About the property
- House2460 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 7 nights
Views Are Spectacular Enjoy A 3B/3B Great Area Kids Can Run Around Outside
Our cottage is located in a gated community 3 miles off of Highway 107 in Glenville, NC. We are also 9 miles from "the crossroads" in Cashier, NC - which is about a 15 - 20 minute drive.
The home has 3 bedrooms with the master located on the second floor. Within the master you will find a king sized bed and a nice walk in tiled shower, along with his and hers sinks. On the main level there are two additional bedrooms. The first bedroom has a queen sized bed and its own full bathroom with walk-shower. The third bedroom contains two sets of bunk beds with additional trundles which can sleep 6. This third bedroom connects to a full bath with bathtub, which is also accessible from the hallway.
The living, kitchen and dinning is designed to offer an area for gathering. Enjoy, a 4k 60" tv with a blue ray dvd player (direct tv). We DO HAVE WIFI capability and CellPhone service for most carriers work well at the house. There is also a wood burning fireplace inside to kick your feet up and relax. On the back porch take in the mountain views while relaxing in front of the gas burning fireplace. There is also a propane gas grill as well.
The house has a fully furnished kitchen with duel oven for cooking large meals along with a dishwasher. We do have a washer/dryer that includes detergent so you don't have to worry about bringing your own.
For the younger bundles of joy we offer a 2 Pack N Plays in the upstairs master, walker on the bottom floor, as well as a booster seat.
Don't leave the family pet behind they need a vacation too. We allow pets with prior approval (2 dog limit). There is a non-refundable fee of $150. We do ask for flee and tick meds be used on dogs. All shots are updated and current...All of our neighbors have dogs too, they are all friendly but important that you let them greet off leash before you let them just freely roam. We do ask that you pick up after your dogs deposits. And if any dogs have separation anxiety we ask you kennel pet while you are away.
So come enjoy the Western North Carolina Mountain Views. Let the children run wild on the property and play in our treehouse. While have some peace and quiet.... But at the same time stay connected with Cable and WiFi
If you have additional questions about other items you are looking for, please don't hesitate to ask.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 19, 2018
About Jennifer Douglass
We live in St Augustine Florida but love the mountains Cashier/Highland area for the last 10 years this area has been our summer vacation getaway. We always had a goal of buying a summer home for our family to enjoy. This past year, we purchased this wonderful home in November 2015 and couldn't be happier with our decision. It's a place for the whole family to visit for our Thanksgiving get together as well other times throughout the year. We decided to rent the house out to guest because we can only enjoy visiting a few times a year at this point in our busy schedule. So why not let others enjoy the gorgeous views as well as the area around us. The kids will enjoy being able to run all over the property and take in the fresh air. We do have a love for dogs so bring the family pet to enjoy the vacation as well. We do require that flea & tic medicine is used as well as all vet records up to date (available upon request). We do charge a pet fee and have a 2 dog limit. We do not have Trash Pick up on the mountain. All guest need to take their trash to the local drop off located 2 miles on 107 heading towards Sylva NC.
Jennifer Douglass purchased this House in 2015
Why Jennifer Douglass chose Glenville
We looked at many homes in the surrounding area and this house was the first one we toured. After a whole day of looking at homes closer into the Cashiers area that didn't come close to having the views and the land to enjoy like this house. With just a short 15 minute drive to the crossroads of Cashiers we decided nothing compared to the views we have at this location. We all come to the mountains to get away and enjoy nature but it's also extra enjoyable to be at a location where you actually see the mountains.
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Gorgeous Home with endless views of the mountains!
This house is gorgeous, well appointed and well kept with views of the mountains that is spectacular. We had a wedding at Sawyers so it was about 10 minutes from the venue. The outdoor deck with fireplace and firepit was our favorite aspect. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a mountain getaway in a quiet setting!
very close to heaven
We spent 4 nights at the Douglas house and it was absolutely perfect ! Everything was there that we needed and the house itself was clean, well-maintained and beautiful. I will say the roads leading up to the house were a little scary (we arrived in the dark) with the steepness and all the winding curves, but once we drove in the daylight we realized it wasn't all that bad. It is literally on top of the mountain and the view from the deck is awesome. I would highly recommend this house and would love to return myself some time when we have more time to thoroughly enjoy the house and its surroundings. We were there for a family wedding and all the "wedding events" took up most of our time.
Lovely home with great views!
Beautiful home is perfect for a family vacation! Be sure to check out the communal fie pit which has great sunset views. Views from the back porch of the house in the opposite direction as stunning as well. Owner was super responsive to our questions and the property manager was speedy to fix a door that had come off track. Kids loved the bunk room and there are lots of games to play! Looks like they are also building a really cool tree house!? The only word of caution I have is that in order to get to this amazing view, you have to drive a very steep, narrow, curvy road. But the reward is worth it!
A perfect mountain getaway
We (parents plus 9 and 7 year olds) visited this property for a 4 night stay in late July, and it was every bit of fantastic. The house itself is immaculate and extremely well-appointed. The view from the porch is spectacular, though we imagine that it would have been even more so in the winter, since the leaves obscure what would otherwise be a panoramic mountaintop view. The fire pit slightly below the house is a terrific place to watch the sunset. The development itself is extremely quiet - we were amazed that we saw only one other person in the entire development during the 4 days we were there. It is also well-situated - 20 mins to Cashiers, 40 to Highlands, 15 to the swimming beach at Lake Glenville, and 45 or so to Sylva/Dillsboro. We also appreciated the 4000 ft or so elevation of this property, since it was significantly cooler even than the surrounding areas. Overall, a great property!
The perfect relaxing vacation
We chose this property for a last minute planned trip to the Cashiers-Lake Glenville area. The owners were great and worked very hard to accommodate our last minute plans. We arrived to a very clean cabin with a tremendous view. The outdoor firepit overlooking the Christmas tree farm was amazing as well. The location is great to access Lake Glenville and the town of Cashiers to get groceries, coffee, etc. Overall, it's hard to beat the view and the location if you are looking to go to this area for vacation. I saw one prior visitor complained about taking your own trash to the dump but it is very easy to do. The trash dump is very close by off of Hwy 107 and is easily accessible, it's just a matter of planning that into your trip out of town. It's probably 6-8 minutes round trip out of the way if you are heading into Cashiers.
If you come for the views, you won't be disappointed . Very peaceful!
The pics are just as described but there's no doing it justice unless you're actually in person. The surrounding property has them all with multiple firepits on the property to accompany the views. We took our 3 girls and my parents for a family getaway. Even brought their tiny little puppy last min due to a last min change of plan.
You are 15 min from Ingles grocery store & about a 30 min drive to The Highlands from the property. Keep in mind, even driving a mile on this terrain takes much longer because of all the hairpin turns.
The trip would have been perfect with the exception of a few things... Had some issues with the ice maker dispensing ice. No biggy. Dishwasher also wouldn't shut properly for whatever reason. And we had to have the property mgr come to the house to show us how to work the fireplace on the deck (no directions). He left with the assumption it wasn't working since he had started it many times before. But later on during that evening, I finally got it to work. That would have been a major disappointment as it was a huge selling point and boy did we use it.
One thing that the owner doesn't tell you until last minute is that the trash compactor where you will have to take all your trash is NOT CLOSE. In fact it's a good 20 minute drive to dump trash! We asked the property manager if we could just leave our trash at the house since guests were arriving the same day and maid service would promptly be there at 10am. He said it was fine. But I was very surprised after we left, the owner messaged me and said she was charging me $50 for leaving trash bags by the door, even after communicating that. Mind you, there is a $200 maid service charge built in to the price of your stay which really takes the advertised "per night" costs up; in our case approx an extra $65 per night.. Maid service charge is a flat charge regardless of days and pet fee ($150) is a flat charge regardless of size or number of days. She made a concession for our 11lb min schnauzer and only charged us $100 or ($33 per night) which is still very steep. Seems unreasonable the price would be the same for a 100 lb dog vs a 11 lb dog. They are big dog owners themselves and the area is extremely pet friendly so that was a bit of a disappointment. Both those fees left a sour taste in our mouths BUT I digress; if you came for the views and a beautiful home, you won't be disappointed. Just be sure to communicate everything with owner as she is all business.
Michael - we appreciate the semi-positive response to your stay. We are sorry you were disappointed with the cleaning/pet fees and felt you did not have to take the trash out b/c it should be built into the cleaning fee. To correct the record I want to comment on a few of your remarks:
1. Ice maker: Our cleaning service told us there was a big chunk of ice blocking the chute and was easily removed.
2. The dishwasher closes fine but the way it sits under the counter can often appear it has not.
3. Outdoor fireplace: our property manager said you never asked him for help with it and he certainly would have never told you it was not working.
4. Pet fee: this is standard across the area with any place we have ever rented and yes we are a huge dog family, but we have had renters dogs (who claim they are well behaved) scratch our front door and need to protect our home.
5. Trash: I found it laughable that you listed the trash center at 20 minutes away when you never went there / you left 5 full bags of trash and made zero attempt to go during your entire stay. The trash center is no more then 5 miles from the front door and less than 2 miles once you hit highway 107 going north. It is very close and for you to say 20 minutes away is very inaccurate.
We have prided ourselves on making everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. Whenever any issues has ever arisen we have sent our property manager to the home right away to help with everything from starting the outdoor fireplace to delivering more firewood, or what ever else may be needed.
Finally - we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are sorry you were disappointed with the additional charges for cleaning and pets but I challenge you to find another place in the area with our privacy, views, cleanliness, and close proximity to town at our price point. We often wrestle with whether we should rent it out b/c we bought it for our family - but we feel strongly about sharing it with other families including your own.... But your inaction makes us strongly reconsider. You had all the info ahead of time and if you chose not to read it - I cannot do a thing about that.
All the best.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
A Rental Agreement will be email out as soon as deposit is received and due back in one week with signature. Property Manager will greet guest upon arrival to the Cottage. To answer any questions and introduce you to the cottage. Trash can not be placed on the porch because of animals. There is no trash pick up in Glenville County. All trash needs to be taken to the dump on Hwy 107 it's about a 8-10 minute drive. Once you come to 107 Hwy take a right and it is less then 2 miles on the left hand side. Hours are Monday-Saturday 7Am-7Pm....Winter closes at 6:00PM.