Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shandon Neighborhood Cottage - Close To Usc & Williams-brice Stadium!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq ft
Property type house

Overview

About the property

1 Bedrooms, 1 Bathrooms, 4 Sleeps

This 1 bed, 1 bath house is the perfect place to stay for anything in Columbia! Shandon is a fantastic neighborhood. Only a few minutes drive from Williams-Brice Stadium, USC Campus, Five Points, the Vista, Fort Jackson, zoo, and museums! This house is situated in a quiet neighborhood, so you can catch your nightly Z's.

The house is equipped with your everyday essentials, full kitchen, bathroom, private bedroom with queen sized bed, sheets, towels, etc

There is a queen sized air mattress (with an automatic pump) and extra sheets in the closet that you can put in the main room to sleep 4.

More Details

Owner
Chris
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

Amenities

Shandon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • 1 Bedroom with a queen sized bed and a queen sized air bed for additional accommodations.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Shandon Neighborhood Cottage - Close To Usc & Williams-brice Stadium!
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews
5

Nice little house in a great neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

This is a very nice little house in the Shandon neighborhood of Columbia. It is close to the University of South Carolina; and, there are several large grocery stores within a couple of miles. We spent a month here to get away from some winter weather in Rochester, New York. We also have friends in Columbia. While we were here, we participated in races on 3 of the weekends we were in town; two of those races were partly in the Shandon neighborhood, so running on the streets in the neighborhood gave a good sense of what we would encounter on the race course. The owner of the house was very considerate and usually answered any question we had within a couple of hours. If we come back to Columbia next year, there is a very good chance we would try to stay at this house again.

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was a great location! Visited my daughter at USC.

  • 5 of 5

This home had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location for visiting Parents

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for parents to visit students at USC. Quiet neighborhood but close enough to campus. Restaurants are close by and some even in walking distance and there is a great natural foods store also in walking distance. Everything you need for a comfortable stay and less expensive than hotels especially on a football game weekend.

The owner was very friendly and responsive and we have already booked this place again for our next visit.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next arrival!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
McKinney, TX
5

Great house and neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for my stay in Columbia. Chris was very helpful and quick to respond to any thing I needed. The neighborhood is quite and safe, close to everything.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Please let us know when you are traveling back to Columbia. We would love for you to stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Franfort, IL
1

Disappointed!

  • 1 of 5

The pros of this property are location. The neighborhood was nice and the location to the University of South Carolina, which was the purpose of our visit, was convenient. The property had ample parking and the owner was very responsive to questions. The inside of the home is in need of some TLC, however the main issue I had was the house had roaches. We saw them alive and dead in traps positioned around the home. I am hoping none are traveling home with us! I would not stay at this property again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. It sounds like the "interior TLC" and the only reason you were disappointed was due to the sight of some of Columbia's infamous cockroaches. Unfortunately we do have several different types of cockroaches in Columbia, SC. Some of the cockroaches and "Palmetto Bugs" are pretty resilient. They make it inside despite our pest control efforts. We try to keep them out, but occasionally they do make it inside. The boxes scattered throughout the house are monitors, so guy who performs our pest control will know if there is activity. We had a quick turnover the day of your departure, so I helped our cleaners vacuum, sweep, and mop the entire house and did not see one roach outside of the monitoring stations. We have pest control come and spray monthly to prohibit activity. Unfortunately it does not always stop them from making inside the house. I called the company who performs our pest control and notified them of your review. They did their monthly service a few days before your arrival which is why you probably saw more activity than I did. Pest control said it is not unusual to see increased activity right after a treatment. The inside of the house is all in good condition. There is nothing broken or in need of repair, so I am not sure if you had other TLC issues with the interior of the property. For future prospective guest, the house is close to 100 years old. Not everything is shiny and new. However, we do strive to keep everything in proper working order. If there is truly a repair that is needed, we need to be notified so we can make the proper repairs. Older and used does not equal broken or needs replacing.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A cozy little cottage house, located in the beautiful and peaceful Shandon area.

  • 5 of 5

I stayed for four months in this cottage-type house and came to enjoy it more and more. People need to understand that it's an older house, but it has been stocked with all kinds of amenities that will make your stay enjoyable. The kitchen is small, but has a newer full size fridge and oven and stovetop that made cooking easy and enjoyable. The location is a big plus. The neighborhood is family friendly and grocery stores on Devine and Rosewood are within walking distance. The hosts were very responsive when I had questions or minor issues with the house. I got to know the place well and would stay there again. I would recommend the place to a single person or a couple. It offers more freedom than a hotel at a much better price.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carl, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. Please let us know when you are coming to visit Columbia in the future. It was very nice meeting you and hope to see you soon. Chris
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties