Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Nashville Riverside Retreat

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type bed & breakfast
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

Close to downtown Nashville, nestled in Tennessee countryside, this bnb gives you all you could wish for in a vacation on the water. You'll have access to the dock for swimming, the fire pit and grill, the canoe (with signed waiver,) a full kitchen and deck and patio table for lounging. For musicians, you have an real piano to play tunes!

Tennessee has beautiful rolling farmland. When you're on your way, you'll drive several miles next to the Cumberland River, and see lush pastures and peaceful water.

The rental is located near the Sycamore Recreation Area, the Bicentennial Rails to Trails Trail, and several TWRA areas where one can spend all day outdoors, then slip over to Nashville for the night-time country (or any style) music, great dining and fun.

On the way to Nashville, stop by the Old School Farm, a beautiful local farm to table restaurant in historic Bells Bend. (There is also a wonderful Bells Bend park--beautiful farmland converted to park (my husband proposed to me there :) Great for sunsets in the fall and spring!! :)

If you love to fish, this rental is fisherman's paradise! Fish off the dock, fish off the canoe, or bring your own boat and leave it in the slip.

Just one mile away from the Bicentennial Trail, hikers come from all over for the nature setting. Bicycle races are held here also.

Whether you like fishing, or hiking, or just the serenity of the waterside, this is your place.

You'll have the use of the fire pit and grill, the canoe (with extra fee per day and signed waiver,) a full kitchen, very large deck, and patio table for lounging. There are closets for clothes and the bathroom has a large vanity.

The rental is the downstairs half of a country river cottage. It has its own private entrances, porches, etc. There are two bedrooms--one that has a pillowtop queen sized bed and the other has a bunkbed with a full sized mattress on the bottom and a twin on the top. There is a comfortable futon in the living room. Air mattresses are on hand if needed for more than 6 guests. The kitchen is spacious and has plenty of room to prepare and cook most any size dinner.

Guest access

This lake front apartment is a stand-alone private downstairs apartment in a home. You will have complete privacy. You might not ever see the owners upstairs. (Unless you need something.) And they won't hear anything. So make as much noise inside as you want!

There are three friendly cats that live upstairs and are not allowed in the downstairs apartment. The apartment is one block from the boat ramp, if you wish to bring your boat and put it in our dock, you are welcome to do so, with a signed liability waiver.

More Details

Property Manager
Rachel Ray Honeycutt
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Rachel Ray Honeycutt

I love to travel and meet new people! I'm a working wife of a professional musician and daughter to artist, book fanatic, bookstore owner mother and musician/retired politician father. I love the outdoors, I used to work in wilderness therapy, full time backpacking and helping kids therapeutically. I love animals, writing, swimming, and most music. I love to hike and camp and build fires. I have two lovely children who help me stay young and creative. I love helping my parents host their place because I love seeing the waterfront property get use. My parents love their water "oasis" but they hardly use the amenities. I hope to help all their clients have a great time on the water and a comfortable stay on the land.

Rachel Ray Honeycutt purchased this bed and breakfast in 2004

Why Rachel Ray Honeycutt chose Chapmansboro

In a resort type of neighborhood, It's quiet. It's green and shady, lots of trees. It's private. It's on the water. One could get on his boat and go to downtown Nashville if he chose.

What makes this bed and breakfast unique

This special area outside Nashville used to be an old fishing camp. Over the years, folks have discovered this area and renovated homes, built new modern and traditional homes, and have loved being so close to the bicentennial trail and the water of Cumberland Lake. Cyclists love the riverfront road of Chapmansboro Rd, which is half flat (for those wanting a leisurely ride next to the river), and half hilly, with great roads for those who want some challenging climbs.

The Tennessee Bicentennial Trail (Part of the rails to trails network) is nearby, and folks come from all around to enjoy the peaceful walk of the railway.

If you're looking to experience the real Nashville countryside, this area is a great place to do it. Check out the guidebook for local recommendations.

Amenities

Chapmansboro Bed And Breakfast Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bed & breakfast
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 5:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Inside, make all the noise you want. No one will hear you. Outside, please show discretion after bedtime.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed , bottom bunk is full size, top is twin
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This is in the common area, TV room, windows all around
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Nashville Riverside Retreat
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
5

Great Place To Stay!!!!

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place for a getaway. The owners are just great. Very kind people. This place is clean, comfy beds! And a fully equipped kitchen. The lakefront view is spectacular. We saw tons of cardinals, mallards and swans. Electric Fireplace kept us cozy and warm even with the record breaking temperatures that we experienced. We may go again in Speing. This place will not disappoint. 5 stars!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

quiet weekend

  • 5 of 5

I wanted a place to retreat for a weekend and Rachel's place filled the bill. The fireplace was nice and the view peaceful. It is located near a local rails to trails so was nice to get out for a run. I saw a bald eagle and about 100 white pelicans feeding on the river (shocked me to see pelicans up here)! I would recommend!

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Keller, Texas
5

Great alternative!! Beautiful location.

  • 5 of 5

With a family of 5, it is challenging to stay in a hotel; therefore, we decided to look at VRBO. This was a PERFECT alternative as it slept all 5 of us very comfortably. We loved the location and since it was sprinkling when we got there, we loved it had a carport. My kids (13, 12 and 7) appreciated the view, nearby animals and large backyard to play in.

Plus the view of the river was great to sit and watch. Was glad it had solid wifi in the living areas and cable for nights since was fairly cold (November). Pictures on VRBO are very accurate. Was really close to my relatives in Ashland City and was not that far to get to Nashville for sightseeing. Rachel was very gracious and quick to respond to all questions prior to and after booking. We definitely plan to stay at this property again!!

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet, secluded, and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay and wished we could have stayed longer. Quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed the water and nearby Ashland City. The property was as advertised. We appreciated the string lights and our furry friends. We'll be back for a longer stay next time.

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Disappointing

  • 3 of 5

This is the fourth VRBO I've rented and the only one I was disappointed with. The floors, towels and sheets were clean. The bathroom had not been cleaned. The dishwasher was broken and full of mold. The grill was very dirty and deck lights did not work. The deck furniture was dirty. There was a mold/mildew smell which I believe is why we were coughing much of the time. There was not enough silverware, the can opener barely works, no plastic wrap or aluminum foil. Tons of bugs in kitchen light fixtures. We did enjoy the canoe and like the layout of the apt. The futon and queen bed were comfortable. Bunkbed mattresses very hard. Owners above us were very kind and the woman came and cleaned the bathroom and deck furniture. (Her husband had prepared the place.). Rachael, the daughter who schedules stays, was very rude to me on the phone when I told her what was wrong. It is a nice , peaceful setting.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karyn, We've had numerous (probably in the 100s now) guests stay at our rental and none have given us the reviews that you've given. In fact we're superhosts with the majority of our reviews being five stars on another site. When you called to complain and began going down your list, I was concerned, but as it grew bigger and more nonsensical or hysterical, I realized there was very little we could do for you. I've slept on the beds there, they're very comfortable and accommodating, I have no idea how we could have resolved that problem. But you forget, that as soon as you called to complain-- a day after your arrival (you could have let us know immediately instead of waiting until later when you were likely hoping for a refund after a free nights stay) as soon as you called, I did everything in my power to resolve the problem. I sent someone down to re-clean the apartment, and they informed me that everything had been cleaned but they did it again. They did notice the outdoor table could have been cleaner. As for the deck lights, there was an issue with the power outlet which we have had an electrician fix, and we have a new grill, though the old one was one year old and as clean as a one year old gas grill can be. As for the deck furniture, I apologize, during the summer seasons though we sweep the deck before every guest, we are a country house with lots of trees, some of which are hackberry and over a season the deck furniture will look a little discolored until we pressure wash it. I would encourage future guests to consider that this rental is a country home on the water-- there are leaves in the yard and wildlife all around; it is very clean but the area used to be an old fishing camp and it's next to the WMA. Though very clean, you'll need to bring bug spray and expect rustic surroundings. I'm sorry you felt the need to publicly complain, we did all that was in our power to make it right and yet though you told the owners you were satisfied, you apparently were not.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just had a flood but it was perfect for what we were looking for.

  • 5 of 5

First time renting a bottom floor of a house. I thought at first as many as we have rented this would be the first time we went alone. This was not an issue at all as a matter of fact the gentleman of the house took us on a beautiful boat ride. It is quiet and away from big city life which is what we always try to achieve.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
BNA Nashville
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Sycamore golf course
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Various in Ashland city
Car: recommended

This lake front apartment is a great getaway for musicians, couples, solo adventurers, business travelers, families, and groups. Close to downtown Nashville (35 minutes to center), nestled in Tennessee countryside, this rental gives you an affordable vacation on the water. You'll have access to the dock for swimming, the fire pit and grill, the canoe, a full kitchen, and deck and patio table for lounging. For musicians, you have an old piano to play..

The space

Fisherman's Paradise!

Fish off the dock, or bring your own boat and leave it in the slip. (There is room for a medium sized sailboat or a covered area for a pontoon. Or ask us to take you out on our's.

Whether you like fishing, or hiking, or just the serenity of the waterside, this is your place.

Located next to the Sycamore Recreation Area, you can spend all day outdoors, then grill out or drive to downtown Nashville for sightseeing or nighttime fun.

You'll have access to the dock for swimming,and fishing, (3ft. catfish have been caught from this dock. And it's in an area that's popular for fishing tournaments.) Or you can just stay in and relax in the sunroom or on the extra-large deck. At night, in the winter, enjoy the warmth with loved ones.

Also, feel free to use the fire pit and grill, the canoe(with signed waiver,) a full kitchen, deck and patio table for lounging.

The rental is the downstairs half of a country river cottage. It has its own private entrances, porches, etc. There are two bedrooms--one that has a pillowtop queen sized bed and the other has a bunkbed with a full sized mattress on the bottom and a twin on the top. There is a comfortable futon in the living room. Air mattresses are on hand if needed for more than 6 guests. The kitchen is spacious and has plenty room to prepare and cook most any size dinner.

Guest access

This lake front apartment is a stand-alone private downstairs apartment in a home. You will have complete privacy. You might not ever see the owners upstairs. (Unless you need something.) And they won't hear anything. So make as much noise inside as you want!

The apartment is one block from the boat launch ramp, if you wish to bring your boat and put it in our dock, you are welcome to do so, with a signed liability waiver.

We are pet and family friendly. However, we allow pets on a case by case basis. Please message before booking to inquire about your pet. If your pet is destructive or not housetrained, please look elsewhere to stay. Pets are not allowed to be left alone in the apartment when you go out.

Interaction with guests

The owners of the home are usually home upstairs, and if they are out, they are usually nearby at their bookstore in Ashland City, if any important needs arise.

Other things to note

The apartment is great for musicians. There is a real vintage piano and great space to jam in the sunroom or on the covered deck! Feel free to invite guests over, but please let us know beforehand, and if extra guests stay overnight, please pay the extra fee.

If you need to check in earlier or check out later, just let us know! Usually we can accommodate most requests unless there is more than average cleaning left from the prior nights guests. If you plan on arriving early, please let us know the exact time so we can make sure the cleaning person is finished. Linens, towels and soap are provided.

This apartment welcomes and loves hosting families, but if you have small children, keep in mind the water is in the back of the yard, so care must be given to supervise any children who do not yet know how to swim and adequate supervision of older children who do, since it is a body of water with currents and a main thoroughfare for boaters going out on the lake. There is plenty of parking for those who need to park a few cars.

This is a waterfront apartment. Good things to bring - hiking shoes, sunhat, bug spray, sunscreen, fishing pole, net to catch minnows, etc. :)

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $35

Canoe Fee and Waiver signed at time of use.

You'll have the use of the fire pit and grill, the canoe (with and signed waiver,) a full kitchen, very large deck, and patio table for lounging.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties