Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Any Closer U'd Be Wet Ground Flr. Direct Oceanfront, Steps 2 the Beach, 150 & up

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 613 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

7 NIGHT MIN. STAY. If 7 nights are available for the period you want to rent please do not try to reserve less nights. We only allow less than 7 nights when 7 nights are not available. Thank you.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . WELCOME TO SUNSET CENTRAL! . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

At Sunset Central YOU ARE SO CLOSE YOU CAN FEEL THE OCEAN! As soon as you walk into SUNSET CENTRAL you take a deep breath and start to smile. You are seeing the incredible ocean view and hearing the waves. SUNSET CENTRAL IS as nice as you hoped for. Why?

The old Cliché, "VIEW, VIEW, VIEW". We have of one of the BEST OCEAN VIEWS in Maui. You don't think about it but "NOT" having a pool, or condo complex lounge chair seating, or tall lanai rails, or anything in your ocean view makes it that much better. The view from inside the condo is great and the view from our lanai is almost 180 degrees with no obstructions. We have the perfect combination for a ROMANTIC stay. A quiet and quaint location off the main road, stunning views, and soothing Pacific Ocean surround sound. There is NO EQUAL to being GROUND FLOOR directly on the ocean. No walking around your building(s), or down stairs and through hallways, or across streets to get to the ocean. Carry your chair 25 feet to the ocean edge and watch a 180 degree sunset. Does the drink you brought with you need a refill or you forgot your camera? No problem. Ten steps back to get it. Don't want to move 25 feet to the ocean edge? Just watch a sunset, sunrise, or simply the ocean from your very large lanai. The lanai has a ceiling fan for added comfort. Do you want your condo to be on a beach for sunbathing, snorkeling or just plain walking on it? We have a new upgraded stair access to our little semi-private “Rainbow Beach”. All this while still being minutes from all of the great things to do on the famous West Maui coast.

SUNSET CENTRAL faces directly West providing WONDERFUL SUNSET shows. During the year the sunsets move back and forth from the islands of Lanai and Molokai. What a sight. Words can’t describe what it is like watching sunsets from your condo right on the beautiful West Maui OCEAN EDGE and with the sounds of the ocean. It is fun even when the sunsets are not spectacular.

The PICTURES, VIDEO, and 250+ RENTER COMMENTS tell it all. I suggest you go to our Owner's website and click on the guest comments. The owners website button is right above the photos at the towards the end of this ad.

DECOR: Our goal was to make the family/dining room feel as large as possible even though it is larger than usual for Maui. Our tv/stereo and our dining table set are on one wall. The sofa sleeper and recliner are set up on the other wall. The result is a large open area in the middle of the room. We think we accomplished our goal. We also added mirrors on one wall. These make the room feel larger as well as providing an ocean view from almost any direction you are facing.

SERVICE: We only have one condo to manage so we give 100% of our attention to you and no amount of attention is too much. Even though we can easily accommodate 4 people in our large condo we only allow a max. of 2. This is to minimize the wear and to help make sure our condo is in good shape when you arrive. We have a large separate bedroom with a CA king size bed. A separate bedroom is nice compared to a studio that has that hotel type feeling. We do have a queen size sofa sleeper.

IMPROVEMENTS: Bathroom remodel in completed 08/14 changing from tub to walk in shower etc. New TV in the bedroom. Changed phone service that allows calls out to anywhere in the U.S. or Canada. We added a FAN on our LANAI. This adds hours per day and night that are comfortable on the lanai. We also vented our washer/dryer unit to outside. Major feature! Less heating inside your condo. When you have a washer and dryer you are not spending part of your vacation watching your clothes in a community facility.

POOL: Our pool is small and it is not oceanfront. See our photo. The pool would not be the reason for renting our condo.

A/C: As of 9/15 we have the option A/C in the bedroom. There is an additional cost but it is an option.

To view other nice videos click on the 'OWNERS WEBSITE' link above the photos towards the end of this ad. Some of our website videos are “Breakfast on our Lanai”, “View from our Beach Stairs”, a view from our semi-private “Rainbow Beach”, and 'Sunset Stages'.

SUNSET CENTRAL is conveniently located between KAANAPALI and KAHANA, just 5 miles North of LAHAINA, and on the renown West Side of Maui.

SHORT STAY SPECIALS: Only available when 7 days of renting are not available. Total is for 2 people and does not include HI tax. You need to call me to reserve.

08/28/17, 5 night special. $160/nt plus tax. Bedroom A/C at no added cost.

02/24/17, 3 night special. $180/nt. $100.00 cleaning fee waived

Sunset Central is a legal HI rental unit. HI business ID = W58440575-01

Keywords: Maui, condominium, groundfloor, gound floor, oceanfront, ocean front, beach front, beachfront, West Maui, Lahaina, Honokowaii

More Details

Owner
Ray Walters
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

About Ray Walters

We (Ray and Connie) are from California. We love the outdoors and we especially love water and the sound of water on rivers, waterfalls, the ocean and even when it rains. When we like something we tend to keep coming back. Having a condo in West Maui is an example. Not a bad routine. We know you will love Maui too.

Ray Walters purchased this condo in 2005

Why Ray Walters chose Lahaina

Connie and I (Ray) visited Maui from California for the first time about 15 years ago. Every time we came back we spent some time looking at condos. The question was, Where to buy? South Maui (Kihei), or West Maui? The first requirement was to be right on the ocean. We preferred the famous West Maui side but there were very few available in our range due to its popularity. Finally after several trips to Maui we came upon one in West Maui that was so close to the ocean and romantic that it would not let us go. The rest is history. Now we have a nice home away from home that we get to visit a few times a year. Sharing our condo and hearing how much our guests like it is a benefit we did not know would come with our purchase. See for yourself by reading our 200 plus renters comments.

What makes this condo unique

Our condo is unique due to having one of the best views in Maui, our proximity to the ocean, our beach access, the small size of complex, being off the main road, and the quaint, quiet feel you get when staying there. The view right out to the ocean is almost 180 degrees with no pool or complex lounge seating in the way is unmatched. Although we have a large condo, over 600 square feet and could easily sleep 4 people, we only allow 3 as a maximum. The result is less wear and tear on the condo and greater assurance that it will be in great shape when you arrive.

Guestbook comments from the owner

When we bought our condo we had the lucky idea of providing Guest Books and requesting that visitors write in good and bad things about activities and our condo to share with others. Now we have years of comments for visitors who stayed here in West Maui. The comments are like a local travel guide. And we are very gratified for all of the nice comments about Sunset Central.

Ray and Connie (owners)
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 259

Amenities

Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 613 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Beautiful walk in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1) California King Bed, very comfortable, Sofa Queen size
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fan on the lanai adding hours of comfort per day while right on the ocean.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Any Closer U'd Be Wet Ground Flr. Direct Oceanfront, Steps 2 the Beach, 150 & up
average rating of 4.902439 based on 300 reviews
Livonia, Michigan
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5

Dear Ray and Connie I am not sure that there are words to describe our stay. Condo was very nice and comfortable. Being so close to the water and hearing the sound of the waves at night was so relaxing. We waited every day for the sunset, what can I say about that....AWESOME! This was our sixth trip to Hawaii so we did not do much sight seeing just kind of hung around and relaxed. If we ever get back there we would definetly book your condo again.I also want to thank you for getting back to me so quickly when I had a problem with the WiFi.

Thank You for a wonderful vacation,

Doug and Paula Weiss

Michigan

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Location

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from a memorable vacation in Maui. Overall, we had an amazing stay at Sunset Central. The location is PERFECT! I don’t believe there’s any place else on Maui where you can stay that will have you so close to the beach.

Pros:

-Location is everything. And Sunset Central has the perfect location.

-The unit was very clean and comfortable, we felt right at home. It was the perfect size for the two of us.

-The photos of the unit are 100% actuate.

-The grounds, pool, and grilling area are well maintained.

-Everything you can possibly need for the beach is provided. (We actually pack a lot of unnecessary beach gear in our suitcase and more than enough was available at the condo) Ex: beach towels, beach chairs, snorkeling gear, etc.

-The condo is fully stocked with everything you need to cook meals. We didn’t cook because there were good restaurants within walking distance and we really wanted to experience the Hawaiian cuisine. But if we wanted to cook, everything we needed was at our fingertips… pots, pans, utilities, spices, etc. was provided.

-The Lanai was the highlight of the unit. We spend a lot of time on the lanai just sitting, laughing & talking, listening & watching the waves on the beach. We had breakfast and dinner on the lanai. (There’s nothing like watching the sunrise with a cup of coffee and watching the sunset in the evenings while having dinner.)

-Snorkeling on the beach was excellent. There was a family of sea turtles along the rocks…very exciting. Then two turtles came up on the beach.

-Ray and his wife were very helpful with providing visitors information etc. The information was useful and up-to-date. It was greatly appreciated!

Cons:

- There is a portable A/C unit available in the bedroom for a small fee. However after speaking with Ray, he mentioned the cool breeze if the doors and windows were opened. I went with the understanding that we probably wouldn’t need the A/C. It was 80-90 degrees most days we were there. Early morning and late evening it was cool but by noon it was HOT. I disagree with a charge for A/C. I feel A/C should be included with the rate. I live in the south and the last thing I want is to go on vacation and be HOT.

