Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Traditional Stone built cottage, quiet village, perfect for couple

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Rcently Extended and refurbished self catering cottage in quiet village

A superbly equipped, air conditioned cottage providing a relaxing, peaceful village holiday. The cottage includes a large well equipped lounge with comfortable sofa, TV, DVD, iPod station, selection of DVDs and books and a beautiful chess board if you fancy a game during your stay. Upstairs is a spacious, light and airy double bedroom with a king size bed leading to a large Mediterranean style terrace with views over the roof tops to the mountains beyond. All bed linen is provided and is 100 % cotton and professionally laundered and pressed weekly. On the ground floor is a fully fitted and recently refurbished wet room with shower, wash basin, WC and fresh towels. An internal staircase leads off the lounge up to a the bright and airy bedroom upstairs. A new fitted kitchen provides all cooking facilities with an oven, hob and grill, fridge freezer, full set of pans, crockery, glassware and cutlery. Thick, stone walls and tiles floors keep the house cool, although air conditioning has been fitted for added comfort. A spacious dining area is located outside the kitchen providing a cool and relaxing area to eat or why not enjoy a glass of chilled wine on the terrace and watch the sun set before you head out for the evening.

Internet is available although the signal can be temperamental

A free welcome pack is provided on your arrival and the kitchen can be stocked with your requirements at cost (receipts provided) leaving you more time to enjoy your stay.

The village of Malona has a good restaurant, a bakery, three small bars, a post-office, four mini markets and an English speaking pharmacist.So why not take a gentle stroll through the back streets and enjoy a lovely evening eating local food and meeting the friendly locals.

Your nearest resort if Haraki Bay, just 4 km from the village. Park your car in the square and take a gentle stroll past the church and wander along the pedestrian only promenade along the beautiful horseshoe bay with crystal clear waters and dramatic back drop of the Pheraklos Castle ruins, even more spectacular when lit up at night. Visit one of the friendly, family run restaurants or laid back tavernas for drinks or a superb meal and during the day chill out on the beach where umbrellas and beds are available.

Also 4 km from the village to the west of Haraki Bay are the beautiful golden sands of Agathi beach with warm, shallow and crystal clear sea which is ideal for snorkelling and provides safe swimming for all the family. The beach is backed by mountains and sand dunes giving a stunning backdrop to your relaxing day on the beach. Sun beds and parasols are available to rent and there's a selection of 3 licensed tavernas serving a variety of refreshments from cold drinks to three course meals.

Other resorts nearby include Lindos and St Paul's Bay, only 10 minutes drive away, or you could visit Tsambika beach, a long sandy beach with numerous tavernas and water sports, a 15 minute drive from the village. While there why not visit Tsambika Monastry, not for the faint hearted at 300 m but persevere up the 350 steps and you will be rewarded with stunning views out to sea and to the north and South of the island.

We can provide you with an introductory tour of the village and nearby resort free of charge and there are a selection of guide books, information and maps provided for your convenience.

We would recommend a car although this is not essential as there is a regular bus service rough the village linking with Rhodes town and Lindos and the various resorts in between.

Less than 60 minute drive from the village you will find yourself in Rhodes Town on the northern tip of the island exploring the old town with hassle free shopping, friendly traditional tavernas, ancient battlements and modern marina, or catching the meeting of the the calm Mediterranean Sea and stormy Aegean Sea at the southern tip of the Island at Prassonisi, a surfers paradise, or wine tasting on the western slopes of the Mount Attaviros.

Malona makes an ideal base for hiking and cycling, take a wander through the peaceful olive tracks or try spotting honey buzzards along the quiet mountain roads. The perfect place to unwind and relax.

More Details

Jo Kirk
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Jo Kirk

We fell in love with Rhodes whilst on holiday in 2006 and decided to buy a holiday home so we could own a piece of this beautiful island. We now have three children and love to come and visit the island as often as we can, spending our time relaxing on the local, deserted beaches, just us, the sea and the peace and quiet. We always return home feeling completely relaxed.

Jo Kirk purchased this house in 2007

Why Jo Kirk chose Malonas

We loved Malona when we visited, enjoying the peace and quiet and the friendliness of the locals. Haraki is also a lovely peaceful resort that doesn't get over crowded even in the high season months of July and August. The backdrop of Malona and the surrounding mountains are beautiful.


Malonas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet
  • fully tiled and recently refurbished wet room with shower, wash basin and WC
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size bed, large double wardrobe and dressing table A fold-away camp bed is available, which is suitable for a child or young teenager. Air Conditioning is provided for added comfort.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Terrace
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
we would request that guest refrain from smoking inside the house, they are welcome to do so in the courtyard/terrace.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
42% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Traditional Stone built cottage, quiet village, perfect for couple
average rating of 4.4848485 based on 33 reviews

Not for us

  • 2 of 5

Would probably be ok for a weekend or a few days at the most.

Location in the village is fine, but difficult for parking. The village itself is traditional rather than a tourist trap, nothing much to see or do & rather neglected in places with just a couple of small shops & one taverna that we never saw anyone using, so never used either. On the positive side it is only 10-15 minutes drive to some nice beaches & better equipped towns/villages.

The house is ok, stays quite cool but in need of some tlc & a good spring clean. I'm not sure that stained sheets & dirty pillows is the best way to welcome visitors & there is little by way of comfort here, not even a soft cushion or two, so the outside terrace went unused which is a shame as it could be a great space. But there is no shade, & just a hard concrete shelf to sit on or a plastic table & chairs that are well past their best.

There is NO INTERNET on the premises. Upon querying this with the caretaker, we were advised to 'share' the wi-fi from a couple of houses along. To do so required that we either stood in the street or out on the roof terrace where we could occasionally connect to a very weak signal. Not acceptable in today's world.

There is no TV either, just a tiny monitor connected to a dvd player & a very limited selection of only very old war films or tired 80’s sit-coms. Plenty of books though.

Dining in (as the terrace was unusable) means sitting in the entrance hall right outside the toilet. Not ideal but if you leave the front door open it's almost dining out I suppose & we got used to it.

All in all it wasn't what we expected from the descriptions given. It was reasonably cheap but felt more so which is a shame as it has far more potential.

I would definitely go back to Rhodes, but unfortunately not here.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your review and we are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay and the house was not suitable for your needs. we are also saddened that you didnt read the property description properly. As detailed this is an old house (nearly 100 years old) in a quiet village so your correct, there isn't much going on, but the taverna serves lovely food so its a shame you didn't try it. The villagers are also very friendy if you venture out to visit the bar or bakery. We are also sorry you weren't happy with the cleanliness, but the sheets are all freshly laundered and if you had mentioned your concerns to Martin he would have been happy to have chnaged them for a further fresh ones. the property was also freshly painted at the beginning of the season and is cleaned before and after guests have stayed. we are also sorry you had problems with the internet, admittedly it not superfast and can be unreliable (which is why it is offered as a complimentary service) but we are responding to this message using the internet in the lounge of the house with no problems. with regards the lack of TV we choose not to have this in the property as we come away to excape from the hussle and bussle of normal life. this is also why the property is priced as it is. again we are sorry you didn't enjoy your time here and hope next time you find somewhere more suitable for your needs. best wishes Jo and Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A nice little property for two

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a lovely weeks holiday. Martin met us at the home ,there was milk,tea,biscuits etc for us which was really appreciated as it was late at night when we arrived. There was everything we needed in the house and it was very clean. It was good to live in a little village among the friendly Greeks. You do need a car to get about, but we have been to that area before and we’re aware of that. Haraki is only 5k away and is a lovely quiet beach and good for swimming ,eating etc. The house was not easy to find in the dark even with the direction we were given but it was good we had Martin’s phone no as we needed it. Great holiday and hope to go back there

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. we hope you choose to stay with us again. best wishes jo and ian
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Brilliant little house, very well equipped and excellent location for sight-seeing

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely holiday in this little house, central location for exploring all of Rhodes. Would say that hire car is a must as we had hoped to use local public transport but this was not realistic. The local's are so friendly, a definite for those who want a more true Greek holiday. Big thank you to Martin who looked after us so well.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Little nice house in a quite village

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this beautiful house in Malonas for 14 days with 4 persons. We got this tip from our daughter, who stayed there with her husband last summer (2 persons). It was wonderful to have such a quite sleeping place and Martin (the manager in Malonas) was available, whenever we needed him. The kitchen was good arranged for all meals for 4 persons - enough dishes and grocery. Unfortunately, it was very hot, so we didn't cook very much. There are air conditioners on both floors, so you can sleep with an average temperature. Sadly, all the precious flowers and plants in front of the front door aren't there anymore. So the flair isn't what it was before... When we stayed there, it was very hot, so we just could use it in the late evening and night. At this time we could see the beautiful sky with lots of stars. To find a parking place was no problem. In Malonas all was available, a bakery, pharmacy, little supermarket, restaurants. The next beach side (Agathi beach) was just a few kilometres away - with wonderful golden sand. I would recommend this house to friends or relatives - all was fine.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the island of Rhodes. Thank you for choosing to stay at our house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect village home

  • 5 of 5

Very positive stay! The home was much perfect for four people (two small children) and the kitchen well equipped. We had dinner on the terrace every evening and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the fantastic sites and beaches very nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you had a lovely holiday. Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our house.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely character property in traditional village setting.

  • 4 of 5

The perfect base from which to explore the island.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed staying at our house and enjoyed you time in Rhodes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Rhodes Diagoras International
Nearest Ferry
40 Kilometres
Rhodes Town
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Agathi Beach (Golden Sands) and Haraki Beach
Car: recommended

The village of Malona is situated on the east coast of Rhodes where many beautiful beaches can be found. As an active traditional agricultural village it is surrounded by orange, manderin and olive groves. With footpaths leading from the village into the surrounding forests and hills the village is ideally located for those interested in walking and experiencing the beautiful surroundings.

There are a number of eateries to be found in Malona and the neighbouring village of Masari. Within the village are several small mini-markets, a chemist and a butchers. The local post office runs from one of the cafes in the square and fresh fruit and fish are sold from vans visiting daily.

Just 5 minutes drive lies the beautiful beach of Agathi, a sheltered beach with aqua blue waters and the port of Haraki which boasts a number of cafeterias, bars and tavernas.

Other Activities: waterpark


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

These prices are for a minimum of 1 week. Shorter breaks are available. Please contact us for prices.
Change over days are usually Wednesday and Saturday, coinciding with flights from the UK, however this is flexible and other days of the week are possible depending on the time of year and availability. Reservations can be held for up to 3 days to allow for the booking of flights. A 20% deposit is

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties