Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

Very nice cottage with modern appliances, HD Lg. Screen TV, Blue Ray DVD player with Web TV and Amazon Prime video.

Hi Fi Stereo tuner/amplifier with smart phone input & wireless high speed internet.

Massachusetts State Forest is a short 5 minute walk offering miles of walking & biking trails.

Great fishing & swimming in extremely clean lake water, dock & canoe available.

It is about a fourty minute drive to Old Sturbridge Village & Brimfield Antiques Market Fair, less than one hour to Boston & one hour drive to casino, Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun in Connecticut off Rt 395 South.

The winter season brings skating, ice fishing & cross country skiing with downhill skiing close by at Wachuesttet Mountain less than one hour to the north.

We are very centrally located to multiple activities in our beautiful state, come to South Central Massachusetts and discover our close by escape from the hassle of overcrowded tourist towns.

More Details

Owner
Dan Dudley
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About Dan Dudley

Local owner, my family purchased this property in the '70's

Dan Dudley purchased this cottage in 1987

Why Dan Dudley chose Central Massachusetts

Nice country setting very close to the Massachusetts State forest.

What makes this cottage unique

Private country lake side setting with ultra clean lake water to swim and fish in.

Amenities

Douglas Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No Smoking unless it is outside of the cottage.
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , shower
  • Modern fiberglass shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Has king size sofa bed and additional day bed in sun room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
All the comforts of home...

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Lakefront Cottage with Private Dock -
average rating of 4.6875 based on 32 reviews
5

Cute and quiet!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I were looking for a little place we could get some work done away from home. This was exactly the place we were looking for! Cute and quiet, somewhere you can get inspired and concentrate. The landscape is stunning and my dog loved playing in the lake water which was a few step away from the entrance of the cottage. Hiking lovers should definitely stay here! The entrance of Douglas state forest is about a 2 min walk from the cottage. Will definitely be staying here again soon. I'd also like to note that the Wifi was fast and reliable which was a HUGE plus.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your 5 star review! Tina and I look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Till next time, be well, Dan and Tina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Peaceful Setting!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our long weekend at the Douglas cottage! The setting couldn't be more idyllic. The lake is so quiet and perfect for kayaking and fishing. The trails nearby were ideal for hiking with the dogs. We loved the fire place on the lake, and our hosts even provided the wood! Dan and Tina couldn't be more accommodating hosts. The weather wasn't perfect and they were kind enough to offer us a late check out so we could enjoy another day in this beautiful spot. The cottage was immaculate and had everything we needed. We highly recommend this property and plan to return. Thank you Dan and Tina!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your 5 star review, Tina and I do our very best to earn this highest rating from all of our guests. We look forward to your coming to stay at our Douglas Cottage on the lake again soon. Sincerely, Dan & Tina
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awsome vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Clear water, great fishing, beautiful spot!!! Dan was a great host. The cottage was clean and was exactly like the listing and photos showed. We look forward to next year! Chuck

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your 5 star review, Tina and I do everything we can to make all of our guests stay at the Douglas Cottage as enjoyable as possible. We are thrilled to have accomplished our goal of making your vacation all you hoped it would be, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Auburn
4

Lucky to live there!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful location! Host's were very attentive and warm. Would return.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Serene lake and convenient location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I needed a small break from our busy lives, but we didn't want to travel too far away. This rental and location turned out to be a good combination for us. It was about an hour away from where we lived and close enough to drive to places to eat, get groceries and even do some shopping at Walmart! Yet, it was in an area of the lake where we could feel like we're away from it all. The weather turned out well in our favor and it was hot enough to lounge (and fish) in and on the water all day!

We brought our kayaks and motor boat. We decided to use the kayaks on the other side of the lake across the street (the "busy" and noisier side). I got seasick on the busy side because of the rough waters from the other motor boats and jet skis. I definitely recommend staying on the quiet side of the lake! We were curious about the other side, but there really wasn't too much to see. Dan's side of the lake was so serene that I actually took a nap on a blow-up mattress! I "never" could do that on any lake before (maybe a swimming pool) and I've been on many lakes in my life!

The accommodations were modest and rustic, but good enough for our needs. We weren't planning to stay indoors most of the time, so we weren't looking for anything fancy. There was a good size flat screen television with DVD player which we used almost every evening. The ceiling fans kept the place cool during the days.

Dan was friendly and accommodating and we really appreciated how he went above and beyond his hospitality to us, especially in booking the place, and helping us get settled when we arrived. Even though the cottage is near his residence, we never felt intruded upon and never lacked privacy.

The only thing my husband and I would have preferred is if you could see the lakefront better from the cottage.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your positive review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We always do everything we can to make our guests happy that they decided to enjoy their time in our area by staying at the Douglas Cottage. Tina and I hope you will come to stay with us again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice little cottage

  • 4 of 5

The location was nice, the cottage cozy and neat. Good amenities. We did not make use of the boat or firepit, due to weather, but its a nice feature. The door lock was a little odd for the front door, because you had to lock it with the key from the inside if you wanted it locked at night. The bathroom ceiling was really low, could be difficult for a tall person to shower. I am short, so had problems. Bring toilet paper. The rental agreement mentions it, but we forgot, and had to go buy some.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tina and I are happy you enjoyed your stay at our cottage, however, you mentioned that the bathroom ceiling is low, somewhat true, it's about 6'3" or so, but, it should accommodate most guests with ease. We have never had any guest comment on this previously as being an issue for them. As far as the supply of paper goods, our contract clearly states that we supply a one time setup on all regular consumables of this type, and, that replenishment of them is the responsibility of the guests, (we did have two or three extra rolls under the bathroom sink) this is also something that has never been presented as an issue previously. As you outlined in your review, this clause is in our contract that all guests are requested to read and all guests must sign that they have done so. It is unfortunate that you could not have given us the opportunity to resolve your minor concerns while you were accually staying at the cottage as I asked you multiple times if everything was to your liking and if you needed anything, your response each time was that everything was fine and that you were happy with your accommodations. I could not have raised the bathroom ceiling for you, but, I am confident that we could have supplied you with an extra roll of toilet paper.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Worcester, MA
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Douglas
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Providence RI
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Rt 395
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Lodge
Nearest Ski
37 Miles
Wachusett Mountain
Car: recommended

Very nice cottage with modern appliances, cable TV & wireless high speed internet . Short walk to Massachusetts State Forest and miles of walking & biking trails. Good fishing & swimming with dock & canoe.

The winter season brings skating, ice fishing & cross country skiing with downhill skiing close by at Wachuesttet Mountain less than one hour to the north. Thirty min. drive to Old Sturbridge Village & Brimfield Antiques Fair, less than one hour to Boston & one hour drive to casino, Foxwoods & Mohegan Sun.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Douglas Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 9 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,295
$4,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,105
$4,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200

The rates shown are for four (4) guests including children older than six (6) years old. There is an additional charge for any overnight guests past this number of $15 per person per night with a total maximum of six (6) guests total regardless of age. No smoking in the cottage or on the porch, pets are allowed with prior written acknowledgment only, there is a pet charge of $50 per pet per week, Max 2 pets. Deposits are 100% refundable 60 days prior to arrival, 50% with 30 days notice.

Reservations are not confirmed until deposit is received, however we will hold your dates at the quoted rate for a reasonable period of time waiting for your deposit to arrive. A short term vacation property rental contract will be sent to you for your review and to sign if you decide to rent the cottage.

Rates are subject change without notice till reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties