check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Dockside Dreaming! Best Sunset on the Beach

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-9)

Imagine sipping iced tea and rocking your cares away on the back porch of this newly painted, and decorated cottage as you watch the brilliant sunset reflect across the Intercoastal waterway. Enjoy watching your children play safely in the newly fenced-in backyard. Watch the shrimp boats bring in a fresh harvest, or catch your own seafood off your private dock.

With the beach only 150 yards away, you can enjoy the best of both worlds, easy beach access and a place to dock your boat, even at low tide! You can take a dip off the dock at high tide! Watch the dolphins play and pelicans dive for their dinner!

The pier is within easy walking distance. You can fish or just get an ice cream cone and walk out and see what others are catching. The concrete sidewalks that line Ocean Boulevard make walking and jogging safe. Beach chair and umbrella rentals are available on the island as are kayaking and other water sports.

A quaint and charming island paradise, without crowds or flashing lights, Holden Beach is a beach lover's dream! Collect shells and shark's teeth as you stroll along the shore. Build sand castles, read, swim, nap, and ride the waves. We’ve even seen sea turtles hatching! Experience a vacation that is tranquil and unhurried; relax, reflect and rediscover yourself and your family!

With famous Myrtle Beach, SC only 35 minutes away, you can relax on the island all day and play in the big city all night! The new highway makes the trip traffic-free. Take in one of the many live shows (House of Blues, Legends, Alabama Theater, Carolina Opry, Medieval Times, and The Dixie Stampede) or dance the night away at one of Broadway at the Beach’s nightclubs.

Find some terrific bargains at the Tanger Outlets, where you can shop at Old Navy, Tommy Hilfiger, Gap, Liz Claiborne, and many, many other famous brand outlet stores. Putt-putt at the most amazing putt-putt courses you have ever seen! There is also an IMAX at Broadway at the Beach. And did we mention the waterparks?

For the golfers, there are many courses to choose from within easy driving distance. The moderate climate of the area makes golf all year long comfortable!

If you are looking for great dining, Calabash, “The Seafood Capitol of the World” is only 20 minutes away. You can eat at one of many fancy restaurants or wait in the line that wraps around the local favorite, the Seafood Hut, where the fresh seafood is fabulous without frills. Don't worry, it moves fast! Don’t miss visiting Callahan’s enormous gift shop, where you can find the perfect souvenir, or anything else! At nearby Sunset Beach, you can watch the floating drawbridge move to let the boats pass while enjoying fine dining at Twin Lakes where the hushpuppies are divine!

Or you can stay at home and cook your own meals in our fully equipped kitchen or grill out in the backyard!

Only ten minutes away, the town of Shallotte offers great restaurants without the crowds and a brand new movie theater! There is also a Walmart, CVS, Belks, Bath & Bodyworks, and other shops.

Just minutes up the road from Shallotte you’ll find the historic town of Southport where you can stroll the shady, oak lined streets and shop for unique gifts and antiques. Take a day trip on the ferry from Southport to Bald Head Island where you can rent a golf cart (no cars allowed on the island) and tour the island. Or, take the ferry to Fort Fisher and visit the Civil War Museum or the Fort Fisher Aquarium. Pack a picnic lunch, feed the birds, and search for starfish among the mossy rocks.

Historic Wilmington, NC is 38 miles away. With a colorful past, including lots of pirates, this is a fun city to tour, on foot or by carriage! Visit the battleship while you are there! Lots of neat shops at Chandlers Wharf!

Charleston, SC is a approximately 120 miles away, but well worth the drive! You can tour the city in a horse drawn carriage, play in the fountain at the waterfront park,

Keywords: Beach House, Canal, Cottage

More Details

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About The Owner

My wife Kathryn is originally from Smithfield, NC, and I am from Wilson, NC. We really enjoy spending time at the Beach and with family. We have a four-year old son, Spence and our one year old son, Austin. Don't let me forget our Boston Terrier, Holden (named for the beach, of course). I am employed in the Medical Equipment Industry and my wife is a Mortgage Loan Officer.

The Owner purchased this house in 2009

Why The Owner chose Southern Coast

My wife's family has always come to Holden Beach, and we were really excited about the prospect of owning our own home on a canal and very close to the ocean!!

What makes this house unique

An ideal day includes having coffee on the back porch while enjoying breakfast from the pier. After that, a day at the beach and a good lunch. Then a nap on the hammock and a cookout in the backyard make for an enjoyable closing to an enjoyable day!! Have Fun!


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Dockside Dreaming! Best Sunset on the Beach
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews

Great place to vacation

  • 5 of 5

My three sons, their families and I just returned from Dockside Dreaming. I was a little skeptical after reading some of the reviews about it needing love, but I found nothing in need of major repairs. I was completely happy with this house and we absolutely loved staying there! My 10 year old grandson practically lived on the pier catching crabs, as did the other grandkids, and my sons docked their boat in the canal so it was always accessible to go fishing. The beach was just a few steps away, the pier and a general store are across the street in walking distance when you are out of bread or milk. There was plenty of room with four good sized bedrooms and it was very clean with cable tv, wifi. The best part was the reasonable rate. We will definitely be staying there again!! Thanks for sharing your home with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Lovely week at beach

  • 4 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful stay on Holden Beach. Each year we try a different coastal area looking for our forever vacation spot. We usually travel with 6-7 adults and 2 toddlers.

Dockside Dreaming worked for our needs. Here are our Thoughts.


The best part of DD is the location. It's right across the street from the beach (and the room my husband and I slept in had a small ocean view). We loved being on the canal. We fished and crabbed right from the dock. We also had a chance to chat with our neighbors. The walk to the beach was very doable with kids and it really was the best part.

Another positive is dealing with the Youngs (the owners). They were very easy to deal with and so nice to rent from.

The cost of the rental was very nice. We appreciated being able to be so close to the beach at a very affordable rate.


The cons aren't a huge deal just some observations but they wouldn't prevent us from renting DD again.

The house needs some TLC. As others have mentioned it shows its age. There is quite a bit of construction happening on the island so soon it be more obvious. But everything works technically so again not a reason to not rent.

There's a weekly cleaning that happens but the house could use maybe a monthly deep clean. I have a hard time with dust and there was quite a bit in weird places like on the wicker beds (it's pretty thick by the end of July). I had to take allergy meds to help.

The Youngs provide quite a bit (we were very happy with the Weber Grill since we have 2 at home) but the cabinets were FILLED with dishes, glasses and appliances. As a personal chef I tend to travel with my own seasonings, tools (including pots) and food and unfortunately there wasn't much space for us to put things away. So if you rent try to limit the stuff you bring for the kitchen.

All in all Our week was nice. I liked it enough to want to return. One day when I have a boat 😀򐀠And dockside dreaming is a great value for the price. And I'm already thinking of next years vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, nc

Beachful Bliss!!

  • 5 of 5

I rented "Dockside Dreaming" as a girls weekend for my birthday. We had a wonderful time! The house is a bit older but still very cute and nicely decorated. You can't beat the canal view either! We spent the majority of our time on the back deck and even relaxed in the hammock. The fenced in yard is a great addition if you have children staying with you. Also the downstairs shower works like a champ! There was ample parking under the house and also in the front yard. Beach access couldn't be better! You are about 100 yards from the public access and about a 2-3 minute walk. The kitchen was adequately stocked with everything you need to cook any and all meals. We had a great cook out our last night and made use of the charcoal grill. I really don't have a negative thing to say about this gem of a beach house. Bryan was always extremely responsive via email to my questions and concerns and a pleasure to rent from. I hope to come back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Matthews, N.C.


  • 1 of 5

Unfortunately and much to our disappointment, my friend and I were dumbfounded at the dirt we found in your house. My shower curtain was..filthy.. black with mold and mildew, no bathroom outlets (what about shaving, curling irons,blow dryers??), Sliding screen was hanging by a thread, dead bugs behind dresser...had to pull out, desperately looking for a plug..bedcover had spots of either chocolate or blood...who knows??, no bedside lamp, screens and window frames on canal porch are rotten. I have owned and or rented beach homes over the years, but this took the cake. Perhaps you house "cleaner" forgot to show up prior to our visit. This house is desperately in need of repairs. I would not rent again. The location was good and the other homes on the street were well kept. We were so uncomfortable with your home, that we didn't invite our friends over,,,just met them elsewhere.Perhaps you should go check on the house more often. It is SCREAMING for attention. While you're there, notice the dirt packed in each floor corner in, what was my bath, the one on the right, facing canal. A/C ran well and quietly, as did the dishwasher. LOT of junk shoved under my bed, along with the dirt and dust. My friend,B. was much kinder in her review of the house. We both agree that the layout of the house is nice, but that's about it.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately towards the end of rental season there can be some issues, but I have always promptly addressed them when I was informed (I was not informed here, this was a surprise attack!). In addition, we try to keep the rate fair and lower than most rentals in the area. Constructive criticism is encouraged, but angry rants are offensive and I am hopeful that it does not put off future renters, as all it would have taken here is another visit from the cleaning staff to make things better, had I known.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
O'fallon, MO

Multi generation vacationers

  • 4 of 5

We had an amazing time while staying at this home. Yes it needs some love. The dock needs some tlc, I wouldn't let my kids out there alone, but I wouldn't have anyway, we just watched where we stepped. It was my husband and I with our two young girls and my grandfather. Everyone enjoyed themselves. Mosquitoes were a problem, not that that can be controlled but that was really our biggest problem. My husband was most excited to have cable tv, I know it's a guy thing. We were so close to the beach access it was perfect. Personally, we didn't want to be right on the beach, too tempting for young kids to run out there without someone knowing. So having a fenced yard with gates that are a little difficult to open kept them where we wanted them.

Thank you for opening your home to us. If we make our way back there we would certainly consider renting from you again.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Charlotte, North Carolina

Good location, needs some love

  • 3 of 5

I utilize VRBO/Homeaway regularly and rely on the reviews from former renters to choose the homes I rent so I want to make sure I fairly comment on this property. The home is conveniently located with easy access to the beach and pier. The canal is lovely to sit by, the kitchen is well stocked, has good appliances and the owner was very easy to work with.....however, this is a very tired home that needs some love. When we arrived the home wasn't properly cleaned and had an odor so we had to spend time taking care of those issues. There was a missing light fixture in the kitchen ceiling and burned out light bulbs in bathroom fixtures. When we tried to replace bulbs the light fixtures shorted out the bulbs immediately. The furnishings were also very tired and worn. I came to the beach expecting a home in pretty good shape, especially since we were very early in the renting season and since I had chosen the home partially based on comments/reviews of previous renters on this site but that was not the case. And, while the rental cost for this home was very reasonable, I was disappointed and would have been happy to pay a bit more for a home that was more cared for and loved.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Sometimes renting a home is challenging because we cannot always be there to make sure the house is in great condition and exactly the way we would like to present it. We try to counteract that by offering competitive rates in a wonderful location, as mentioned. Sometimes light bulbs have to be changed, and windows opened initially because it does get stale at the beach with no breeze. A couple of hours with the windows open usually does the trick, as it did here. In this case, an offer was made to clean again, and there was no calls related to the lights. We are happy to address any needs that come about, simply let us know!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Public Beach Access
Nearest Point of Interest
Holden Beach Pier


Rates & Availability

Holden Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Oct 8 2016 - Mar 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
Early Spring
Mar 12 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
May 28 2017 - Aug 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
Aug 20 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

A $200 Security Deposit is due immediately with Reservation. The Balance is due 14 days prior to check in or the contract is void. Credit cards are accepted for Balance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Holden Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) One of the bedrooms contains a bunk bed with a single bed on top of a double bed!
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Fenced in back yard

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties