Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views

Bedrooms 2
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type house


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Come experience rural Hawaii, just 23 miles south of Kailua-Kona. Freshly painted, new carpet. Get away from the traffic and lights of the city. Relax on the Lanai, watch the whales and enjoy the panoramic ocean views and blue skies from this lovely ranch style home in 'Kona Paradise'.

Beautiful Pebble Beach, one of the best kept secret beach on the Big Island is just 5 minutes away with great snorkeling, swimming, diving, kayaking and boating! Swim with the turtles at near by Honaunau Bay or simply enjoy the private beach..

10 minutes to Hookena beach with Kealakekua Bay and City of Refuge nearby. 90 minutes drive to Volcano National Park

For Dolphin swim in the wild, Manta Ray swim at night or scuba tours, ck out KonaOceanAdventures website

Keywords: House

More Details

First Island Realty
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017


Nearest Airport
33.8 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
16.3 Miles
Korner Pocket Bar and Grill
Nearest Restaurant
12.3 Miles
The Coffee Shack
Nearest Beach
7.3 Miles
Ho'okena Beach Park
Car: necessary


Opihihale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Snorkeling gear and boogie board available at property for your use - This property is not handicap accessible. New carpeting throughout installed May 2014.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
33% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Captain Cook - Kona Paradise - Stunning Views
average rating of 4.5 based on 24 reviews
Seattle, WA

Great vacation spot!

  • 4 of 5

My partner, our little girl, and I stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The house was clean and comfortable, the kitchen functional and reasonably stocked with spices and condiments (and coffee!), the view from the porch SPECTACULAR. We really appreciated the quiet neighborhood filled with tropical flowers, the responsiveness of the owner, and the good quality BBQ grill (and spare gas bottle) that allowed us to enjoy the porch every night as we cooked dinner. It's been noted previously that the house is somewhat remote, and that's true - about 30 minutes to the nearest grocery store - but that wasn't a problem for us, we wanted to get away from the bustle of Kona. All-in-all, we had a great time and would happily stay here again. The only minor fix I can suggest would be to re-install the sliding screen door to the porch and to the second window in the main bedroom...we needed to keep all the windows open for ventilation and there are a few mosquitoes around.

Thanks for a great vacation, Laure!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful location, with the beach just down the hill. The houes can sleep 4-5 guests comfortably.

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a house that will give you a great view of the ocean, this house will work for you. Very steep driveway, so park at the top of the driveway. The drive to the beach is 5 minutes. The beach is black round stones. A very beautiful place to watch the sunset.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Could be great place with a little work.

  • 3 of 5

Great location, awesome view when not hazy, mostly quiet neighborhood. Love the area, 25 minutes to all you need and great beaches. Mega exercise walking up and down hill to neat Pebble beach! House itself needs maintenance and better upkeep. Poor communication and no written documentation on how to depart. Email unanswered. No drinking water make sure to bring your own. Kitchen utensils poor. Had to buy skillet as these so worn no amount of oil could keep egg from sticking. Knives cannot cut a yam. Luckily had my own. Grill on deck was awesome even came with rat to clean up after meals. In owners defense they did respond to that and rat is no more! Bed was comfortable and plenty of fans so house does not overheat. All and we were comfortable and had fun trip!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Could stay forever

  • 5 of 5

This was an ideal spot for our family of 4 to spend a few days. The location is close enough to Kona or Capt. Cook to be convenient but feels very local and removed from the tourist traffic. The view is as pictured - indescribable, you just have to experience it. The neighborhood has a small beach access at the end of the road or you're not far from any number of other places to swim or snorkel.

Overall it was an amazing experience.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the view. It is rather breathtaking. We are glad you had a great experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing relaxing vacation

  • 4 of 5

The house was perfect for what I was looking for...Great location, set high up the hill with amazing views..The balcony was great, equipped with a nice barbecue.

Escape to your own private beach and swim with the turtles.

I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a true get away in your own private retreat.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review the house. Have a great day and hope to see you again soon Laure
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

House was clean and well stocked, view was to die for,only problem was acess a little difficult due having to having to walk down steep driveway.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you loved the view! Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax
Reservation Fee $35 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Deposit is due upon booking and balance 60 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties