Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Waterside Cabin, in scenic White Mountains with deck perched over water's edge.

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

Scandinavian-themed cabin for 2 beside a 32-acre spring-fed trout-stocked lake.

Waterside Cabin provides a captivating perch from which a couple can enjoy nature without needing to travel anywhere else. Half-on land and half-over the water, you may feel like you're on a boat or living in a boathouse. You may spot loons, eagles, a variety of other birds, beavers, and fish jumping from the water. We've seen deer and have had moose cross the property twice over the last few years as well.

Our most attractive features are views of the water from practically anywhere in the cabin and from the waterside deck. It is a spectacular place to relax and take in the natural setting.

Stocked with trout each season, our lake has bass, brown trout, rainbow trout and perch. Eat what you catch or catch and release and yes, it is possible to catch fish from the waterside deck!

The property has an upper and lower level. From the lane off of the main road you'll arrive at the upper area. This area provides parking for up to two cars, the bonfire pit, picnic table and a couple of owner's outbuildings.

The Waterside Cabin is down a relatively steep stepped slope to a deck and then down a flight of stairs to the lower area and waterfront.

A grill is available for your use off of the deck down on the grass along the waterfront. Please grill away from the house or any of the decks.

While mesmerizing to many, Waterside Cabin may not be comfortable for all.

Access down to the lower area could pose a serious challenge depending on your mobility or physical condition. Please keep this in mind when considering a stay at Waterside Cabin.

Fresh drinking water must be brought onsite to Waterside Cabin. We provide three gallon containers of drinking water from the supermarket to get you started. Do NOT drink any water from any of the faucets or shower.

Waterside Cabin is equipped with a kitchen and bathroom with shower including a flush toilet and a proper septic system which all use water pumped from the lake. Yes - we have hot water!

There is much to do in the area. We have prepared a folder of activities and maps for you and have more information in our Guest Guide.

Guest Access: Guests have access to the Waterside Cabin and it's lower and upper areas. The larger storage outbuildings is owner-access only. Inside the smaller building at the top of the hill is where you will find covered recycling and trash bins. Please be kind to nature and your hosts. Guests have access to the waterfront area at their own risk.

If you would like to provide a written acceptance of all risk and liability, you can also have access to the canoe. We have paddles, two adult life jackets and a life preserver available. The canoe gives you better access to see more nature up close.

The Neighborhood: This lake provides a surprising amount of privacy and is quite peaceful, which attracts so much wildlife. Part of this sense of privacy is because there are no other houses at the water's edge like Waterside Cabin.

Most of the lakeside houses are vacation homes like Waterside Cabin, however we do have some year round neighbors.

At Waterside Cabin you may also get to experience loons, eagles and other birds, flying squirrels, beavers, turtles, deer, moose, and other animals.

This part of New Hampshire is called the White Mountains Region, home to wonderful hiking trails for all levels and attractions including covered bridges, The Flume, The Basin, Cannon Mountain Tram, White Mountains National Forest, Franconia Notch and other NH state parks.

For a refreshing time, try swimming up the road at "The Big Eddy" a beautiful swimming spot in view of an old covered bridge over the Wild Ammonoosuc River.

You are a short drive to general stores in Bath including the "Swiftwater Way Station" and "The Brick Store" which claims to be the oldest continually operating general store in the USA), an ice-cream parlor, the supermarket and other supplies in Woodsville, a great bar/bowling alley, a Chinese restaurant, a breakfast restaurant, an "over the top" ice cream stand and other recommended restaurants. In North Haverhill, there is Aldrich's General Store. Aldrich's is known as a convenient store with very good meats and sandwiches. Over the mountain in North Woodstock, NH there's also a pretty good selection of restaurants.

Getting Around: You'll need a car around here.

Other Things to Note: As noted above, you need to bring fresh drinking water to Waterside Cabin.

Waterside Cabin is somewhat "off the grid". We do have electricity, a propane stove, hot water, and a phone (local calling) however no internet access. There is no cell phone coverage at Waterside Cabin and cell phone coverage is spotty in this neighborhood due to the mountains depending on your carrier. Cell phone service is usually pretty good in town. While this may sound daunting to some, it's actually refreshing to tell everyone at work "sorry, I don't have access to email, texts, the web...I'm actually on vacation" : )

Fishing licenses and bait are available at the general store a few miles up the road and at many other locations.

House Rules: Waterside Cabin is strictly for adults. No minors are allowed, no exceptions. Two adult guests per stay is the limit due environmental impact and our septic system.

Spending time amidst the nature and this close to the lake teeming with life, you'll feel the fragility the environment. Please never let anything drop into the water.

Waterside Cabin is a smoke-free, pet-free environment.

Please be extra careful with fire and your ashes around here. Wood construction, built in the 1940's, you can see why we're nervous about fire. That said, a small fire burning in the wood stove is a great way to take the chill out of a cool NH summer night or morning! You are welcome to use the wood stove.

Grilling must be done away from the building down a couple steps along the water front. There's also a small bonfire pit there. Please cover the grill when finished and douse your bonfires with a couple buckets of lake water before retiring. If you've got a fire burning in the wood stove before leaving, no problem, just make sure the stove door is closed and we'll take care of it.

At the end of your stay, please remove all leftover food, trash and recyclables and deposit them in the containers in the small storage building at the top of the hill near the parking. Make sure to close the door tightly to keep wildlife out. Please put all used sheets and pillow cases, bath towels, dish towels, etc, in the blue zipped IKEA bag for laundering.

Most importantly have fun and be gentle on the nature that surrounds you. We know you'll enjoy your time here and create some excellent memories! Welcome!

More Details

Mike & Eva DiLascio
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, swedish, danish, norwegian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 11, 2018

About Mike & Eva DiLascio

We love nature, travel, hosting and building friendships with people from all over. Proud parents of two grown sons. Some of our favorite places are near the mountains and the sea, in cities and jungles.

Mike & Eva DiLascio purchased this cabin in 2004

Why Mike & Eva DiLascio chose Haverhill

We always dreamed about a mountain lake getaway and one day we discovered this place in the White Mountains - an old hunting fishing cabin built in 1948 with a deck projecting over the water. Wonderfully private but with beautiful vistas across the water. Waterside Cabin needed LOTS of renovation but we were up to the challenge. We just love the proximity to the water, fishing, birdwatching, canoeing, photography, and nature watching.

What makes this cabin unique

Practically every place inside Waterside Cabin offers views of the water. Throughout the day, sunlight, wind, weather change the nature of your water views. This 32-acre spring fed lake is stocked with trout and we've also caught bass and perch. You can fish right from the deck! A family of loons, eagles, and many other birds, flying squirrels, beavers, deer live in and around the water. We even had a male and a female moose walk through the land last year. Very cool!


Haverhill Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Waterside Cabin has a modern bathroom which includes a shower. Yes we have hot water : ) And a view over the water.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • The bedroom offers a comfortable queen-sized bed, closets and fresh linen/towel cupboards and an electric space heater. You can lie in bed and see the water.
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
Waterside Cabin is somewhat "off the grid". We do have electricity, a propane stove, hot water, and a phone (local calling) however no internet access. There is no cell phone coverage at Waterside Cabin and cell phone coverage is spotty in this neighborhood due to the mountains depending on your carrier. Cell phone service is usually pretty good in town. While this may sound daunting to some, it's actually refreshing to tell everyone at work "sorry, I don't have access to email, texts, the web...I'm actually on vacation" : ) Fishing licenses and bait are available at the general store a few miles up the road and at many other locations. We have a canoe and two adult life vests available for use by registered guests who provide us with a waiver from all liability and who accept all risks. As noted above, you need to bring fresh drinking water to Waterside Cabin. We provide two gallons with each rental.


4.3/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Waterside Cabin, in scenic White Mountains with deck perched over water's edge.
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews

Great cabin on a lake!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I rented this cabin for a week and very much enjoyed our stay. My city girl even said she would come back! I wanted to get in some fly fishing in nearby steams and rivers, but also managed to fish off the deck overhanging the lake. In 5 minutes I had a small mouth bass, though the rest of the week was sparse. I think the 2 loons are doing a pretty fair job of keeping the lake from being over populated. We very much enjoyed watching them in the mornings while drinking coffee on the deck and enjoying the scenery. I did catch trout over on Profile Lake which has a stream running through it. Most of the week was spent exploring the White Mountains and Mike and Eva's cabin gives you easy access. They were very easy to work with and were very responsive to any needs we had. We are very much considering going back as there is so much hiking in the White Mountains. The cabin is down two flights of stairs from the parking area which might be a concern for some, but the serenity, scenery and the ability sit on a bench overhanging the water and watch the stars is unmatched. We counted no less than 11 shooting stars one night in about an hour. I took the canoe out one day to explore the pond a bit and now wished I had more time to fish from it. As the wind picked up, I headed back to the cabin just in time for us to watch a storm come over the mountain. If you've never been in a cabin on a lake in a thunderstorm, I would highly recommend it! The cabin suited us perfectly and we'd go back next week if it weren't for this pesky job!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Bob - thanks so much for reviewing your stay at Waterside Cabin. Sounds like you two had a great time! I've never caught a bass off the deck before (just trout) and hope you released it to up my chances next time. I'll find a shot of a huge bass my buddy caught from the waterfront near the canoe last year. He did release that one. The stargazing, loons, and experiencing the thunderstorm rolling in are what it's all about up there! You are welcome back any time and we really appreciate you taking such good care of our place! Thanks, Mike & Eva
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The cabin was absolutely charming and quaint!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is warm and inviting in every way. The owners, Mike and Eva, were incredibly attentive when making arrangements, and I can't say enough good things about Nancy who welcomed me the evening that I arrived and called to check in on me after a hard rain storm. This place was "just what the doctor ordered" in terms of reconnecting with myself and nature - the perfect RETREAT/ESCAPE! I highly recommend this destination to anyone looking for a peaceful sanctuary and some R&R. Being so close to a Drive-In Theater was idyllic as well.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Allison! Thanks so much for staying at Waterside Cabin and we are really pleased that you were able to recharge and reconnect with all the nature there. We appreciate you taking such good care of our place and for leaving it in such good shape. We welcome you back anytime you need a break! Best wishes, Mike & Eva Waterside Cabin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

On Golden Pond

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay in the little cabin on the pond. There was plenty of wood for the cold evenings and mornings and the deck was the perfect place for morning coffee and watching the sunset in the evening. I would give it a five star except the water filtering device continied to malfunction. The oweners suggested we left the shower on except we couldn't take a shower. We managed as we are tent campers but it was rather inconvenient though the owners were responsive when we called them. Also, the path to the house from the parking spot was poorly lit and quite steep. We learned to navigate it as the week went on but additional lighting would be extremely helpful. Being in New Hampshire in the fall is the place to be! Recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Peter, Thank you for staying at Waterside Cabin and for your helpful review and recommendation! Apologies for the inconvenience the filtration system caused you both and we are glad that you called so we could address it. The hill down to the upper deck is steep and we appreciate your suggestion to add lighting there. We'll be extending electric up the hill so should have additional lighting installed when we re-open in the spring. We are glad you had a beautiful autumn week to enjoy and that the wood stove kept you warm. You are always welcome back at Waterside Cabin! Best wishes, Mike & Eva
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bradenton, FL

Somewhat over rated

  • 3 of 5

Owners were amazing to communicate with. The property itself lacked the privacy it boasted about as well as certain preparations prior to our reservation that would have helped the stay be more safe, clean and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lisa, Thank you very much for your feedback and suggestions. As we wrote to you in August, we were saddened to hear you had to cut your trip short and can imagine that Waterside Cabin felt even more remote and rugged than usual after the family emergency arose so far away. The area in general, and Waterside Cabin in particular, aren't good for connectivity and cell phone service. We know the info we published online didn't lead you to think otherwise, but we understand it must have been a big inconvenience when a family emergency arose. We looked into your suggestions on the screen and the fridge and immediately addressed them. Can you tell us more about the privacy issue? Folks usually mind their own business around here. It is a public lake so it's not uncommon to see canoes and folks fishing go by, but maybe you meant something else? The bee sting you suffered must have put a damper on being close to nature. We hope things have settled back down and that you don't have any lingering issues with the bee sting and that the memories at Waterside Cabin weren't all bad. Thanks again for staying with us and for your feedback. All the best, Mike & Eva
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65
Refundable damage deposit $350

Waterside Cabin is limited to two adults guests, maximum. No minors, no pets, no exceptions. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties