expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Newly renovated, private, Sunnyside apartment near downtown

Sunnyside, Denver, CO, USA
  • Apartment800 sqft
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay4 nights

1 bedroom with a living or additional bedroom. Quaint, quiet street near LoHi.

Great 1 bedroom garden level apartment with bedroom, living room, kitchenette, bath, and laundry. Enjoy the large bedroom and the spacious bed/living room. There is a large yard and patio to ride out the sunsets, too! Whether you are here visiting family, friends. or for work, you will have 875 sq ft of room to relax. The entire apartment (and house) was just renovated with a sophisticated kitchenette and modern finishes throughout and it looks and feels spectacular. I am excited for my guests. Furnishings are all new or recent with modern design.

You will have your own separate private entrance to the apartment. You will also find parking easily on the street or local transit options such as the bus, uber, and trains are easily accessible as well. The house is located on a quiet, quaint little street where neighbors wave to each other, and all the while know you are just a few blocks walking distance to the urban scene in Lower Highlands and downtown!

This is an older home, and there are a couple of low ceiling spots in the apartment (where the ducting is), and you will likely hear a little noise from the living space above, so if you are tall or a light sleeper, this may not be the space for you. The apartment space is separated from the rest of the home to ensure guests the most privacy. The only potential space sharing is for laundry access. There is an interior door connecting to the upstairs, but will remain closed during your stay to ensure your privacy. The washer and dryer are located in the apartment bathroom, and is shared with my space upstairs. If your stay is more than one (1) week, I will probably need access the laundry but I will always coordinate and communicate ahead of time about that access.

This neighborhood is abuzz with new spots. Great new coffee shop on Tejon St. and pizza and brewpubs on 38th or walk down to LoHi or Highlands restaurants like Root Down, Linger, Sushi Hai.

I would be happy to help you get settled and oriented to the area, and am available for your questions.

The city of Denver now has a lodging tax on stays of less than 30 days . A portion of the 14.75% lodging tax will be part of your reservation quote and the balance I will need to collect when you arrive. My STR License is # 2017-BFN-0000257. This site does not have a way to exclude longer stays from the taxation, but I will either reimburse you or we can discuss another solution.


Nola Chow

Member Since 2015
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few days
english, some chinese
Calendar last updated:
Aug 28, 2017
Why Nola Chow chose Sunnyside

I love the location of this home. It is in the heart of Sunnyside, an up and coming neighborhood in Denver that still feels like a neighborhood with families and young professionals, and yet has so many restaurants and hang outs popping up in LoDo, Highlands, and LoHi neighborhoods. These are all walkable from the house. RiNo is pretty close and really hopping now, too!


    • Internet
    • Heater
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking


      • 1 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2
      • Bedroom
        1 queen
      • Large bedroom with plenty of space.


      • 1 Bathroom
      • Bathroom
        toilet, shower
      • nice roomy 3/4 bathroom

      Location Type

        • Downtown
          Five minute drive or bike to downtown. Great options even closer with Lower Highlands and River North neighborhoods.


            • Guests provide their own meals


                • Clothes Dryer
                • Hair Dryer
                • Heating
                  central furnace and a space heater are available to keep you cozy!
                • Internet
                  wi - fi available
                • Linens Provided
                • Living Room
                • Parking
                  there is plentiful street parking available in front of the house.
                • Towels Provided
                • Washing Machine


                    • Dishes & Utensils
                      a set of dish ware and silverware is in the kitchenette, along with a few pots and pans and cooking utensils
                    • Dishwasher
                    • Kitchen
                      Kitchenette appliances includes dishwasher, microwave, 2 burner induction cooktop, toaster, and a small refrigerator.
                    • Microwave
                    • Refrigerator
                      mini-fridge located in kitchenette.
                    • Stove
                      2 burner induction cooktop in kitchenette
                    • Toaster
                      toaster oven is in kitchenette.


                        • Dining
                          small dining table in kitchen area.
                        • Dining Area
                        • comfy seating for 2 people


                            • Deck / Patio
                              check out the patio photo!
                            • Lawn / Garden
                              fully maintained and landscaped front and back yard.


                                • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                • smoking allowed
                                  no smoking inside, however.
                                • wheelchair inaccessible


                                    • cinemas
                                    • festivals
                                    • health/beauty spa
                                    • library
                                    • live theater
                                    • museums
                                    • playground
                                    • recreation center
                                    • restaurants
                                    • zoo

                                      Leisure Activities

                                        • bird watching
                                        • shopping
                                        • sight seeing

                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                            • ATM/bank
                                            • fitness center
                                            • groceries
                                            • massage therapist
                                            • medical services

                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                • basketball court
                                                • cycling
                                                • hiking
                                                • mountain biking
                                                • racquetball
                                                • swimming

                                                  House Rules

                                                  Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                  Check-out: 11:00 AM

                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                  5 Reviews


                                                  Latest reviews

                                                  Very private, clean and close to downtown.

                                                  Chris R.

                                                  This property was perfect for my girlfriend and I. It was very clean and had everything that we could have asked for.

                                                  Not terrible, not great. 2-1/2 stars.

                                                  Samantha E.

                                                  On the plus side the apartment location was great, no problem parking, it was clean and well maintained, comfy bed, full sized washer and dryer in the bathroom.

                                                  However...I got hit up for extra taxes when I arrived. I was surprised since I showed paid up by VRBO, including taxes.

                                                  The biggest issue for me was the lack of sound insulation from upstairs. You can hear EVERYTHING from the main floor. After a couple nights of struggling to get to sleep I asked Nola for quiet after 10pm (my bed time, she turns in at midnight), She did a good job keeping the noise to a minimum after that, allowing me to sleep.

                                                  Furnishing were spare: no coffee maker, only the most basic kitchenware, no containers, (although when I asked for a salad bowl Nola supplied one), no spaghetti strainer, no TV(!), no bathroom trash can, no dresser in the bedroom (only a minimal desk), some windows only had translucent shelf paper on them leaving the bedroom plenty bright and, for some reason, the entrance door to the unit is missing (privacy is provided by separate room doors but not real security)

                                                  Fairly steep stairs. Enough previously said about the low ceilings.

                                                  And what's with the $75 cleaning fee?

                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                  It's unfortunate Samantha did not enjoy her stay more, but I think if she had read my description thoroughly it would have helped her decide if this was the right place for her. My fees are clearly detailed, including the tax rate (and that instant book only collects a portion of it), the cleaning fee (which is why guests all feel it is clean and well maintained), and that light sleepers may not want to book my place. I will happy add kitchen supplies that were mentioned above, although after dozens of guests she is the first to mention that furnishings are spare. As for security, there is a secure entry door, and once inside, there is a privacy door separating the upper level living space from the lower level apartment space that is kept closed during all of my guests' stay.

                                                  Not as expected

                                                  Stacy F.Mt. Pleasant

                                                  Ceiling height was much lower than anticipated. Contact information was not readily available. When not satisfied, no refund, not even partial, was allowed.

                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                  My description clearly states there are low ceiling spots, and a taller person might not want to stay here. My refund policy is also clearly stated, and so when they cancelled after the first night because the ceilings were too low, I could not give them a refund as they requested. Also, my email and phone are readily available on the website for any reservation for any questions or concerns. My 6'4" guest had an assistant find and book my apartment for him, and they booked instantly without any questions despite my apartment description. I sent them messages as soon as they booked to welcome them and let them know about the new taxes, and only a few days before his arrival did they correspond back with me, and I still am not sure with whom I was corresponding. I let them know the email they wanted me to send check-in instructions with was hidden by the website, and gave them clear instructions through the available email. My actual guest was very nice and did not mention any problems to me. After staying one of his 4 nights, however, I received a message that he would not be returning. If I had been able to book another guest for those same nights I would have offered a refund. I felt my ad was clear, and they had plenty of opportunity to raise their concerns.

                                                  the neighborhood has a cramp feel to it. narrow streets with cars parked along the curb.

                                                  Nhut L.

                                                  the property itself is very functional and quaint basement (with Nola living in the above main house). the back yard entry is a bit dark at night. once in the door, a dark walk down the small flight of stairs where the light switch is towards the bottom of the stair. once inside the property the place has a cramp feel to it since the ceilings are low (probably about 6ft high at its lowest point). the place is actually very nice though, new kitchen and bathroom. the bed is very comfortable (believe it's a full size bed). there is a larger second room that was setup for us as a living room which could also be easily set up as an addtl bedroom. we didn't do any cooking but if you're inclined to do so, there isn't a stove, just a portable electric cook top. Nola was very quick to reply to any questions we had. the only downside I could see is that the back private entry, there isn't a door separating the common stair case to the basement space. so technically there is access from the main portion of the house to the rented space. we had no issues with this at all since Nola was very aware of our privacy. all in all, it was a very nice property.

                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                  Nhut, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. To update you, I have since added lighting to the the outside entry and the stairway for additional comfort of future guests. Also, the apartment is part of a raised ranch style home, where some guests may notice the lower level is partially above ground, and has nice daylight through the large windows. The bed is a queen size as mentioned in the ad. For my guests' privacy, the door between the upstairs and the apartment is always closed during their stay. Finally, your comment about the street feeling cramped is description of most Denver residential streets, and perhaps a configuration you are not familiar with.

                                                  Perfect little nook

                                                  Jazmin M.

                                                  I enjoyed my stay very much. Necessary amenities were provided and owner was very helpful. Although there was some confusion with our checking in on a Holiday afternoon, owner went above and beyond to remedy situation and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. Apt is small, but perfect for a singular person or two to have a homebase in a very cute neighborhood that is about 5-10 minutes from downtown (perfect with Uber if you do not have a car). As was stated in description, there are some low ceiling points, I am 5'8" and there were some areas where I had to watch it, but not anything that takes away from comfort and convenience of apt.

                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                  I am glad you enjoyed your stay and everything worked out! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the low spots! I have also had 6' guests that have been very comfortable in the apartment!


                                                  Sunnyside, Denver, CO, USA

                                                  in the heart of Northwest Denver's up and coming neighborhoods. Have a great night out within walking distance and yet know home is located on a quiet, quaint street. Great location for interstate or transit access, downtown attractions or a quick getaway to the mountains.

                                                  Rates & Availability

                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                  Cleaning Fee
                                                  Additional Guest Fee
                                                  Tax Rate

                                                  Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Reservations of 30 days or more can be paid on monthly basis. Contact me for details.

                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                  Property # 839665