About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 7 nights
2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4
One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Nihi Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 300 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach Park. The plantation style architecture at this small island oasis by the sea is surrounded by swaying palms, tropical flowers, fruit trees, orchids, and mature plumeria trees accented by well manicured lawns.
Heated oceanfront swimming pool
Tennis courts and a paddleball court
Complimentary self parking
Two community BBQ locations
On-site front desk, Concierge and Activities services
24 hour emergency contact and response
Daily maid service available (for additional charge
Check-in: 3:00 pm, check-out 10:00 am (late check-out upon availability for additional charge
Superior ocean view, one-level floor plan, approximately 1,500 square feet
Top floor, two level of stairs to entry
Island casual interior
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
* Master Suite – king bed, private ocean view lanai, full bath tub with shower
* Second Suite – two twin beds (convertible to king), private lanai, full bath tub with shower
TV/DVD/CD in living room, private ocean view lanai
Wireless hi-speed internet, in-room safe
Washer and dryer, open parking
*DAMAGE PROTECTION INSURANCE FOR $69.00 FOR $3,000.00 IN COVERAGE OR A REFUNDABLE SECURITY DEPOSIT OF $1,500.00 IS REQUIRED FOR ALL RESERVATIONS. YOU WILL BE CONTACTED BY THE PROPERTY MANAGER AFTER BOOKING ON LINE VIA VRBO/HOMEAWAY/EXPEDIA TO ADD YOUR CHOICE OR YOU CAN NOTE YOUR CHOICE IN THE COMMENTS BOX WHEN BOOKING.
Just steps along the shoreline, Nihi Kai Villas is the closest condominiums to the world-famous body surfing Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach State Park. Some units are just 50 yards from the ocean with others terracing up the gentle sloping hill to the upper panoramic ocean view units 300 yards from the ocean.
Poipu Beach Park
The Parrish Collection Kauai
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- May 26, 2018
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Lovely grounds, condo was fine, with adequate appliances and all the important provisions. Nice and
Great location, great view from the lanai. No A/c, but we figured out how to keep it aired out.
We had a wonderful stay at the Nihi Kai Villas. The property is well kept and very pretty. Our apt. on the 3rd floor with the great view was a place to relax and enjoy aloha. The location is just a few steps away from the beach and a very good restaurant. Would love to be back!
This condo has a beautiful view up on the hill looking out over the water
This condo is very dated and does not have that personal touch that we have experienced at other condos in Hawaii. The condo had the very basic utensils and absolutely no condiments whatsoever except a salt and pepper shaker. If you wanted to cook any meal or breakfast you would need to buy all of the basic essentials. We stayed up in a condo in Princeville for 2 days and it was completely stocked with even the simplest of your needs. There was plenty of room for our family as the boys 21,17 had a room of there own. The view was beautiful and I would give it a 5/5 but like I mentioned earlier this condo lacks any personal touch to it and be prepared to buy ALL of your condiments if you want to cook. I would probably not stay at this condo again .
Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. We take great lengths to photograph and describe all units. This unit is rated an “island casual” and we do state that “Although not recently updated, these unique properties provide value and comfort for your family, yet still meet Parrish Kauai’s minimum quality standards.”. We are sorry you were surprised as I do see you booked it directly online, so we assume you reviewed all this prior to booking. In terms of condiments, this is a conscious decision as we think it is more sanitary, healthier and safe not to have other people’s food items left in the units. Please know we are happy to supply any food items that you require as long as you give a note ahead of time. Again, we are sorry and hope you will reconsider when you travel to Kauai again. Mahalo.
Excellent view, high ceiling condo was wonderful!
It was VERY HOT - never seemed to cool off at night or in the morning. Fans helped but tough to sleep. Otherwise, it was a fabulous experience!
Aloha Barbara, Mahalo for taking the time to write a review. Kauai is a tropical environment and it does get warm at times (especially during the summer), but typically, most people find that opening the windows and doors and letting the trades blow through is enough to make things comfortable. We are sorry for any inconvenience and do want to let you know we do offer options with air conditioning for your next stay. In the end, we are glad you had a fabulous time and we look forward to hosting you again soon. A hui hou!
What a view
Enjoyed the roomy condo, high ceilings and amazing views. We made it a point to watch the gorgeous sunsets from the deck. The older condo is in a great location and an easy walk to the ocean. We were there the middle of Oct and wished the nights cooled off more. So the only change I'd like to see is the addition of AC which is why I have it 4 not 5 stars.
Mahalo Marilee for the review. We are glad you got to enjoy the great views from above Poipu...they really are great, especially this time of year. Right now there is limited capacity to add AC (now only one small unit in the bedroom) but it is something that we will certainly pass on to the owners and Board of Nihi Kai Villas. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Nihi Kai 831: Stifling Heat, Dishonest Parrish Management
We have been visiting Kauai each year for almost 25 years. This year we chose Nihi Kai 831 to stay in. Although the decor looked dated in the photos, the view looked beautiful. Due to the construction of the building the temperature in the unit stayed consistently in between 96 and 100 F (36 – 38 C), while outside temperature never exceeded 86 F (30 C). There were no trade winds, just full sun keeping it hot all day. At night when you would expect the temperature to drop, there was no relief. Parrish, the management company, provided a couple of fans but that only blew the hot air around. After 11 days of trying to stick it out, we both felt ill from the unrelenting heat. When we contacted Parrish to resolve the matter, they offered to move us to another unit that was not better and wanted to charge us an additional $ 90 per night on top of the full amount we had already paid for more than 3 weeks.
Parrish said nobody had complained before but I've since read several reviews stating how hot Nihi Kai 831 is.
We've since moved and have lost our full amount paid. They never offered any refund or credit. Parrish was very unsympathetic and we would never book through them again.
With all we learned the real problem is not with the particular unit. The problem is the Parrish communication on it. The unit should not be on the market for the first place. If it is – Parrish should clearly and transparently inform potential clients that they will be exposed to extreme temperatures, creating the health hazards due to overheating and dehydration. Should clients accept it – it is fine, but I would certainly go for something else. But there is no word about the hazards on Parrish internet offer, I was not informed about it during selection and booking process and not warned even after arrival. In other words – Parrish market communication is misleading and not honest.
If you are still going to book through Parrish, please note that every place they partially manage, has also other management companies, perhaps smaller, but contrary to Parish friendly, working through weekends and long hours, offering more services and – what is most important – providing honest, transparent information and helping with the proper choice. Go to them to save your vacations.
We are very sorry you had an uncomfortable stay and chose to leave early rather than allow us to even have a conversation about alternative accommodations. Our listings follow, and in many ways exceed, the industry standard and feel the 15 additional reviews on 831 add different guest perspectives. We agree, there are periods when the trades are not blowing and it gets warm across the island. We cannot argue with that…especially during late summer/really fall when you visited. We did what was within our power to try to make you comfortable and we are sorry it was not enough. You asked to move via email and we sent you a few options and told you to call us to discuss further. Following up that day, we tried you several times on your cell and in the unit to no avail. You chose to end the discussion by checking out early and not giving us the opportunity to help further. I am sure had that call happened, we would have found something that would have worked to mutual benefit. We pride ourselves on being great hosts and are sorry we did not have the opportunity to do that here.
Mahalo, Parrish Kauai
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees Cleaning Fee TPC: $166 Charge basis: STAY For stays between 1 and 365 nights PRFEE Processing Fee: $50 Charge basis: STAY For stays between 1 and 365 nights