Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Rainbow B&B - a peaceful tropical retreat

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

Peaceful tropical setting, close to attractions and activities !

Notice ! We have 5 guestrooms ! Sleeping 2-6 guests. We can accommodate 16 guests in total. Even if it shows as full here we may have open rooms. Please contact us for correct availability ! Low rates between $89 to $139 only !

The Rainbow Plantation B&B is located on a large 3.5 Acre tropical property, south of Kailua-Kona near Captain Cook and Kealakekua Bay. On our quiet peaceful farm you are surrounded by fruit trees and flowers ! We offer 5 different rooms from $89 to $139 per night plus tax, depending on size and season. All rooms have their own private bath. A nice large tropical breakfast is available. Free Wi-Fi. Rooms sleep 2 to 6 people. If more than 2 guests in the room, each additional is $15/$20.

There is a large common kitchen where you can cook your own meals. A supermarket is nearby.

Located off the highway between Captain Cook / Kealakekua, we are close to the best hiking trail, and the best snorkeling and kayaking in west Hawaii ! 5-30 minutes to beaches and swimming.

Also convenient to explore other areas on this island such as the Volcano National park (1.5 hours), Mauna Kea mountain (1.5 hours)

Waimea (1 hour), Hilo (2 hours).

I now also offer VERY CHEAP car rentals through Budget. Great prices, ask for a link where you can check and book it.

We also arrange tour bookings such as Manta Ray and dolphin snorkeling. Let us book for you so you can experience something amazing and unique !

E Komo Mai !

Welcome to a warm home away from home !

Christian at the Rainbow B&B

More Details

Property Manager
Christian at the Rainbow B&B
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, german, swedish, danish, norwegian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

About Christian at the Rainbow B&B

Aloha ! I'm the new owner since March 2012 of this B&B that's been in business since 1995. Well established and very popular... So stop by and feel at home and relaxed on your trip !

Christian at the Rainbow B&B

Christian at the Rainbow B&B purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Christian at the Rainbow B&B chose Captain Cook

It's awesome ! I lived 10 years in crowded Honolulu... Then I move here.

Its peaceful and quiet here. Lots of fruit grow here. Close to swimming. Perfect cooler climate. Need I say more...

What makes this cottage unique

A relaxed tropical feeling will embrace you in our beautiful garden with ocean view, fruits and macadamia nuts for you to pick and eat, and close to hiking and swimming if you want to be active.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Love it ! Great for groups and big families ! 3rd time here !
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 2


Captain Cook Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain ...
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , tub , Standard
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
  • Towels and basic liquid soap provided. Beach towels available.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Hale Huna - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children under 10.
    Fern - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children under 10.
    Peacock - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children under 10.
    Crows Nest - 2 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Largest unit, 2 floors, Sleeps up to 6.
    Jungle Queen - 1 queen , Sleeps 2 adults.
  • Rooms have king or queen beds and sofa sleepers. All have own private bath, outdoor entrance and deck. TV and fridge. Internet WiFi.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Singles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeping
  • Massage
  • Staff
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
16% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Rainbow B&B - a peaceful tropical retreat
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 14 reviews

Great location - great host

  • 3 of 5

Captain Cook is the perfect spot while visiting the Kona side of the Island IF you want to be away for the fray of Kona.

Christian was very nice and very knowledgeable about the area. The hike to Captain Cook monument was challenging but well worth it.

We stayed in the Peacock room, very sparse but the little fridge was nice to have. Be aware that this room has no air conditioning thus, everything was damp all the time. It was a bit uncomfortable to sleep as we couldn't adjust the ceiling fan. Also, the towels were very scratchy and musty smelling.

We are pretty laid back when we travel so these negatives did not outweigh the positives of Rainbow B&B.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, The Peacock room is our most basic room, and right now its rainy season and we have had some unusual rain weather, making everything damp. All of Hawaii is affected. Not closing windows helps and today the sun finally came out so it will all be good again. Great hiking weather !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful place with great host

  • 5 of 5

My family enjoyed staying at Rainbow B&B. Christian, the host, was great. Hula Huna where we stayed was good size for our family (3 adults, toddler, and baby). It was clean. It had nice deck, but was not that safe for the baby, but we managed to keep her out of there or we just blocked the openings with the outside furniture and our stroller. There was also a good size fridge in the cottage, so we could fit a lot of food and beers there. There was also tv (we did not use at all) since we spent most of the time outdoors. Many windows in the cottage. Couple of the windows had only screen, so it let the breeze in at night (it was a little bit cooler because of those, so we just had to dress the baby a little bit more at night - no big deal). Breakfast was included, it was served every morning on the deck/porch of the main house - great views from there, very peaceful. We also used the common jungle kitchen to cook dinner. I also liked the size of the shower. There was no bathtub, but it was easy to shower the kids there since it was big. I also appreciated that they did our laundry for us and provide us with beach towels as well. I want to thanks to Christian and his stuff for taking care of us. Gabi and her family (Boston/Czech Republic).

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Accommodations were seriously lacking and host was rude

  • 1 of 5

Don’t book the jungle queen unless you enjoy cramped, basic sleeping accommodation and no windows (just screens) to close out any sounds, air or bugs. Trying to find the specific room on the property took a flashlight and tricky maneuvering of rental car back and forth poorly lit dirt path. I would not recommend, it is cheaper to just tent camp and you’ll get the same experience.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Untrue and spiteful review. Guest is lying. Guest spent 15 minutes here. Turned around because daughter did not like jungle sounds ! NEVER stayed in the room. I NEVER met them. Then she writes me an email: “Hi Christian, We have just arrived and the accommodations are quite what we expected. My daughter is having a difficult time with the sounds and open-ness. We are heading out now, for other accommodations. I understand if it is too late for a refund, but i would greatly appreciate anything back. Thank you, Nicole Mills” Then, one day later she started to come up with lies in order to get money back. Both I and HomeAway refused. She got nastier and nastier in her emails, adding lie after lie. And now she wants to hurt us with a bad review. What a sad person. There is a guest in the boat room now, a man with his daughter. They love it ! But no, its NOT a Hilton. Its also only 1/3 of the price...
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
San Ramon CA

Great place, great host

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at the Rainbow B&B. It was a great spot from which to explore South Kona and get a completely different "Hawaii experience" than at the big resorts. Our host, Christian, was very knowledgeable and accommodating. Loved the fresh-baked bread every morning! With the new extension of Alii Drive, it is VERY easy to get into town if you wish. It was great to be able to compare notes with other travelers over breakfast - where are you going today? Was that place/excursion worth the trip? You are actually closer to Kona town, time-wise, from here than from a Waikoloa resort, yet you are sleeping in a rain forest! Definitely recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, we were happy to have you stay here too ! Yes, its definitely a change from other areas of this island, but with 10 out of 13 geographical zones, this island has a great variety and something for everyone ! Good travels ! Christian @ Rainbow B&B
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Cozy B&B in the jungle. Feels like you're sleeping in a tree house.

  • 5 of 5

Super rad spot not too far from Kona. We stayed in the Crow's Nest, fell asleep to the KoKi frogs and woke up refreshed. Save yourself some money and venture out of Kona town to get a unique and unforgettable experience.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Run down

  • 3 of 5

Just a little bit of money and a little bit of work would make this place a lot more enjoyable , examples, buy a new shower liner and trash the moldy one, why even have a dumpy little refridg. in the room that doesn't even work, just take it out, buy a door handle for the door that the key works in without having to struggle, the outdoor kitchen was extremely dirty, I didn't mind cleaning it before using it, but fresh, clean dish towels to dry the dishes would be a treat, and really, how about a can opener that works instead of fighting with rust ones. Some solar lights on the pathways so you can see where you are going. Simple easy fixes would make staying here a lot more enjoyable and less frustrating.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im the owner, and on vacation right now. I will for sure take care of these issues when I get back. But other guests state the opposite and love the kitchen and all other things and give us great reviews, so it just shows that we all have different ideas, levels of tolerance and opinions about things. I am sure you found some good things too and instead of just being negative and complain, a balanced review would be more appreciated. And the fridge works, you just have to plug it in. Towels can be exchanged. Night lights are on all walkways. Extremely dirty kitchen is extremely exaggerated. We dont clean it after every guest, so if its left messy, sorry, but it will be cleaned every morning. But we will do our best to improve everything. Happy travels !
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Kailua-Kona KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
South Kona
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Captain Cook
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kealakekua bay
Car: recommended

Kayaking, swimming with dolphins, snorkeling with Manta rays at night !!!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $30-50 $30
Tax Rate 13.5%

7th night is free !!! Breakfast is not included. Available in high season for $5 per person.
Price range from $69/n for a budget room sleeping 2, up to $129/n for a 2 bedroom 2 floor unit sleeping 6.
Cleaning fee $20 to $50 depending on room and length of stay.
All rooms have a queen or king bed. Most also a sofa sleeper. All rooms have a private bath except the budget rooms.
Tax 13.5% additional. Pay with cash on site, or here when room is confirmed.
Please inquire about rooms available and total rate before booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties