check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Budget Beach Headquarters! Ground Floor Hotel-Style Unit for Two w/ 2 Double Bds

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Kihei Condo Rental Photos and Description

Studio for one or two with 2 double beds, one minute's walk from the beach

If you love to swim or snorkel in the ocean, if you want to stroll on a beach as the sun sets, if you want to spend evenings relaxing in the on-site hot tub while not spending a fortune, then our well-equipped, clean-and-comfy condo at the Maui Banyan in Kihei, across the street from the Kamaole II Beach Park, is your ideal headquarters.

Our air-conditioned studio unit comes with all the beach paraphernalia you might want - beach umbrella, portable beach chairs, boogie board, beach towels and more.

Without having to pay a daily amenity fee, you have access to all the Maui Banyan facilities, such as the tennis court, outdoor grills, two swimming pools, jacuzzi spas and more.

You have two double beds, a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom with shower and a private lanai (patio).

You're within a 10-minute walk of at least 10 restaurants - Mexican, Hawaiian, sushi, tacos, pizza, steak/seafood, Indian, Thai, natural food, a bistro/deli and more. (Indeed, so convenient is the location that some of our guests have managed quite well without a rental car.)

Usual occupancy for the studio unit: 2 people. It is perfect for either a couple or two friends traveling together. It can also work for a family with one or two small children.

The unit is cool and quiet, with blackout curtains that allow you to sleep late, a lighted lanai where you can sit out on at night (without bugs!). The lanai is always shady and cool. With a ground-floor location, you won't need to lug stuff up and down stairs or wait for an elevator.

We have on-island management so you can enjoy a carefree Maui vacation.

We offer secure online booking with credit card or echeck and respond to all inquiries within 12 hours. If you select the 'Book It' option, please tell us about yourselves and your vacation plans so we can make sure there's a good match.

Because this unit doesn't include a full kitchen, laundry facilities or daily maid service, the longest booking we accept is for two weeks.

Hawaii tax registration number: W11072302-01.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Marcia Yudkin
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2016

About Marcia Yudkin

We live on a lake in Massachusetts, where we swim every day we can, and were looking for a spot where we could swim other months of the year. Hawaii was the 50th state we visited and Maui turned out to be perfect for us. Our Maui Banyan location is across the street from the best swimming beach in Kihei - no rocks, expansive, manned by lifeguards 7 days a week. If you love to swim, bodysurf, snorkel or make sand castles, this is the beach for you. We love the fact that our unit is just a one-minute walk to the ocean, close enough to hear the waves when we are in bed, and yet far enough back from the road that traffic noise is not a major annoyance.

Marcia Yudkin purchased this condo in 2010

Why Marcia Yudkin chose South Maui

Maui is an island with many microclimates, and our location gets much less rain and less wind than spots even a mile or two away. We were lucky to discover the Maui Banyan on our first trip to Hawaii, and while we looked at many other condo complexes, we didn't see any others with its convenient unit layout, quiet tropical setting and unsurpassed beach access. Some more high-end complexes require you to navigate a steep hill to get to and from the beach or offer distant ocean views but no walkable beach access at all. Also convenient are all the shops and restaurants within an easy walk that remain open till 8 p.m. or later. Within the Maui Banyan complex, our location on the ground floor of Building F is perfect for visitors without the energy or ability to climb a lot of stairs, who want to be far enough away from the road to enjoy a good night's sleep yet close enough to get to the beach in no time. Whereas some Maui Banyan units get miserably hot because of their placement relative to the sun, ours faces north, so that the lanais stay cool all day, every day.

What makes this condo unique

Be sure to bring binoculars! During the winter months, you can see whales with the naked eye at the beach across the street; the binoculars show you the whales' antics more clearly. And you'll be entranced by the breathtaking sunsets at our beach. Almost every night, the sun turns the sky orange, yellow and pink in a dazzling display of nature's beauty. We regularly swim with giant gentle sea turtles here. And it's a joy to observe families bonding over the construction of architecturally complex sand castles. You are sure to bring home a treasure chest of memories from your Maui Banyan vacation.

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Budget Beach Headquarters! Ground Floor Hotel-Style Unit for Two w/ 2 Double Bds
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
5

Comfortable, clean, and convenient!

  • 5 of 5

This condo is the perfect size for one or two people. It's clean, comfortable, and within walking distance of restaurants, convenience stores, and shopping. The beach is across the street. I didn't rent a car, because I could either walk, take a taxi, or ride the island bus to anywhere I wanted. Tour buses also pick up at the property.

The condo is also equipped with a dorm-size refrigerator and microwave, which helps on saving money on eating out.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

6RCKE3

  • 1 of 5

This rental was a huge disappointment! First of all when renting a studio condo I expect it to have a small kitchen, this rental was more like a bad hotel room. It had a microwave, two coffee cups, coffee maker, three plastic plates and small fridge.......that's all, there was no utensils, no drinking glasses ....not even a plastic glass in the bathroom. The towels were thread bear, something I would use as rags, the two beds were 3/4 beds and not in the best shape. Then there is the old wet sock smell coming from the air conditioning which you couldn't bear to use. The unit is on the ground floor so you couldn't leave the sliding door open to get fresh air and the air conditioner made the wet sock smell unbearable over night.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you had a disappointing experience! It's a pity that you didn't tell us about the "wet socks" smell while you were here, because we always act quickly on such comments. In this instance, the cause of the odor was a towel below the A/C of the unit next door, which is side by side with our A/C, that had become soaked with rainwater and then become stinky. As for your expectations, our property description says clearly that the unit has "two double beds, a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, private bathroom with shower and a private lanai (patio)." The beds are (as stated) double beds (not queens, which you were perhaps expecting), and nowhere we did say there was a kitchenette. We hope that future guests will read our description carefully and let us know of any problem ASAP while they are here so we can take care of it right away.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Kudos from frequent Maui visitor

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I come to Maui for a break almost every winter, and in the past we stayed in apartment-style condos. This time, we stayed in this hotel-style rental and I enjoyed it more than I expected. Without a kitchen I got a vacation from cooking. The owner had left us a pile of discount coupons, and we ate out every night, with breakfast and lunch at "home" on our cute little lanai. It was such a short walk to the beach, too, also a change from places we'd stayed before.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Unbeatable value in top location

  • 5 of 5

I have stayed in this condo twice when business took me to Maui. It is clean, quiet, comfortable, well equipped for a short stay. I especially liked being able to cook out on the grill in the back yard and then go soak in the hot tub while looking up at the stars. While I didn't have tons of time for the beach, I appreciated not having to rent beach chairs and a boogie board to enjoy the beach to its fullest extent. I would recommend this unit for travelers who are on a budget and want to have fun.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahalui
Nearest Beach
Kamaole Beach Park II, across the street
Car: not necessary

Our condo is right across the road from the best swimming beach in Maui, and only a few blocks from restaurants and shops. Even so, the property has a laid-back feel and there is next to no traffic noise at night. The condo complex has quiet hours and 24 hour security, so it's a safe, family-friendly location.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
January 2017
Jan 15 2017 - Jan 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$135
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $80 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

$135/nt for studio unit, + $80 one-time cleaning fee + 13.42% Hawaii tax;
Resort amenities, but NO RESORT FEES; free parking. Hawaii Tax ID #W11072302-01.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Studio unit - 2 double , New mattresses.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Courtyard
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
This is a ground floor unit with only two stairs from the unit entrance to the parking area or the street. Maid service during your stay is provided only on special arrangement in advance.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties