Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

One Br/1 Bath Open Plan Craftsman Unit One Block From The Beach/Abbot Kinney

Bedrooms 1
Space 850 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 14 nights


About the property

1 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps 3

One Block from the ocean. Two story craftsman four-plex on a quiet Venice WALK-STREET. Recently restored & completely updated by a

known Venice architect. Short walk to famous Venice Beach and Boardwalk, trendy Abbot Kinney & sophisticated Main Street in Santa


Longer term rentals OK

This one bedroom first floor apartment has original craftsman period details, large living room-dining room, a full kitchen and bath, European style 100% cotton linens.

2 queen beds-one in the bedroom+ a queen convertible sofa/bed in the living room

The unit has an open, lofty floor plan

There is 1 full bathroom in the back of the unit

An outside attached balcony

On site parking is additional fee and based on availability

More Details

Property Manager
Tovi Kitron
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french, german, czech, Hebrew
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2018


Venice Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • Open plan unit Living room has a european sofa/bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


3.2/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

16% Complete
0% Complete
66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
One Br/1 Bath Open Plan Craftsman Unit One Block From The Beach/Abbot Kinney
average rating of 3.1666667 based on 6 reviews
San Francisco, CA

false advertisement/broken water heater

  • 3 of 5

I was really looking forward to staying in Venice, as I've stayed there many times with friends (a block away from this property) but when I got to the rental property - I realized that this is not the place I saw in the pictures on VRBO. I am not saying it's a bad place to stay, but it is false advertisement - as the pictures are of a different unit in the house.

Also, when I arrived - I realized the water heater was broken, I was sick (had the flu) and I couldn't take a hot shower until the 2nd night of my stay. I had to take a cold shower on my second day as I had to go into the office, and had no other choice. The owner said that everything was working before I arrived, but I think that regular maintenance checks on the property are a MUST to make sure that things like this don't happen. I was refunded for 1 night, which I greatly appreciate - but I still have to give this place 3 stars for the inconvenience/wrong unit pictures.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest review is another attempt on her part to be vindictive and to harm us with no good reason. Tatiana got the unit next door to the one she booked, same size, similar floorplan, same building, same craftsman features, same floor, same patio. The building is a craftsman building from 1928 and all the units are charming and have the old craftsman features. She claimed later that she wanted a more modern unit, which we do not have in this building . After she checked in she took a shower and emailed that after a few minutes that you shower the hot water stops. The guests who checked out 2 days before her, and who stayed there for 2 weeks, were all compliments about the unit and did not have any problems with hot water We had no way to know the problem since we do not live there and because we do not shower there. Immediately after she notified us we sent there a plumber although it was a holiday, he concluded that the hot water is shut and returned 7 AM the next morning to install a new water heater. She was complaining to Homeaway by phone about the hot water while she saw the plumber working on replacing the water heater!!. After it was repaired she still chose to stay home and not go to work. She also told us that she suspects that we knew about the problem before she came and did not bother to fix it. The actions to resolve her complaints were already taken before this complaint was submitted as follows: 1. I was contacted by Homeaway representative (she was also on the line) and I told him she can move out if she so chooses and be refunded. 2. She apparently chose to stay 3. She threatened to file a complaint unless she gets a refund 4. I offered her a 1 night refund which she accepted to resolve her complaints. Here is a copy of her email to me: "The hot water is finally working, but I was not able to take a full shower before work. I would appreciate the 1 night refund for the inconveniences of the last 2 days. Please let me know when I should expect to receive the refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great location , clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

this was my second time at this location and i came back because of the great location as it is very close to the beach , the building has lots of character , is clean and comfortable. great place to stay and i will return for a third time .

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kamil for your business and appreciation of the beautiful property and great location Will gladly accommodate you again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful with few problems

  • 3 of 5

Venice Beach has always been one of my favorite locations to unwind. The place where I stayed is neat (except under the bed), is perfectly close to the boardwalk and restaurants, and is designed in a way I've never seen before. Though I'm deaf, the owner was so hospitable that she seemed to know what she was doing, turning on the closed caption on TV before my arrival. I would not mind returning only if (A) the trash disposal is working, (B) there are no ants crawling in the kitchen, and (C) the manager of the unit is quick enough to accommodate me with a toaster which was not honored and ceases repeating requests to show the unit either for rent or for sale to prospects during my stay ( I had to call the owner to address my complaint). Overall, my stay was pretty much peaceful.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank the guest for his positive review Here are our responses/comments: 1. The unit has no electrical "trash disposal" We kept telling that to the guest but for some reason he kept insisting there is. The trash cans just out the kitchen door 2. When the guest complained about ants on the kitchen counter we told him the source are open food items that he left on the counter and asked him to cover the open food or store it. 3. The guest stayed one full month. We had requests from potential tenants, including from this site, to view the unit. We showed it only twice with a 24 notice and the Ca law permits it. 4. A demand for a toaster never came up so we did not know about it. We would have been happy to supply it
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sharon, CT

Accommodating host, but a few concerns

  • 3 of 5

We were here for the birth of our first grandson, and were here for 3 weeks.

Having had more than a few VRBO experiences, we were somewhat taken aback by the lack of basic necessities, like toilet paper, salt & pepper, cooking oil, dish soap and a bottle opener. There was minimal silverware, a hotel type coffee pot, and other items which were not really appropriate for a couple coming for a relatively long term stay.

The location is certainly great for walking to the Venice Beach boardwalk, Main Street in Santa Monica and Abbott Kinney, but unless those are the only places you intend to be, you need a vehicle. We paid additional for the parking, but had issues both with the other tenants (one other tenant had a guest park in a reserved space) and the neighborhood ('We can't make the corner turn around your car'). Parking usage is not well defined, and we had to keep moving around - it's a difficult location no matter where you attempt to park.

We had to keep the blinds drawn the entire time we were there. Although the apartment address faces a walk street (Park Place), the bulk of the windows face Royal Court, which is a very busy 'alley' used at all times of the day and night. Our biggest concern was with the garbage scavengers that start their rounds about 6:00 am every morning - very noisy, and if you weren't awake previously, you were after they came through.

The apartment is spacious and interesting from a design and architectural perspective, and the basic furnishings are appropriate, but the layout is a bit odd, since if there is a guest staying with you, they would have to go through the bedchamber to access the lavatory. The new pictures show this, but it wasn't real clear in the older photos.

The bed and bedding were reasonably comfortable, but if one is older (or, as in my case, had a broken rib), the bed is low and set back about 24" into a recessed area - difficult to enter and exit. The bed was also fairly noisy, so if one got up, the other was sure to be awakened.

All in all, it was a reasonable accommodation, but we would not use it again, particularly owing to the noise. It's all likely a moot issue since the property is for sale, so caveat emptor based on your needs and expectations.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These guests had only praises for the unit when they moved in Also, anything they asked for they got If they were missing cooking items which we do not provide all they had to do again is ask for it, which they did not do. If they looked for no noise at all they should not have stayed in Venice The unit is beautiful and the location is very sought after
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location, clean, comfortable.

  • 2 of 5

Venice is a bright and happening place and this apartment was right in the heart of it. 10mins walk has you in Abbot Kinney, the beach Boardwalk or the quiet Canal area. The apartment was CLEAN! and you need bring nothing unless you don't want to eat out. Both the Couch and Bed (squeaky) are firm which I liked and the apartment is warm but if you feel the cold ask Tovi for an extra blanket, she is nice. And bring sleeping mask it's 'well lit' for security. Bonus - the cosy garden Balcony out front for coffee before or after your day.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Had a very nice conversation with the guest just before she left It is obvious she did not use the electrical permanent baseboard heating units that are very visible, and also did not ask about heating. Surely if you prefer more blankets you get it The street outside lights are not in our control and we never got complaints about excessive light especially in light of the fact that we have blinds on all windows Tovi Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great location with bare bones amenities

  • 3 of 5

Things that were right:

1 block from the commercial section of Abbot Kiney

1 1/2 blocks to the Venice Boardwalk and the beach.

Not Good:

Only had a parking space for 5 out of 12 days

Mattress was a futon pad

No soap, salt and pepper, coffee and coffee filters, can opener, and toaster.

Furniture was "early good will".

I was charged $100 for cleaning after 12 days. All the other places include cleaning weekly in the rent

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest, that apparently tries to stay anonymous, extended his stay by another 5 nights while staying in the unit. If the experience was so average why suffer. Mattress is a regular foam European mattress on top of a futon pad. The furniture, including the TV, are modern and fairly new It is highly possible that the guest is unfamiliar with these mattresses or furniture Everything guest asked for he got Cleaning was included in the guest's initial booking and he must be dreaming that someone, do not know who, charged him another $100 after 12 days On site parking depends on availability. As a matter of fact we forgot to, and the guest did not remind us, that he failed to pay for the 5 nights he was parked, which is $75 He still owes us that amount Regards Tovi Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Car: not necessary

One Block from the ocean. Two story craftsman fourplex on a quiet Venice WALK-STREET. Recently restored & completely updated by a known Venice architect. Short walk to famous Venice Beach and Boardwalk, trendy Abbot Kinney & sophisticated Main Street in Santa


This 2-bedroom first floor apartment has original craftsman

period details, large living room-dining room, a full

kitchen and bath, European style 100% cotton linens.

It is an open plan unit

1 queen size bed in the first bedroom+ a full futon style loveseat in the second bedroom/den+ a queen convertible sofa/bed in the living room+a futon mattress if required.

An outside front patio is attached to the unit where you can sit and watch the sunset.

Stroll one block to the hip restaurants, galleries and shops on

trendy Abbot Kinney & Main Street. Famous Santa Monica's Third Street

Promenade is just 1 1/2 miles away.

Rose Cafe and Gold's Gym are 1 block away.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fees $100

Rates are subject to change until confirmed
Holidays are higher

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties