Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Super cute, newer cottage close to beach with fire pit, outdoor shower & wi-fi

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 69 nights


About the property

2 Bed/ 1.5 Bath Cottage Close to the Beach (Sleeps 4 Comfortably)

**8.30.17 The box springs of both beds were replaced. No more noisy beds :)

This delightful and attractive Old Florida Cracker Style Cottage was completed in July 2015. It Is a 2 Bed/1.5 Bath Located in the Heart of Mexico Beach. It is the perfect place for a small family or couple looking to relax and enjoy the beach.

Tucked away among gorgeous oaks and palms, you will certainly enjoy the ocean Breezes while sitting on the screened-in front porch. It’s a peaceful setting yet it’s only 300 yards away from the beach and close to the pier and marina.

It is beautifully decorated with all new furnishings and accessories. The living room has flat screen tv, dvd and an I-phone/pod music player. Each bedroom has a queen bed and flat screen tv. The fully equipped kitchen has GE stainless appliances, modern shaker-style cabinets and a subway tile backsplash. The bathroom has ample storage and has a tiled shower/tub combo.

Nice, quality bed and bath linens are provided.

Outside amenities include a screened in porch, outside shower, and charcoal grill and fire pit.

There are four beach chairs and an umbrella available for your use.

The maximum number of guests is 4 adults.

More Details

Chrystina Adams
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018


Mexico Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
17% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Super cute, newer cottage close to beach with fire pit, outdoor shower & wi-fi
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 34 reviews

Great time!

  • 5 of 5

Super cute house and very clean! Great location!

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 4 of 5

Nice, cozy cottage with everything you need and great location !

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Had a great time, everything was great

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay, cottage is so charming. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay anymore. Great location to the beach, restaurants and shops.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Property was excellent. Well maintained and very comfortable. Within walking distances of places we wanted to eat and also close proximity to the beach. This is the best vacation we have had in years. The vacation provided much needed rest for both of us and also allowed us easy access to the beach and other vacation spots we wanted to visit. When we had questions Chrystina Adams was quick to respond and we were also getting e-mails from VRBO asking if they could help in any way. Due to the potential hurricane headed for the Gulf we had to leave a little early (which was very disappointing), however, you can't control the weather and we needed to get back to Montgomery area to insure our house was made ready for the bad weather we were to get. Other than the storm issue, our days were filled with rest, relaxation, and much beach time (and plenty of seafood to eat). When we lived in Charlotte NC, every year at our anniversary we went to Myrtle Beach to celebrate. We now have found a new place to celebrate. We hope to be able to do this again next year at this time. If so, we know exactly where we are going to stay. The "Hideaway" is THE BEST. George and Glenda Laney

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

2nd Stay - Construction Noise Ruined an Otherwise Great Place to Stay....

  • 3 of 5

This was our 2nd stay in this very cute and roomy cottage. We stayed here for 5 days in May and loved it! This stay was the middle of August and quite a different story.

The cottage itself is still great with a couple of issues that are on the property manager’s radar to be handled once we check out including the very LOUD squeaky, squashing sound the beds make with any movement and the lack of towels and washcloths; Chrystina, the property manager, came by to access the bed issue and bath linen issue and determined it was the box springs that need replacing; she indicated she will be handling these issues at our departure. We requested she wait until then to have the new box springs delivered and set up; we wished they had been replaced before our stay; we enjoyed meeting Chrystina. However, the biggest issue is the very loud construction going on directly next door.

When we were here in May, we noticed that the vacant lot next to the cottage/duplex had markers being put out and posted that there was upcoming construction. During that stay, though, the lot was still vacant and we had a very pleasant stay. Not this time!! There was LOUD construction noises (hammering, drilling, etc), large delivery trucks with construction supplies, etc. the entire week. There is a triplex (3 unit) building being built directly next door and it pretty much kept us from spending much time at the cottage during the day. Luckily, we were busy with activities on the beach and in Port St. Joe for most of the daytime hours but our last day was pretty horrible. We tried to rest and wind down from a long week of vacation activities with an afternoon nap…that was impossible! Just know that this is going on if you plan to stay here. They stop in the afternoon so fortunately there’s no noise over there in the evenings but during the day be prepared for major construction VERY CLOSE to this unit.

We were very disappointed as we have come to really enjoy this little cozy cottage and had looked forward to our second stay here. We vacation in Mexico Beach/Port St Joe area every year but we’re sure we will be looking for other accommodations in either Mexico Beach or Port St. Joe for future stays. We wish we had been made aware of this construction project prior to arrival instead of getting the shock upon our arrival for a week long stay.

As mentioned, this construction was in full swing in mid to late August; not sure how long it will go on.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your repeat business and your comments. The box springs were replaced immediately after your stay. Please know that had I known the beds were a problem prior to your stay, they would of been replaced then. I happened to of received comments from previous guests during your stay and I immediately made arrangements with you to come over and asses the issue. You and your husband insisted that the beds were not an issue for you and not to worry with replacing them during your stay. As for the construction next door, unfortunately that is something that is out of my control. I am not made aware of other property owners construction schedules ahead of time. Upon receipt of your text complaining about the work being done next door, I did call the city and they were working within the daily time frame set forth by the city. It is unfortunate that your scheduled week happen to fall during a time when they were framing and roofing. The good news is that all of that noisy construction has been completed and they have moved onto interior work. Thanks again for staying at Hideaway Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay, clean, cute, close to the beach!!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Hideaway Cottage! Please keep us in mind for any future visits to Mexico Beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
47 Miles
Northwest Florida Beaches Airport (ECP)
Nearest Beach
85 Metres
Gulf of Mexico


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $200

May 20-Aug 11, 2017 we ONLY do weekly rentals (7 nights) with the turn day being Saturday.

Monthly rate is available Nov-Feb. Please inquire for rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties