302 37th Place E-What a wonderful hidden jewel of a home located at the beach and on the canal!! This special place is tucked away just off of E Pelican Dr. and just down from SE 40th St., nestled on the small Davis Canal. This spacious 3 bedroom home offers all that you would ever needs at the beach, views, space, and privacy. Nice open kitchen with granite countertops, dining and family room over looking the canal. Plenty of covered parking and a fenced in back and side yard. Large outdoor shower. Covered front deck looking out over the marsh and canal through the canopy of the Live Oak Trees. Large open deck off the side of the home over looking nothing but the canal and marsh. Enjoy the dock to catch bait or just sit over looking the water. Bring your kayaks and launch them right from your yard. Relax by the fire pit at night and take in the ambiance. The beach access is just steps away as this home is located on a corner lot. This unique home is a special place for you to make memories with your family. It is certainly hard to find all the amenities that this beach home offers, especially the privacy. Oak Island is a family oriented beach community with little commercial and little traffic. You will not want to miss this opportunity to come and relax and let the ocean breezes whisk through your hair and put your toes in the sand. See you soon!!
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay0 - 7 nights
Beautiful-Completely PRIVATE-Dock on Canal w/Kayaks-3 Bdrm/2 Bath Home-Sleeps 8
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- Jun 20, 2018
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Excellent location, updated, clean, full of amenities.
Was pleasantly surprised by this location and quality of rental. Was 1.5 blocks from beach, but in it's own wooded lot next to the marsh canal. Pet friendly with fenced yard, decorating and condition inside was excellent. Tons of amenities, charcoal grill, fire pit, kayaks, beach gear, crab traps and more! Will stay there again for sure, highly recommend.
Nice secluded place but beware !
Although our family enjoyed our stay we didn't appreciate being charged a $150 pet fee and then being told it was non-refundable despite the fact we did not have a pet. There is absolutely nothing 'Better' about 'Better Beach Rentals'.
Hello John, thank you for leaving your review. I hope you and your family enjoyed your stay here on Oak Island. I would like to apologize for the Pet Fee you are referring to in your review. It looks as though you booked the property online and added the pet fee while you were doing so. We recommend that all guests read their reservation carefully before hitting reserve to avoid adding mistaken optional fees such as pet fees, extra linen charges or bed making fees. Thank you again for your review, John, we thoroughly apologize for this inconvenience and hope to 'SEA' you on your next vacation to Oak Island!
Beautiful home located on the canal. This house was perfect for our family. We travel with our dogs and this house was accommodating for them as well. The house was very clean and only 2 blocks from the beach. We will definitely stay here again.
A private, cozy and well-equipped vacation home!
What a great house! We loved the very private feeling of the location and the beautiful view of the marshland and its visiting herons! I was a bit concerned that the open deck overlooking the marsh might present a mosquito problem for someone like me, but it was absolutely not an issue even during our August visit.
We took advantage of all the great stuff the owners provided to have a full nature/vacation experience. We rode their bikes all over Oak Island. We kayaked in the two boats they had there, launching right at the property. (Do review the tide tables to plan the hours of your trip through the marshes so that you don't get stuck out there in dead low tide.) The owners provided equipment to fish and to crab, which we did right off of their dock. We caught plenty of crabs and cooked them right up in the steamer pot they have available for guests' use. YUM!
The house itself was cozy, clean, and well-appointed. We cooked there every night and had plenty of kitchen equipment and such to get the job done easily. We also used the outside BBQ without a hitch.
Really great house and just a two minute walk to the beach access. A perfect getaway!
House is wonderful, rental agency is okay
The house was perfect for us, located between the beach and the creek, and with more of a "tucked away" feel than most beach houses. The beach is about a block away and was never too crowded. The house is stocked with kayaks, bikes, a grill, etc. We were able to take the kayaks out on the creek, which is just out the back door. The house is updated and the main rooms are open. The fenced porch and yard were perfect for our dog and toddler. (We could grill in the yard without being paranoid about turning our backs for a second, given the proximity of the creek). When you are on the deck facing the creek, you basically can't see or hear another house.
We enjoyed Island Way for lunch (just down the street. We also liked Southport (Provision was great). We took the ferry to Bald Head Island for dinner, took a boat tour from Southport, and did the Shalotte Swamp Park tour.
The rental agency is just okay. There were no sheets for the master bedroom when we arrived. They didn't respond to our inquiry so we had to stop by their office the next day to pick up sheets. We asked for a fan to be repaired but it wasn't. Twice, repair men came to the house unannounced to fix something that a previous tenant had complained about. We paid extra to have our dog there with the understanding that maintenance people wouldn't show up unannounced. The first time it happened, we called Better Beach Rentals to make sure it wouldn't happen again. They assured us it wouldn't, but a different maintenance person came two days later. They don't seem to really care about guests and are just concerned with keeping up with the large volume of houses they manage. With the number of rental agencies out there, I have to imagine others offer better service.
Thanks to the owners for a lovely house!!
didnt love it. didnt hate it.
The location was great. Privacy perfect. None of the TVs in the bedrooms were working. The second bedrooms box requested that you call in to finish set up(something we did not feel comfortable doing) and there wasn't even a box or anything in the master bedroom. Just the TV. We didn't go to the beach to watch tv so were not super upset or anything but regardless it is not available. What was disappointing for us was the access to the canal. Noone wants to wade through mud to get into their boat so only a few people went kayaking. There is a dock and the boys did some fishing off of it but theres no ladder to get down to the water or to get back up. I suggest adding a floating dock to the end and a ladder down the side of the dock. My husband went kayaking in this canal for several hours. He saw lots of wildlife including a gator. Thrilling for him but scary for some. The beach is beautiful. They were closing down the access to work on the dunes when we were there but that's not a permanent thing. Otherwise the house is perfect. Very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I may rent again. I just wont bring my kayaks.