Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious home in Cleveland Tennessee, just minutes to Lee University.

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8 /10

Walk into this family friendly, two level house and you'll feel like you're home. Settle in and enjoy the upstairs master and den that looks into the oaks and you'll feel like you're in your own treehouse. This home is located 2 miles from Lee University, 33 miles from Chattanooga, and 20 miles from the Hiwassee and Ocoee Rivers. This home has 2000 square feet of comfortable living space in a quiet neighborhood among the oak trees near downtown Cleveland. Located minutes from I-75 and numerous dining and shopping locations, some which are open 24/7 (City Cafe Diner). If you eat to much at the Diner, you could work it off walking there and back ☺️

FYI- To see the discount for a week book at least 7 consecutive days to see discount for a month book at least 29 consecutive days.

More Details

Owner /Property manager
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018

About Owner /Property manager

My husband and I live in Michigan and purchased Hickory House to be able to see our son his wife and our grandchildren

more often and not from a hotel room..., we crossed fingers and hoped the house would pay for itself . And we have to thank our guests and say it is working !

We will be moving to Cleveland in a few years for our retirement. We are looking forward to it and already love cleveland the weather the wonderful rivers lakes and parks and the people are very friendly.

We already have so many guests that are returning to Hickory house to visit their families friends and places that we may leave it as a homeaway for some years to come.

Owner /Property manager purchased this house in 2015

Why Owner /Property manager chose Cleveland

It's so comfortable at Hickory House a little different kind of retro but it feels like Home already.. The trees are beautiful, the deck is great for a fire or coffee in the morning, the den is big roomy and a great place for family time.. The library is great for quiet time reading and to get away for a little while, it’s beautiful in the morning with a cup of tea...., the light is perfect.

Close to any shopping, restaurants , Lee University, Chattanooga , the Cherokee National forest and the Ocoee and Hiawassee rivers. Lots to do !

What makes this house unique

Lots of room , fits two or three couples easily.


Cleveland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , 1st floor bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 king , Master bedroom and bathroom on 2nd floor
    bedroom 2 next to master bedroom - 1 double , On 2nd floor
    1st floor Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Cozy library with a very comfortable futon
    bedroom 1 - 1 double , On 1st floor
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
29% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious home in Cleveland Tennessee, just minutes to Lee University.
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 27 reviews

Home in Cleveland

  • 4 of 5

Hickory House is an older property that needs a little care when you stay, but this negative is far outweighed by the pluses. It was clean and well stocked with necessities, had a great location (close to restaurants, shopping, and Perry Stone's OCI conference center). The appliances were fairly new and the house provided a great place for our church group to sit, talk, and relax together.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and saw the wonderful qualities of Hickory house. We are slowly but surely updating, all new windows last year. We had to groom the trees this year any overhanging the drive and the house and we had to "sadly " take down two huge oaks. We will putting in a new heating and cooling unit and insulation next month. Our guests that already have returned for a second and third visit have already commented on the changes and love Hickory house even more , as do my husband and I. Come back any time David, it's guests like you that enable us to offer Hickory house for guests to visit family and friends enjoy weddings and tend to church business. ✨ Alan and Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Absolutely Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

What a great house, spacious, wonderful scenery and close to everything. My nine year old said he wants us to live there forever!!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay!!! Bring your son and stay anytime you come to Cleveland ✨ Joanne and Alan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Just like home

  • 5 of 5

A very nice older home with lots of character and detail. It was so nice to have a kitchen stocked with pots, pans, silverware and dishes that made our stay feel just like home. The outside patio was very enjoyable. The master bedroom was beautifully decorated, the bed was awesome and the sitting area was very comfortable. My favorite room was the library with the old wooden built in bookshelves. Lots of windows and big kitchen table. Would love to stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house was great and the area was perfect for all our activity

  • 5 of 5

We all enjoyed our stay lots of room for everyone and everything needed was there could have needed a few more bath towels other then that we enjoyed the house and our stay. Thank you

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Four Star

  • 3 of 5

Our stay was very pleasant the owner went above and beyond to accommodate our needs I would recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was perfect for our needs.

  • 5 of 5

There were 6 of us and we enjoyed our stay very much. Just a few suggestions or repairs needed. It did not change our attitude, but just our observations,

1. One outlet in the kitchen is actually pulling away from the plaster.

2 Toilet seat on the second floor was broken before we got there. Needs replacement.

3. Lower shower not working properly. If you add cold water it puts out just COLD.

4. Mattress in the 1st floor bedroom is in bad shape. They thought it might need slats accross the frame as the box spring seemed to sag. Something wrong anyway.

5. The upstairs tub is very slick and my husband fell. He is ok, but we put a towel in

the tub so people would not slip. Maybe a mat or some stick ons.

6. I am a lite sleeper and the clock in the upstairs bath sounds like a metronome (click click click). Nothing wrong, just my observations.

Other than that, we were very close to the wedding and plenty of shopping in the area. We used the grill to cookout hamburgers and brats. It was very cold, so we had to run the heaters to stay warm. I'm sure lack of insulation is a problem. I hope we left the place in good shape, I tried to follow after the guests to make sure they picked up. It would have been nice with a second TV, but nice to have wifi access for the younger girls. I would definitely recommend your home to anyway visiting that area. Thanks again. Mike and Cathy Daydif

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know ! We haven’t been at Hickory house since October and sometimes the cleaning crew can miss things like this. We can easily correct most of these . And we do appreciate your input. We do ask guests to let us know as soon as they arrive or as soon as they find something amiss, the guests before you did not tell us these things were broken or there was a problem, I assure you they would have been fixed before you arrived. We sent our handyman over and addressed and all are resolved. I always tell our guests to immediately let us know if anything is wrong. We will get someone over to correct anything you are uncomfortable with. All kinds of things get broken and the cleaning crew doesn’t always catch it. It’s a big house. We want you to be happy with your stay and we don’t mind a text to have us send someone over to fix something, we appreciate it. Thanks again , joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Chattanooga Metropolitan airport
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The City Cafe


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $75
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

Rates are based on 8 people, $10.00 per additional guest per stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.