Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Custom Boat House Dockside

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 450 sq ft
Property type house

Overview

About the property

One-of-a-kind Completely Hand Crafted Custom Boat House

Rent the Dockside level of this hand crafted, completely custom beach house situated directly on the sea with covered deck area & beach access (Topside level also available to rent.) Nestled in the intimate Shoreside community, this house and the close knit neighbors surrounding it were part of the original and only commercial fishing access on the central coast active since the 1930's. Steeped in history, guests can still experience a feeling for the old days as parts of the larger docks are still used for fishing and surfing by the original families that founded the community almost 75 years ago. The house itself has been lovingly and painstakingly renovated while honoring the community's history and the unique flavor of the area. There are vintage brass fixtures & the original softwood floors throughout, hand hewn beach rock columns, floor to ceiling windows, open beam ceiling, Venetian plastered walls, chef's kitchen with Viking stove, marble counter tops and lovely vintage cabinetry. Guests will enjoy breath taking coastal views from a Japanese soaking tub. Rest in a cozy queen size bed nestled next to a cast iron fireplace making this a truly unforgettable experience.

As the Beach House is in a private beach front community, out of respect for the neighborhood, its long time residents and the local environment, we adhere strictly our max. occupancy limit of 4 people. Any extra guests without prior arrangement and explicit written consent will be considered a violation of the rental agreement and you will be required to vacate the premises immediately. We thank you for your understanding and adherence to this rule so that we can preserve the unique lifestyle and others may continue to enjoy the Boat House in the future!

More Details

Owner
James Kibblewhite
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2018

Amenities

Pedro Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 450 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Check in is between 3-5pm.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , outdoor shower , Japanese soaking tub and separate shower and toilet areas.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen Size Bed - 1 king , 1 queen , Inflatable Queen size Air Mattress also available
  • Cozy Queen size sofa bed located on the main floor.
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Oceanfront Custom Boat House Dockside
average rating of 4.8 based on 30 reviews
5

Loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

The boathouse was just as advertised - small, but perfect for my wife and I. The view was fantastic and always had interesting action going on in the surf. The loft bed was a little challenging, but doable. If I had one wish for making it better, I would add a ottoman to put my feet up and small end table next to sofa for my coffee cup. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Go somewhere ekse

  • 1 of 5

I would advise no one to book this place. It supposedly sleeps 4 but you are charged more if you exceed 2. The owner agent came to fix a clogged toilet, telling us not to worry it happened a lot. Then she wanted to keep my entire security claiming she had to call a plumber after we left. Also she said there were “stains” on towels.

There is no refrigerator/ freezer. It is a wine refrigerator. The freezer is shared, you have to go outside to use it.

There is no tv, microwave and the WiFi doesn’t work well. There was mold in the shower, and when we arrived there was animal waste on the outdoor deck.

Despite the description, there is a bed on the floor, and a tiny loft. We had to use a blow up mattress, making privacy impossible.

The deck chairs are old and stained. The outdoor loft had cats on it that appeared from under the house.

It is a beautiful location and that is why I gave it one star.

Other than that stay away.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would like to take a moment to address the items mentioned for our future guests. Our standard rate is for 2 people. Extra guests include an additional fee. This information is clearly listed on our booking page along with the amenities we offer, which includes High Speed Wi-Fi, and does not include a T.V. or microwave, as the owner prefers an organic aesthetic to allow our visitors the opportunity to unplug and recharge. The Wi-Fi is fully functional. After confirming the correct password with our guests, they advised that they were able to get online. As a Studio, it is to be expected that there are no bedrooms in the interior; however all of the windows are fitted with custom shades which offer complete privacy for our guests. The Dockside unit has a high quality memory foam sofa-bed on the ground floor as well as a queen size inflatable mattress, queen size bed in the loft and a king size round on the covered outdoor heated patio. For maximum use of space, there is an under counter Viking refrigerator, paired with a full size Viking Range. In addition we have a full size backup refrigerator/freezer that serves well for longer term guests. There is a built in bench seating area and an elevated coffee table with bar stools on the private covered deck. There is also a wooden picnic table found out in front of the unit on the main dock. In the 25 years that we have owned and operated this property we have never personally owned or housed any pets. Our trusted and seasoned cleaning team has always done an excellent job of preparing and inspecting each unit and the grounds prior to our guests arrival, which leaves us surprised to hear their report of animal waste. The water stains from a failed sealant application on the custom plaster shower walls are scheduled for repairs with the original specialty contractor and in no way hinder the use of the shower. Although we may not be able to know or control what is put into the toilets, we were there immediately to resolve the issue. We were able to plunge and relieve the clog on the spot, without the need of calling a professional service. While assessing damages, the security deposit was temporarily held during the allotted review period, and then immediately returned in full. The disrespectful state they left the home in, including scattered cigarette butts and our mattress and pillows stuffed in the Japanese soaking tub, left us feeling sad and we will not be renting to these guests in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

A Gem Understated Elegance from a bygone Era

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for one night. The boathouse is impeccably clean with all of the comforts of home.

We love the Japanese soaking tub and the view from the deck of the surfers enjoying the surf.

We will be back

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hillsboro, OR
5

Amazing get away in Pacifica

  • 5 of 5

We lived in Moss Beach before and thought we knew the area well. Pedro Point is a great place to relax and see a side of the SF coast rarely experienced.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Get away...

  • 5 of 5

Leave the world behind, and immerse yourself in artistic pleasure! What a wonderful place to spend a few days!

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Location and ambiance heavenly

  • 5 of 5

The owner of this little gem is an artist and it was tons of fun to live amidst his handiwork and vision for a few days. Lots of outside space to enjoy and the beach is accessed just down the way. Fun to cook on the gorgeous stove with everyone around. Glorious water pressure and soaking tub (and outdoor shower). Indoor space is tight, no storage, but very efficiently designed. Manager very responsive and helpful. Tons of spectacular hikes/mountain biking in area. Just loved it.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
San Francisco International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Devil's Slide Tap Room
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Colma BART Station
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
US Coast Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Devils slide Tap room, La Playa, The Point Pizza
Nearest Beach
Pacifica State Beach
Car: recommended

Pedro Point is one of Pacifica's most unique and desirable neighborhoods as well as the Coast's best kept secret only 15 min from SFO and downtown SF. The neighborhood is surrounded by the breathtaking, rugged & unspoiled California coast, scenic coastal drives, numerous large beaches & miles of coastal hiking trails. Pedro Point, nestled between towering Eucalyptus trees and crashing waves with it's eclectic & natural setting is sure to impress. Walking distance to 5 different restaurant/bars, shopping center w/ grocery store & shops, public transport with connections to BART, new Devil's Slide Trail system, paved coastal walkway & various other hikes. Wander down to Nor-Cal surf shop where there are surf lessons, board and wetsuit rentals available. Also available nearby is paddle boarding, sea kayaking, sport fishing charters, mountain biking & horseback riding. Just a few minutes drive down the coast guests can discover the adorable town of Half Moon Bay & the quaint harbor at Pillar Point Marina. This area boasts fresh caught fish & crab, local bars & restaurants, fresh seafood, paddle board rentals, meandering paved coastal walkway and home to the famous Maverick's surf contest.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $100
Cleaning Fee $80

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Check in is between 3-5pm. Early check in/Late check out may be available in some cases for an additional fee of $20/hour. Late arrivals beyond 5pm will be charged an additional $20/hour based on actual arrival time, at the owners discretion. Guests will be required to sign a Rental Agreement/House Rules and Release of Liability waiver before checking in. No Pets. No Smoking. Please be respectful of our neighbors, no loud music, no drugs or partying. Cancellation policy is strict, 50% refund up until 1 week prior to arrival, except fees. As the Pedro Point Boat House is in a private beach front community, out of respect for the neighborhood, its long time residents and the local environment, we adhere strictly our max. occupancy limit of 4 people. Any extra guests without prior arrangement and explicit written consent will be considered a violation of the rental agreement and you will be required to vacate the premises immediately. We thank-you for your understanding and adherence to this rule so that we can preserve the unique lifestyle and others may continue to enjoy the Pedro Point Boat House in the future.

There are numerous stairs throughout the unit and property and a multi level switch back leading down to the beach house entrance at the lower level. This property is not suitable for people who have difficulty of movement, walking, climbing stairs, over steps and/or uneven surfaces, or exerting themselves in any physical manner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties