Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Great Outdoors, 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Arcade, Hot Tub, Pool Table

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 10

The Great Outdoors has everything you need for an ideal family vacation. The log cabin is close to all of the area’s attractions, including the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Dollywood, and the amusements of downtown Gatlinburg. Just as important, it’s packed with amenities to keep everyone entertained for hours, if not days. A hot tub, a pool table, a multi-game arcade, an Xbox 360, WiFi, satellite TV… You could spend your entire stay right in the cabin and never be bored!

You’ll be delighted by The Great Outdoors even before you step foot inside. The home is part of a friendly community of cabins, surrounded by trees and with a stunning view of the Great Smoky Mountains. The front porch is furnished with rockers, a swing, and a bistro table so that you can make the most of the fresh mountain breeze and the sunshine. Listen to the birds greet the day while you linger over coffee and toast, read the kids a story while swaying on the porch swing, enjoy a moonlit nightcap before turning in. What’s more, the back deck has a roomy hot tub—because the only thing better than luxuriating among steamy bubbles is luxuriating among steamy bubbles while listening to the breeze rustle through sun-dappled trees!

Indoors, wood-planked walls, comfortable seating and a gas fireplace give the living room a welcoming, laid-back ambiance. It’s the perfect spot for kicking back to watch a movie on the flat-panel TV, to curl up with your tablet or a book, or even to stretch out for a well-deserved nap. The dining area is just as inviting, with a log-style dining table that seats 6 with ease.

When traveling with the kids, it’s often easier (not to mention more affordable) to eat in. For that reason, The Great Outdoors’ kitchen is equipped with all the appliances, gadgets, cookware, and tableware you’ll need, whether you’re whipping up breakfast smoothies or hosting a gourmet feast. There’s a dishwasher too because no one wants to scrub plates while on vacation.

The game room will undoubtedly be the kids’ favorite room in the cabin—and it just might be yours as well. Your toughest decision could be deciding what to do first: shoot some pool at the full-size billiard table, try your hand at one of the classic video games on the multi-game arcade, sit down with the Xbox 360 or the PlayStation 2, play cards at the pub-style table… You might find yourself hoping for a rainy day so that you can have a go at them all!

The game room also serves as a bedroom, with 2 pairs of bunk beds and a sofa that opens into a bed for 2 (as does the living room sofa). The lower level bathroom features a stand-up shower, as well as a heart-shaped jetted tub. We think this is one time the kids definitely won’t mind sharing a room!

The 2nd bedroom is a master suite, located on the main level, that includes a sumptuous king-size bed and a full en-suite bathroom. The cabin also has a washer and dryer for maximum convenience. You’ll arrive to find the beds already made up and plenty of clean towels and extra bedding ready and waiting.

Also ready and waiting is a world of fun and adventure just minutes from the cabin’s front door. You can drive to the restaurants and amusements of downtown Gatlinburg in less than 10 minutes. Also, close by are the Great Smoky Mountains National Park and Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area. And Dollywood, the Titanic Museum, and the other hot spots of Pigeon Forge are no more than a half-hour away.

Whether out and about or kicking back in the cabin, the entire family will find plenty to enjoy when you stay at The Great Outdoors. In fact, this just might be your most fun-filled and memorable vacation yet. So go on and book your stay today—before someone else beats you to it!

More Details

Property Manager
Jackson Mountain Homes
-
Member since: 1996
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2018

Amenities

Gatlinburg Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom # 1 (1 King), Bedroom # 2 (2 Bunk Beds), Extra Bedding (1 Sofa Sleeper)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

3.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

12% Complete
37% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
The Great Outdoors, 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10, Arcade, Hot Tub, Pool Table
average rating of 3.125 based on 8 reviews
3

It was fine. It served its purpose.

  • 3 of 5

It wasn’t the best and wasn’t the worst. The kitchen was great and the best stocked of ANY cabin we’ve ever stayed in. Every utensil and maybe every pot or pan you’ll need. The house was not very clean upon further inspection. That’s not very important to some, but its big for my family. The central unit return filters looked as if they had never been replaced. The satellite was broken when we arrived and was not fixed while we were there. The family was bothered more by this than I was. We enjoyed walks everyday. The pictures show a pinball machine, but there isn’t one. The pool table was pretty cool, but lacked chalk. The arcade machine was AWESOME and a big highlight. There are no games for the Xbox that is there, and the PS2 was missing the cord to connect it to the TV, rendering it useless. And the Wi-Fi was pretty useless. It’s VERY close to town and that was a big reason we got it. There are not two private bedrooms. The second bedroom they claim in the description is actually one full bunk bed and one twin bunk bed(which needs work). And the downstairs bathroom felt like the heat didn’t even run in it. It was always so cold!! It says it sleeps 10 I think, but we were cramped with 6 of us. It cozy to say the least. Just because you have enough places to sleep 10-12 doesn’t mean they will all fit comfortably in your cabin. I’m way easier to please than the rest of my family. If it were up to them this review would have been 1 Star. Be warned. If TV and Wi-Fi aren’t important to you and you don’t have allergies it may be fine for you. It is really close to town.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Garrett for taking the time to review The Great Outdoor. Your input, as well as all our guest feedback is vitally important as we want all guests expectations to be met upon arrival. We sincerely apologies for falling short of expectation. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to the Smokies, giving us the opportunity to meet all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Great home;terrible tv

  • 3 of 5

Loved the beautiful cabin and the space. Frustrated that none of the 3 tvs had a signal. The twin bunk beds were very wobbly and unsafe. Could use a hair dryer.

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Robin for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the home. We sincerely apologies for the TV not working. We do have a 24/7 on call service department and if known we would have sent someone out to fix the situation. Your input, as well as all our guest feedback is vitally important as we want all guests expectations to be met upon arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5823 Ravenswood, Chicago IL 60660
1

Property ok management company not so ok

  • 1 of 5

First had to call twice to have towels dropped off. Finally five hours after checking in towels dropped off at front door. 2nd kitchen was not stocked with the basics like salt pepper and cooking oil 3rd dish did not work majority of stay and in fact message came across for the bill to be paid in order to maintain service. Finally walked in and stones on the fireplaces had fallen off and were laying on the floor. Management company did not seem to be concerned or follow up. Very disappointed and would never recommend anyone stay with this management company

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Michael for taking the time to share your review. Your input, as well as all our guest feedback is vitally important as we want all guests expectations to be met upon arrival. We sincerely apologies for the area you feel we fell short. We apologies that you had to wait for several hours for the towels to arrive. There is some drive time involved from the laundry to the cabin. We do not supply salt, pepper, or any food cooking supplies. This is for health and safety reasons and this is in the contract all our guests sign. We really appreciate you letting us know about the fireplace and our records show that our maintenance department came and fix this during your stay. We wish you would have let us know about there was trouble with one of the TV’s. Again, thank you for sharing. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to the Smokies, giving us the opportunity to meet all expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Needs upgrades and maintenance

  • 1 of 5

Well let's see, I have been working my butt off and was looking for some relaxation. First thing I had read in a previous review hot tub not working well sure nuff months later it still does not work and the master bed sucks every morning I woke up and felt like I got hit by a truck. Very disappointed on the plus side they did have miss PAC man machine. For the price of the unit maybe they should not pocket all of it and upgrade there mattresses and maybe fix the hot tub since almost every cabin has one and that's what we want come fall time.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeremy for taking the time to share your review. Your input, as well as all our guest feedback is vitally important as we want all guests expectations to be met upon arrival. We sincerely apologies for the area you feel we fell short. We appreciate you letting us know about the hot tub in your review. We do have a 24/7 on call service department and if we would have known about the hot tub during your stay, we would have sent someone out to fix it. We have passed along your suggestion on the mattress to the owner. Again, thank you for sharing and we look forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to the Smokies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

My family and i really enjoyed our stay, it was Awesome!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us Jon. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice!! We had a wonderful stay!

  • 4 of 5

The Cabin was clean and everything you could ask for. Kitchen fully stocked with cookware. The kids loved the pool table and hot tub.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Margarett, we are glad you had a wonderful stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

    Booking Fee 1 BR-3 BR: 5%
    Charge basis: AD
    For stays between 11 and 365 nights

    Booking Fee 2 BR: $85
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 10 nights

    Damage Protection 2 BR New: $65
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

    Housekeeping Fee $110: $110
    Charge basis: STAY
    For stays between 1 and 365 nights

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties