Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Bear Hugs, 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, Pool Access, Views, Pet Friendly, WiFi

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 2 Baths, Sleeps 4

Seeking a charming cabin in the mountains for a romantic getaway? You’ve just found it: Surrounded by forest, looking onto the Great Smoky Mountains, and with delightful amenities such as an outdoor hot tub, an indoor jetted tub, and a stone fireplace, Bear Hugs will have you in the mood for romance—or relaxation.

Yet, while the log cabin feels tucked away from it all, it’s hardly remote. Downtown Gatlinburg, with its amusements, entertainment, and restaurants, is only a 5-minute car ride away. The main entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park is also just a short drive away, as are golf courses, Dollywood, Rocky Top Sports World, and so much more.

You’ll be delighted by Bear Hugs as soon as you pull up into the drive. A true log cabin, with a chalet-style cathedral ceiling, it rises on stilts to offer spectacular views of the Smokies from the back deck that spans the width of the house. This deck is home to the hot tub, which is large enough for you and that special someone to relax together as you admire the sunset or scan the night sky for shooting stars.

The interior of Bear Hugs is just as inviting as the exterior. The wood floor, walls, and ceiling cocoon you with warmth and charm. For even more warmth, there’s the gas fireplace in the living room; you’ll love snuggling in front of it on chilly winter evenings while watching TV, reading, surfing the web (of course Bear Hugs has internet access!), or simply enjoying a glass of wine together while you make plans for the following day. And if those plans include additional guests, you can have them stay the night: The wonderfully comfortable living room sofa converts into a bed for 2, so that the house can sleep up to 4 people in all.

The dining table, adjacent to the living area, seats 4 people as well. You can look out the large windows to the mountains as you enjoy your meal, so that you’ll almost feel as if you’re dining alfresco.

The kitchen is equipped with all the cookware, tableware, and appliances you’ll need, whether you plan to lovingly prepare entire feasts or simply brew a cup of coffee in the morning. Should you want to barbecue, there’s a charcoal grill outside as well. Among other conveniences, the cabin has its own washer and dryer, so you can both pack light and return home with a suitcase full of clean clothes (isn’t having to do laundry as soon as you get back the worst?).

The master suite is on the main level along with the living/dining area and the kitchen. Decorated in the same comfortably rustic style as the rest of the home, the suite includes a sumptuous king-size bed, a TV, and a bathroom complete with jetted tub. When you arrive you’ll find the bed freshly made and laundered towels ready and be waiting, so if you want to unwind with a bath or a nap as soon as you arrive, you can.

There’s a second full bathroom upstairs on the loft level, convenient if you have overnight guests. Also upstairs is a pool table, great for whiling away a rainy day. Even if you don’t play pool you’ll want to spend some time up in the loft, if for no other reason than to savor the spectacular vistas of the mountains.

Because Bear Hugs is located in the 43-acre Black Bear Falls Log Home Community, when you stay you can take advantage of the resort’s 2 heated swimming pools, one of which is a kiddie pool, from Memorial Day to Labor Day. There’s also a poolside lounge area and a clubhouse with free WiFi.

Beautiful and bucolic, yet loaded with modern-day luxuries and conveniently close to so many places to explore and enjoy, Bear Hugs is a wonderful base for a getaway you’ll never forget. So reserve your stay today, and get ready to start making memories!

More Details

Property Manager
Jackson Mountain Homes
Member since: 1996
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018


Black Bear Falls Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom # 1 (1 King), Extra Bedding (1 Sofa Sleeper)
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Good! 3.8/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
Bear Hugs, 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4, Pool Access, Views, Pet Friendly, WiFi
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 9 reviews


  • 3 of 5

We stayed the for 6 days and 5 nights. Overall the cabin was nice, there was only a few issues. The bed sheets were not the right ones for the bed, after 2 hrs of sleep we would have to get up and remake the bed, the sheets kept coming off the bed. When using the shower or tub the hot water would run out. Those were minor issues. The one thing that my wife and I had issues with is the hot tub on the front porch. The hot tub is old it doesn’t produce any kind pressure, there aren’t any lights in the tub, and the biggest issue was that there isn’t any privacy. Cars that are coming up the hill shine their head lights right on the front porch and ultimately on us in the hot tub.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Todd, thank you for taking time to review Bear Hugs. We are please you over all found the cabin nice. It is our goal to meet guests expectations upon arrival. We apologies for falling short in some area. The issue with the sheets has been passed along to housekeeping and, the hot tub issues has been passed along to the owner. Again, thank you for sharing. We hope you will stay with us again, giving us the opportunity to to exceed all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for or 20th Anniversary trip. We loved it. The size was perfect. There is a loft with a pool table we did not use (would have preferred a meditation space or yoga/exercise space), and a porch hot tub. The cover does not have a lift, so it's a little cumbersome to get on and off, but it was nice anyway. The bedroom is a nice size with a comfortable bed and tv in the room. The temperature when we went was still kind of warm, so we did not use the fireplace as often as we would have liked. It heard the room fast. The location is great - just a couple miles from town. The view from the porch is also quite nice and better than some other cabins we saw. Although it is fairly close to other cabins in the cabin community, it does still feel somewhat private. The roads are paved. The parking area is small FYI. We did not see any bears. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need (buy your own salt and pepper). There is dish soap, 1 laundry soap, a new dish sponge, kitchen towels, 2 servings of coffee. I recommend for couples. Way better than a hotel.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Customer service needs the help, not the cabin

  • 2 of 5

The cabin is cute, has all the basics that you would need. It’s close to downtown, but still has the secluded feel to it. My only complaint of the house is that it has areas that smelled like kitty litter. My complaint is with JMH. After booking this cabin, my husbands deployment was unexpectedly moved up. I called in advance to try and get something done. I offered my husbands official orders to prove I wasn’t just trying to get out and I was told no. I had to come to this cabin with my sister on a vacation that was supposed to be the last vacation before a 7 month deployment with my husband. This review might not ever make a difference, but maybe it will to some. I WILL NOT support a company that does not back their military.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: April, first of all and foremost, thank you for being a military wife and we are grateful for your husband’s service. You have our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations. We do hope you were able to enjoy some great time with your sister. Again, thank you for sharing. We hope you will stay with us again, giving us the opportunity to to exceed all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Smyrna, De. USA

Nice small cabin

  • 4 of 5

Needs more storage area and hooks or bars in bathroom. Not towels on edge of tub.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: William, thank you for staying with us and thank you for the suggestions. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Don't rent from Jackson Mountain Homes

  • 1 of 5

The neighborhood is beautiful but I recommend that you do not rent this particular house. When I checked in for my week-long stay I found the house to be very dirty and mildewed. The windows were very cobwebbed. (I couldn't even air out the house as most of the screens were missing) I immediately called Jackson Mountain Homes. They promised to remedy asap. No one came. I called again that night. They were very nice, but no one came. I called again the next day - they were very nice but no one came. I called again that night - they were very nice, but no one came. No one EVER called me back. Not once.

Finally, (on day 3 of my 6 day vacation) I literally threw myself at a maintenance man who was working in another house and begged for help. He was mortified. He called his supervisor and finally got the place cleaned.

Still: frying pan: rusted, ironing board: broken, light on cooktop: broken (I used a flashlight)

window screens: gone. Even tried to enjoy a glass of wine, but the corkscrew was broken in half.

Interestingly, my daughter and her family were staying in a house 2 doors down. It was sparkling clean, smelled great, beautiful appliances and cooking supplies, totally upgraded.

Their experience was very good.

I understand that things happen, that things break. But I was made to feel like a fool. Every time I called Jackson Mountain they said all the right things, but then they ignored me.

Even now, that I am home, I called one last time before I wrote this review, just to give them a chance to convince me of their sincerity. They have a complete record of all my calls. They just say they have no idea how this happened. They have no explanation for not giving me the simple courtesy of a phone call.

I have an explanation: Bad management. Rent from someone else.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Worth the view & peacefulness away from the bustle of tourism.

  • 4 of 5

Clean, quiet, great views!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

    Booking Fee 1 BR: $75
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 10 nights

    Booking Fee 1 BR-3 BR: 5%
    Charge basis: AD
    For stays between 11 and 365 nights

    Damage Protection 1 BR New: $49
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Housekeeping Fee $95: $95
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Pet Fee: $80
    Charge basis: PQ
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights