Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lightly Salted*Gorgeous Ocean Views*Luxury*Pool *Hot tub* 2017 rates for 2018

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Space 2,076 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

SATURDAY CHECK IN - 4 WHEEL DRIVE REQUIRED - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED - Approximately 3 miles up the 4x4 beach

Welcome to 'Lightly Salted', one of Swan Beach's finest cottages perched against oceanfront dunes of the wild and beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. This home boasts unobstructed views of blue-green waves, bubbling white surf, and wide, sandy, wheat toned beaches as far as the eye can see. The enchantment begins as soon as your 4x4 vehicle leaves the pavement to drive right on the sand, only a few feet from the roar of the surf.

Panoramic views, state of the art electronics, exceptional quality bedding and Sleep Number® beds, delicious drinking water and a well-stocked kitchen are at your disposal. The state of the art electronics systems include a 55 inch Sony LED HDTV in the living room and 32 inch Samsung HDTV's in every bedroom, all connected to every channel offered by Directv, the 'Ultimate Package' and NFL package. Panasonic Surround Sound and accounts with Pandora and Netflix offer an unbeatable movie and music experience. The pool stereo system brings the tunes outside to the pool and picnic area with large hot tub and a gas grill. The ground floor half bath and mini fridge make poolside entertainment a breeze. Hop out of the pool and walk 50 feet across the dune to the ocean!

The extremely well equipped kitchen has all new major appliances, cookware, utensils and small appliances. Brew your morning coffee in the Keurig, Mr Coffee, or thermal coffee pot and enjoy it while watching the waves from the screened porch just off the kitchen.

Sleep Number® beds with dual comfort controls and 400 thread count linens are in 4 rooms: the third floor master king and queens for three more bedrooms. The kid's room with bunk set and pull out futon has an X-Box 360 Kinect with games provided. Fall asleep to your private music selection with the iPad, iPod, iPhone docking station stereos located in every bedroom.

Spend a luxurious week enjoying the beach, watching the wild horses graze and relaxing to the sound of the pounding surf from the well-appointed accommodations of 'Lightly Salted'.

INVENTORY for Lightly Salted:

• Brand new stainless steel major appliances in 2013

• Quick cool refrigerator

• New small appliances

• Top grain leather living room suite and tables

• New hardwood floors for the third level

• New carpeting for the second level

• Beds made

• New luxury bedding, pillows and bath towels

• 55" Sony LED HDTV in the living room with surround sound

• 32" Samsung HDTV's in every bedroom

• Ultimate DIRECTV Package including all premium movie channels and the NFL package

• Sleep Number® beds

• iPod docking station clock radio for all bedrooms

• X-Box 360 Kinect game system and games

• Gas fireplace (Oct through March)

• Hammock

• Pool side sound system with iPod docking station

• Turvis Tumbler insulated glassware

• Whole house water purification system including a reverse osmosis faucet

• Waffle iron

• Pack N Play

• Fully stocked kitchen

• Iron and ironing board

• Telephone

• Wireless internet service

• Central heat and air

• Dishwasher, microwave

• Washer/Dryer

• Outdoor Furniture

• Outdoor Shower

• Gas and Charcoal Grills

• Beach chairs

Click “Rates and Availability” for a quote.

More Details

Property Manager
Please Contact Property Manager Laura James
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
33%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

Map

Corolla, a three mile drive, boasts all kinds of shopping, eating and entertainment options. There are two major food stores, a fresh vegetable and seafood stand, gift and sundry shops, golf, and restaurants for every price range. Travel farther south to Duck for unlimited water sports on the sound: paragliding, jet skiing, paddle boarding, water skiing, wind surfing and fish charters. Travel a few more miles to Pirates Cove for world class deep sea fishing.

If you love lighthouses, you will find three available for climbing within the roads of the Outer Banks. Get on a ferry and you can climb two more.

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 2076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1 King bed, 3 Queen beds, 1 Bunk bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lightly Salted*Gorgeous Ocean Views*Luxury*Pool *Hot tub* 2017 rates for 2018
average rating of 4.882353 based on 34 reviews
Livingston, TN
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Lightly Salted was amazing! The home was just as we expected. This home is set up to please ALL vacationers. All we needed was our personal items and food. Carova Cottage staff was wonderful! They answered any questions we had as we were watching Hurricane Irma before our arrival. Driving on the beach was truly an experience and so glad we chose the 4x4 area. We saw the horses just about every day. They even gave us a show in the back yard of the house and came up on the lower deck! Our stay was awesome! Thank you so much for sharing your home!

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristie, We are so happy you found us! The horses are just the icing on the cake when staying at Lightly Salted! Come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Vacation Spot!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Loved Lightly Salted. Laura was great to work with. We can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It IS a great house. :-) Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Renfrew, PA
5

Quite, Relaxing Ocean Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a wonderful stay very relaxing and a lot of fun. The house was great. The sand was challenging on the first day- recommend getting there early before check in time and staying on beach until can access house. Location was great with an awesome view of the beach. We also had the horses right on the side of the house one night. I would highly recommend this house and this vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lightly Salted has the BEST VIEWS! They are unobstructed and will stay that way since the lots in front are not build-able. So glad the horses came to visit. Come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glenside, PA
5

Lightly Salted 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a wonderful time. This was our first visit to the OBX. The location was perfect. We had an unobstructed view of the ocean. We enjoyed the wildlife of the horses and foxes. Driving on the beach was an adventure. It was also convenient for spending the day on the beach. With the car, we did not have to limit our beach items to those we could carry or drag behind us in a beach buggy. The pool was perfect. Heated by the sun, the children enjoyed it daily. The remote location forced us to relax! It was exactly what my family needed. We look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW! Thank you for painting that picture of complete relaxation. :-) We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Lightly Salted and would be VERY happy to have you return. Call us soon. This home is popular!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great week. Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Very nice house. Deck outside needed a little TLC but overall outstanding rental property. Views were amazing both sunrise and sunset. Only issue we had was the spa water needed changing but the staff came over within 15 minutes and changes it.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK you for the nice review. Lightly Salted has pretty spectacular views and is in a great location; steps from the beach but private enough to feel like you are the only ones around. Please come and stay again... we'll get that deck on the list for this winter.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Export, PA
4

First Family Vacation to the OBX

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall we had a great trip to the OBX, the houses location and views were great. The fully stocked kitchen made preparing meals a breeze. Our only complaint is that the exterior could use some love. The deck wood is weathered, there is a unusable set of table and chairs on the lower level and a pile of roofing nails in the sand outside of the pool. If those issues were addressed I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Daniel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The exterior seating on the top deck is a nice place to catch those wonderful views you mentioned. So sorry the table and chairs on level one were a disappointment. We thought that table would be helpful to use while cooking your meal on the gas grill. I'll be sure to retrieve the roofing nails. (Busy spring for all of our contractors... I bet he's been looking for them!)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees