Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Silverbourne: 3BR, 3BA Silverthorne Condo with Mountain & River Views

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 8

The Blue River runs through the backyard of this new 3BR, 3BA Silverthorne condo (sleeps 8). With skiing, fishing, and outlet shopping nearby, SilverBourne is the perfect mountain retreat. Hit the slopes or explore neighboring towns via free bus service!

INSIDE THE HOUSE

Drop your gear in the convenient ground-level ski and bike storage, and climb to the 2nd-floor entrance of this brand new end-unit condo. Inside, a tiled hallway leads past the washer and dryer and into a bright open-concept kitchen, living and dining area. The space is warm and inviting with modern dark wood trim, high-vaulted ceilings and radiant heat in the hardwood floors.

On your right, a tiled kitchen boasts granite countertops and a full suite of stainless steel appliances, including an oven and 4-burner gas range with center griddle. Sip morning coffee at a large breakfast bar with cushioned stools for 4, or enjoy a full meal at a wooden dining table with 6 sleek leather chairs.

Beyond the kitchen/dining area, up to 6 can sit comfortably on a leather sectional and warm up by the gas fireplace after a day on the mountain. Catch up on your favorite TV shows or movies from the 60” flat-screen TV mounted on the wall above.

You can take in the beauty of the majestic mountains without even leaving home. A back door leads to a private balcony perched above the rolling Blue River, with breathtaking views of the surrounding snow-capped range.

Left of the living area is a guest bedroom with a king bed, large closet, and modern rustic furnishings. Next door, a shared bathroom includes a single vanity with granite countertops and a tub and shower combination.

Further on the left, retreat to a private master suite with a king bed, a walk-in closet, and a wooden chest and dresser. An en-suite master bathroom features a double vanity with dark granite countertops, and a separate area for the toilet and glass walk-in shower.

Head up a staircase near the front entrance to find a 3rd guest bedroom with 2 queen beds, a 46” flat-screen TV, a spacious closet and bright windows overlooking the river below. An en-suite bathroom features a single vanity, granite countertops, and a tub and shower combination.

OUR LOCATION

Discover the great outdoors from this modern condo in the heart of Silverthorne. Enjoy leisurely fishing along the bank of the Blue River in your own backyard.

Visit world-renowned ski resorts including Araphoe Basin (20 minutes), Keystone (15 minutes) and Breckenridge (25 minutes) for an action-packed day on the slopes, or meander through neighboring mountain towns – both accessible via free bus service across the street.

Shop to your heart’s content at the Silverthorne Outlet Mall, just 1 mile down the road. Then, head over to Red Buffalo Coffee, a half-mile from home, to sip hot chocolate and watch snow fall from a cozy cafe window.

Please note that Rainbow Run is a quiet community.

THE TURNKEY ADVANTAGE

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of home with a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens.

And we make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help.

All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection policy.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018

Amenities

Willow Grove Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 2 King beds, 2 Queen beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • recreation center
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
20% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Silverbourne: 3BR, 3BA Silverthorne Condo with Mountain & River Views
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 15 reviews
Phoenix, AZ
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This place "feels" very similar to the photos; it was very nice. I would 100% stay here again. Everything was new, clean and they had pretty much everything we thought of (baby gate, crock pot, board games, etc). But there were negatives: Beds were VERY firm, internet didn't work (I called "Turnkey" as instructed and got it to kind of work), got shocked EVERY time (100%) we used the light outlets upstairs (and a couple times in the downstairs bedrooms). Also, we didn't have a downstairs neighbor, but the whole building shakes just walking normal. There are signs up in a couple places to "walk quietly" - seems ridiculous, and something that should be fixed. We had kids and it was 100% clear if we would have had downstairs neighbors they wouldn't have been happy. Also, because of the thin separation between units our unit got VERY hot. It was 4-14 degrees out the whole trip and we had to make sure the heater stayed completely off because it got so hot... (at one point the thermostat said it was 76 degrees. We had to leave a window/ door open most of the time. (I'm guessing the heat from downstairs is reaching the upstairs unit). Again, wrote a lot about the negatives, but the place itself was great, beautiful, right next to the river, and a small field my kids could play in. I would definately stay here again, but I would try to check to make sure we didn't have downstairs neighbors (if that's possible).

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hello Evan, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us assure you we will follow-up on the issues you mentioned and will make any corrections if needed. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Highlands Ranch, CO
5

Loved it, loved it, loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great stay here! You truly get the best of both worlds (city and mountain getaway) here through the great location. Walk out the front door and face the city (convenience to shops, restaurants, Target, etc.) but open the back door to see and hear a beautiful rushing river backing to the mountains. The home was really clean and well kept and it was very easy for us to get settled in and be comfortable. We would definitely recommend this spot to others and will be returning as well!

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Northlake, TX
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Very nice updated condo with a great location just off main road in Silverthorne.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flower Mound, TX
3

Silverbourne

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The condo was in a convenient location with comfortable furnishings. The river running behind the condo is beautiful. The kitchen and bathrooms were well stocked. My husband and I stayed here with our 4 children (ages 3, 7, 11, and 14) and my parents. I would not recommend this rental due to the rather strict noise requirements. Signs are posted throughout the condo asking you to take off your shoes at the door and reminding you that this rental is located in a "quiet community." We took our shoes off at the door and reminded our children to not run in the condo. Honestly, the kids were so tired after a day of skiing that they mostly watched TV in the condo. Despite these precautions and our consideration of the downstairs' neighbor, we still received a noise complaint about how the "running" in the condo was a safety hazard and extremely inconsiderate. If the amount of noise that our feet made did create a noise disturbance, then there may be insufficient noise insulation between the upper and lower level condos. The other issue that we had was with the hot water. My parents had no hot water in the condo for five hours one day while the rest of us were skiing. My parents called the maintenance employee who eventually told them that this sometimes happens in the condo due to the way that the heating system is designed and that they would just have to wait for the hot water to come back on.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi Tammy, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration with the issues you encountered during your stay. With regards to the signs posted throughout the home, please understand that these reminders have been put in place to ensure we are being good neighbors to those around us. That being said, we are sorry if the noise complaint you received was in error. Please know that our local Field Operations Team has also followed up on the hot water problem and obtained the necessary contact information for the building manager should this issue happen to reoccur. Here at TurnKey, your feedback is highly valued, and we try our best to make things right in any way we can so that our guests know that our priority is their ultimate satisfaction. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
winnfield, LA
3

Very nice

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This place was very clean upon arrival. It is very spacious which make for an extremely comfortable stay.The beds were nice and the furniture was fantastic and so was the gas fireplace.The location is perfect! 20 miles from at least 5 ski resorts! Extremely quiet and we loved the river being in the back yard! We cracked the windows and listened to the river roar! Outta this world!!! Now for the cons. There are 3 bathrooms with only 2-3 towels and washcloths each. We literally had to wash everyday. Only found 1 dish towel and 0 dish rags. All the towel and rag washing was aggravating. Lastly, I've never been an in the house animal person. I certainly wouldn't travel with one, for any reason, but either the owner or the neighbor turned us into TurnKey for having an animal inside the condo and they called us on the third day there. This is enough for me to not recommend this place!! I hate being lied on or to. Don't know if someone was trying to keep a deposit or get us removed, but it was enough for me to want to leave and get a return if I could. I've used HomeAway several times, but if I have another experience like this, I will definitely look elsewhere. This is why the low rating. All in all we enjoyed the stay, but I will not recommend it because of the washing and the lieing animal call.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi James, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize if some inconveniences occurred and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please be assured our local Field Operations Team will make sure additional towels are added to the bathrooms and kitchen. With regards to the animal that was reported in the home, TurnKey follows up on all policy violations to protect our properties and ensure that we are being good neighbors to those around us. That being said, we do apologize if the notice you received was in error. You were perfect guests, and we appreciate you taking care of our place as if it were your own. We would love another opportunity to show you how truly dedicated our entire staff is about helping guests plan and thoroughly enjoy their vacation stays with us! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
,
4

Review

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It was all super nice! My only complaint is the dog hair in the rugs and in the condo some. I know they did a good job cleaning, but you can’t get rid of all the dog hair. For hat reason, I’m not sure we’d stay there again :(

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hi Nikki, Thank you so much for the review, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our place. That being said, we do apologize for the dog hair you found in the home and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please know that we are following up with our Housekeeping Team to address this feedback and will make sure all hair is entirely removed from the home. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.

You might like these similar properties