- The unit has a slight "old house" smell.

All in all I would highly recommend Sunset Central to anyone vacationing in Maui. We had a fabulous vacation!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thorough review of the stay you had in our condo. We are happy to hear you had a fabulous vacation and highly recommend us to anyone vacationing in Maui. About your A/C comment, 3 years ago Maui had a record hot end of summer and fall. As a result, we added an A/C option in the bedroom. Our complex has been adding A/C to units over the years and almost all units now have the A/C purchasing option. I would say that maybe 10 guests have requested the A/C option out of our last 60. We have not raised our rates in 3 years despite all costs going up. By only allowing 2 persons to rent our condo vs. 4 now we have cut down the wear and tear and that has helped keep our costs down. We think it is better to keep the A/C option at $10.00 per night vs. increasing our rates to all renters. From the start of our rental process we mention that needing A/C or not for the hot months depends on the trade winds. We also suggest waiting until you are on island to see if you need it. The old house smell is the first we have heard. We have had over 200 renter comments including 40 with VRBO and we have never been told there was an old house smell in our 12 years of renting. My first suspicion was our carpet but we just had it cleaned in September. I keep scuba gear in our owner’s closet but I clean it after use. We were just there 3 weeks ago and we did not notice any smells. Yesterday, 10/25/17, I called our current renters out of concern and to our relief her response was that there is no smell at all. Thankfully the cause of this smell is gone.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

We loved seeing the whales & turtless everyday. This is a perfect location to enjoy a nearly private beach. It is nearby restaurants & stores also. We enjoyed sightseeing-Haleakala, the road to Hana, many beaches, etc. & could return to the lanai for the ocean view & sunsets & beautiful starry nights. Very nice!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a nice time. Looks like you saw all corners of the island. The beach is nice and has easy access 90% of the time. Ray and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very special

  • 5 of 5

What a perfect piece of paradise! The condo was a great size for two people and had everything you could ask for; altho there was so much to do we didn't spend a lot of time inside. We did get some killer sunsets, enjoyed watching the whales from the lanai every morning over breakfast and the turtles visited several times which made the time we were there memorable. The location is great; close enough to the hub bub of Lahaina and Ka'anapali to enjoy them, but so nice to come back to some place quieter for the evenings. Like Ray says, read the info other guests have written regarding things to do, see, places to eat, etc. The books in the condo are full of good info.

Thanks Ray and Connie for sharing your place with those of less fortunate!

Pam from Boulder, CO

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a nice stay and saw some great sunsets. There is a lot to do in Maui. Ray and Connie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Prince albert
5

Amazing 2 weeks!!!

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from our two week stay at a Sunset Central. We have been to Maui 4 times and this was our best place by far!

It was everything Ray said it would be. he sent lots of information before our arrival and we loved how easy it was to check in😊

The condo has EVERYTHING you could want, boogie boards, binoculars, beach chairs, snorkel equipment, etc., LOTS of towels, so don't waste space in your suitcase by packing your own.

kitchen area has lots of condiments etc in frig and cupboards as well as plenty of cooking dishes and pans.

We were concerned about no A/C, but Ray assured us with the trade winds and windows in condo it would be fine... he was RIGHT😊

We watched the whales daily from out lanai, sea turtles daily right on the beach, our last day 4 of them came to say good bye,as well as a tiny gecko on our lanai.

We had friends staying at two other condos very close to us( different resort complexs) and they had ant issues and even roaches, we had NONE!😊

Our review doesn't do Sunset Central justice it really is a wonder place. I hope we are lucky enough to be able to book with Ray again 😊

Cheryl Weger-Saskatchewan,Canada

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review. We are glad you had a great time. Being ground floor so close to the ocean is hard to describe.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect location!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time staying at Ray and Connie's place! The beach is steps away and we even saw whales from the lanai! The unit had absolutely everything you could need. We will be back for sure !

Michelle and Duane

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you had a great stay. Thank you for your compliments. We look forward to your next stay. The beach access is great but once in awhile the ocean makes it difficult to access. Typically in the fall is when it might happen. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Kahalui
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Kahana
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Lahaina
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Lahaina, Kapalua
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
HWY 30
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many
Car: recommended

We are located 5 miles North of Lahaina in a quiet compex, close to everthing. We have over 200 guest comments that tell of events each of the guests enjoyed while staying at our condo. It is like a travel guide specific to our location here in West Maui

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $104.17
Tax Rate 13.42%

Cleaning fee = $104.17 and includes the GE tax of 4.17%. Deposit returned within 14 days of stay. Call or email for discounts on stays for 14 days or more. No parking fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.