Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Diamond Head Studio on Gold Coast near Waikiki; Ocean Front building

Bedrooms 1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

Studio,1 Bath, Sleeps 2-4

Come relax in this charming studio located on Oahu's iconic Gold Coast! Nestled at the base of Diamond Head, our sanctuary has direct access to Kapiolani Beach Park and 2 top-rated restaurants: Michel's and The Hau Tree Lanai.

Sanctuary by the Sea, located in the Diamond Head Beach Hotel, comfortably sleeps 2-4 people. Newly remodeled, this pet-friendly property features a queen size Murphy bed, full size pull-out sofa sleeper, kitchenette, and a full bathroom featuring a shower/bathtub combination. Enjoy the 150 square foot lanai with two seating areas highlighting ocean, fountain, and Diamond Head views.

Property Manager/Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2018

About Property Manager/Owner

Born and raised in Kailua, Oahu. Lived in Lake Tahoe, Nevada for most of my life and recently moved back to Oahu to be closer to my parents. My parents bought the property in 2012 and I have been helping them manage it since 2013.

Property Manager/Owner purchased this studio in 2012

Why Property Manager/Owner chose Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis

Airy, Bright, Private, Quiet, Great Location.

What makes this studio unique

Consistent perfect breeze, naturally cool, tucked away in the best spot of the kiawe tree, watching the birds make their nests, perfect view of Diamond Head, listening to the fountain, walking down to the private beach/lounge area and usually having it to myself with the stairs to the ocean right there.


Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 6
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bath/shower combination, toilet, deep sink, t.v., toiletries provided, hairdryer, straightening iron, liquid body and hand soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size murphy bed and a full size pull-out from the sofa
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Smoking is no longer allowed on the lanai or in the unit due to house rules. All smoking is asked to be enjoyed outside of the building, across the street next to the fountain. Mahalo!


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Diamond Head Studio on Gold Coast near Waikiki; Ocean Front building
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 9 reviews

Great space!

  • 5 of 5

This little condo is a gem! Great price, great location, great owner. We were only in Oahu for two nights so it was a quick stay but Ann was so accommodating and responsive. The condo is clean and updated. It is across from the park in the quiet part of town (Diamond Head), close to shops, with lots of parking available. The highlight is the back open patio area along the ocean wall. Plenty of tables and chairs for eating and lounging. Ann made sure our needs were taken care of - it was nice to have a real person to work with rather than an impersonal rental company. Anyway, we only have good things to say... We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Julie, thank you so much for your rewarding review! I really appreciate the positive feedback and for you taking the time to review me. Much mahalos and aloha!!!! (:
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect for one person who needs a getaway or a romantic couple.

  • 5 of 5

I could not ask for anything more. While finding parking may get tricky after a certain hour, it was well with it to have the peace and quiet I was looking for. Simply beautiful and a MUST repeat.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review! You were a dream guest and I definitely look forward to hosting you again in the future, if it allows. Thank you so much for taking care of our space and I am overjoyed you had such an enjoyable stay. Many thanks Elizabeth!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful area. Loved the park right across the street and never tired of viewing Diamond Head.

  • 5 of 5

Great unit in a clean and friendly building. The seating area out front at the ocean was so relaxing. We stayed for nearly four months and Ann was always responsive to our needs and made us feel at home. We will really miss this place!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very cozy just as I expected ! Great View of Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head at the corner lanai

  • 4 of 5

I had a wonderful cozy stay at this Diamond Head studio. I have stayed at several different units at Diamond Head Beach Hotel with my family so far, and this is one of the best. This time I was a solo traveler, so this studio suited my purpose just right. The reason why I chose this corner unit is that I had expected to enjoy the view of Kapiolani park and Diamond Head from the lanai. This property turned out to be just as I had expected. The corner lanai high table and stools are just as the pictures show, and this lanai place will give you a very pleasant space for coffee time and reading. Even at night, you can enjoy reading with small outdoor light besides the table with cool comfortable breeze. With a cool trade wind, I did not use the A.C. during my six night stay. The bed was very comfortable, and I had a good sleep every night. There were a lot of gears for water activities in stock, I especially used snorkeling mask and fins, which were in good quality. The only problem I had was that I could not find the written manual for the unit which should tell you how to dispose the garbage and to put back the key when you check out and so on.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Recommending Hotel for your Hawaii vacation

  • 2 of 5

Our family has vacationed at different properties in other states that honestly were 5 star rating. I tried not to write negative reviews, but our family vacation experience in Hawaii was nothing to boast about due to what I had expected and what was provided at this home.

I'm only going to mention about the things you should consider before making your commitment. We check into this place on Sunday and check out on Friday. Ok, here it goes.....

1. The property was listed to accommodate 4 people in this condo. This was challenging....i have 15 year old son and 12 year old daughter. This place has 1 bed (sleep 2) and a L shape sofa that was intended to sleep 2 more people. Very challenging, and my kids are only 5'8" and 5'0". The mattress for the one bed was little too soft and i ended up sleeping on the couch with my son.....yikes....

2. Parking none. It's a condo, and you don't have your own parking spot. Good luck finding a free parking space on the street....i was not able to find a vacant space in 5 days that I was there.....your second option is meter parking at the park. This was also challenging, especially on our check in date on Sunday where the park was very busy and the near by beach was even busier......make sure to bring plenty of quarters. And I believe the meters are enforced 10am to 6 pm.

3. I expected the place to have a stove since it is a condo, but none was to be found. I have heard from people that dining can be expensive in Hawaii, so we wanted to buy grocery and cook our own meal for 1 or 2 days to save cost. Pretty much ended up eating out every night. But they do have a microwave.

4. The property seem to be little old, so if you have the A.C. and microwave running at the same time, it will trigger the breaker and you will find your way outside to un-trigger the breaker. This happened twice while we were there. The direction to where to go and find the breaker is well instructed in the check-in directory book.

5. Bugs and mosquitoes do not bite me, but my wife ended up getting (12 bites) and My son (5 bites). I regret now not taking a photo of their bug bites.

My intention was not to write a review if you are not going to say anything good.....but VRBO keep sending me notification of how my experience was at this property so I decided to write my comments.....

I'm sure all those who had given 4+ stars had wonderful experience at this property. But for our family of 4 was a little challenge.

Recommend Hotel.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Philip, To respond to your issues: 1. The sofa is not a sofa to be slept on, it is a pull out sofa bed so it looks like you missed that not only in the description but by not asking me or voicing your concerns. 2. It is clearly stated we do not offer parking in the building. We only recommend the street and neighbirhood parking. 3. We have a kitchenette, also clearly stated in our description. The microwave doubles as a convection oven and we have several electric stovetop and griddle to plug and use for minimal cooking. Moreober, this is a studio in an apartment building and I think even if you miss the description, the picture clearly does not show a stove. 4. It is also clearly stated to not run multiple electronics at the same time. Yes...It is an old building and there is nothing I can do about that except clearly warn and state to our guests how to avoid this problem. 5. Also, with an old building, bugs are an issue, especially in the summer. Morepver, It's Hawaii. We have termites, cockroaches and other insects at all times and in the summer months they can be far worse due to our naturally humid climate. It is unfortunate to have such a poor review written and i am saddened you had such a poor experience. However, it doesnt sound like you read our description or manual before booking and did only after you arrived, which is important to do before booking. Also, I checked in with you and tried to secure you a parking spot the day you came in since you were unaware you didn't have one and I wanted to try and remedy that but without prior notice of your need for one, that proved to be impossible. Although, we don't usually even have the luxury of finding outside parking. I only mention this because if you had other issues, especially the sofa bed not being discovered, those issues could have been remedied. Communication is important on both ends for guests to leave with a good experience but it is your responsibility to read the ins and outs of the rental before you book so that disappointments such as this are prevented. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little studio, great location, great price.

  • 5 of 5

Loved this little rental. We were a military family moving out of HI. RIMPAC ( big military exercise) was going on and all of the billeting on island was taken. We needed a place that would accept a small dog and Ann, the manager, was super accommodating on that request and so many others. The rental is just east of downtown Waikiki, so my family was able to goof off on the beach while I put in a last week at work (we were down to one car). The cost of eating out here is atrocious, so the little kitchenette was a huge help with keeping that cost down. Also, the décor was nice: nice furniture, decked out bathroom, and bonus sofa bed. If there was any complaint it would be that parking was a bit of a drag. Once we figured out the parking on the other side of the big park across the street was free, and the meters closer were free after 6 pm, we were able to get by. Pretty small price to pay for everything else you get.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review eric! I am super impressed with you and your family as well! Welcomed back anytime! My dad said you're kids and dog were very well behaved! We also were very impressed by the flexibility you had concerning the maintenance man coming by! Thank you and Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0





Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 13.96%

Rates are subject to change.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.