Villa in West Haven, Davenport, Florida, USA - 10 - 15 Minutes Drive To Disney World
Alison & Lee Draper
About Alison & Lee Draper
Alison and I work hard to ensure our customers have an fantastic, trouble free vacation at our villa. We are constantly upgrading things to keep our villa in top condition with all the right facilities.
Alison & Lee Draper purchased this Villa in 2009
What makes this Villa unique
The villa is on a prominent corner plot in a small community within West Haven. It is a very quiet community with some of the villas being residential and some being short term rentals like ours. The open plan kitchen, lounge and dining area with its cathedral ceiling is so bright and airy. The upstairs queen suite has a balcony overlooking the rear of the property. The pool deck is huge, faces south and there is a shady lanai with a ceiling fan to keep cool under or to dine under.
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
Smoking is only permitted outside the villa
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
All great except camera
The camera made it awkward and uncomfortable in main living area!! Makes it had to treat like a house or even a private hotel! Wouldn't stay there again only because of camera and the feeling ur being watch in ur private moments
We did inform you of how to disable the camera. There is a plug behind the King Suite door which you can unplug. You could also put something over the lens like some people. We are having the camera moved anyhow.
Nice villa. Great location
Great location. Close to shops and restaurants.
Would stay again
Kids wanted to stay forever......
This was our 4th trip to Orlando. Had previously stayed in West Haven before and knew the area. First time staying at this property. Initial reaction when driving up is impressive as it's a corner site and stands out. House is very spacious.Everyone had their own space if needed and good coverage wi-fi. Was able to sit outside early morning and read the iPad etc. Pool area is very good and arrangement of chairs and loungers. There was a ripped bit of netting on arrival but management company had it repaired promptly. Good range of towels,plates,cutlery etc on arrival.TV's in the rooms (apart from living room) had interactive options so kids were able to log into our Netflix account and watch away at bedtime. The air-hockey table was broke on arrival and had been left out for disposal but our kids wouldn't have played it anyway. There are houses recently built behind the villa, but was never an issue with us and only seen people there once or twice briefly during our stay. Hedges installed by owners is growing to lessen the view, but not an issue for us at all. Summing up, good communication from owners during booking, easy to find, great neighbourhood and would stay again.
Good home but some issues worth mentioning.
Overall the property is a great base from which to visit the various areas around Orlando. The pool area is nice & the undercover area is great, very generous in size. The house comes fully equipped with most things you will require during your stay.
Unfortunately however, we would not choose to stay at The Abbey again. The first issue we had was a simple oversight as the management company was unaware we were arriving the previous renters checked out Sat morning & when we called to see if we could possibly check in an hour early they were then having to scramble to try to get the house cleaned for us to check in at all! Dee with the management company was pleasure to talk & ultimately we ended up getting into the house whilst the cleaner was still there. The second day we spoke with Dee again to confirm all was good after the fun of check in & let her know a couple of issues, (the toaster, Xbox and air hockey table were not working). She immediately purchased a new toaster for us the other items to be honest were minor and only really an irritation because our children saw them so wanted to use them!
All that having been said there are two big issues with the property that we were not happy with. The 1st is the security camera in the main living area, that we know from our personal experience with the same item in our own home can be monitored & viewed in real time from anywhere!!! The 2nd issue is with the "air conditioning" in the home. There was a note saying please set between 74-78. We tried many times to get the thermoset to cool the house to 74 (the allowed lowest temp) & every time within 5/10 minutes the number would change to set to 76 & would never get below that. Honestly we had friends who visited who keep their home at 78 all year (they live in Florida) and they agreed that the house felt much hotter than 76! We stayed in the property for 2 weeks & ended up purchasing a fan for our children to use in the bedroom upstairs as they were unable to sleep due to the heat. We actually spent a night on resort in Universal, it was SO nice to sleep in a room that was cool. It also would seem that it was a "smart" thermometer so all we can assume is that it was being controlled remotely! The last thing that we would like to mention is the number of "rules" listed was excessive. Having rented many villas over the yrs this one has the most we can recall.
Dear Tracy McCabe,
Thank you for your review, we are disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay at Villa Kristall.
We do acknowledge that there was a little confusion with check in which is the first time in 10 years that we have had this happen. I know that Dee dealt with this situation very quickly and enabled you to check in whilst the villa was being cleaned ready for a normal 4pm check in.
Thank you for bringing the toaster, XBOX and air hockey issues to our attention. Without feedback from our guests it is difficult to know when things stop working. I have asked our management company to dispose of the Air Hockey table and XBOX. We are considering whether to replace them or not.
Its a shame that you didn't contact us about the air con temperature because we could have addressed that very quickly while you were there. I have taken note of this and reduced the temperature that the system maintains to 74 also the filters have been replaced since to allow better airflow.
We provide a large fan in the games room which can be moved about if people need extra cooling and all the rooms have ceiling fans fitted too, so we are not sure why you felt you needed an extra fan.
The security camera is set up to only take a 10 second clip when the front door is opened and is only focused on the hall. The clips are stored for access if required at a later date and ONLY accessible to Alison and I using multi-factor security authentication. We take privacy and security very seriously hence the monitored alarm system and camera.
It is possible if required to unplug the camera or cover it if you were that worried about it.
I'd be interested to understand what rules you felt were excessive. We only have these to protect both our guests and our property.
Lee & Alison
Lovely villa in a great location
Villa is very well presented with loads of kitchen utensils, beach towels, towels etc.
Very clean and spacious villa, overall no complaints.
Great Property and location
This spacious property is located within a really nice gated community close to Champion’s Gate amenities. It is also handy for the I-4. I liked the fact that it had a terrace upstairs off the bedroom so a great breakfast spot and a substantial outdoor pool area. Would definitely go back.
Beaches on the Gulf coast (St Petes, Clearwater) and the Atlantic coast (Cocoa and Melbourne beach) are about an hours drive away.
The nearest airport (30 mins) is Orlando International (MCO), Tampa International (TPA) is an hour away. Miami (MIA) is 220 miles away.
Car hire is essential.