expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Forest View - 3-bdrm/3-bath Upscale Retreat , Flat Rock, hiking, breweries/more!

Kenmure, Flat Rock, NC, USA
  • Townhome1927 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • Bathrooms3
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights

3-bdrm/3-bath Upscale Retreat , forest views, Flat Rock, hiking, breweries/more!

Wow, secluded, private mountain gated community.

This luxurious home is a 3-Bedroom retreat, nestled within the confines of Kenmure, with nearby access to hiking & more!

Forest View has become one one the coziest homes in our Yonder luxury portfolio, and is quickly becoming a favorite retreat for guests! It is not surprising when you put a terrific home together with a private, secure community, extensive outdoor space to walk, run, or ride a bike in a gated/guarded community.

As for Forest View, this private home is located in an exclusive, private mountain community, Kenmure, which is situated in Historic Flat Rock, NC; near downtown Hendersonville, on the top of the mountainside; less than 5 minutes to Flat Rock, 7-10 minutes to downtown Hendersonville, 30 minutes south of downtown Asheville, 20 minutes to Asheville Regional airport, and 35 minutes to the gates of Biltmore Estate. You are also an easy 25 minutes from downtown Biltmore Park. It is VERY easy to access the home, via only paved roads. The home affords year round access, does NOT require 4-wheel drive, and is NOT off any steep rural mountain roads. The home is situated in the heart of the Kenmure golf community, affording safe places for kids to play & explore, adults to take a hike & ride bikes, and for everyone to relax & enjoy the world class views all around the community.

Get ready to feel relaxed and "right at home" in this cozy, contemporary mountain style retreat home. With forest views, high ceilings, vaulted spaces, carpet and tile floors, you will immediately feel at home at Forest View. (That is of course if you can tear yourself away from the relaxing forest views & soaking in spectacle of the Blue Ridge Mountains, & actually venture inside!) The great room, with stone fireplace, and fully equipped kitchen, is where everyone will want to gather to enjoy their time together inside the house. But, if you need some "alone time", there is plenty of space inside and out to find your own serenity. There are 3 outside porches, decks, and patios for ultimate outdoor relaxation with the upstairs porch & private forest views.

You have a lower level 2nd Great Room, which adjoins an ensuite bedroom, for hours of enjoyment and relaxation. Also off the lower level is another outdoor deck/patio.

Kids & adults love getting out in and around the expansive neighborhood community & explore the other outdoor areas. The expansive full home length decks are just off the Kitchen/Great Room & out the lower level Great Room, and afford additional outdoor space to relax & unwind. While everyone enjoys the home and community amenities, you can pull up a chair and take in the relaxing privacy afforded by the forest view, observe the night as it fills with stars, and watch the fire flies come out to play in your backyard. Or, toast some s'mores and share stories, well into the star-filled nights.

Take a seat and enjoy the sound of nature and the serenity in your own private paradise at the top of the world. Kenmure offers lots of acreage for nature walks and exploring, and other exercise on the mountain without leaving the community property.

You are just minutes from America's favorite scenic byway, The Blue Ridge Parkway, motorcycle touring, biking, hiking, white water rafting, rock climbing, kayaking, canoeing, zip lining, Segway tour…just about any outdoor activity! Or, take a quick ride to downtown Hendersonville, or up to downtown Asheville to enjoy the first-rate restaurants, shopping, galleries, spas, and entertainment.

Think Forest View sounds too good to be true? Then go to http://yondernc.com/ to read what other VRBO & HomeAway guests had to say about their stay at Forest View!

We look forward to possibly booking your stay, should these accommodations work for you. We can reserve your stay with a credit card and send out a rental agreement to firm everything up when you are ready...but don't delay too long.

If the dates you want are already booked at Forest View, we invite you to look at our other comparable and beautiful Yonder homes by clicking this link: Retreat & Cabin Collection

Additional Rate And Fee information:

*3 night minimum required for all holidays & special events.

These observed holidays and occasions are subject to holiday rates: New Years, MLK, Valentines, Easter, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas

$275 Cleaning Fee**

** - Yonder openly shares & clearly posts our Cleaning Fees in a manner of full disclosure, as we think this is the most honest and forthright approach with respect to our guests. Our Cleaning Fees are backed by our Clean Guarantee, which reflects the highest level of standards, pristine environments for our guests, and a level of clean that surpasses any other vacation homes; we literally guarantee it!

3.45% processing fee

Current local tax rate is 13%

$1,000 refundable security deposit (Held with credit card; NOT charged up front)

Early Check In and/or Late Check Out may be possible, depending on cleaning schedules and other reservations. If it is possible, there may be an additional fee that would be determined based on the time that you wish to check in or out and the seasonal rates.

Pets: Many of our guests have allergies so we have maintained a pet-free environment so they can enjoy their vacation without the potential of an allergic reaction. If you have a pet we can recommend some alternatives nearby.

Military Discount

We have tremendous respect and gratitude for former and present military personnel. Yonder would like to offer a 5% discount on this home. Some restrictions apply, not valid with any other offers. The only thing we ask is that you present identification in the form of an "CAC" card or a "DD Form 2" card (Blue & Green). Please inquire for details.

Please inquire for details regarding payment, the cancellation policy, and trip insurance.

Property Manager


Member Since 2009
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response time:
within one hour
Calendar last updated:
Apr 19, 2018
About Yonder

Celebrating 10 years in Western North Carolina, Yonder provides relaxing and personalized luxury homes for vacation rentals in and around Asheville; from 1 bedroom loft apartments in the heart of Asheville to 8 bedroom timber frame estates homes. Perfect for romantic weekends to multi generational family gatherings, corporate retreats to weddings, Yonder dedicates itself to providing the ultimate mountain vacation experience. Our promise to you is an easy booking process, a guaranteed clean home and our availability to offer local knowledge and answer any questions you might have. #yondervacation

Why Yonder chose Kenmure

We were drawn to both historic Flat Rock, and the community of Kenmure. We felt we had a superior construction product from Kenmure, and thus a terrific product to offer the vacation market, in an exceptional location. This area affords a truly unique and luxurious vacation destination, and one to be enjoyed by all age groups, in all 4 seasons. Our family and friends have enjoyed vacationing at Forest View, and always dream of returning to Asheville as soon as possible! This area is teaming with outdoor activities from tennis and golf, to hiking & biking, while offering the full array of 'metropolitan' culture with Downtown Asheville, Flat Rock, Historic Hendersonville & The Biltmore Estate.

What makes this Townhome unique

This house exudes warmth and relaxation. The minute you drive into Kenmure you feel the connection with nature, and the serenity related to all the water & trees. Walking into Forest View, the warmth and welcome of the home overtakes you. The house is spacious, affording plenty of privacy, while also promoting a sense of gathering, and sharing amongst friends and family. The home opens up to allow the sounds of nature to cascade throughout, creating a calm and serene atmosphere. The property also features the security and privacy of the gated & guarded Kenmure development, with walking trails, areas to bike, and much more.


    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king, Main floor Master Suite/TV-Deck
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen, Main Floor
      • Bedroom 3
        1 queen, Ensuite bathroom
      • 3 private bedrooms, room for aerobeds, crib, etc. 2 of the bedrooms are ensuite, and the 3rd has direct access to separate full bathroom.


      • 3 Bathrooms
      • Master Bedroom ensuite Master Bath
        toilet, tub, shower, Double sink; walk-in shower, etc.
      • Full Guest Bath
        toilet, combination tub/shower, shower, Accessible to living areas as well on main floor
      • Ensuite Guest bath
        toilet, tub, shower, Full ensuite bathroom
      • 3 Full baths for privacy

      Location Type

        • Golf Course View
        • Village


            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Budget
            • Family
            • Historic
            • Luxury
            • Romantic
            • Spa
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions


                • Catering available
                  Yonder Experience Program and/or Tick-tock Concierge
                • Guests provide their own meals


                    • Iron & Board
                    • Air Conditioning
                    • Fireplace
                      Gas fireplace
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                    • Internet
                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Linens Provided
                    • Living Room
                    • Parking
                      Parking up to 5 cars
                    • Towels Provided
                    • Washing Machine


                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Kitchen
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster


                            • Dining Area


                                • Books
                                • DVD Player
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Television
                                  Multiple TV's
                                • Video Library
                                  Some DVD's available


                                    • Balcony
                                    • Deck / Patio
                                    • Lanai / Gazebo
                                    • Outdoor Grill
                                      Gas BBQ Grill
                                    • Tennis


                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                        • wheelchair inaccessible

                                          Onsite Services

                                            • Car Available
                                              Contact our partner Tick-Tock Concierge.
                                            • Chauffeur
                                              Contact our partner Tick-Tock Concierge.
                                            • Concierge
                                              Contact our partner Tick-Tock Concierge.
                                            • Massage
                                              Yonder Experience Program and/or Tick-tock Concierge
                                            • Private Chef
                                              Yonder Experience Program and/or Tick-tock Concierge
                                            • Staff
                                              Contact our partner Tick-Tock Concierge.


                                                • museums
                                                • arboretum
                                                • churches
                                                • cinemas
                                                • health/beauty spa
                                                • library
                                                • live theater
                                                • botanical garden
                                                • playground
                                                • recreation center
                                                • restaurants
                                                • ruins
                                                • winery tours
                                                • zoo

                                                  Leisure Activities

                                                    • paddle boating
                                                    • antiquing
                                                    • eco tourism
                                                    • gambling casinos
                                                    • horseback riding
                                                    • horseshoes
                                                    • miniature golf
                                                    • outlet shopping
                                                    • bird watching
                                                    • scenic drives
                                                    • shopping
                                                    • shuffleboard
                                                    • sight seeing
                                                    • sledding
                                                    • walking
                                                    • wildlife viewing

                                                      Local Services & Businesses

                                                        • ATM/bank
                                                        • Babysitter
                                                        • fitness center
                                                        • groceries
                                                        • hospital
                                                        • laundromat
                                                        • massage therapist
                                                        • medical services

                                                          Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                            • mountaineering
                                                            • basketball court
                                                            • equestrian events
                                                            • fishing
                                                            • fly fishing
                                                            • freshwater fishing
                                                            • golf
                                                            • golf privileges optional
                                                            • hiking
                                                            • hot air ballooning
                                                            • hunting
                                                            • kayaking
                                                            • mountain biking
                                                            • mountain climbing
                                                            • cycling
                                                            • racquetball
                                                            • rafting
                                                            • rock climbing
                                                            • roller blading
                                                            • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                            • skiing
                                                            • snorkeling
                                                            • snowboarding
                                                            • snowmobiling
                                                            • spelunking
                                                            • swimming
                                                            • tennis
                                                            • water tubing
                                                            • whitewater rafting


                                                                • You are also just minutes from America’s favorite scenic byway, The Blue Ridge Parkway, biking, hiking, white water rafting, rock climbing, kayaking, canoeing, zip lining, Segway tour…just about any outdoor activity! Or, take a quick ride to downtown Hendersonville or downtown Asheville to enjoy the first-rate restaurants, shopping, galleries, and entertainment. Walk to the Carl Sandberg House; right next door to Flat Rock Theater, park nearby/“Highland Lake”, etc. 20 minutes to Dupont State Park, Hooker Falls, 30 minutes to Brevard, Hendersonville 10 minutes.

                                                                  6 Reviews

                                                                  Very Good4/5

                                                                  Latest reviews

                                                                  Don't Hesitate to Stay Here

                                                                  Kay L.

                                                                  Rest assured that this home is as wonderful as it appears if not more so. It is in a wooded area but still is very light and airy inside. The house is more spacious than it appears in the pictures. Everything was perfectly clean, and the kitchen was well stocked. The packet of information we received before our arrival was professionally done---much better than other places we've stayed. It contained everything we needed to know about the house and the area. I can't think of anything negative to say (and usually that is not a problem for me).

                                                                  Shabby home in need of refurbishing and repairs in a very nice country club gated community

                                                                  Sue P.

                                                                  Until this home is cleaned and updated I would not recommend it. We stayed a full month (August, 2016). The bathtub leaked onto the downstairs ceiling, the air conditioner needed servicing and still did not keep the home cool, one of the 3 toilets had to be repaired. The carpet is nasty looking and when we asked that it be cleaned we were told it HAD been cleaned but the "spots won't come out." This home could be lovely. It's roomy and the neighborhood is wonderful. However, you cannot use the club, golf course, pool, indoor pool, or tennis courts (or anything else in the neighborhood) because the owner refuses to become a member of the country club. She apparently also refuses to replace worn and dirty carpet and furnishings. The master bathroom linen closet had no door at all, the bathroom tile in the master had a 12 inch crack in it, the kitchen table and chairs were worn and dirty with food stains and rust. There are leak stains in the living room ceiling. In one of the guest bedrooms the vertical blinds are missing so many slats that it is impossible to close at all. The property management company is responsive to calls, which is great. But we had to call them 3 or 4 times during the month. And when we arrived on August 1st at 5:00 PM the home had not been cleaned, dirty linens on the beds, etc. We had to sit in the car and wait until almost 10:00 PM to get in. I would recommend renting other properties in this great neighborhood that are well cared for and that allow you use of the amenities, which this home does NOT. Seems like the owner isn't willing to refurbish and update yet wants top dollar. It could be a great property but right now it is one very shabby and dated home in a very exclusive neighborhood and you cannot even use the amenities at all. It is a real shame.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  This review, much like the guest in July is about 1 thing; "access to the Kenmure Club amenities". We do not have access for this rental, and state that very clearly in all of our marketing. The confusion comes from other homes on VRBO in Kenmure that DO offer access.

                                                                  This guest discovered this fact over 1 month prior to their stay and were offered a FULL, 100% refund. We also offered to help them find another home. They declined both offers, but requested a discount instead. While in no way responsible to give any sort of discount, as a good faith gesture, we agreed and honored that request and refunded their total by over $1,200. That seems extremely generous to me.

                                                                  These guests then stayed a whole month at this home. They did call about minor issues on 3 occasions over the 30 day stay, (hardly out of the ordinary), and Yonder handled all of these immediately.

                                                                  Finally, yes, there was an error in scheduling by the Cleaning Company as stated, BUT, what they do not mention is that we offered immediately to buy them dinner and fully refund the $275 Cleaning Fee. A mistake was made, and we always make it right to the "nth" degree when that occurs.

                                                                  It is unfair to carry a grudge about the amenities and post unfair comments about this home. Fair is fair, and these guest were treated as well as anyone could ever expect.

                                                                  Just Okay Rental...Very Misleading as Far as Using Club Amenities! Listing Description NOT Accurate!

                                                                  Linda B.

                                                                  When clicking on the VRBO icon (which I have used successfully in the past), I was automatically transferred to another website who claimed they were managing the Property not VRBO. So I booked online back in May of 2016 for a July 16th to 23rd week's rental at this property. I was under the impression that this property included using the Amenities after reading up online; afterall we were there for a week's time to enjoy this resort-like property and the surrounding areas. We were to pay a fairly good amount for the 2 of us; which is a bit high since we could have stayed in a luxury hotel for about the same amount. As time went on I checked in with THE management Co. to confirm that we were able to use the facilities. They did not get back to me immediately. It was getting closer and closer to the time of our arrival. I rechecked and, after payment was already made, found out that this property was not associated with the Club and that we could NOT even use the facilities. It was extremely disappointing and way too late to change up the reservation as we had already set our minds to this property and too late to explore others. The Managing Co. did offer to try and get us out of our contract; however, it was too late. After doing my research, I found that you can rent from The resort-like Club, however you MUST go thru their own Rental Program. We felt isolated and disappointed in the fact that we could not use the amenities; even moreso, the Rental was not updated/OLD and not what we would call first/luxury class for the money. It was, however, clean, and unfortunately it did have a musky smell. Most of these older units do, though, as I found out. So if you are okay with that, then this is a unit for you. Plus the location is very close to Hendersonville. PS: The Friday nite before we were to leave, around 6:30 PM, a young man knocked at our door and asked when we were leaving as he had been told he was able to get into the Rental Unit. We informed him that under our contract we were staying Friday nite and leaving the next morning, exactly at 10:00 AM as indicated in our contract. I asked him if he was the owner and he said, "no, but my Mom is the owner." He then asked "how many people are in there?"; to that question, I responded, just the 2 of us!

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  We never like to hear of any Yonder guest having anything but a terrific stay at our homes. We work very hard to insure that, one guest at a time.

                                                                  While we cannot agree with the tone and "fact scenario" as laid out by this guest, we do & did have empathy for the confusion the guest experienced while researching a variety of properties on VRBO, including this one, which lead them to be confused about access to amenities at Kenmure.

                                                                  We do not believe our advertising is confusing about the amenities at Kenmure, or the fact that our guests do not have access to them. However, as soon as this guest notified us of their confusion and being upset at finding out that they could not use the amenities, we IMMEDIATELY offered a full, 100% refund, no questions asked. To be clear, we were not going to "try and get them out of their contract", we offered to cancel it and fully refund their monies on the spot; no questions, no penalty, period. We also offered other homes in our portfolio, but they insisted they wanted to stay in Kenmure.

                                                                  We worked very hard and closely with the guest to find alternative amenities nearby, and even offered to pay for a round of golf if that would help. among other things; essentially, we fell we did everything possible to "make things right", even though we did nothing wrong.

                                                                  Sadly we have no idea in follow-up who the person was that the guests claim came to the home on Friday night. The owner does not have a son in the area, nor was anyone related to the owner anywhere near NC on that night. We can only assume that the interchange was a mistake about a different unit within Kenmure as it in no way relates to this home(?).

                                                                  We tried very hard to "make things right" the minute the guests notified us that they had misunderstood the situation posted on our site and in our contract about the lack of amenity access; simply offering a full, no questions asked refund, and they declined.

                                                                  I believe the other criticism about the home is more a case of "sour grapes" and unfairly criticizes our owner's home, and paints an inaccurate picture of a very nice home, in a very nice vacation community.

                                                                  Perfect Place For Our Family!

                                                                  KellyBirmingham, Alabama

                                                                  Our family recently stayed at Forest View! I must say this was a perfect place for our family. We had plenty of room for the family. We were all impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the property. Thank you for you recommendation. If we have the opportunity to travel in the area again, we will absolutely use your company again.

                                                                  Night for an event

                                                                  janet H.Fountain Inn, SC

                                                                  This house was perfect! Well supplied. I and some friends came up for a charity event . Great location

                                                                  Will be staying here next time. So much better than staying in a hotel.

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Forest View! We try to anticipate the needs of vacationing guests when supplying our homes so we appreciate the feedback that we are hitting the mark. Please share your Yonder vacation experience with family and friends and we hope to host you again in the future!

                                                                  Pure relaxation......

                                                                  dasd a.

                                                                  This home was amazing, and the porch was so relaxing! We had a total of 8 guests, and the house provided more than enough room for everyone. The accommodations were far better than any hotel. The home was also only a short drive from Flat Rock & Hendersonville, and also not too far from the Biltmore Estate and some Asheville dining options. This will definitely be my stay of choice during my next trip to Asheville! Simply wonderful!

                                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                                  Thank you for the review; the Yonder team & owners immensely appreciate it!

                                                                  This home has been a successful rental for years, and received dozens & dozens of "5-Star" reviews, but it was managed by the owners & all of the reviews over the years are in the hard-copy "Guest Book", so not viewable online.

                                                                  We hope you will come stay inside the lovely Kenmure community and experience the splendor of WNC for yourself at Forest View!


                                                                  Kenmure, Flat Rock, NC, USA

                                                                  Nestled right outside of Historic downtown Flat Rock with restaurants, theaters, and much more. Also just minutes outside of downtown Hendersonville, with even more social options and first class eateries. Downtown Asheville is a short 30 minute drive. All that the Asheville area has to offer, from micro-breweries, world class restaurants, hiking, exploring, entertainment, sipping, and much more. Come escape to Western North Carolina!


                                                                  6 Reviews
                                                                  Very Good 4/5
                                                                  Premier Partner
                                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                  Instant Confirmation
                                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                  Property # 802699