Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hudson Hideaway just a 4 minute walk to shops and beaches of Folly

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 8

The owner, Sherry Valk, loves to communicate with renters about the benefits of our Hudson HideAway. For any direct communication with her, please call 423 914 8671.You will find her delightful. Many of our best reviews include how helpful Sherry is with renters throughout their entire stay, if needed.

Our quiet and luxurious home is available for family vacationers. It is located just 2 blocks from the shops, restaurants and action of downtown Folly Beach and is only a 4 minute walk to the beach using a walkway thru a path in the shade. Our home is newly renovated with gorgeous hardwood and cork floors, a modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances, quartz counter tops and a gas stove.

The master bedroom has a walk in master closet and a huge bath suite with comfort everywhere. The master bedroom and one sleeping area is separate from the 2 other large bedrooms enabling an additional family to stay with you on your vacation. There is a large open room for resting and dining.

The screened porch is just outside the kitchen door for a relaxing breakfast and for evening memories of the day. The porch has a private deck for grilling and you will enjoy the stately shade trees that are a large part of the fully landscaped garden.

Once you arrive at our home, you really do not have to get back in your car. You can walk to the beach, to the shops, to the restaurants, and bike rentals in 3 minutes.

Our home is available for vacationers to rent. We are located just a few blocks from the ocean waves by way of an easy path right across from our front door. Whether you have small children or elderly parents who are with you on vacation, you will find you 3 minute walk to the beach is nothing compared to the comfort of our home.

More Details

Property Manager
Sherry Valk
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 18, 2018


Folly Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master bath
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • There is a day bed located in the home that will provide as an additional sleeping opportunity
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 2 bicycles
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Hudson Hideaway just a 4 minute walk to shops and beaches of Folly
average rating of 4.703704 based on 27 reviews

Great location

  • 4 of 5

The location of this house is great; a short walk to the beach and restaurants and shops on Center Street. The house is cute and comfortable and had most kitchen essentials if you want to cook. You'll want to bring some fans if you're staying during the summer - the only ceiling fan is in the dining room and we were uncomfortably hot during our stay. You'll also want to bring some mosquito repellent if you plan to enjoy the beautiful yard. Overall I would recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Easley, SC

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hudson Hideaway. The owners were very helpful and accomodating!

  • 4 of 5

The property was very comfortable and well laid out. The owners made sure that we had bikes for everyone. The house was well furnished and had a fully stocked kitchen. There were also beach chairs and sand toys for kids. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation at Folly Beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming little beach house on quiet street.

  • 4 of 5

The Hudson Hideaway was just as pictured. Cute little beach house that was close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The side porch was missing its door, therefore the bugs were so bad you could not really sit out on the screened porch. There was also a crack in the living room floor that needed to be fixed and I think bugs were able to get into the house through there so bug spray is a must. However, those minor details did not hinder our time there. We had a wonderful time. Loved the bikes! Loved the town! The location is great! Would recommend to anyone going to Folly Beach.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we expected and more. It is much bigger than in the pictures. The house was very neat and clean and close to the beach and downtown. The owner was great to work with, I plan to come back in the fall.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not the vacation we hoped for

  • 1 of 5

More cons than pros:

Cons: I stayed here with my Fiance and mother. The overall cleanliness and insects made our stay unpleasing. We had to kill 3 cockroaches and other small bugs throughout our stay. The property was hardly cleaned, despite paying $150 cleaning fee. Sweeping around beds and nightstands/dressers to find makeup container, socks, and a lot of dust; area rugs had not been vacuumed because they had dried french fries, crumbs, leaves; toilets had not been cleaned/seat wiped down. The clothes dryer did not work so the first day was spent waiting for a repair guy. I also had to clean the washer gasket because of odor and mold. The house also has a musty smell that lingered even after getting home and washing everything. The bikes are super rusty and there was no bike lock. The grill is cheap and legs fall off when you move it; but it works. After several follow ups and 6 weeks later, I finally received my security deposit for a place that was left much cleaner than it was when we got there.

Pros: Convenient beach access. Large space for families. Owner responded immediately to calls/texts.

Although we did not spend a lot of time indoors at the property, we had to spend most of it cleaning and dealing with issues. This is the 6th time I have rented a beach house and this is the only one that we were not comfortable at because of the cleanliness. I would not say this property is well-maintained.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I am the owner of this beautiful beach home. This is the first bad review we have received in seven years of owning the house. I take this review very seriously and have dealt with each complaint quickly. I have informed my cleaning person that the level of cleaning is not up to our standards. I have contracted for a monthly pest service at the home. I have replaced the grill and the bikes and purchased a new lock. We visit our beach homes very regularly and take cleanliness very seriously for all our guests. As you can see from other reviews we normally receive excellent reviews. Our number one goal is for our renters to have a wonderful vacation in a clean and safe environment. Thank you, Sherry Valk
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Very nice home. Comfortable with many amenities.

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Easy walk to the beach or Center street with three kids. Enjoyed the screened in porch. We have stayed on Ashley in the past and much preferred the quiet location of this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Loggerhead's Beach Grill
Bar & Grill
The ' Wich Doctor
Sandwich Shop
Lost Dog Cafe
Island Ice Shaved Ice
The Washout
Seafood Restaurant
Black Magic Cafe
Woody's Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Surf Bar
Taco Boy
Mexican Restaurant
Drop In Deli
Jack of Cups Saloon
Planet Follywood
Bar & Grill
Charleston Crab Shacks
Seafood Restaurant
Folly Beach Crab Shack
Seafood Restaurant
Center Street Coffee
Slice of folly
Pizza Takeout
Snapper Jacks
Seafood Restaurant
Banana Cabana
BLU Restaurant & Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Pacific Sun Shave Ice
Pier 101 Restaurant & Bar
Seafood Restaurant
Chico Feo
Caribbean Restaurant
Locklear's Beach City Grill
Sunset Cay Marina
Folly Beach County Park
Bowens Island Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Pan Garden
Chinese Restaurant
Shonn At Work
Island Breeze
Tattooed Senorita
Mexican Restaurant
Harvest Catering
Workmen's Cafe
Famulari's Brewpub
Pick Thai
Thai Restaurant
Great Wall
Chinese Restaurant
Ladles Soups James Island LLC
Soup Restaurant
Kickin' Chicken
American Restaurant
Black Magic Cafe
Smoky Oak Taproom
Barbecue Restaurant
Paisano's Pizza Grill
Pizza Restaurant
Edison James Island
Atlantic Room
Seafood Restaurant
Huddle House
American Restaurant
Thai Elephants Restaurant
Thai Restaurant
Mondo's Italian Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Hen and The Goat
Sandwich Shop
Sermet's Southernterranean Cuisine-Bar
Mediterranean Restaurant
Blues Cajun Kitchen
Seafood Restaurant
Roadside Seafood
Seafood Restaurant
Gillie's Soul Food
Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
Taco Boy
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
the grill
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Folly Beach
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning fee $150

There is a $150 cleaning fee that is due on your final payment.

$250 Security deposit fee will be returned by owner 15 days after rental stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties