Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Lure Cottage On The Hill 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath. Walk to Activities/Town

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, One Bath, And Hotub. Hiking, Swimming, Boating And Shopping Nearby.

Lake Lure charmer! Home away from home with all the amenities you will need for your mountain and lake escape. This 1930's cottage has been renovated and restored inside and out. Cottage on the Hill sits on 2 acres, is a short walk to The Lake Lure Flowering Bridge, Morse Park, Lake Lure Marina and Beach. Chimney Rock State Park, hiking and biking a short drive away. Ride bikes to Chimney Rock Village, shopping and the Rocky Broad River. Cottage on the Hill sleeps 4. 2 bedrooms with queen beds and full size pullout couch in the living room. Full bath with subway tile shower and bathtub. Well appointed eat in kitchen with all you will need for your stay. All newly decorated and furnished. Enjoy the hot tub, outdoor grill, fire pit, patio and mountain views from the porches. Perfect honeymoon cottage, wedding accommodation or small family mountain and lake retreat. Cottage on the Hill is 25 minutes to Hendersonville, 40 minutes to Asheville and 35 minutes to the Tryon International Equestrian Center. A sweet lake and mountain getaway, secluded yet close to everything. Concierge services are available. Come escape to Lake Lure at The Cottage on the Hill.


Owner
Aileen and Doug Kelly
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Aileen and Doug Kelly

After leaving the corporate world and the hustle and bustle of Atlanta city living, my husband Doug and I moved to Chimney Rock, N.C to purchase the wonderful and historic Esmeralda Inn and Restaurant. We sold the inn after bringing the business back to life and are now onto our next ventures and adventures! Doug has begun his own real estate business, DK Professionals Realty Lake Lure Inc. and we are now working on our 4th classic home renovation. We love transforming older homes into something special, whether for ourselves or in this case, creating a charming and cozy vacation getaway for visitors to the Lake Lure area. In the time that we have lived here, it has been exciting to see the addition of hiking and biking parks, improvements to the Lake Lure Marina and Morse Park, The Lake Lure Flowering Bridge as well as ongoing plans to connect Lake Lure and Chimney Rock with pedestrian and bicycle friendly sidewalks while still maintaining a beautiful and peaceful mountain community for visitors and residents.

Aileen and Doug Kelly purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Aileen and Doug Kelly chose Lake Lure

Cottage on the Hill really is in the perfect location. It feels secluded when you sit to read on the front porch. You can walk out the door and explore The Flowering Bridge or take a morning walk or jog around Morse Park. Wander into Chimney Rock Village for dinner, miniature golf, shopping or exploring Chimney Rock State Park. Horseback riding, tubing, kayaking, zip lining, golfing, wineries and antiquing are just a short drive away. The beauty of the mountains is what brought us here and we look forward to sharing a piece of this wonderful landscape with our guests

What makes this cottage unique

Just the cutest house in Lake Lure!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We are so grateful to have the opportunity to stay here at your lovely home. Everything was perfect from your elegantly simple and comfortable furnishings to the weather, and the perfectly equipped kitchen. Most of all, everything was immaculately clean which is so very appreciated.

We spent a lot of time on the porch just enjoying the ambiance and quiet. Did the Lake Lure tour which of course left us wanting to come back when we have more time. We drove over to Hendersonville and enjoyed the downtown tremendously.

Thank you for the welcome note and wine. It's those small, thoughtful touches that make this place so special. Again, thanks!
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Lake Lure Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • New, classic subway tile bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
We offer a limited menu of concierge services. Please call when making your reservation and let us make your stay a bit more special by stocking the kitchen, providing celebration cakes or fresh baked cookies, flowers and or gourmet treats.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Lure Cottage On The Hill 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath. Walk to Activities/Town
average rating of 4.96 based on 32 reviews
5

Very clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay here very much. It was clean and well-appointed. All kitchen basics including basic spices were there and ample dishware and pots/pans, all in very good shape. Almost 100 year old house but you wouldn't know it as it's been nicely renovated inside and out. Beds and furniture comfy and in great shape. LOVED the gas stove. Would have been nice to have a washer/dryer for a week's stay but we managed ok. Super close to Lake Lure and Chimney Rock - great location. Would stay again.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being great guests! We are looking forward to a busy season and the washer and dryer will be installed any day now for guests personal use.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a girls' weekend!

  • 5 of 5

The property was perfect for us. It was a snowy weekend and Doug had the driveway cleared for us and came by the next day to be sure it was ok. The house furnished very nicely, the kitchen equipped with all that we needed. There was even some banana bread there we when arrived. We did not get out much because of the weather but really did not want to leave this cozy setting.

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy Cottage on the Hill worked out well for you in spite of the unexpected snowy weather. Please visit again and thank you for taking a minute to write a review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tarpon Springs, FL
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin very clean cozy and comfortable. Convient to town and the surrounding attractions.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We appreciate you taking a minute to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cottage,exactly as pictured!! So very clean and extremely cozy.

  • 5 of 5

Would absolutely come back!! Everything was wonderful and the place was perfect. Felt like we were at home. Wonderful memories made for our anniversary.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Amy for choosing the cottage for your anniversary getaway and thank you for taking good care of the house. Please do come visit again. Aileen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, tranquil, Immaculate,Convenient, Gem

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful trip to Lake Lure. Adorable cottage, secluded, yet easy access to so many beautiful mountain towns, all within 40 min drive. My husband and I spent 9 nights and 10 days at this adorable find. We explored a different town each day, each with something unique to appreciate and enjoy. Flat rock, the wrinkled egg, Honey and salt, Hubba Bubbas, Tryon wonderful shops, huckleberrys for lunch, Hendersonville, Mc Farlins Bakery wonderful, Asheville, Tupelo Honey nice restaurant. Saluda, antiques and quaint historic buildings, a unique downtown district, Black Mountain, spectacular. Lake lures atmosphere is so peaceful and friendly. We met so many wonderful , friendly travelers and locals sharing their favorite spots and experiences. Esmeralda Inn is so beautiful, dinner fantastic. Lake lure Inn and Spa breakfast buffet on Sunday, must go! Burnstshirt Winery was awesome. Evenings on the front porch are the perfect ending to unwind and recoup. Morning coffee as well, watching the deer, while listening to the beautiful church bells that can be enjoyed from the neighboring church. This cottage is a perfect retreat. Its immaculate, cozy, quiet, convenient, well decorated and stocked with all the comforts of home. There is a wonderful deck nestled in the surrounding woods in which to enjoy a picnic lunch at the picnic table or enjoy an evening bonfire, and roast marshmallows. Our trip became complete driving the blueridge parkway to Blowing Rock, having lunch and shopping. Aileen and Doug are wonderful and accommodating to meet your individual needs while ensuring the scheduling process is a breeze. Thank-you both for sharing and caring. Kaye & Ronnie Blackmon

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Kaye and Ronnie, I knew from the moment we had our first phone conversation that you and Ronnie would be perfect guests! Do wish that we had the opportunity to say hello. Regardless, thank you SO much for this great review. I love to hear what folks did during their stay in Lake Lure and our special surrounding towns. You hit all of them and we so appreciate you sharing some of your highlights. You really can do easy day trips every day or just stay in Lake Lure/Chimney Rock and relax. Thank you, thank you for taking good care of the cottage and please visit again, whether at Cottage on the Hill or another rental nearby. Aileen, Doug and Margaret
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Outstanding on all accounts!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time using VRBO. We decided to give it a try with the, "Cottage On The Hill", and we were pleasantly surprised in a multitude of ways!

The Cottage was one of the cutest homes around. It is perfectly nestled in a hillside just a short walk from downtown Lake Lure and Chimney Rock. Being that this was our first time coming here and using VRBO we packed quite a few items, not knowing what the accommodations would be like. Again we were pleasantly surprised! They thought of everything, from a hairdryer to variety of teas, personal hygiene products and even WiFi. The home was beautifully arranged with comfy furniture that all seemed to be well maintained. The homeowner was also extremely responsive to any questions we had.

We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David for the review! Cottage on the Hill is special in that it is close to everything yet quiet and peaceful when sitting on the front porch. Happy that you had a good 1st VRBO experience. Thank you for taking good care of the house and we would love for you to return again soon. Aileen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
The Moose and Goose
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Rumbling Bald Resort
Nearest Train
50 Miles
Greenville, SC
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Miles
La Strada
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Maggie Valley
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Lake Lure Beach and Marina
Car: recommended

Cottage on the Hill provides easy access to many attractions and activities. Choose from boating, fishing and swimming on Lake Lure as well as scenic boat tours, boat rentals, kayaking, tubing and more. Chimney Rock State Park, downtown Chimney Rock Village, shopping, restaurants, miniature golf and Rocky Broad River Riverwalk just a minute away. 20 minute drive to downtown Hendersonville with shopping, dining and theater. 30 minutes to Asheville, The Biltmore Estate, shopping, dining and great breweries. Hiking, biking and climbing opportunities abound. The perfect escape for the fall season as well. Explore the many orchards, apple festivals and breathtaking foliage.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $30
Damage Deposit $250

No House keeping fees under normal use



Reservation Fee$30 + tax

Cancellations: All cancellations will incur a $25.00 processing fee. Cancellations made 30 days or more in advance of arrival date receive a 100% refund, minus the $25.00 fee. Cancellations made 29 days or less notice prior to arrival will receive a 50% refund. Under two weeks there is NO refund.

Maximum Occupancy. In no event shall the rental property be occupied by more persons than the capacity of subject property. More people may be allowed at the sole discretion of the owner and with prior permission only. Only tenants are to occupy the rental property as required by owner. No fraternities, school, civic or other non-family groups are allowed unless owner grants prior approval. tenant hereby acknowledges and grants specific permission to owner to enter premises at any time for inspection purposes should owner reasonably believe that tenant is causing or has caused any damage to the rental property. Tenant further agrees to grant owner access to rental property for purposes of maintenance and repair.

Pet Policy: No pets. Any undeclared pet(s) found on or around rental property is grounds for expedited eviction and forfeiture of all monies paid along with a pet fine of $250.00

Cleaning: Our rental property is professionally cleaned before you arrive and again after your departure. THERE IS NO DAILY MAID SERVICE. Please report any cleaning concerns to the owner immediately if something has been missed. DK Professionals Realty Lake Lure Inc. makes every possible effort to have everything in excellent working order. Occasionally mechanical failures of appliances, air-conditioners/heating system, and hot tubs (if equipped) occur. We will make every effort to have repairs done in a timely manner during reasonable hours.

Damages: Damages are the responsibility of the tenant. Tenant agrees to allow rental agent to charge their charge card on file for damages exceeding the rental deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties