Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Minutes away from the Historic Front St. but a WORLD away from the city!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 860 sq ft
Property type house

Overview

About the property

A Cozy And Bright 2BR Hand Built Home located on a Working Ranch.

The Ranch House welcomes you to enjoy its beautiful and peaceful ambiance. Located on a 2000 acre ranch, the house has:

2 Bedrooms with Queen size beds

1 Bathroom

A breakfast bar

A fully equipped open kitchen

Open concept kitchen and living room

Sofa bed

Wifi Connection

Direct TV with premium movie channels

A deck overlooking the wide open space.

Fire pit

Breathtaking view of the sunset and STARs..STARS..STARS

No noise (except birds and cows) and super private.

covered garage


Owner
David and Marianne
Member since: 2017
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2018

About David and Marianne

We lived in Dubai and the UK for years and now we consider Natchitoches our permanent home. We enjoy taking photos, traveling, cooking, eating, riding, and chilling out with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee.

What makes this house unique

Past guests reviews on The Ranch House Natchitoches:

"The place is a must go to for nature lovers, we wanted to get away from the fast city life and experience a quiet and nature-friendly weekend getaway. The Ranch did just that. We loved the stars, the empty grass around and The Ranch for its absolute beauty and quiet. We would definitely be back. Marianne makes amazing cakes and we had some while we checked in! Loved it all! " - Deandra, Texas

"Staying at Marianne and David's place was great; it is exactly as advertised. The location is great. It's rural if you want peace and quiet, but the town of Natchitoches is very easily accessible. It's a great place to spend a long weekend!" -Kate, Mississipi

"Loved Marianne and David's place! Very peaceful and great for long walks to enjoy the outdoors farm experience. Expect to drive back a 2 1/2 mile driveway back to a great quiet ranch house, with great hosts!!" - Lisa, Ohio

"Wonderful peaceful retreat. Cattle grazing in the morning mist, lovely walks by the river, and Natchitoches is sweet!" - Lisa, London

"We really enjoyed staying at the Ranch House. It is peaceful and nicely equipped with everything you could need for a home away from home. We loved going for walks on the property and sitting outside on the porch in the afternoon. Marianne and David are really welcoming and even brought us freshly baked muffins and cake pops. We can't wait to come back and stay again!" - Michel, Pittsburgh

Amenities

Natchitoches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 860 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • Smoking is allowed outside the house only.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • water skiing

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Minutes away from the Historic Front St. but a WORLD away from the city!
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
2

Quiet

  • 2 of 5

Okay, so I am used to 4 and 5 star rentals so this was somewhat disappointing in that it is not updated / modern at all. It was very clean, however no blankets, not enough towels/rags had all 6 of us showed up. A lot of old furniture. The house is located down a very long dusty gravel road. Stairs to the actual house from carport were a bit treacherous. Thankfully i could manage, but anyone with leg or back problems would of been in a bad position. The experience was interesting but I, personally, won't be back.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad to know that you found our property very clean. We try to go extra miles to welcome our guests like when you asked if you can check-in early which you did at about 12pm, and when you had to call us at 6:50Am on a Sunday to ask about your payment refund since you changed your booking from 6 guests to 2 guests. We happily answered and contacted the customer service to ensure that you get your refund on time, which you did. That's why the place was set up only for two guests, hadn't you changed your reservation, we would've definitely provided for 6 guests. I have provided enough for two guests (4 sets in total allowing for extra) It was also clearly indicated in the description that the property is on a ranch. It is definitely far from being modern, but it is definitely sweet and charming. That's why people visit Natchitoches in the first place.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean and quiet!

  • 4 of 5

Very nice and relaxing. Plenty of room for the kids to run. Only suggestion is for the tub to have an attachment to hang the shower nozzle.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

True Louisiana beauty!

  • 4 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay at the ranch house! We are originally from Louisiana (now living in Texas) and were looking for peace, quiet and isolation and we found it here. We stayed in the dead of summer, so it was really hot and sticky (of course!), but the house was cool and quiet! Marianne and David were friendly and helpful and it was fun staying on a family ranch. We loved the chickens and cows! The chickens were so fun to watch.

I braved the heat and humidity and took many LOOOONG walks down the levees, with no one but the cows, bugs and birds to keep me company. It would be a great place for a long run! I took many videos of the mesmerizing sounds of the ranch. It was a short drive into town for anything we needed, which we made several times. We were in town for one of their weekend celebrations and got to hear some live music and play some games.

We would definitely stay again and I would recommend the ranch to friends. I have two notes to make about the house that may be helpful for those with limited mobility: 1. the stairs leading up to the living area are very steep so that the elderly or very young children may have issues with them, and along the same lines, 2. the bath tub may also present difficulty to a person with limited agility. These were not problems for our family, but I kept thinking that if my mom (in her 70s) had been with us, she would have struggled.

One of our favorite moments was watching the moments as a storm approached the ranch. There is so much sky out there, you can see EVERYTHING! It is like watching a live weather map. Thank you David and Marianne!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was an absolute delight hosting your family. We are so glad to hear that you guys had a great time on the ranch while you're in Natchitoches. Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arlington
5

Wonderful host!

  • 5 of 5

This place is about two miles of the main road in the country. It was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. You and just retreat and relax and take in the country air and starry night. Mariann and David are great host . There place is clean and quiet. They answered all our questions and went above and beyond my expectations! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. Kelly's group was very friendly, communication was great- kept us informed whenever they needed something. It made hosting really easy. The ranch house was spotless when they checked out. Would love to host them again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful and Charming loft!

  • 5 of 5

If you wanna get away, you can here. Close to town but quiet at night. Stars as far as the eye can see. Our hosts were wonderful and while we stayed there was a tremendous storm. They checked on us several times. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your fabulous review of your stay at the ranch house. You guys were wonderful guests! Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Point Place Marina
Car: necessary

Located on Solomon Red River Ranch. Our guests love the peaceful and private location of the ranch house. Please note that access to the house is thru a dirt road.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $250

No pets allowed.
No events.
No smoking inside the house.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties