 Miles
Moody Gardens Golf Course
Nearest Train
5.3 Miles
Galveston Railroad Museum
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Tortuga's Mexican, Golden Corral
Nearest Beach
Galveston Ocean Seawall Beaches - across street
Car: recommended

To get an idea why the NEW Galveston has become such a desirable and attractive vacation destination please see the following links.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 15.0%

Rates are subject to change until payment is confirmed.

Sorry but the entire complex doesn't allow pets and so we cannot allow them.

VRBO has implemented a new service fee which doesn't show up in the rates until you ask for a quote from the owner. The service fee is approx 9% of the rental amount so e.g. if the rate in the rate table is $79 and you stay for 5 days there will be an additional service fee added added to the quote by VRBO of .09 x 79 x 5 = $35.55. As owners we have no control over this fee. Sorry

Please, NO Smoking allowed in the unit. Otherwise the Security deposit will be held in order to clean and deodorize the unit.

Please enjoy your stay. You've selected a great place in a wonderful area for your vacation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties