Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Georgian Style House With Enclosed Garden

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

House in Malin Town, Donegal, Ireland - Peaceful Location,close To Blue Flag Beaches And Golf Courses

A beautiful large detached property, located close to beaches and golf courses. Local town has restaurants, pubs & shops. A relaxing rural location with beautiful scenery and long walks.Horse riding and surfing enthusiasts will enjoy this location ,Detached, 4 bedroom 1 ensuite),2 reception room , family bathroom, and toilet shower room downstairs. Walled garden and lockable gates allow privacy..

Joseph McCallion
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2018

About Joseph McCallion

We love Malin because of the fantastic facilities in the area. There are several beautiful beaches and a great range of bars and restaurants. There really is something for everyone here. The area is easily accessible with L'Derry airport approximately 1 hours drive away.

We hope you have a wonderful holiday here in Malin Co.Donegal

Joseph McCallion purchased this house in 2007

Why Joseph McCallion chose County Donegal

Very quiet untouched part of Ireland with beautiful beaches, on a summers day it is possible to find a beach with no one else around.The landscape is untouched and hill walking is very popular. Close to small towns such as Culdaff, Carndonagh and Derry/Londonderry if you want larger selection of shops and restaurants

What makes this house unique

Unique benefits of the property

The property is just five minutes drive from fabulous beaches and the wonderful Ballyliffin Golf Course.

Wind surfing and horse riding available locally.

Scenic walks and a short drive into Derry/Londonderry which was the first UK city to be selected as the city of culture.


County Donegal House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Shower room 1 - shower
    Shower room 2 - shower
  • Bathroom with bath and shower Downstairs toilet and shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 baby crib
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed, child's cot and en-suite Bedroom 2 with double bed Bedroom 3 with double bed Bedroom 4 with 2 single beds
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • limited accessibility
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
Notes on accommodation: 4 Bedroom Georgian-style house with 2 reception rooms,kitchen dining area, utility room and 3 bathrooms. Outside: Property has an enclosed garden suitable for children,with at patio area, gas barbecue and outdoor furniture. Utility Room: washing machine and dryer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Complete with bed linen, property cleaned on arrival and departure. Additional cleaning can be arranged for an additional fee. Other: Lounge 2 complete with fireplace suitable for open fire, sofa, two armchairs and music centre


1/5 -
(1 traveler review)

0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
Georgian Style House With Enclosed Garden
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews

Not the Donegal getaway we had hoped for!!

  • 1 of 5

Although an appealing looking property when we booked for our 2 week holiday we were disappointed on arrival to find the house poorly prepared for guests. The fridge freezer and cupboards contained out of date and opened food containers left by previous guests which we had to dispose of to make any room for our own food for our stay. A tea pot had been left unemptied and contained mouldy teabags. Furniture had been pulled away from the walls to allow access to plug in lights and TVs etc which immediately highlighted that there had been a mice problem in the house. We discovered mouse traps set behind cupboards and mice droppings behind the bed and bedside drawers. We then discovered that the dishwasher did not work and after contacting the owner, a plumber arrived to look at it several days later but advised it was likely to be beyond repair. We heard nothing more leaving us rather inconveniently without a dishwasher for the whole stay - we do not relish dish washing and wouldn't have chosen a property without one. Having resigned ourselves to the fact that the cleaners had either not visited before our arrival or were clearly not house proud and that we were going to have to wash dishes after all, we decided to try and make the best of it. But then following our daughters discovery of fresh mouse dropping in her bedroom we decided enough was enough. We told the owner he still had an ongoing mouse problem and that his property was poorly prepared for paying guests and not worth the peak season rates we had paid and sadly ended our holiday early. We were offered no refund even in part to compensate us for the dishwasher not working, the poor cleanliness and worse of all for the unacceptable rodent problem, and found the small discount offered against a future stay insulting. It took nearly 2 weeks to receive our security deposit back and further attempts to discuss our grievances with the owner have continuously fallen on deaf ears. Needless to say we will not be rebooking and would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In relation to your stay in Donegal firstly let me apologise for your disappointments; during your stay in my property. Based on the following statement which you sent to me on 26/8/2017 which was after your departure; I will now respond “I have now started receiving e-mails from HomeAway requesting feedback on our stay and hope you can offer reasonable compensation that will make me less inclined to truthfully report on our stay in your house” You sent me 20 texts since arriving of which I responded; the first ten texts were regarding the dishwasher, which was working on your arrival but unfortunately stopped working on day 4. I immediately contacted a repair man who failed to arrive on day 6 but arrived on Sat morning day 7; I was informed that the dishwasher was unrepairable and I arranged to have a new one installed; however you had decided to leave early on day 12 of your 14 day stay. At no stage during your 12 days stay in my property did you inform me of any other issues other than the dishwasher; if you had I of course would have addressed them immediately. With regard to rodents I inspected the property myself and found no evidence of rodents; I took this complaint so seriously that I stayed in the property for 5 days with my family; again found no droppings or evidence of rodents. I am sorry that you did not have a happy and enjoyable experience; you did not allow us an opportunity to rectify the situation and unfortunately we cannot impact your holiday positively at this stage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
City Of Derry Airport
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Kilometres
Malin Hotel
Nearest Ferry
9 Kilometres
GreenCastle Ferry
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Kilometres
MAlin Hotel
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Culdaff Beach
Car: necessary


40 Minutes from City of Derry Airport

90 Minutes from the International Airport

Car hire available at both Airports


1.5 miles to Malin Town


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit $265.39

Booking on a weekly basis from Saturday to Friday Inclusive
Arrival time after 3pm Saturday
Departure before 11am Saturday

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties