About the property
- Townhome1217 sqft
- Half Baths1
- Minimum Stay2 - 30 nights
Rent this town home for the price of a hotel!
After a long, cold winter, you need to come and enjoy the sand, surf and sun along the Gulf of Mexico. Are you ready? You will love the comfort of this lovely townhome, a short 5 to 7 minute walk to the sand.
Gulf Highlands offers a secure environment for your time away with a gated entry, quiet atmosphere and many activities right on the property including 10 swimming pools on the resort, putt-putt, and tennis courts. And, across the street, you will enjoy the beach side clubhouse with a deli with great sandwiches and adult beverages and one more swimming pool for you to relax and enjoy the amazing views of the Gulf of Mexico. We can’t wait to see you!
The townhome has a spacious living room with a pull-out sofa sleeper, dining table for 4 with two additional seats at the breakfast bar. The kitchen fully equipped with everything you will need during your vacation. There is also a half bath downstairs.
Upstairs you have two bedrooms, each with a queen size bed. Each bedroom also has its own television for your enjoyment after a long day on the beach. The full bathroom is also up stairs.
Out back, there is a full size washer and dryer as well as a covered patio with a grill and an outdoor table for two.
Jeff and Pam Mathis
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 25, 2018
About Jeff and Pam Mathis
The owners of this property are from Valdosta, GA and enjoy spending time with their family on vacation here in Panama City Beach. They offer their little get-a-way spot to share with others who wish to come to the beach and not have to spend a fortune to have a nice family vacation.
Jeff and Pam Mathis purchased this Townhome in 1992
Why Jeff and Pam Mathis chose Panama City Beach
This property is cost effective. For the same price as most hotel rooms, you can have a 2 bedroom townhome with everything you need to make your stay with us comfortable and convenient. Bring your family and spend time with them and not a fortune on your vacation. A short walk to the gate on Front Beach road with a red light for easy crossover access to the Clubhouse, beach side pool and beach access. After a day at the beach, walk back over through the secure gates into your Beach House with swimming pools, deck and lounge chairs,, four tennis courts (two are lighted), miniature-golf, shuffleboard, private reserved parking, and a beautiful lagoon. Gulf Highlands resort is known as one of the most family friendly resorts in Panama City Beach area.
What makes this Townhome unique
All of the amenities of home, located at the World's Most Beautiful Beaches without breaking the bank. Stop by the grocery store and pick up items you will need and not have to live out of a cooler. The ability to cook a meal, if you choose, and relax knowing you don't have to have $300 a day in your budget to eat out. Walk through gate directly into the Shoppes at Edgewater where you have an arcade, skating, pizza at Rock It Lanes and CiCi's Pizza, an ice cream shop or great seafood at Montego Bay. You are also located just minutes from Walmart, go cart racing, miniature golf, Water Park, Ripley's and Wonder Works, Gulf World, Zoo World and Pier Park.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Accomodations not great!
We were very pleased with the location and surrounding areas! Pools and grounds were clean and we had very easy access to the beach. It was very quiet in the neighborhood. The condo we rented, however, left much to be desired! It was not as clean as it should have been. The refrigerator made a constant loud noise, the top of the refrigerator and the vent hood were greasy and disgusting! The beds were very uncomfortable and squeaked so bad, we slept little. The furniture left much to be desired. We didn't even utilize the outdoor patio furniture because it was so dirty.
We would probably stay in this area/community again but NOT in a condo owned by this renter.
I am sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations but did enjoy speaking to you today to get a better understanding of what your issues were.
I was unaware of the noise coming from the refrigerator. I will have an repairman look at this, it sounds like the motor may be going out on the frig. As far as the cleaning, I have spoken to my cleaners and have told them to pay attention to the top of the refrigerator and vent hood. The outside furniture, well that is hard to keep clean but I will work with the cleaners to come up with a solution. We may need to just keep it covered when not in use.
After speaking with you on the phone, I now understand that the box spring has been broken and that is why the bed was noisy. I am sorry, you experienced this but am thankful that you made me aware so we can now have it replaced.
It is our goal to provide a comfortable, clean accommodations for all of our guest. We appreciate your honesty and the review. I will personally make sure your concerns are addressed.
Again, I hope that you will reconsider and allow us the opportunity to address these concerns and make the needed improvements.
I shouldn't have to clean before my vacation starts.
We loved Gulf Highlands and its many amenities, unfortunately this unit was not up to par. We had to purchase cleaning supplies, and clean the unit before we were able to use it. The house had not been properly cleaned or sanitized for our arrival. I wore my shoes around the house the entire stay. We washed all sheets and linens before use. We found trash under the beds including empty bottles, napkins and food wrappers. The sofa was filthy when you lift the cushions. You can find dirt, food, stains and no telling what else. The walls, fan blades, crown molding and stair case appeared to not have been wiped down in quite some time. Many of the utensils provided were dirty including the drawers that held them. The stove knobs were crusted over with either food or dirt, and the inside of the stove was covered in stains. We bought our own pans and utensils to cook with, and washed everything of theirs before we used it. The fridge door seal was full of spillage. We swept and mopped the floors as well. Upstairs, the toilet had blood under the seat and the shower was grimy. We bleached the bathroom and had to scrub the shower. Lastly the tub was clogged, the water would not drain so we used a coat hanger to remove all the buildup that stunk horridly. We emailed Pam before this review letting her know what issues we had. She basically told us because we emailed after check out there was nothing she could do for us. No sorry for the inconvenience, nothing. I was not expecting anything other than an I'm sorry and we will handle these issues. Please be advised you may have to clean this unit before your stay. We hope they get it cleaned before your visit. We are choosing to no longer stay at this unit.
I received a message through VRBO at 3:34 PM that you would be checking in an hour late. Then, at 10:19 PM you sent a message through VRBO and followed up with a text at 10:25 PM the day of your arrival, July 27th, reporting the refrigerator not cooling. Here is the message you sent through VRBO, " Hey Pam , I don't want to call this late by the fridge is not working .... please let me know what you can do to resolve this problem . My phone number is ########."
When I called you, within minutes of receiving the text, I was told you had put items in cooler and that you had things handled for the night. The next morning at
8:30 AM, I called to you to let you know I had had called an appliance man and that someone over there that day. During this call, you informed me the refrigerator was cooling fine now and there was no need a repairman. I told you then, if you had any other problems, to call me. I never heard another word from you until August 2, by email, which was two days after check out.
If the unit was so dirty that you had to clean it before your vacation started, why did you not bring this up during our phone calls? If you had to wash all of the linens before you could sleep on them, why would you not mention this to me at 8:30 AM, the next morning, when I called about the repairman? Instead, you stayed for 4 days and never mentioned any of this to me.
We strive to make sure all of our guest have a good vacation and according to other reviews, we have done just that.. I hope that others reading this will realize this is one person's opinion and she is entitled to have an opinion but this is not a true depiction of this unit or the way that we maintain it.
Me and my friends truly had a great time. Very convenient to everything and easy to find. Although the beach chairs that was there for our use was broken and some upgrades needs to be done. But overall we really enjoyed ourselves.
Cheree, this is the first I have heard about the chairs but I will get some new ones. Thanks for letting me know.
I hope you and your friends enjoyed the bottle of wine that I left for you in the frig for your birthday!
We continue to make improvements each year. I hope that you and your friends will come back again.
Loved the location to beach and shops
Thanks for the review, I hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.
Clean and tidy. Pam is an excellent host! Always helpful anne only a phone call away!
We had a great time. Plenty of pools within walking distance. The beach is just a short walk away. There were 5 of us and we slept comfortable and felt safe being in the gated community with security.
Thanks Matthew! I am glad you had a great vacation. I hope you will come back and stay with us again in the near future.
Thank you so much. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Jeff and Pam Mathis
This lovely townhouse community is located across the street from the beach and is about a 10 minute walk to the sand. It is a private location with gated entry. The community offers 11 swimming pools, 4 tennis courts, putt-putt and a clubhouse with a pool located beach side. It is very centrally located near the Shoppes at Edgewater.