expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Pretty Cottage With Uninterrupted Sea Views

Portscatho, Truro, Cornwall, UK
  • Cottage
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay1 - 7 nights

Cottage in Portscatho, Cornwall - Perfect Location Moments from Village and Beaches

Maralane is a much loved family home. It has a relaxed, warm feel, and the property is maintained in good condition. The location is perfect, and there is parking for one car in front of the property.

There are 2 twin bedrooms, and one double. The double and one single are en suite, and there is an additional family bathroom.

The living room has a wood burning oven, comfortable sofas and a dining area.

Owner

Jennifer Denning

Member Since 2011
Premier Partner
This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.
Response time:
within a few days
Speaks:
english, french, german
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018
About Jennifer Denning

Hello, I am Jennifer, owner with my husband of this property. We are a London family, with three children who are now in their teens and early twenties. We have been fortunate enough to be able to buy two holiday homes, and we really love sharing these homes with guests. My aim is for these houses to be a real home from home, for you as guests as much as for our family. So they are comfortable, but not grand, well equipped but not flashy. Just comfortable, relaxed, homely environments. I hope you will stay, and love them just as much! Jennifer

Jennifer Denning purchased this Cottage in 2004

Why Jennifer Denning chose Portscatho

Maralane is our home from home in Cornwall. Our children have grown up with days of playing on the beach, sailing, surfing, swimming, and then cosying up around the fire playing games or watching films. Of course, we love coming down here in the Summer, but windy Autumn walks, or frosty winter mornings are wonderful too. The village needs to have its houses open, and buzzing with people, who will love the village, its pub and shops, the sailing school and all the many local activities. And so, we love to share our home with guests from far and wide, who also come to love this peaceful corner of the Roseland Peninsula.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
        • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - king size double bedroom at the front of house with lovely sea view. Bedroom 2 - twin room at the rear of the house with pretty garden view. Bedroom 3 - twin room, attic conversion, stunning sea views. One of the beds is 6' long (not 6'3")

        Bathrooms

        • 1 Bathroom, 1 Half Bath
        • Bathroom 1
          toilet, tub, shower
        • Shower room 1
          shower
        • Shower room 2
          shower
        • Toilet 1
          toilet
        • Ensuite shower room to Bedroom 1, with wc, whb, heated towel rail, shower. New in 2013. Family bathroom, with bath, separate shower, whb, wc, heated towel rail. Ensuite shower room to Bedroom 3, with wc, whb, heated towel rail, shower. New in 2013.

        Location Type

          • Beach
          • Near The Ocean
          • Ocean View
          • Village

            Meals

              • Guests provide their own meals

                General

                  • Heating
                  • Internet
                  • Iron & Board
                  • Linens Provided
                  • Living Room
                    Spacious sitting/dining room. The dining area is to the rear of the room. The sitting area is at the front maximising the lovely views out over the sea. Two large sofas, window seat, coffee table. TV with basic sky channels, dvd player. Wood stove.
                  • Parking
                    Parking for one car in front of the house
                  • Telephone
                  • Towels Provided
                  • Washing Machine
                  • Wood Stove

                    Kitchen

                      • Dishes & Utensils
                      • Dishwasher
                      • Kitchen
                        Spacious kitchen with oven and 4 ring hob (all electric, new 2015), fridge, dishwasher (new 2015), microwave, toaster, kettle. Very well equipped with kitchen/cooking utensils. Radio, cookery books.
                      • Microwave
                      • Oven
                      • Pantry Items
                      • Refrigerator
                      • Toaster

                        Dining

                          • Dining
                            Dining table and six chairs
                          • Dining Area
                          • comfy seating for 6 people

                            Entertainment

                              • Books
                              • DVD Player
                              • Games
                              • Satellite / Cable
                              • Television

                                Outside

                                  • Lawn / Garden

                                    Suitability

                                      • wheelchair inaccessible
                                        There are no downstairs bedrooms, and there are steps up to the front door.

                                        Attractions

                                          • bay/sound
                                          • churches
                                          • restaurants

                                            Leisure Activities

                                              • paddle boating
                                              • scenic drives
                                              • walking

                                                Local Services & Businesses

                                                  • ATM/bank
                                                  • groceries

                                                    Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                      • sailing
                                                      • sound/bay fishing
                                                      • swimming
                                                      • tennis

                                                        Notes

                                                          • Notes on accommodation: Central heating is provided by a mix of storage heaters and warm air convector heaters, which have timer controls. There are heated towel rails in the bathrooms. The log stove in the sitting room is very cosy (you will need to provide your own logs, though, which can be bought locally). There is parking for one car in front of the house. Children are very welcome, but please be aware that we do not have any corner protectors, stair gates etc fitted. Outside: At the front of the house is a pretty paved area, surrounded by planting, and looking out over the sea. There is a table and chairs here and it is a lovely morning coffee spot to catch the sun. At the rear is a pretty sloping garden, laid to lawn with mature shrubs and trees to the borders. The garden catches the evening sun beautifully. Utility Room: Useful storage area in a covered area behind the house, next to kitchen. Contains a downstairs wc, and also a storage room, where there is a washer/dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels are included. The property is cleaned at each changeover, when the linen and towels are changed. Please contact us if you are staying longer and would like cleaning and linen/towels replaced at the mid point of your stay.

                                                            House Rules

                                                            Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                            Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                            Cancellation Policy

                                                            100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                            16 Reviews

                                                            Wonderful4.8/5

                                                            Latest reviews

                                                            Lovely cosy family home in the middle of Porthscatho - perfect location

                                                            Raquel Anstee de Mas

                                                            We booked this great house as a last minute half term mini break. From the moment we walked it we felt at home. The girls loved the attic room and going to sleep with the sound of the water on the rocks below the house. The master bedroom is perfect with a glorious view out to sea - a perfect place for a lazy weekend morning cup of tea. We found everything we needed and particularly enjoyed the showers - nice and powerful.

                                                            Porthscatho is a lovely village with a good pub, convenient shop and lovely walks to various beaches and coves. The Roseland is beautiful with lots of corners to discover and a trip on the King Harry Ferry to Trelissick NT house and gardens is always fun.

                                                            We very much hope to come back soon.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Thank you for your lovely review, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

                                                            Lovely house in a great situation. Everything you needed to enjoy a holiday.

                                                            Lewis B.

                                                            Ideal situation for swimming, walks and exploring the Roseland and Cornwall in general.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Thanks for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!

                                                            An idyllic twelve days

                                                            We loved this house from the moment we walked in after a 9 hour journey. There was a very restful homely feel about it and the views from the sitting room and two of the bedrooms overlooking the sea were amazing. In fact we could sit up in bed in the morning and almost believe we were on a ship at sea. Nothing to see except water! We were staying in Portscatho for a family wedding and many of the coastal letting properties were taken by friends and family so we got to see quite a few of the other properties. Although a lot of them were grander and perhaps had more furniture in them than ours we, without exception preferred Maralane. The beds were a delight to sleep in, so many rented holiday homes have less than comfy bedding, and all the bed linen was from the white company so we felt quite at home. Portscatho was lovely and we had breakfast at Tatams, often lunch at the Hidden Hut and sometimes evening meals in the local pub. We also cooked in the very well stocked kitchen. The coast paths round the area are mostly easy walking, especially to the very scenic St. Anthony's Head - we parked the car at Porth, bought coffee and rolls from the van and walked from there. The path from Portloe to Carne is more rugged. But you don't really need a car at all as the paths are so accessible. The farm shop at Curgurrell is very well stocked with fish, vegetables, eggs and some cakes. Our grandchildren joined us for a few days and delighted in the close proximity of the beach for rock pool exploring, building sand castles and swimming. Our daughter and son-in-law swam with a seal one memorable rainy evening. A problem with the sink in the en-suite bathroom was sorted out quickly and efficiently. We left a well laid fire that only needed a match putting to it for the next people and would love to have had the same courtesy extended to us on our arrival evening. Alas, only 2 logs remained in the basket and we were too late to buy any from the local shop. But this is only a small point in what otherwise was a fantastic holiday home. We would love to return.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Thank you for such a lovely review. This kind of review is always so helpful to guests, with the suggestions of where to eat and shop; thank you!

                                                            I am glad also that you loved the house, as we do, and that the problem with the sink was fixed quickly.

                                                            The log question, you are right, is not really fully resolved, and I will put some thought into that aspect next year.

                                                            I hope you come back again soon!

                                                            Fabulous location, perfect home away from home.

                                                            Corinne T.

                                                            As soon as we arrived at Maralane and took in the amazing views we forgot the hideous 9 hour journey! The house was perfect for us; clean, cosy and with a lovely welcoming feel. The view was stunning, especially when the sun shone, and the proximity to the village and beaches meant we had an amazing week away relaxing and spending time together as a family.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            So glad you enjoyed your stay, and found the house just right!

                                                            Beautiful location, comfortable stay. A home from home.

                                                            Irene L.

                                                            As usual when we visit Portscatho the weather was very good allowing full enjoyment of the area. Daily walks along local cliff paths and beaches. Lunch/refreshments at The Hidden Hut at Porthcurnick beach - a gem of a facility, excellent coffees at Tatum's in the village, good dinners at the local pub and a special treat with fine dining with our daughter at the nearby Driftwood Hotel/restaurant.

                                                            We have over the years stayed at a number of properties in Portscatho. Maralane remains our favourite. It feels spacious with simple coastal décor and gives direct views of the sea and coast from the front rooms and patio. The beds and bedding are very good quality giving a comfortable night's sleep, with en-suites now to the main bedroom and top floor attic, as well as the simple and spacious family bathroom.

                                                            We are now in our mid seventies so the easy and relatively flat walk to beach and village shop, pub etc is a major plus. The parking in front of the house is a boon in an old village, and a necessity for us. Equipment is good, without pretence of luxury, even for a larger group or family such as we have visited with in the past. Unfortunately the Sky television system was not working throughout our stay and that was a nuisance, but we could stream on our laptop using the wifi system each evening. Ditto the washing machine failed towards the end of our stay.

                                                            Highly recommended despite the niggles.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Thank you for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maralane again. I am so sorry you had those two problems to contend with.

                                                            Just to let you, and future guests(!) know, the washing machine has been mended, and we have replaced the sky TV system with a new smart TV, which will provide all the usual TV channels as well as allowing you to use your normal netflix, Amazon, or similar subscription.

                                                            Jennifer

                                                            Had a fantastic weekend the house was beautiful .

                                                            Sarah S.Colchester

                                                            This is such a wonderful spot to explore Cornwall. We've been before but first time staying here can't wait to return.

                                                            The house was beyond our expectations and in such a wonderful position.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that the house was all you wanted it to be!

                                                            Location

                                                            Portscatho, Truro, Cornwall, UK

                                                            Coast/Beach: Portscatho itself has a fishing harbour - with a couple of local boats still landing fish daily. At low tide there is a pleasant little beach with excellent rock pooling! This is a great spot to swim from as well. Just a few minutes walk along the cliff path (turn left out of the house) is a gorgeous National Trust beach, with a knock-out beach cafe. Again, great for swimming and body boarding in an Easterly breeze. Percuil inland and upriver from St Mawes is perfect for sailing and boating Travel: Portscatho is on the Roseland peninsula. Truro (with its mainline station) is half an hour's drive away, across the King Harry ferry or by the main road. Newquay airport is 24 miles away. There are buses that connect Truro and St Mawes to Portscatho. From St Mawes you can take ferries to Falmouth, and Place on St Anthony's head. Most of the extensive network of ferries run year round. The cottage is right on the South West coastal path. Distances: Truro 15 miles - cathedral town with good shopping St Mawes 6 miles - ferries to Falmouth, shopping, the Tresanton hotel, excellent dining options Falmouth 16 miles (or by ferry from St Mawes) - National Maritime museum, cinema, lots of independent shops, marina Eden project - 20 miles Porthcurno 45 miles - Minack Theatre and Porthcurno telegraph museum Further Details: The village has an excellent pub, under new management. There is also a harbour club, that has regular open mic nights, films etc. The Boathouse in the village is a pleasant low key restaurant and tea rooms. The village shop stocks a wide range of food, newspapers, drinks etc, and has a very good bakery. There is also a Post Office, doctor's surgery, and various art galleries in the village.

                                                            Availability

                                                            Additional information about rental rates

                                                            Booking Notes: Payment may be made by credit card at the time of booking. An additional 10% security deposit is taken at the same time as full payment is due, and this is to cover damages etc. This deposit is returned within 2 weeks of the end of your stay, all being well with the property. Changeover Day: Changeover day is Friday. Flexibility and short stays are possible outside of main holiday periods. Please arrive after 4pm to allow the changeover to happen; and at the end of your stay please leave by 10am. Notes on prices: Prices are per week and include: linen and towels, cleaning before and after your stay, parking for one car in front of the house, wifi. Local phone calls are included, but any long distance, special number or overseas calls will be deducted from your security deposit.

                                                            $146avg/night
                                                            16 Reviews
                                                            Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                            Premier Partner
                                                            Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                            For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                            Property # 8134710ha

                                                            x