check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Great Snorkel Warm Tide Pool Jacuzzi 25% Off Jan & Feb 2017

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Welcome to Iki Honu (Little Turtle) Cottage, a beautiful, intimate single home in the property, directly across  the street from the famous Kapoho warm Tide Pools -- Marine Conservation District. Fantastic snorkeling and swimming in volcanically heated tide pools, calm like a bathtub, yet full of beautiful corals and tropical fishes and sometimes green sea turtles. The home is perfect for a couple, entire house renewed and upgraded including new appliances, new Travertine floor, new Cherry wood cabinets in the kitchen, beautiful granite counter top, fully equipped kitchen, large closet space, natural bamboo ceiling and bathroom with shower, super screened lanai area overlooking the ocean, private hot tub Jacuzzi and out door shower with hot & cold water. All the comforts of home AT A GREAT PRICE!

Two bicycles and two snorkel sets are available for your use. Free of charge.

Free wireless internet.

Before making an inquiry, please check our calendar as it is always up to date.

Fraud alert! We never request payment by wire transfer.

If this property is booked for your desired dates, please consider our other larger home Picture Perfect Hawaii, Listing VRBO#160103. We will offer a special discount.

Keywords: Studio with one Queen size bed and Memory foam mattress. A shower and a full kitchen.

One time cleaning fee of $95.

Calculation from the website may not be accurate and may need to be adjusted.

More Details

Property Manager
pao prasarttongosoth
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, Thai
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Wonderful area to visit. Nice home to stay in. Enjoyed our time here!



David and Betty

Fairfield, Iowa
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 15

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(62 traveler reviews)

Great Snorkel Warm Tide Pool Jacuzzi 25% Off Jan & Feb 2017
average rating of 4.790323 based on 77 reviews
2

Mostly poor, some few good review

  • 2 of 5

VRBO had advertised promotion of Iki Noku at a reduced price or discount. It was attractive for me to book it without knowledge of inclusion of all these hidden costs such as cleaning fee, insurance, service fees and taxes. When I realized how expensive it is, and others I know told me that in the morning low tides, the septic from all the vacation or homes are likely to seep into the tide pools and bacterial conditions are reported, I wanted to cancel. When I talked to the daughter in LA, she was either extremely defensive or aggressive, making it clear to me that it's too late for me to cancel. Her attitude is offensive. She said her mother owns it, that she is representing her mother who is not present. It was only when I courteously relented, that she became more humane. I had called in to cancel only 5 days prior. I was there for the purpose of interviews with realtors who can find me a vacation rental like VRBOs; In fact there was 2 in the vicinity of your neighborhood thus I know the cost value of the house and property. It had gotten extremely dark as my car tried to find location of Iki Noku. If it weren't for the GPS on my iphone with Google Map App of actual location of my car as moving dot passing along roads and names of all the streets, I would never have found Iki Noku. That night, I had to use my headlights and flashlight to follow the given # on the gate door lock then it was tricky with just my flashlights to find the stairs to above vacation unit. My suggestion is to install solar powered small lights that light up the way and follow only as you move during the dark night into the entrance and up those stairs. It is cost effective. Someone could have fallen and sued you. To have my car's engines running and using my car batteries as the source of light is not showing your consideration. The exhaust fumes are toxic and wasteful just so I can see anything. I was disappointed with the plain basic structure of entire house which is an old home and plain gray paint job over a single wooden wall construction. It gets extremely cold at nights. My hint is to provide a heater. I did like your tiled floor and surface, the Cosmetic job which covered up a cheap old vacation home was well done. I did marvel at the ceiling bamboo weaving, the nice fans, the dark rich kitchen granite top was impressive, the cabinets were constructed cheaply as some were faux cabinets unopenable or glued shut. TV stations are all bad and no Satell

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Shirley, We are glad that you liked our tile floors, bamboo ceiling, fans and kitchen counters. However, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Iki Honu overall. Fortunately, we were able to provide you with the advertised discount after we spoke over the phone. I know it was a bit confusing for you, because the website did not automatically give you the discount when you made the booking request. Our rental rates and fees can all be found on our VRBO webpage under the heading “Rates.” The water in the Kapoho tide pools are safe for recreation. The state Department of Health has four monitoring stations in Kapoho and it is safe for swimming here. As per our rental agreement, cancellations made within three months of your arrival date can only be refunded the cleaning and damage waiver insurance fees. We provided you with two sets of very detailed instructions about how to get to the house and where to find the lights once you were on the property. I also personally wrote you a lengthy email about how to find the art gallery you were visiting, how to get to Hilo town and recommendations about the nearby farmer’s markets. As a resident of the Big Island yourself, I am sure you are aware that most Hawaiian homes do not have central HVAC systems. When the temperature only drops down to 60 degrees on our coolest nights, it’s hardly necessary. Our television service is provided by the DISH Network and offers over 55 channels. I’m sorry you were unable to find anything to watch on TV during your visit. Mahalo for choosing Iki Honu for your visit to our side of the Big Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

So convenient and charming

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for the first time in the Kappho area, and if you love snorkeling, this is the best place for water clarity, fish count, and calm water. The unit was clean and big for a studio, and didn't feel crowded at all. The owners had provided all the things needed for our stay, even a rice cooker, and they also provided snorkeling equipment and bicycles. The only drawback to the whole stay were the palm beetles and a hungry rat that chewed a hole in the screen and found our rice on the counter. After that, we kept all food in the refridgerator! The owner sent over the local handyman, and he set up traps for it. We will return, despite the pests. We loved our stay at Iki Honu!!

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed the house and the tide pools. Our staff fights a daily battle with the insects of Hawaii and we apologize for the coconut beetles you saw at the house during your stay. Thank you for hanging in there with us when that awful rat tried to set up house! We never saw that guy before and fortunately our handyman was able to prevent him from returning! Mahalo for your patience and your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Iki Honu in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cute, private and just what we were looking for!

  • 5 of 5

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Iki Honu for two nights and we couldn't have asked for a better place! It was clean and tidy, kitchen nicely updated and clean hot tub! The outdoor showers are so nice and convenient. We loved it! The fans are a nice touch as it can get quite warm at night. The screened in lanai was our favorite, it had a nice enough view to sit and enjoy all meals. I will definitely recommend this stay to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house in a great location

  • 5 of 5

Iki Honu is a wonderful little house that feels bigger than it looks thanks to a very thoughtful layout and fully screened lanai. It is clean, well appointed, and well cared for in an excellent location just steps from the tidepools. We used the bikes provided to go see the active lava flow!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint, Clean, Beautiful!!!

  • 5 of 5

This is my 2nd visit to the property and I plan on many more times. It has everything needed for a couple to have a romantic getaway. It is very bright with an ocean view, step in shower and comfy bed. Nice closed in patio that makes the property feel spacious. We used the hot tub (very clean) every day after coming home from the Tide Pools (2min walk). I highly recommend Honeymooners!!!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice little place in a cool spot

  • 5 of 5

Ike Honu was exactly as described in the listing, and my husband and I found it to be a good place to stay for a good price. We liked the neighborhood and the tide pools were enjoyable to snorkel in and would be safe for beginners because of their protected location.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Hilo Airport
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Pahoa
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Pahoa
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kapoho Tide pool
Car: necessary

Snorkel in Kapoho Tide pool just across street from the house. You would see Sea turtles, various kinds of tropical fishes and beautiful corals in rainbow of colors.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Nov 15 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$805
$3,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
$770
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $95
Damage waiver insurance $49
Tax Rate 13.42%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower. No bathtub. Also outdoor shower next to Jacuzzi on the ground level.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • One Queen size Beds with memory foam mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties