Luxury spacious farmhouse renovated to the highest degree suitable for small or large families. Cobbled courtyard and garden furniture to enjoy al fresco dining in the good weather, ample private parking for up to 6 cars. Ideally situated to visit Glasgow, Edinburgh, Stirling, Oban, Fort William and even further. Rates are for either the main farmhouse for up to 4 persons or including the courtyard bedrooms which would allow 8 guests in total.
- Half Baths0
- Min Stay3 - 7 nights
Farmhouse, Loch Lomond National Park, 5 minutes drive from the Shores Of Loch Lomond.
- Calendar last updated:
- Sep 28, 2018
About lesley Mclellan
We live in Scotland and Sheildaig Farm at Loch Lomond was our home for 17 years. We ran the house as a luxury bed and breakfast and enjoyed this lifestyle for many years before now letting the house and grounds out as a holiday home so others can enjoy the country lifestyle and surrounding countryside . We live nearby and work in Glasgow.
lesley Mclellan purchased this Farmhouse in 1997
Why lesley Mclellan chose Alexandria
Sheildaig Farm is surrounded by fields and woodland with beautiful walks up onto the hillside where you can look down onto Loch Lomond. With chickens in the garden and a horse in the field nearby it is a relaxing place in the country but only a 5 minute drive from the nearest Village and shores of Loch Lomond, 5 minutes from the local train that takes you to Glasgow or a 25 minutes drive from Glasgow Airport.
What makes this Farmhouse unique
The property has lovely gardens and a cobbled courtyard with some of the bedrooms in the annexe, these rooms have their own entrance so for smaller families the main farmhouse is sufficient, but for bigger families or a number of couples you have the addition of these rooms with their own ensuites and private entrances.
Amazing place 2 stay was their 3 nites and will defo be back
House was amazing great place 2 chill out relax. House was spotless and everthing u had for our week stay. Defo be back
Hi Sonya and Helen
Thank you for your review and also the chocolates and card from you all. We look forward to seeing you all again.
Not equipped as a luxury holiday home for 8
The main house is not suitable for anyone with a physical disability. There are steps and tight doorways. Two of the bedrooms are actually separate and have a main door onto the open courtyard so are completely unsuitable for children who need to be supervised. Many things were broken - the oven, the main microwave, 6 of 8 bulbs in the kitchen. One of the lounges was freezing and the other did not easily seat 8 people - it was hard to get extra chairs in as the doors were so narrow. The dining room also was very cramped for 8. The fourth en-suite was missing! Aside from the tiny working microwave, the kitchen was badly equipped - not even a chopping board - and the larder was full of open food. Nothing was particularly clean and we had to wash/ hoover before we unpacked. The mouldy bowl of fruit was the last straw. After one night of extreme temperatures and difficulty producing an evening meal, we packed and left. None of the interactions with the owner during the stay were helpful, and the offer of a late checkout as compensation was derisory.
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay and must apologise for the bowl of fruit that the cleaner forgot to remove prior to your arrival. Also thank you for advising us that the advert on Owners Direct states we have 4 ensuite bedrooms. This is incorrect, there are 2 ensuite shower rooms, 1 ensuite bathroom and the 4th bedroom has a bathroom right next door to it. I will ask Owners Direct to correct this. We do not advertise anywhere that our house is suitable for anyone with a disability however as all our doors are all standard width and there is only one step up into the house and we have 3 bathrooms with walk in showers we find that people who are elderly or a little infirm are pleased with these facilities. We always call customers prior to arrival to ask if there are any young children who may need a cot or single bed put in an adults room for anyone who would like their young children to be in the same room. I believe your children were 11, 13 and 15. I'm sorry you were unable to work our oven, 2 microwaves, steam oven or 8 ring ceramic hob. These were all working prior to your arrival and after you left. The chopping boards are in the cupboard under the hob. We would have been happy to come and show you how these work if you had contacted us. Also with the heating, this is controlled by the customers and can be on 24hrs a day and there are 4 extra mobile heaters in the house incase guests require any additional heat in any areas of the house. We would have been happy to come up at anytime and fix anything you were not happy with whether it was regarding cleaning or showing you how anything works. When we welcomed you to the house and showed you around as we left we asked you to call us if there was anything at all you needed any help with or information on. Unfortunately you didn't do this until you left. We appreciate your opinion and have now added to our customer information folder which is in the house a diagram and instructions for the ovens and microwaves and hob and also instructions on how the heating works and advising guests that there are extra heaters in the wardrobes if required.
good but lacking some basic facilities
We enjoyed our stay at the house, the location was great and Lesley was very organised and helpful in the lead up to our stay. unfortunately there were some basic things that were not provided which made our stay less comfortable than it could have been, for example not providing hand soap, cleaning products or tea towels, and we couldn't seem to function the microwave. The code for the internet provided in the information book was also incorrect but we found it on the router, and Wi-Fi signal was patchy. otherwise the place was clean and presentable and if these small things could be addressed then it would make for a great place to stay
Thanks for your review and I have to apologise that you did not receive tea towels. This was an oversight and if you had called us we would have happily brought some for you. We provide a number of things in the house such as tea, coffee, sugar, salt, pepper etc. and washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets to start you off on your first day or two but normally in self catering houses customers supply these. But I realise that customers may not know what they are getting so will send an email before people arrive to let them know what is in the house and what they need to bring. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
The Trip of a Lifetime
We traveled from Canada with my 80 year old mother and couldn't have been happier. The house was perfect for us. Located close to everything, My mother has mobility issue, but the house was well equipped for her to move around with her walker as well as a wheelchair when we needed. Lesley was amazing, offering suggestions and making sure we had everything necessary for us to enjoy a trip of a lifetime to Scotland. The beds were comfortable and the property was immaculate. Would highly recommend this property.
Travelled August 19-26th, 2017
Lovely property in beautiful and peaceful setting. Close enough to get to amenities and activities.
Owner was really helpful throughout booking process and welcoming on arrival. Beautiful property with lots of space including outdoors. Easy journey to lots of activities and places to visit. Thoroughly recommend it as an ideal base to see the amazing countryside and scenery.
Beautiful setting and lovely farmhouse
My family and I enjoyed our stay at Sheildaig Farm. It provided the ideal family experience for a vacation allowing us to connect and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The farmhouse is wonderfully kitted out for your home away from home needs. The location was perfect as a central travel point and easy access to other locations.
Thank you Fiona. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for leaving the house so clean and tidy.
Enjoy the rest of your holiday.
Special interest holidays:
We can arrange rental bicycles for adults and children to be delivered to the house for the duration of your stay.
A 5 minute drive or 20 minute walk to the shores of the southern end of Loch Lomond.
A car is recommended but not necessary as there is a taxi company, train station, bus station in Balloch which is 5 minutes by car and 20 minutes walking.
Glasgow International Airport (25 minute drive)
Glasgow Prestwick Airport (55 minute drive)
Nearest Village - 5 minute drive
Nearest distillery - 15 minute drive
Glasgow, Stirling - 35 minute drive
Edinburgh, Fort William, Oban - 90 minute drive
Wonderful Restaurants, cycling tracks, walks, hill climbs all nearby and only 5 minutes drive to the local train station which takes you to all the museums, theatres and culture that Glasgow or Edinburgh has to offer.
Booking Notes: Please call for all queries and booking enquiries. 50% deposit due on the day booking is made with balance payable 1 month prior to your arrival date. Enquiries can be made by email and credit or debit card payments are taken by telephone. Pets are only accepted if terms and conditions that are on the website have been agreed and Lesley the owner has discussed with the pet owner. Changeover Day: Change over days Monday and Friday Arrival time 1600hrs Departure time 1000hrs Notes on prices: Prices are quoted as per week should you wish a short break or have only 2 or 4 in your party then please call for prices.