Apartment in Ericeira, Lisbon Coast, Portugal - Idyllic Setting, 10 mins from Village, Rapid Access to via highway to Lisbon, Airport & Golf
- english, french, spanish, italian
Why George chose Ericeira
- Great Family Holiday Destination - Luxurious and very spacious apartment, wifi, TV etc... - Breath-taking sea view and unrivalled sunsets - The seafood capital of Portugal - Endless Beaches - Unrivalled golf, surfing, paddle board, kite surfing etc...
What makes this Apartment unique
- Choice of private swimming pool or endless beaches - Breath-taking sea view - Unrivalled sunsets across the Atlantic - The seafood capital of Portugal - The surfing capital of Portugal - Quaint fishing village with white stone-washed walls
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
So good we're going back next year!
We are a family of 4 - parents and 2 children aged 17 and 11. We have just spent 12 days at George's apartment in Ericiera and enjoyed our holiday so much we will very likely return next year. The apartment is very spacious and well furnished. The kitchen has all mod cons and is a good size. Very often kitchens in holiday apartments are too small. Three toilets and 2 bathrooms with very large bedrooms meant everyone had their own space if they needed it. The wi-fi was excellent (a must for the children) and the television worked well. There are plenty of Fox channels which are all English-speaking. The pool area was great. Not busy at all and the perfect place to relax when the weather was good. The weather was fine the first week but cloudy for a couple of days before we came home. But that's just the luck of the draw. The beaches in Ericeira were great and the restaurants fantastic. Lisbon is only about 40 minutes by car and we visited a couple of times - beautiful city well worth a visit.
All in all a fantastic holiday. Highly recommend.
Not accurate listing from several points.
Having recently returned from a holiday in the wonderful Ericeira area, staying in this property. I agree with previous review on all points re proximity to supermarket and town. Also Wifi and sky remote didn't, work which was a problem for us as my husband needed to stay connected to his office. Not bothered about TV stations, but we could not even watch a dvd, despite buying batteries for all remotes. Our biggest problems were, overwhelming dampness and musty smell, especially of sofas. Clogged overflowing shower, we tried to clear and clean, but to no avail, lots of brown grunge and hair. We did contact owner about these issues, but he ignored all. Our mattress was blood stained on both side, the pillows and under sheet very stained. All in all a disaster, my husband has asthma and the rising damp was a big issue for us. We filled a humidifier 8 times in a few days. This apt looks great on first inspection, but alas, it is not " luxurious ", or of a safe standard. We booked 10 days, but left after 7. We had enough of all of the above.
We have been to this area several times, know it well and love it, but this apt was shocking.
Michael and Fid. Dublin.
Unfortunately some clients have expectations far beyond the description of the product. We had experienced heavy rains in the area in the weeks prior to this clients visit and had installed a dehumidifier as a result to extract some of the consequent moisture. We explained this in advance to the client and gave them a substantial discount as a result. We have had multiple families stay in the apartment both this summer and for the past years and we have received largely glowing recommendations. I think this client was unlucky that the weather prior to and during his stay was inclement but this as you can appreciate is hardly the fault of the owner. All apartments in Ericeira are equipped with a duhumidifier. High humidity is unfortunately one of the hazards of living so close to the sea. While I did explain this to the client, I dont think he wanted to understand.
Wholly inaccurate response from owner.
Owners response to our critical review of his apt, is wholly incorrect. Apart from not addressing any issues about shower, mattress, wifi etc etc, at no stage before we booked was it discussed that it was damp! Also we had glorious weather every day, balmy and hot. It was to rain the day we left. From local knowledge there was not any heavy rains before we arrived. I have lived near the Atlantic and now near the Irish Sea all my life, to suggest it's necessary to always have a humidifier is nonsense. The owner seemed delighted to rent in september, we didn't avail of any discount as we left after seven days instead of ten.
We booked the apartment early and experienced excellent service from the owner who was responsive and helpful throughout the whole process. The apartment is ideal for a family or group of friends, sleeping 6 in comfortable and well appointed accommodation. The kitchen has all mod-cons - the bedrooms, dining and living area are lovely and the multiple bathrooms give everyone their privacy. Our teenage children enjoyed easy internet access and a wide screen TV to watch DVDs. The pool area is in immaculately kept grounds with direct access from the balcony/patio where we sat out with stunning views of the Atlantic.
Ericeira is a lovely unspoilt town with great restaurants, supermarkets and easy motorway access to Lisbon, Sintra, Mafra and Cascais - there is also an excellent local market with fresh meat, fruit & veg and amazing seafood (well worth a visit). We were able to intersperse lazy days by the pool and local beaches with visits to these wonderful places (Lisbon is a must). You do need a car to make the most of the area, but the price of our flights and accommodation made this affordable.
Satisfactory - just
Listing description was inaccurate
- Sky TV is not fully functioning, apart from QVC etc., the only channel is sky news.
- The TV remote controls don't work and they need to for the DVD to be fully functional
- The barbeque was rusty and unusable and certainly not fit for an apartment which can host 6+ guests; it was a 1/2 person barbeque
- The apartment doesn't have internet access at all; we were directed to use the neighbours wifi
Apartment is spacious and well equipped, although if you arrive late at night, request the owner to arrange having some basic supplies available for you on arrival - there wasn't even a toilet roll available when we arrived at 9pm. Luckily we were able to go to a local supermarket before closing time.
The Lidl is not reasonably walkable, the mini preco is just about walkable, but not if you are planning to carry a large shop back.
You need a car for this apartment.
Ericiera is walkable, but its about 15-20 mins down into the village and longer to walk back uphill.
Despite asking a number of times for the Sky TV to be fixed, and being told he was trying to contact an engineer, the owner was unable to do this any time throughout the entire 2 weeks we were there. I would be very surprised if this is at all different for future guests.
The pool and grounds are good, and quite under utilised, so its a great place to relax.
The property was clean.
Unfortunately, as was repeatedly pointed out to this otherwise happy tenant, the issue regarding the UK terrestrial channels is a problem outside my control and is whoely due to the BBC's decision to change the satellite on which it transmits its pictures from Astra 1 to the Astra 2E transmitter. This unfortunate decision by the BBC, now means that no UK terrestrial channels can now be received anywhere in Southern Spain, Southern France, Portugal, Greece, Italy etc.. Several other non UK channels can be received including Sky News CNN, Euronews, etc... A technician visited the site during this tenant's stay but unfortunately he was powerless to resolve the issue which is adversely affecting pubs and UK résidents throughout the region. Regarding the remote controls, they simply needed to have the batteries changed. WiFi is available but not throughout the entire apartment on account of the size of the property. The optimum reception is in the hall which has been equipped with comfortable chairs and a WiFi extender for optimum surfing conditions. A larger BBQ is available and would have been made available to the client had he asked for it. I also explained in advance to the client that a car is recommended given the enormous amount of things to do in the area. Shops are a 5-10 minute walk away and the town centre and beaches are 10-15 minutes away.
Mejor de lo esperado
La casa es muy amplia y totalmente equipada. Viajábamos dos familias con tres niños y un bebé y estuvimos muy cómodos, porque el salón es muy grande, desde la terraza se accede directamente a la piscina y, además, tiene unas vistas increíbles con el Atlántico al fondo.
Desde Ericeira, donde yo destacaría las playas con cursos de surf, se puede visitar Lisboa, Sintra, Obidos, Cascais... Tiene una ubicación inmejorable para las personas que quieran combinar turismo cultural y de playa.
Si podemos, repetiremos! Gracias George!
5 minute drive from several magnificent beaches including the recently renovated Foz da Lizandro, Sao Sebastiao and Ribera d'Illhas (site of annual world surfing championship event). There is a multitude of excellent sea food restaurants in both Ericeira and near by Ribamar.
30 minutes from Lisbon, 25 minutes drive from the UNESCO heritage site, Sintra National Park. 10 minutes from Mafra. 40 minutes from Cascais. 3 minutes from new Highway offering easy access to Lisbon, the airport and the A1 and A8 highways to Tores Vedras, Obidos and Oporto to the North. Direct flights are available to Lisbon from Manchester, Heathrow, Gatwick, Luton, Birmingham among st other major British cities.
500 metres from Mini Preco and Lidl supermarkets
1km to Ericeira village with its shopping area and bars and restaurants
5km from Ribamar
7km to Mafra
35km from Lisbon
20km from Sintra
35km from Cascais, and Estoril