Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Enjoy Downtown Charleston from the Lodge Ally Inn

Bedrooms Studio
Space 560 sq ft
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Take a step back in time at The Lodge Alley Inn. A collection of 18th century warehouses, the buildings have been restored to preserve their history while also providing modern-day comforts and conveniences.

This Charleston landmark reflects its rich European heritage with its original pine floors and red brick walls, thick Oriental carpets, period reproductions and intimate parlors with fireplaces. The Victorian-style suites blend old-world charm in the common living areas with modern kitchens and baths.

The Lodge Alley Inn is conveniently located in the heart of charming downtown Charleston. Once our valet parks your car, let our concierge arrange a historic walking tour or a horse-drawn carriage to take you around town.

After sightseeing, return to the Inn for complimentary fresh-baked cookies and tea. For a four-star meal and an extensive wine selection, dine at the neighboring High Cotton restaurant, a winner of Wine Spectator’s 2003 Award of Excellence.

After dinner, take a leisurely stroll through the courtyard or chat by the fountain.

More Details

Property Manager
Joe Godfrey
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

Why Joe Godfrey chose Historic Old City

This a very unique property. Being right downtown you can walk to most of the famous restaurants and the City Market.


Historic Old City Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Building Type:
  • lodge
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 560 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Elevator
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • There is no formal bedroom. This is a studio unit.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff


4.3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Enjoy Downtown Charleston from the Lodge Ally Inn
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 3 reviews

Lodge Alley Inn

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely fantastic! Wonderful experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I am happy your stay was a great experience
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, Quaint, Walking Distance to All DOWNTOWN CHARLESTON

  • 4 of 5

This lodge room is conveniently located in downtown Charleston with convenient walking ease and distance to Waterfront Park, Rainbow Row, Pineapple Fountain, Market Street, King Street, Battery and more. The owner answered questions promptly even though booked last minute. The valet parking is not the quickest and did not know how to drive a straight drive vehicle. So when we took my vehicle out of valet for daytrip to Isle of Palms had to be patient waiting. The parking can be challenge with room only to pull over on busy street yet the attendees were great and nice. The room was nice and clean with exposed bricks and historic feel. Bed was comfortable. However, be aware that this studio is ideal for 2 people. If you are staying 4, please be aware that no reall privacy as fireplace wall separates living and bedroom yet open. Still for the price and location, this option is so much better than a typical hotel room. The courtyard was awesome and favorite feature to sit and talk, people watch, read, relax. The concierge at lodge is nice, friendly. You get freebies. Overall, I had one of the best times on any vacation. The place can be noisy as older, historic building yet friend and I loved staying here. I would completely 100% stay here again. There are great, great dining options, evening options, tour options around the corner. The place had a quaint feel and enjoyed our vacation and appreciate the people (owner and staff). So glad I found this on VRBO and booked. .

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very nice property with a welcoming staff.

  • 4 of 5

My son and I really enjoyed our stay, however 2 items that disappointed us:

I was told when I booked the reservation that it was a "condo" therefore I expected a

kitchen as we like to make our own breakfast. Upon arrival we discovered it only had a sink in the bathroom just like any hotel room. This was neither a "condo" nor a "studio" both of which have kitchens. If had known this we would have booked at the Hampton Inn and saved the cost of breakfast.

The second issue was the cost of the valet parking. When I booked the rates stated were $18 to take the car to the parking lot and $16 for each additional day. However, my final bill was $22 per day.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad my traveler enjoyed the Lodge Ally Inn. It is a great property. Thank you for your four star review. Thank you for pointing out a couple of items that I have since corrected. As to the parking charge that was my mistake. The rate of $18.00 applies only to the actual owner. Guest are charged $22.00. I was under the incorrect assumption that if you are staying in an owner's unit you would get the owner pricing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


High Cotton Charleston Restaurant
Southern Restaurant (US)
New York City Pizza
Poogan's Smokehouse
Southern Restaurant (US)
Southern Restaurant (US)
Dessert Restaurant
Amen Street Fish & Raw Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Craftsmen Kitchen & Tap House
Cumberland St. Smokehouse
Fleet Landing LLC
Seafood Restaurant
Dixie Soul Cafe
O-Bar at Oyster House
Oyster Bar Restaurant
Oyster House
Seafood Restaurant
Belgian Gelato
Ice Cream Shop
Sushi Blue
Japanese Restaurant
East Bay Meeting House
European Restaurant
McCrady's Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Noisy Oyster Seafood Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
McCrady's Tavern
American Restaurant
Welkin Coffee Charleston
Coffee Shop
Lowcountry Bistro
Southern Restaurant (US)
St. Philip's Church
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Charleston
Steak House
Pizzeria Di Giovanni
Pizza Restaurant
Hunter Brookes - Night Market
Sugar Shack
Fleet Landing Restaurant & Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Old Slave Mart Museum
Waterfront Park
Anson Restaurant
American Restaurant
Callie's Hot Little Biscuit
Southern Restaurant (US)
Market Street Deli & Salads
Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon
Cru Cafe
Hank's Seafood Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Seafood Restaurant
Brown Dog Deli
Circular Congregational Church
Another Broken Egg Cafe
Brunch Restaurant
Confederate Museum
Breakfast Restaurant
Peninsula Grill
Southern Restaurant (US)
Eli's Table
American Restaurant
Café Gibbes
Gibbes Museum of Art
Meeting at Market
American Restaurant
Rainbow Row
The Barbadoes Room Restaurant
American Restaurant
Poogan's Porch
Southern Restaurant (US)
Seafood Restaurant
American Restaurant
Nearest Restaurant
High Cotton located next to the lobby




Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties