Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lightly Salted*Gorgeous Ocean Views*Luxury*Pool *Hot tub* 2017 rates for 2018

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Space 2,076 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

SATURDAY CHECK IN - 4 WHEEL DRIVE REQUIRED - LINENS AND TOWELS PROVIDED - Approximately 3 miles up the 4x4 beach

Welcome to 'Lightly Salted', one of Swan Beach's finest cottages perched against oceanfront dunes of the wild and beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina. This home boasts unobstructed views of blue-green waves, bubbling white surf, and wide, sandy, wheat toned beaches as far as the eye can see. The enchantment begins as soon as your 4x4 vehicle leaves the pavement to drive right on the sand, only a few feet from the roar of the surf.

Panoramic views, state of the art electronics, exceptional quality bedding and Sleep Number® beds, delicious drinking water and a well-stocked kitchen are at your disposal. The state of the art electronics systems include a 55 inch Sony LED HDTV in the living room and 32 inch Samsung HDTV's in every bedroom, all connected to every channel offered by Directv, the 'Ultimate Package' and NFL package. Panasonic Surround Sound and accounts with Pandora and Netflix offer an unbeatable movie and music experience. The pool stereo system brings the tunes outside to the pool and picnic area with large hot tub and a gas grill. The ground floor half bath and mini fridge make poolside entertainment a breeze. Hop out of the pool and walk 50 feet across the dune to the ocean!

The extremely well equipped kitchen has all new major appliances, cookware, utensils and small appliances. Brew your morning coffee in the Keurig, Mr Coffee, or thermal coffee pot and enjoy it while watching the waves from the screened porch just off the kitchen.

Sleep Number® beds with dual comfort controls and 400 thread count linens are in 4 rooms: the third floor master king and queens for three more bedrooms. The kid's room with bunk set and pull out futon has an X-Box 360 Kinect with games provided. Fall asleep to your private music selection with the iPad, iPod, iPhone docking station stereos located in every bedroom.

Spend a luxurious week enjoying the beach, watching the wild horses graze and relaxing to the sound of the pounding surf from the well-appointed accommodations of 'Lightly Salted'.

INVENTORY for Lightly Salted:

• Brand new stainless steel major appliances in 2013

• Quick cool refrigerator

• New small appliances

• Top grain leather living room suite and tables

• New hardwood floors for the third level

• New carpeting for the second level

• Beds made

• New luxury bedding, pillows and bath towels

• 55" Sony LED HDTV in the living room with surround sound

• 32" Samsung HDTV's in every bedroom

• Ultimate DIRECTV Package including all premium movie channels and the NFL package

• Sleep Number® beds

• iPod docking station clock radio for all bedrooms

• X-Box 360 Kinect game system and games

• Gas fireplace (Oct through March)

• Hammock

• Pool side sound system with iPod docking station

• Turvis Tumbler insulated glassware

• Whole house water purification system including a reverse osmosis faucet

• Waffle iron

• Pack N Play

• Fully stocked kitchen

• Iron and ironing board

• Telephone

• Wireless internet service

• Central heat and air

• Dishwasher, microwave

• Washer/Dryer

• Outdoor Furniture

• Outdoor Shower

• Gas and Charcoal Grills

• Beach chairs

Click “Rates and Availability” for a quote.

More Details

Property Manager
Please Contact Property Manager Laura James
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

Amenities

Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 2076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1 King bed, 3 Queen beds, 1 Bunk bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lightly Salted*Gorgeous Ocean Views*Luxury*Pool *Hot tub* 2017 rates for 2018
average rating of 4.866667 based on 30 reviews
5

Great week. Can't wait to come back!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Very nice house. Deck outside needed a little TLC but overall outstanding rental property. Views were amazing both sunrise and sunset. Only issue we had was the spa water needed changing but the staff came over within 15 minutes and changes it.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK you for the nice review. Lightly Salted has pretty spectacular views and is in a great location; steps from the beach but private enough to feel like you are the only ones around. Please come and stay again... we'll get that deck on the list for this winter.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Export, PA
4

First Family Vacation to the OBX

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall we had a great trip to the OBX, the houses location and views were great. The fully stocked kitchen made preparing meals a breeze. Our only complaint is that the exterior could use some love. The deck wood is weathered, there is a unusable set of table and chairs on the lower level and a pile of roofing nails in the sand outside of the pool. If those issues were addressed I would have given it 5 stars.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Daniel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The exterior seating on the top deck is a nice place to catch those wonderful views you mentioned. So sorry the table and chairs on level one were a disappointment. We thought that table would be helpful to use while cooking your meal on the gas grill. I'll be sure to retrieve the roofing nails. (Busy spring for all of our contractors... I bet he's been looking for them!)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Woodville, Ohio
5

Relaxation at it's finest!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing place this is it. Take your geoceries and you wont need to leave. We had horses at the house a couple of mornings, family of foxes next door, dolphins swimming by and even a couple of turtles. The house has all the appliances a d dishes you need, a very god selection of games and books,so, add in the pool and hot tub and there's not much more you need for your beach getaway. The 4x4 access was an added bonus to the experience. We would definitely recommend this home. Thank you Laura and Carova Cottages.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK you Lorie, What a great week you describe!! I hope you will come back and stay again. It was a pleasure having you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Malvern, PA
5

Great get away!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great get away in a really unique location. The house was spotless, comfortable and had lots of space. We loved driving on the beach and seeing the wild horses. Plenty of shopping and restaurants close by. We had a storm for 2 days and enjoyed staying in the house and watching from the big windows. We would definitely come back and bring our family with us next time!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK you Linda. We appreciate your nice review. It is awe inspiring to watch a storm roll in with the HUGE WAVES! :-) Please come and visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scranton, PA
5

April 22-APRIL29. 2017

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Greatest house in 4wheel drive area. Heaven on earth!!!!!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Carova Cottages
Owner's Response: Hi Milly, THANK you for your vote! We think it is heaven too! :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Trip!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a very nice week at Lightly Salted! The house was as expected, the updates to the living area are well appreciated. The kitchen is well-stocked, though a few new pans would be a good idea, the current ones have seen better days. There was a musty smell right when entering on ground floor (which consists only of a bathroom and entry area), but it did not permeate beyond that area (kind of wonder if past guests have cordoned wet dogs in there, that's what it smelled like), so no big deal to me. We had one small issue which was quickly remedied by Laura, who also provided us helpful answers to questions we had before arriving. We enjoyed trying out the sleep number beds, still discussing whether we want to go that way next time we replace ours. The only complaint we had (and this is in no way related to the house) was that a LOT of people bring their dogs to this area and seem to think just opening their doors at 7am and letting the dog run out to bark under other people's windows is a great idea. It was a really annoying issue coming from several surrounding houses. Otherwise though, it was a relatively peaceful location. The house is situated such that you have some privacy, and a great view! Not a day went by without a dolphin show right in front of the house. We were very excited to also see a whale one day. Horses visited the house one evening (that we saw), but we saw horses every day while driving around the area. I definitely recommend driving both the beach and the neighborhood roads, start with the fire station area if you're looking for the horses! We would rent Lightly Salted again if we returned to the area. Recommended Corolla restaurants: Pasquale's pizza, Mama Easley's (the burgers!), and Uncle Ike's!

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Corolla, a three mile drive, boasts all kinds of shopping, eating and entertainment options. There are two major food stores, a fresh vegetable and seafood stand, gift and sundry shops, golf, and restaurants for every price range. Travel farther south to Duck for unlimited water sports on the sound: paragliding, jet skiing, paddle boarding, water skiing, wind surfing and fish charters. Travel a few more miles to Pirates Cove for world class deep sea fishing.

If you love lighthouses, you will find three available for climbing within the roads of the Outer Banks. Get on a ferry and you can climb two more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties