Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3BR, 2BA Gulf Shores Cottage at The Rookery, Steps From Pool and Beach Access

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Escape to our 3BR, 2BA (sleeps 9) cottage in The Rookery, a quiet Gulf Shores community on the edge of the Bon Secour Wildlife Refuge. Take in a sunset over Mobile Bay, walk across the street to the beach or enjoy an onsite hot tub, pool and tennis courts. Drive 20 minutes to downtown for eateries and entertainment.

INSIDE THE COTTAGE

Park right outside your door with space for several vehicles. Carry your bags up just three steps, and stop for a breather on your screened-in porch with bench seating.

The front door enters to the open concept living, dining, and kitchen areas. Light wooden floors are topped with a tan throw rug for a sandy feel in the living area, which offers sofa and recliner seating for 6. Bring your favorite DVDs to host a family movie night, and pull out the sofa into a full-size bed to sleep 2 additional guests.

Heading back toward the kitchen, the dining table separates the living and cooking areas. Seat 6 around the wooden table for board game nights or family feasts.

The kitchen has a clean, all white decor and all the appliances and accessories you’ll need, including a fridge, stove/oven combo and microwave, and a dishwasher.

Off the living area is the king-size master bedroom with en-suite bath to enjoy a little extra privacy. Settle in with plenty of closet and dresser space to unpack and stay a while. Bring your favorite bubble bath to utilize the tub/shower combo for added relaxation.

Just before the entrance to the guest bathroom is the laundry facility. Washer and dryer are ready for your used beach towels and bathing suits.

The next door off the dining area is the full guest bathroom with tub/shower combo and single vanity. It has a connecting door that also leads into the queen-size 2nd bedroom. This bedroom features a closet stocked with board games for the kids, and is located just off the dining area.

The kids’ bedroom is across the hall, opposite the kitchen. Here, a twin-over-full bunk offers sleeping for 3. For cartoons in the morning, check out the 20” TV and DVD player. For excitement during the day, switch on the air hockey table and have some fun out of the sun.

OUR LOCATION

You’re a quick stroll from the resort pool, hot tub, and tennis courts. Beach access is just across the street, and downtown’s shops and restaurants are 20 minutes away.

Or find delectable eats even closer to home. Sassy Bass Amazin’ Grill is less than a mile away and has options for kids and a great cocktail menu, as if their fresh oysters and catch of the day dishes aren’t enough to wow you. If you don’t want to let the water out of your sight, check out Tacky Jack’s on Fort Morgan for seafood with waterfront views, 5 minutes from home.

Ready to get outdoors? Take a hike and learn about wildlife at the Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge just 7 minutes away. Rent a kayak or plan a deep sea fishing trip in the gulf. The world is your oyster!

On your way back toward the airport, why not plan for a stop at Waterville USA? Twenty minutes from your front door, waterslides and lazy rivers are waiting for you.

THE TURNKEY ADVANTAGE

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of home with a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens.

And we make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help.

All Turn Key Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection policy.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

Amenities

Gulf Shores Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 1 Bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • recreation center
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

36% Complete
18% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
27% Complete
3BR, 2BA Gulf Shores Cottage at The Rookery, Steps From Pool and Beach Access
average rating of 3.3636363 based on 11 reviews
Tulsa, OK
1

Jennifer

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The unit and location was nice. However the inside of the home and its furniture was very outdated! Most of all of the furniture was wobbly and very old. The refrigerator was broke on the door. The kind size bed was very uncomfortable and the frame was leaning in toward the bed. The bedroom dressers were hard to open. The kitchen table and chairs were mostly broken down. I would highly recommend a complete update of the furniture as soon as possible. For the amount of money that I spent to stay at the home it was very upsetting to find the house to not be up to par. This property did not meet my expectations and I would not recommend it to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that if anything at all comes up, guests are conveniently able to reach us 24 hours-a-day on our guest hotline. Unfortunately, we did not learn of these problems until after your departure, but wish we had known during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is addressed. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Arab, AL
5

quiet vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was a very clean quiet comfortable stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
veedersburg, IN
3

first time

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

home as clean close to pool injoyed the time there

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi John, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oxford, MS
1

Disappointment

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was a let down to me and my family. Didn't smell the the best, so we went to the Dollar General and brought things to help the place better. Items was broken, bathroom wasn't clean. Just some many things wrong.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Jamar, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. Here at TurnKey, we strive to offer impeccable customer service, and it is our hope that if anything at all comes up, guests are conveniently able to reach us 24 hours-a-day on our guest hotline. Unfortunately, we are only now learning of these problems, but wish we had known during your stay so we could have tried to help out then. Please be assured we are checking on everything you have mentioned and will make sure each issue is repaired or replaced, if needed. If there is anything else we can still do for you, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomington, IN
5

A week in Fort morgan

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Pros: - great location, with a swimming pool and tennis court right next door, and a ten minute walk from the beach, and quick 15 minutes ride to town. - plenty of space for two adults and four children. Cons: - the house needs some upgrading, and a very thorough clean up! Some furniture pieces were not functional (a dresser hollow on the inside, for instance). Also, we did not expect the property to be spot-free, given its location by the pool and beach with the heavy traffic that entails, but some areas were simply dirty. We had to clean the shower rugs and shower curtain in the master bedroom to minimize a strong moldy odor, for instance. - The walk to the beach includes crossing a busy road. The pond next to our house has a large alligator as a host, and does not have a fence around it. So, watch your younger children around that area. Overall, we had a great time, with the kids enjoying the outdoors and the beautiful surroundings. And that is the reason we would recommend this location and property to other families. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dan, Thank you so much for the review and helpful feedback! We are so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will be looking into the issues and concerns you have reported. Also, our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up, so please let us know next time if you need anything. By the way, you were perfect guests, and we look forward to having you stay again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL
3

Not Pet Friendly

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This lovely cottage was listed as pet friendly on both VRBO and Air B&B when I made our reservation in March. I rented through VRBO. A week before our stay, the middle agent, Turnkey rentals, sends me an email stating "**THIS IS A STRICT NO PETS ALLOWED HOA POLICY, PETS ARE NOT ALLOWED HERE DESPITE WHAT ANY OTHER SITE MAY SAY.** Please be aware that if pets are discovered on the property you will be asked to leave without being refunded and may be responsible for any cost to clean up associated with it and also fines tendered to the Home Owner." It was too late to cancel our trip, so I did not bring our dog. And after 3 phone calls and hours on the phone with the Turnkey representatives, I was finally refunded my $200 pet cleaning fee! I have a bad taste in my mouth for Turnkey, VRBO, and the owners for having it listed as pet friendly, when there were very old laminated signs inside the house that read, "No Pets!" It is half a mile from the beach. And though the cottage is lovely, the furniture is well worn and the cabinets, shelving and chair legs are damaged. We still had a nice time, enjoyed our vacation, but it has been a lot of work to recoup.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Elizabeth, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. With regards to you being unable to bring your dog, we would like to sincerely apologize for this issue and any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Unfortunately, HOA rules for this property had been changed since the time of your original booking, and we were not advised of this until the time we reached out to you. If there is anything we can follow up with to make your experience with us better, please feel free to reach out anytime and let us know. We would love another opportunity to show you how truly dedicated our entire staff is about helping guests plan and thoroughly enjoy their vacation stays with us! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.

You might like these similar properties