Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Smokey Mountain Cabin Overlooking Lake Nantahala and minutes away from rafting.

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 0 - 5 nights


About the property

Cabin - 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-12)

Our Smokey Mountain Rustic Cabin overlooking Lake Nantahala is designed with comfort in mind. Our chalet gives you the feel of a being in a old fashioned lodge but with all luxuries of home.

Enjoy the breathtaking view from our double level deck after a great day of fun. Relax playing pool in the game room with the fireplace burning or let all of your tension melt away under the stars in our therma spa Jacuzzi on the downstairs deck overlooking Lake Nantahala.

Keywords: lake and mountain cabin near rafting hiking and motorcycle trails

More Details

Greg or Donna
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english, spanish, limited amount of spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

Why Greg or Donna chose Topton

Awesome view of Lake Nantahala and the Smokey Mountains

What makes this chalet unique

jacuzzi and two decks overlooking lake nanatahala


Topton Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4), Murphy Beds (1) trundle bed
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
57% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Smokey Mountain Cabin Overlooking Lake Nantahala and minutes away from rafting.
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
Middle Tennessee

Awesome cabin

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was great. Just like the pictures. All the beds slept good and the kitchen is stocked with everything you need to prepare a meal. Donna was easy to work with. If you want a peaceful vacation this is place to be. No cell phone service was a great break for everyone on our trip. The drive way is steep but didn't bother us since we live in Tennessee hill country

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Cabin by the Lake. We want you to be as comfortable as possible when you are away from home. It is peaceful in that area and also has plenty of activities to do. We hope you will come back soon to make more great memories! Thank you, Greg Coxon, Donna Pittman
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice cabin with a great view

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the cabin the first week in October and had an wonderful time. It is nicely decorated and spacious. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare and serve meals. There were four families and the layout of the cabin worked great for our needs. Our dog was allowed to come with us which made the trip all the more fun. The younger kids loved the game room and library of movies and the older kids loved the make-shift fire pit and balcony views. Unfortunately, the timing of our trip wasn't great with all the rain before and during our visit but there was plenty to do at the cabin and we were able to enjoy the lake on our last day. The view is beautiful and serene and the surrounding area offers a lot to. There is no cellular service at the cabin but a phone is available for local calls. The wifi was iffy at times but the owner was notified of this and assured us they would take care of the issue. The driveway is rather steep and textured against skidding but with fallen leaves and rain, a truck or SUV is recommended. The owner was going to make some updates which should add even more to the experience. Great to work with!

Thanks you for making our family reunion a special one.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

great stay

  • 4 of 5

We recently went up in October the place was very clean and had awesome view of the lake and great room for a group of 12.

the only downside is it takes 2 weeks for the refundable deposit to return to your account, which the owners mail back to in a check. Though, if that's not a problem for you, this would be an awesome mountain retreat.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that Seneca had a great vacation at our cabin by the lake. Our rental agreement clearly states that it will be two weeks to receive deposits back since we are out of town owners. To eliminate this problem in the future we will reduce our deposit return timeframe down to one week. As always we apreciate your input and comments so we can keep improving our cabins and the vacations and memories in our homes.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
United States

Nice and comfortable stay away from home. Cabin in the woods away from bustling traffic.

  • 4 of 5

The property is clean and well-maintained. We stayed for a weekend for 3 nights and we completely enjoyed our stay. The lake is in close proximity and can be viewed right from the cabin. I would definitely recommend this property to a friend. We had an outing to Nantahala river rafting which would take 30 mins by car.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Relaxing & Fun-Filled Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the cabin in August and had a wonderful, relaxing time. There were four adults, four children (7 & under), and 2 dogs in our group; and we had plenty of room in the house and each family had their own space. The kids LOVED the game room, and had a ball playing there each night. We rented a boat (and a tube for tubing) at Lakes End marina for two days, and I would highly recommend it. It was very relaxing & fun, and a great way to see the fantastic views. There is no wireless or cell service at the cabin, so make sure you plan your activities and get directions BEFORE heading to the cabin. Luckily we had done so, and being unconnected was one of the best parts... good quality time spent with family & friends with no emails or work distractions. The only negative was a leaky air conditioner unit, however the maintenance man was easily reachable and came out to check on things within a reasonable time.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Cabin by the Lake. We are glad that everyone had fun and enjoyed their vacation. We try to make things as comfortable as possible while you are away from home. Hope to see you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Pinehurst, NC

Mountain Holiday

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at the cabin for the holidays this year. We had a wonderful time! The cabin was perfect for our group. We had 6 adults and 6 kids. We all slept comfortably. The rooms are decorated so beautifully. The view of the lake is amazing!! Thanks for making our family holiday so pleasant!!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: December 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you and your family had such a good time. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with others. We hope you will come back to stay with us in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0


Nantahala River
great family river
Bryant Bait & Tackle
great stop before going out on the lake for the day
Nantahala River
great family river
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
hwy 74
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Lakes End
Nearest Ski
50 Miles


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250
Refundable damage deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties