Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Surfside Bungalow (Where The Surf Spots Begin)

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Provide leisure pleasure; Guest on the North Shore.

Triple Crown Surfing begins Nov. 11th.- Dec. 20th, 2014 $1.15 Million, Total prize purse!!! Nights, est. 76 degrees with wind and rain)

This is a 3 bedroom, 1 bath house. Cooler part of island

Front of house has 2 faucets to was sand of boards and feet.

2 parking on site and street parking in front of the house.

Waialua Bay and Haleiwa Harbor is the park and beach

Located in Waialua and near Haleiwa beach and Haleiwa Town Center.

Property Manager: Please note Property Manager on Site in a 1 bedroom

behind the rental.

Included are:

• Refrigerator w/ ice maker (new)

R/O Electric, Micro-wave, pots, pans etc.

Laundry room with desk and table

> Working on completing deck

• Washer (front load, new) with spin-dry

. No A/C only Tower fans in most rooms

Property restored by Work Skills Hawaii (WSH) a local non-profit working with young adults to gain productive work skills.

This was actually a plantation house that former sugar mill workers of the Waialua Sugar Mill.

This posting makes no claims being perfect. There are plans to continue leveling the backyard and eventually building a another house to utilize the Mountain & ocean views. Please note Property Manager on Site in a 1 bedroom behind the rental.

More Details

Owner/Property Manager: Maverick
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 13, 2018

About Owner/Property Manager: Maverick

Owner: Tennis Player (Rylie)

Property Manager: Maverick on site behind the house which has a fence dividing the 2 homes.

Owner/Property Manager: Maverick purchased this bungalow in 2014

Why Owner/Property Manager: Maverick chose Waialua

Secluded beaches as appose to mass umbrellas with chairs for rental fee.

3 Full size beds and MBR Queen

What makes this bungalow unique

We are child friendly with toy box small bikes

3 Boogie boards some diving fins, snorkel mask

1 Play pen and stroller


Waialua Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • (Exterior open shower to wash fins, surfboard,sand off ft) - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , outdoor shower
  • One full bathroom with sink and tub
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • 1 Queen Size, M-BR 1 Full size from Costco (+Desk) 2 Full size from Costco
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Property Manager on site Stays behind the garage and maintains property Scooters are his as well as SUV and/or van Currently testing for Journeyman Plumber Lic.


3.7/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

36% Complete
27% Complete
18% Complete
4% Complete
13% Complete
Surfside Bungalow (Where The Surf Spots Begin)
average rating of 3.6818182 based on 22 reviews

Dark, Hot, Dusty, Gross, and Scary

  • 1 of 5

We made a huge mistake in renting this shack. We notified the property manager months in advance, and made all payment as requested. We thought we had made a home run. North Shore, beds for us all, a kitchen, and a washer! Less then 20 days till we were leaving for our vacation we get notified of an extra $180 bucks that vrbo didn't charge us. We couldn't get our money back cause it was less then 30 days and only getting half our money back and finding a new spot would have cost us more then the 180. So we decided to cancel a couple of activities and pay the remaining 180.

We showed up early. Totally my oversight. I called. And was promptly called back saying he would only be a short while finishing up. So we leave and come back at 1:45. Check in is at 2. No one is around and no one is answering me calling hello. Finally at 2 we walk in. The house was so hot and humid and there was a wasp right inside the front door. We try to get comfy and then Maverick shows up, mumbles a few things, and a few tips of local spots, turns on a robot vacume and leaves. We never see or hear from him again until the day after we leave and he sends me an email notifying me I had left food in the fridge, sand on the floor, and a few dishes in the sink. That is my bad I should have thrown out all the extra food and cleaned every single dish. I apologize. But this doesn't make up for the disgusting toilet with dirt hair and some piss stains all around the seat and floor, the years of layered dust on top and in EVERYTHING, the black mold and caked on dirt on top of most of the floor board trim, the window shutters brown and grey layered in dead leaves, dead bugs, and dirt, or the ancient shower with moldy caulking and mildew covered walls/furnishings.

There was not a washer we could wash any of our clothes. The owner lives right through a door in the back of the kitchen, but we never saw him. We took our shoes off every time we came in the house, and tried to keep the sand outside by rinsing everything off but we spent all our time on the beaches and that sand is everywhere and in everything. The neighborhood was scary and the neighbors loud and up late.

I am allergic to mold and mildew. We spent most of our time outside of the house, dreading every time we had to go back to the heat and BUGS. But this was a family vacation we had saved and planned over 5 years with our kids. We couldn't afford to go anywhere else so we made do till we left.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have a washer (see photo). Please note that most 3 BR rentals charge $250 to clean and we charge only $150. We cleaned the bathroom as always. When there is too much dirt and sand on the floors and beds, plus dishes in the sink and left over food in a pot we charge an extra cleaning fee. The fee is for the stress to clean the house in time for the next guest. We wash all the sheets and towels in the on-site washer. This is only the 2nd time we have done this.... since 2015!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Low budget

  • 3 of 5

If you are just looking for a place to crash and need space, it’s fine. Basics are there. If you are comparing it to more pricey places and believe all are created equal you will be disappointed. The neighbors are great, don’t let first impressions taint your opinion. They shared smoked pig with me.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
West Covina, CA

Nice getaway

  • 5 of 5

The price for the 3 bedroom is great it's tucked away about a block from the beach can't go wrong with your stay here

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for for great comment Found / someone left Apple hearing plugs. Did you want it mailed to you or guest .... ? M-BR Maverick, PM
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

I spent weeks trying to find the perfect place for me and my two kids (11& 14) to stay on the North Shore. I never leave reviews but since I used them to make my choice I thought i better to help the next person. This is a house in a quite neighborhood. The property manager lives on the property, which made me feel safer since I was somewhere unfamiliar. There is no a/c but strong fans in every room. If you just open the curtains you get plenty of cool breeze. The location was perfect less than 1/4 mile from multiple highways to take you where ever you want to go. Even though everything is 40 miles or less away it does take an hour to get there because of the speed limits. The house has everything you need plus we left some water shoes behind...which you will need for beaches like Sharks cove, it was a 10 min drive to Dole Plantation, 5 mins to Haleiwa and all the shops and beaches there, it took 45 mins to get to Laie and the PCC, and 45 mins from the airport. There were comments about construction, there is some construction stuff but really you shouldnt be in that area. The washer works great and clothes dry in an hour or so on the line. The kitechen has everything but a rice cooker. It could have been cleaner, the frige was a little dirty and the floors had some sand, but its the beach what do you expect. It has beautiful mountian views and when you are coming off the hill of hwy 93..take pictures!!! Its beautiful. Its around the corner from Paalaa bakery which is a must stop for snow puffies! There is gated parking, the picture shown is a little older because all the bushes have grown and provided excellent privacy. This is not a fancy hotel so if that is what you want dont stay here, if you can live without a/c it may not work for you. It worked perfect for us as a home base while we explored the island and on the last day when we just needed to relax before the flight home. Do not be intimidated to stay at this home, we will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends that are not high maintenance. I gave it 4 stars only because they charge $120 for cleaning but the house was not as clean as it should be for that price.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0

Blew my socks off....

  • 5 of 5

So much to do on the North Shore and visited so many shops at reasonable prices. Ate at quite a few award

winning lunch wagons as well as L & L BBQ. The house offered additional option's as so many recreational

fins, boogie boards, BBQ (portable) and a tent for shade! Too bad we just missed a Surf contest, shucks.

This place was so tropical and enjoyable.


  • Submitted: May 12, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed yourselves. Maverick. PM
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Description not accurate

  • 1 of 5

As Rick S. stated in his August 2016 review, Maverick the property manager is a very nice person. I had a couple issues pop up and he took care of them immediately even if he was on his way out on an errand. Very considerate and he has a likeable personality.


All I can say is +1 on mostly everything Rick S. stated in his review. The house is very very very (did I say very) hot and humid during the afternoons and the fans provided do not adequately keep you cool. My wife and I found ourselves dreading going back to the house before it was dark outside purely because of the heat.

We also had an issue with bugs. There were ants in the kitchen as well as the bathroom tub. My 1 y/o son almost picked up a 3 inch roach as well - you can image how much fun that would have been.

The floor was incredibly dirty. We could not walk around barefoot without getting the bottom of our feet black with dirt. The floor looks clean but it hasn't been mopped in awhile.

I really can't understand the 4-5 star reviews. If there weren't any bugs I would have given this place 2 stars. If there were ceiling fans - I would have given this place 3 stars. I really don't have a problem spending some time in a place that needs a little lovin' so I'm not knocking this place because it's an old house, I'm knocking it because it's not accurately represented in the listing at this time.

Lastly, the owner had the house blurred out on Google Street View. The outside picture posted in this listing is not an accurate representation of what you will be driving up to.


Plenty of bed space - 4 beds and they were comfortable.

Plenty of awesome pillows.

It's close to the beach - it's still about a 10 minute walk but a quick drive.

New appliances.

Fast Interwebs.

Smart TV - was able to hook up a laptop and watch movies.

Closing Impressions:

I picked this place on a whim, I should have researched more. Because this trip was a working vacation for me, I did not have to spend too much time at the house - which I am grateful for. My wife was not so lucky. I think staying here really put a damper on our trip and I would not recommend this for anybody unless a whole bunch of adults are looking for a cheap place to crash at night. Just do yourself a favor and avoid - It's really not worth the price tag.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Previous owner did the blur thing...perhaps he wanted to protect his child??? Did not want to spray to kill when you have a young child. Floors are a problem to keep clean with windows open. Basically, A/C all the time and windows closed. A/C would run perhaps $800 per month w/o solar. Trying to pull a Permit to lift it say 10 ft as lot and house in Tsunami zone and flood plain est. $10,000 annually. Wow, that's a Big Roach! When i played music they would fly right at me with the lights on use. I really want to lift this house just no time, view shall improve and perhaps cooler. Shall spray for bugs tomorrow. Ants seem to follow sugar Wanted long-term rental once house is lifted so no parking issues Sorry, Maverick, PM
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Old Sugar Mill Brand Waialua Coffee
Coffee Shop
La Cosecha Hawaii
Mexican Restaurant
Nui's Thai Food
Thai Restaurant
Island X Hawaii
Coffee Shop
Jerry's Pizza Mill
Pizza Restaurant
Mayjah Grinds
Hawaiian Restaurant
Paradise Fresh Food
Malai Thai
Thai Restaurant
Korean Restaurant
Laura's korean BBQ
Korean Restaurant
Surf N Salsa
Mexican Restaurant
Big Wave Shrimp
Hawaiian Restaurant
Barbecue Restaurant
Sprout Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
Killer Tacos Inc
Mexican Restaurant
Haleiwa Juice Works
VJ's North Shore Dogs & Burgers
Hamburger Restaurant
The Beet Box Cafe
Organic Restaurant
Polynesian Tattoo Factory
Dat Cajun Guy
Lunch Restaurant
Zane's Simply Shrimp
Cafe Haleiwa
Delice Crepes haleiwa
HONO'S Shrimp Truck
Korean Restaurant
Okina Cafe
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Seafood Restaurant
Barbecue Restaurant
Breakers Restaurant & Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Thai Bo
Thai Restaurant
Hapa Tacos
V Land Tacos
Camaronshrimp Shrimp Truck
Hawaiian Restaurant
Storto's Deli & Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
Crispy Grindz Pastelaria
Camaron Shrimp Truck
Banzai Sushi Bar
Sushi Restaurant
IL Gelato Cafe Haleiwa
Cholo's Homestyle Mexican
Mexican Restaurant
Advance Restaurant Management
L & L Drive-Inn
Barbecue Restaurant
CRISPY GRINDZ ACAI BOWLS and brazilian food
Pizza Restaurant
The Elephant Truck
Thai Restaurant
The Elephant Shack
Thai Restaurant
Ray's Kiawe Broiled Chicken
Chicken Restaurant
Kua Aina Sandwich Shop
Hamburger Restaurant
� 아아니아
Fine Dining Restaurant
Island Vintage Coffee
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Additional Guest Fee $11 per person per night
Pet Fee $35
Damage Deposit $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties