Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Awesome Home & Views! 4 Bears Lodge

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Full Baths, (Sleeps 8)

The Four Bears Lodge

This beautiful 1900 square-foot home is 6 minutes from downtown Banner Elk, and less than 15 min. from Sugar and Beech Mtns. Enjoy the gorgeous view of the mountains and a pond from the huge deck while you grill out on the Weber gas grill. Relax on the leather sofa and enjoy a fire in the stone fireplace (gas). Watch a movie on the 40" flat screen TV with full cable service and a DVD player. Walk down the street and hike along a great creek with several little waterfalls.

Downstairs, this home has two bedrooms, one with two twin beds and one with a full bed, a full bathroom with tub and shower, a fully stocked kitchen, and a large Living Room/Dining room. Two sliding doors open out to the huge deck. Upstairs is a loft with a full-sized futon (very comfy) the master bedroom with a queen bed, and a full bath with an oversized tub and separate shower. There is another 32" flat screen TV with a Sony Playstation 2 including several games in the loft area.

Wi-Fi internet service is available as well and in free.

Close by you will find the three ski/golf areas, Sugar Mountain, Beech Mountain, and Hawks Nest all within 15 minutes, and the Banner Elk Winery is 1 mile down the road. Blowing Rock and Boone are both about a 25 minute drive.

Sorry no pets please.

Keywords: House

More Details


Banner Elk House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
Sony Playstation 2 (with games)


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Awesome Home & Views! 4 Bears Lodge
average rating of 4.730769 based on 28 reviews

Great Moutain House!

  • 5 of 5

4 Bears Lodge is a great mountain house. Beautiful scenery. Great walk trails and other areas. Very convenient to Banner Elk. I would recommend this place to anyone. We are hoping to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay for short ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

Lovely house with great views. Very clean and nice. Perfect for two families with three kids total.

Just a couple of improvements...water pressure was not good but not sure if that’s a mountain thing, and water in upstairs shower would not regulate. Either very very hot or off. And lockbox was frozen when we got here. Maybe move to where weather wouldn’t effect it? And we couldn’t get the fireplace to work.

All in all a great stay at a great price!!!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very glad you enjoyed your stay! I have addressed the lockbox, shower and fireplace issues. All minor adjustments....thank you for bringing them to my attention. I look forward to hosting you and your family on your next trip to Banner Elk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very very clean

  • 5 of 5

We can’t wait to come back .it snowed the entire time. We were able ski all weekend..

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very glad you enjoyed your stay! Being so close to the ski areas has been great for all my guests. I look forward to having you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The place was exactly (or better) as advertised

  • 5 of 5

We arrived in Banner Elk and found that we had left the address at home. A quick call to the property owner and he gave us great directions to the place. Nicely furnished and very clean.

What we enjoyed most was watching the deer under the apple trees in the yard.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay! I love watching the deer too...they are usually there in the morning and again around dusk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house

  • 4 of 5

It is very difficult to find the house in the dark upon first arrival.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Greensboro, NC

Mountain Retreat

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. There were a couple of issues. If you arrived after dark this place is very difficult to find. Make sure you arrive before dark. The only other issue we had was that the cable was out. We tried to call the cable company and they were unable to resolve the issue. Oh well...

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. The cable service throughout the area continues to let so many of us homeowners down...very frustrating. They had it back up by Monday but that did not help for your stay...very sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Member since: 2000
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 19, 2018

About The Owner

Tom moved to Raleigh, NC from Michigan in 1996 and fell in love with the mountains as a vacation spot. Visited often and then finally bought a condo at Sugar Mountain. Then upgraded to a condo at Hawksnest and finally built my dream home..the 4 Bears Lodge.

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Why The Owner chose Banner Elk

I love Banner Elk because it is close to everything the mountains have to offer. I am 1 mile to a nice Winery (you can walk), 6 min. to Banner Elk shopping and restaurants, and within about 15 min. of Sugar and Beech mtn. skiing and golf.

What makes this house unique

Everyone loves this home and it's location. You don't need 4 wheel drive in the winter as the road is not steep and is also great for taking a walk. The open floor plan is great for entertaining, the stone fireplace is great looking and cozy, the kids can be upstairs playing Playstation in the loft or in the flat front yard playing football. There is a great little creek just down the road to hike along. For me, laying in the hammock and looking at the view is about as relaxing as it gets.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family really enjoyed our stay in Banner Elk. Your home was beautiful, the views great, and the location was perfect for us to explore the area. We bought a Christmas tree and had a wonderful day! We will be back next year
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 2


Mast General Store, waterfalls, Sugar Mtn. (10 min) Beech Mtn (10 min.) Hawksnest Mtn (15 min.) Banner Elk Winery (can walk to)


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Damage Deposit $300

Holiday rate at Christmas $1650 week includes all fees.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.