Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charming Summer Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms , sleeps 4.

This is a charming cottage ideal for your family, friends and pets. Only 100 yards from the largest beach along the Indiana shore, the cottage is perfect for your summer get away. You are walking distance to the zoo, Washington Park, marina, museum and one mile from great shopping at Lighthouse Place, a Prime Outlet mall.

The cottage is sunfilled and cozy, perfect for a beach setting. It has all the necessities you'll need with a fully outfitted kitchen, linens and towels, 2 tvs, (one in the living room and one bedroom)and videos, books for the kids. The deck extends along the house and is just right for afternoon naps and serving meals. There's a large yard for play, including fire pit for s'mores and conversation as well as a driveway, (major plus in the summer), and close enough to the beach, you can run back and forth for the toys you forgot. Spend the evening watching beautiful sunsets over Lake Michigan then head out to one of the 4 restaurants around the park, the Blue Chip Casino, or take in a movie at the multi-plex in town.

We welcome you to spend some time enjoying the beach and hope to help make your vacation a special one!

About the cottage:

We found that we were remiss in our write-up regarding the cottage and several reviews pointed this out to is. The cottage was built in 1920 with facelifts throughout the years. It's been a family getaway for our kids and their friends since birth (oldest is now 30). It's never been gutted but is updated, hence the rates are priced appropriately relative to the market. It is welcoming and cozy and we try to provide all the amenities you need. The location is good and it's quiet. If you're looking for new this isn't for you. But if you want comfort, a good price, and location, you'll enjoy your stay.

Cheers!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Eileen McKnight
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

About Eileen McKnight

Purchased this cute cottage when my 2 city bred kids were growing up so we'd have a place where they could be carefree. With the beach down the street, the park next door we've enjoyed many many years here during the summer. They are now in their 20s and busy with their lives.

Eileen McKnight purchased this house in 1986

Why Eileen McKnight chose Michigan City

Unlike most rentals the cottage is set up as if I lived there. I come out as often as possible. It's cozy, has all the amenities, cutely decorated. Has parking for 2 and just a brief walk down the street to the largest beach along the lake. The park is wonderful with tennis courts, a zoo and harbor side restaurant. Its a perfect location.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location, decorated as if it's your own home. Video, games, books for the kids. Dog friendly. A large yard with fire pit for s'mores in the evening. Everything you need to enjoy the summer.

Amenities

Sheridan Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Please note, there is not a washer/dryer on premises

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Charming Summer Cottage
average rating of 4.44 based on 25 reviews
5

Perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5

We have relied upon VRBO for multiple vacation stays across the US. Our stay in Michigan City was perfect. Quiet, clean, and comfortable. Would definitely rent again.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you kindly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute & Close to Beach

  • 4 of 5

Perfect for what we needed: grill, deck and steps from beautiful beach! Communication with Eileen was easy; everything as expected so no issues there!

Kitchen well equipped, lots of blankets for us to wrap ourselves in on chilly evenings/mornings and the neighborhood is relaxed and pretty. Also - right next to Washington Park so added bonus.

Only thing to note: yard is great but there is a home right next to the property so while this picture is accurate, the yard is to the side and the home is right next to the patio. Didn't bother us - we spent most of our time there.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Older house. Accommodations were nice. Owner very easy to work with

  • 3 of 5

We had a nice stay at this house. It is an older home, nicely furnished. We had some issues with the plumbing which the owner dealt with promptly, however it did cause some problems for us (toilet not working one morning). The beds are older and very soft. Location was good for what we needed; however, we had assumed we would have some view of the lake which we did not. It is a house nestled in among many more. It did serve our purpose for what we wanted: close to shopping and the wineries in Michigan. And as previously said, the owner was very helpful when we had issues with the plumbing.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Again thank you so much for your patience during the plumbing emergency with the toilet. Happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. As you mention it's an older home which is why it's called out in the listing. Some people would rather stay in new so this wouldn't be for them. The house is on the beach street about 100 yards away from the dune, but doesn't have a lake view. Have a nice summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
EVERGREEN PARK
4

Quiet and peaceful Spring weekend getaway

  • 4 of 5

Clean and quiet. Comfortable beds and excellent location. I had a wonderful weekend retreat.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a nice weekend.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for a weekend away with the wife.

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute beach cottage!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great fall weekend at this beach cottage. A short walk to an almost empty beach, a perfect sunset such a great way to start the weekend. We took long walks on the beach, our dog loved it! Enjoyed exploring town, got some great bargains at the outlets, delicious food and drink at the Shoreline Brewery and Fiddleheads. Great spot to unwind! The owner was great to work with and would love to make it back in the summer.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sheridan Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $99
Tax Rate 8.0%

Cancellations within 30 days of visit will not be refundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable