4 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath, Relaxing Wrap Around Deck, Wooded View
About Gary Hackett
Our names are Gary and Rhonda Hackett, we live in Carthage Tennessee, I was born and raised in Carthage, Rhonda is from Danville Alabama, but love living in Tennessee. I am currently employed as an Electronics Technician for Bonnell Aluminum in Carthage. Rhonda is a retired Convenient Store Clerk.
Gary Hackett purchased this Chalet in 2013
Why Gary Hackett chose Chalet Village
This property was not in to good shape when we purchased it. I have always been a kind-a-fix-up type person. We spent the first year on ownership working on it nearly every weekend and every vacation until we finally got it ready for rental, There is still thing we want to do to it, and it's an on going project. We plan to make improvement every year. A special THANKS To friends and family that helped us remodel and repair it.
What makes this Chalet unique
Personally when we go to the Chalet I enjoy setting on the deck, relaxing with my favorite beverage and enjoying the view. There is also a Mountain stream near that you can hear rolling down the mountain in wetter weather. We will sometime see a Bear walking through the property which is always a thrill.
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Issues with bugs
The place could use a deep cleaning. Very dusty. Also had issues with bugs in the kitchen and had plumbing problems. The plumbing was taken care of on our third day. The bugs were not. Was told my owner that someone would come and spray. No one ever came and did not hear back from owner. Was also ask to take pictures of the bugs and send to the owner. Very disappointed!
I enjoyed the cabin overall. There was lots of room and we enjoyed the pool table and hot tub. Also it was nice to have a bathroom on every level.
Everything we needed
The three of us met here to go hiking in the Smokies. The location was excellent to both the park entrance and to Gatlinburg - both just a couple minutes away. Each of us had his own bedroom and bathroom, and there was plenty of space to eat and hang out.
Nice cabin, well stocked, good location
We enjoyed our stay tremendously. The location was great, close to Ober Gatlinburg as well as the bypass. The kitchen was well stocked, a big deal for us as we cook and eat our meals in. I was pleasantly surprised that there was great lighting in the kitchen. The small creak across the road gave pleasant bubbly sounds any time we were out on one of the many decks. The decks were well supplied with chairs and the hot tub was clean and worked well. The cabin is set up nicely for 8 people and would easily accommodate 3-4 couples. The driveway is very steep as are most in the area. Ground level Is the basement and you have to go up a flight of stairs to get to the main level. The stairs are well lit and have good hand rails. The issue that we had was resolved quickly and the Hacketts were easy to work with and great at communicating. Having rented multiple cabins in the area I was pleased at how few bugs there were (practically none) since the national forest areas seem to have more than their fair share.
Thanks for a great place to have a great time with our family.
The cabin was adequate. The cabin has not been cleaned upon our arrival, but the owner took care of everything.
I am very sorry for the cabin not being clean on your arrival. I did immediately call the cleaning service and get it done with in a couple hours but this is not the fix for this problem. I have checked my records to verify that I sent the information, there was a check out and check in that day to the cleaning service. I also compensated you for the inconvenience. I know first impression is 80% and I know you had a bad 1st impression. I was probability more upset about this than you, this is unacceptable. I think you were generous with your 4 star. Hope you will consider staying with us again
Other than the initial problem hope you had a good spring break.
Gary and Rhonda
Spring Break 2019
Enjoyed the cabin. Common areas were clean but bathrooms could have used more cleaning attention. More toilet paper should be left as well. Top of the stove was very greasy, had to clean it before use. There were beer bottle caps and lots of cigarette butts out front. We didn’t want you to think they were ours as we don’t smoke and did not bring any alcohol to the cabin. We appreciate that pets are allowed. Our teacup chihuahua is blind and it’s hard for him to be without us. Overall enjoyed the stay. Thank you!
Ober Gatlinburg ,Snow Skiing, Ice Skating, Aerial Tramway, Arcade
Dollywood, fun for young and old
Moonshine Sampling, Dads need to have fun too