Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Oceanfront Property

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,695 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms with 2.5 baths; Oceanfront

When you enter the Hale Aikalani you will see a panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. From the lanai you hear and see the waves rolling toward the rocky shore which is within a few feet of the property. The wrap-around lanai is a prime viewing area as well as a nice place for meals or recreation. You can see the ocean from almost every room in the house.

Local artist, Melissa Knott, painted the colorful artwork. She is also the caretaker who will meet you at the house upon arrival.

Sea turtles and whales are frequently present.

The master bedroom has a king size bed. The guest bedroom has a queen bed. And the other guest room has two twin beds. The bedrooms are nicely furnished and comfortable.

The kitchen is fully equipped with modern appliances, dinnerware, and cookware. A washer and dryer are provided.

There is an attached garage.

In-house entertainment includes two TVs; a DVR for recording your favorite upcoming programs, and a DVD player. A selection of videos is available. There are some board and card games in the entryway closer. In addition to regular tv channels we subscribe to HBO.

The lanai is one of my favorite features. I enjoy sitting outside with a cup of tea just watching the waves roll in.

If you have children, there are plenty of places for them to play in the house: the bedroom, upstairs loft, dining room or living room, and if they are old enough to be unsupervised--the lanai which has tables and chairs and if the island breeze is not too strong their game cards and pieces should be safe.

The Big Island is divided into districts, towns, then neighborhoods. Our house is in the Puna District in the town of Pahoa, in the Hawiian Beaches neighborbood. Once you understand this distinction, it will be easier to navigate through tourist guides. Some venues are closer than they may seem.

The townsite is Pahoa and it is one of the most interesting places I have visited. There are small restaurants, craft stores, galleries and boutiques. There is a local grocery store.The atmosphere is that of the '60's or '70's. It features wooden sidewalks.

Pahoa is an alternative to the resort areas of Hawaii. But if you want to visit the resort areas near Kona, it is a beautiful 2-hour drive. The beaches are public so look for the public access signs and be careful not to park in private areas.

In addition to the small grocery store in the Pahoa townsite, there are several strip malls with larger grocery stores, banks, medical walk-in medical clinics which are closer to the house.

Best of all is our off-site caretaker. Should anything need attention, she is there on the spot. I know of no other rental that can guarantee that type of service. Additionally she offers a special lei greeting if desired, and she can grocery shop prior to your arrival so you have some basics when you arrive. Details will be provided in my welcome packet which you will receive about 30 days before your arrival.

More Details

Owner
Carolyn Coe
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Carolyn Coe

I am retired from working 44 years in the field of disabilities. I am a volunteer for the Alaska Chapter of the American Red Cross. I am a member of the Disaster Assistance Team. I also am part of Disney's Pillowcase Project making presentations to elementary school children on how to be safe in emergencies and how to prepare emergency evacuation packs.

I have two adult children. Leslie resides in New York. Kevin lives in Anchorage Alaska. I have lived in Anchorage, Alaska for 39 years. I am the grandmother of 5 grandchildren with one more on the way.

My hobbies include swing dancing, singing, and amateur radio.

Carolyn Coe purchased this house in 2016

Why Carolyn Coe chose Pahoa

The oceanfront experience of this property was a prime reason I purchased this house. The quality of the home, location of the home and surrounding areas made this an ideal choice for me. This property was built in 2013 and I purchased it in 2016. It is very new with modern decor, appliances, and furniture. I felt like I was getting a model home.

What makes this house unique

I always dreamed of having oceanfront property. While on a recent vacation I discovered the Hale Kalani and knew it was right for me. I walked right to the lanai and said 'this is the one'. Every property I looked at afterwards could not hold a candle to the Hale Aikalani. I love water. I grew up in Ohio within miles of Lake Erie. I've taken many ocean cruises. From my condo in Whittier, Alaska I can see and hear the water fall from my front window. In Alaska I can see whales and bore tides in Turnagain Arm. And the view over Cook Inlet of Denali is awesome.

My water experience from this property is the pinnacle. Being this close to the ocean, the rocky shore, and the crashing waves is a dream come true.

Additionally the house is located in a nice residential area, and near small communities, local beaches, local restaurants, and culture.

Map

Lava Tube Cave
Kaleo's Bar & Grill
Isaac Hale Park
Big Island Visitors Bureau, East Hawai‘i Office
Ahalanui Warm Springs Park
Kapoho Tide Pools
Richardson Ocean Park
Lava Tree State Monument
Maku'u Farmer's Market  
Uncle Robert's Kava Bar
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Flumin' Kohala
Hawaiʻi Volcanoes National Park
The Black Sand Beach
Car: necessary

APPS

Big Island Revealed (comes as app or as a printed book)

Aloha Big Island

Big Island

Big Island Smart Maps (I like this one a lot)

Big Island Adventures (includes videos)

The descriptions of beaches are helpful. Suitability for swimming, ease of access, etc. is included. Some beaches are great for picnics and scenic views, while others are suitable for swimming and snorkeling. Check before you go.

Amenities

Pahoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1695 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Guest bathroom - toilet
    Guest Bathroom - toilet , shower , Upstairs hallway shared by guests in guest rooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Guest bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Guest bedrooms are upstairs. Upstairs guest bathroom.
    Guest Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Guests share hallway bathroom upstairs.
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Private bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
For a small fee plus the cost of groceries, our housekeeper can do initial grocery shopping for you. You will receive her contact information in your welcome packet closer to the date you check-in.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular Oceanfront Property
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 34 reviews
5

Newly remodeled property. Perfect in every way.

  • 5 of 5

No need to look anywhere else. This property is the BEST on this side of the island. My wife and I are fortunate enough to visit the Big Island twice each year, and we have stayed at many rentals. None compares to this property. Beautiful location, immaculate condition and prompt responses to email/text from both Carolyn and her caretaker, Melissa.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego , California
5

Absolute Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

After spending a great week in Oahu , this was the perfect house & experience! The house is beautiful and has everything you will need to feel right at home ! It has the most spectacular view of the ocean looking down over the black lava rock ! You can see for miles , 360 view of the coastline! Loved the sweet town of Pahoa , many attractions close by , but I have to admit we spent a lot of time at the house watching turtles , dolphins, & awesome sunrises & sunsets ! Melissa was wonderful & the Owner was so easy to work with ! Mahalo , Pat , Aijijic Mexico 🌴🤘

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cambridge, Ontario
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We just spent 5 nights at this stunning property and we would go back in a heartbeat. The view is incredible (every bit as good as the photos and then some), the home was beautifully decorated and fully equipped, and the nearby area offered terrific activities for our family (lava flows, tidal pool snorkeling, waterfalls, etc.). The owner has thought of every detail to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We also appreciated being greeted by the caretaker and being given some insider tips about the area. Highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Texas
5

Clean, well appointed, and beautiful view.

  • 5 of 5

The provided beach towels and water bottles made our stay all the easier. We saw turtles, dolphins, and rays from the balcony. The waves crashing at night were soothing. We stayed 4 nights and remained on this side of the island during the day. Lots to do!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great views - great vacation !

  • 5 of 5

New, immaculately maintained, spacious, comfortable house - the photos don't do it justice. Comfortable beds, all kitchenware and appliances were first-rate, reliable Internet, reliable (Verizon) cell service. Quiet, peaceful neighborhood.

We saw green sea turtles in abundance right behind the house, feeding in the rocky shallows every day. The sound of the surf made for great sleep. Volcanoes National Park is right down the road; very convenient. I will definitely stay there again on my next vacation to the Pahoa area!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A beautiful home in a location we'll never forget

  • 4 of 5

I have to start with the lanai, because that's where we spent much of our time, relaxing, eating, carried away by the spectacular view. And hoping to see turtles and dolphins, which unfortunately were not inclined to appear. Never mind, the view itself and the constantly breaking waves were more than enough. The house is spacious, beautifully furnished, and extremely comfortable. The beds are cozy, and the ceiling fans keep things cool, even when the weather is kind of muggy. We cooked dinner every night in the well equipped kitchen, and appreciated having a dishwasher available for easy clean-up. Also a washer and dryer for our clothes, which meant we could pack light. Loved the walk-in shower in the master bathroom. The bathrooms are perfect, in fact, well lighted, roomy, and beautifully finished. Every aspect of the house, from the convenience of the attached garage to the Hawaiian music cd's, contributed to a delightful stay.

The one thing that keeps me from giving a 5-star rating is the lack of a telephone. We called Carolyn on our cell when our search for the promised land line didn't turn up anything. She said she had the phone taken out because the cell phone reception had proved to be excellent. Unfortunately, that was not our experience. Reception was spotty at best, and non-existent much of the time, on both of our cell phones, with two different providers. We had to drive to the parking lot at Long's Drugs to make a call to confirm a dinner invitation. And we worried what might happen during an emergency since we were mostly phoneless. If the land line were reconnected, I would give this house an enthusiastic 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the compliments on the house and for sharing the benefits of a landline. I will be at the house for six weeks in the fall and I'll investigate past landline use and cell reception from various providers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 14.42%

CHECKIN IS 3:00. CHECKOUT IS 10:00 a.m.
Once you submit payment, you must complete and submit the rental agreement.
Cancellation policy: Full refund if reservation is canceled at least 30 days prior to check-in. Cancellations made within 30 days of arrival forfeit 50% of the reservation. The cleaning fee and damage deposit are refundable with cancelations. For stays longer than two weeks, an additional cleaning fee is be required
for a mid-stay cleaning. There is no refund for early departure. The fee for unpaid guests will be taken from the damage deposit if not previously inclided with prior rental rate. If you are significantly late to meet caretaker for orientation a portion of the hourly wait time fee will come from the damage deposit.

Discounts for Red Cross staff and volunteers may apply. Discounts for active duty military service members may apply. Discounts for long-term stays of 30 days may be available. Contact owner prior to booking for these and other possible discounts.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties