Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Reykjavik's City Center quiet but in the heart of town next to Hallgrimskirkja! - Guesthouse leifsgata 25 - grand apartment

Bedrooms 6
Half Baths1
Space 1,722 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights



Guesthouse leifsgata 25 - grand apartment

The grand apartment is three floors (2nd, 3rd and 4th) and sleeps 9 people.

On the first floor there is the living room, the dining room, little toilet, the kitchen and balcony with the possibility to barbecue.

The second floor is one twin bedroom (2x 90) with balcony and lovely view to the Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja church, one double room (140 cm), two single room (90 + 120cm). Bathroom with bath/shower. Laundry room with washing maschine and dryer.

The third floor:

One room w double bed (180 cm) and one room w childrens bed (80 cm) + balcony.

The kitchen has all basic facilities. It is possible to ask for special beds for small children. Access to internet included.

Your hostess Thórey is a certified Icelandic tourist-guide and she will be happy to help you organise your travelling or give you advice according to your interests.

More Details

About the property

Apartments@Leifsgata 25

The Grande apartment is 3 floors and sleeps 9. The first floor: living room, dining room, little WC, kitchen, balcony, and barbecue. 2nd floor: master bedroom (2 beds 2x90cm) with balcony and lovely view to the Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja church, 1 double room (bed 140 cm) 2 single rooms (1x90cm 1x120cm), laundry room and bathroom with bathtub/shower. 3rd floor: 1 double room (1x180cm) 1 single room (90cm) and balconies. Access to internet incl.

The Studio is separate from the main building. The red door. Competely private, fully equipped, sleeps 1-4.

Your hostess Thórey is a certified Icelandic tourist-guide and she will be happy to give you advice according to your interests. From Reykjavík it is easy to do interesting day tours. We are only 40min away from the famous Blue-Lagoon and the Airport, Thingvellir, the site of the old parliament is 50 min away, Gullfoss and Geysir 90 min, Snaefellsjökull (from Jules Verne's Journey to the center of the earth 3 hr drive.

More Details

Thorey Sigthorsdottir
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english, german, swedish, danish, Icelandic
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 19, 2018

About Thorey Sigthorsdottir

I am an actress, voice coach and tour-guide. A typical Icelander that does has many various jobs. In the summer I enjoy looking at my beautiful country through the eyes of the visitor enjoying the possibility to see it over and over again with fresh look. In the winter time the arts take over my time. I work in the theatre or training people's skill. Both public speaking, the voice and theatre. I love personal development, theatre, yoga, traveling and swimming in the sea. I have just started re-training sea swimming. If you like that the perfect place to go is Nautholsvik, a free venue in the summer with yellow sandy beach, hot jacuzzy, sauna and good access to the sea. Partly a lagoon heated with geo-thermal water.

Thorey Sigthorsdottir purchased this apartment in 2002

Why Thorey Sigthorsdottir chose Norðurmýri

This apartment is so unique I fell in love with it since it has such a big character. Many different rooms reminded me of my years in London living in a typical British semi-detached house except this one is on the 2nd floor. A wonderful family house with a story. The last land-post had in Iceland had his farm here and his widow built the house after he died. Very near the city center, the street looking at the behind of Hallgrimskirkja church a lovely angle, making the street very grand. I live here with my 14 year old son and in the winter I have University students as tenants. When I am on the road taking tourists around Iceland in the summer I rent the apartment to tourists.

What makes this apartment unique

What is so great about this location is that is only 10-20 min walk away from the City Center but on the quiet side. There is a swimming pool just around the corner, nice restaurants nearby . All in walking distance. Easy bus connection in all direction. I chose to live here since from here I don't need to depend on the car to get around. I can walk, bike or take the bus wherever I need to. And I have private parking place for my car when I don't need it. That in this area is a luxury.

There are several food shops n walking distance as well as café's and restaurants.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


4-8 person - Price for one night for 1st and 2nd floor = 200 EUR / one week 1.330 EUR
8-10 person - Price for one night for 1st and 2nd and 3rd floor = 270 EUR / one week 1.850 EUR

All prices are final and include all taxes (11% VAT and stat tax 0,71 EUR pr night pr Unit ).
Internet, towels and linen included.


Norðurmýri Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1722 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 twin/ single , child bed on demand.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 140 cm tempur bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Two 90 cm, can be used as one. Child bed/cot on demand.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 120 cm bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 child bed , 80cm child bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king , 180 cm tempur bed
  • The accommodation is two floors (2nd and 3rd). On the first floor there is the living room, the dining room, little toilet, the kitchen and balcony with the possibility to barbecue. The second floor is master bedroom with balcony and lovely view to the Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja church, one double room and two single room. The third floor is on bedroom with double bed and balconies. Laundry room and a bathroom with a shower and a bathtub. The kitchen has all basic facilities. It is possible to ask for special beds for small children. Access to internet is included.
  • Books
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck Furniture
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
The apartment is on 2 floors, the 2nd and 3rd so it is not an easy access for infirm.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

67% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Guesthouse leifsgata 25 - grand apartment
average rating of 4.428571 based on 28 reviews

Very convenient. Big apartment for our group. Much character and the piano was even in tune

  • 5 of 5

Nice place

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but there were problems

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in the apartment for a week, there were 10 of us, including 5 children. This apartment is spacious and the location is excellent, I will give this apartment 5 stars for that. The bedrooms were adequate and the beds were comfortable and it had a lovely dining room. However, there were problems. The kitchen was poorly stocked, I had to borrow pots and casserole dishes for cooking. All the knives were so dull that we had a problem with cutting an apple, so it made preparing food in the kitchen difficult. The trash situation was difficult, there were 3 trash cans in the driveway for everybody to use in this building, they were overflowing when we arrived and did not get emptied until the day before we left. There were no instructions on how the appliances work, not living in Iceland we did not know that dryers in apartments have water tanks that need to be emptied, apparently, it was full when we tried to dry our clothes. It would be helpful to have an extra set of keys. This apartment needs a thorough cleaning. There was work being done on the outside of the building, and because of that the front and the back yards were not available for us to use. Overall the outside of the building was in poor shape.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location, Beautiful Apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment is right down the street from Hallgrímskirkja, it's easy to walk into downtown and see everything, and there's several bus stops quite nearby for if you're going further. The apartment was cute and wonderful, it felt like "home". I love the colorful walls, the artwork, and the plants. The beds were very comfortable. The bedrooms were small but they have great wardrobe closets for storing all your stuff. It was clean and neat and had a ton of personality- definitely did not feel like your typical vacation rental! I still think fondly of this apartment, and next time I go to Reykjavik, I will stay here!

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful! Thank you! It warms my heart to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of my home :) And the beds of course (essential) and the practicality of the location. Be welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Eden Prairie, Minnesota

Great Place, Excellent Location.

  • 5 of 5

Thank you Thorey, for opening your home to us.

We had a fantastic vacation in Iceland. The rental property was in the perfect location in Reykjavik. We were walking distance from everything essential (grocery stores, down town etc.) The layout was great, plenty of bedrooms (for our extended family), the kitchen was well equipped and the living area had plenty of space to sprawl.

The neighborhood was very quaint and easy to get around (especially if you have Google maps :) )

We would absolutely stay there again if given the opportunity.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely words. I am happy that you enjoyed the staying at my home and that it fulfilled your needs. Be very welcome back anytime if you are ever in Iceland again :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Hall and stairs to apt, smelled awful (cats urine)

  • 1 of 5

Entrance to apt. was dirty with an overpowering smell of cat urine. This smell was on the stairs and we couldn't leave the apt. door open to bring in groceries it was that bad. Cat feces on front entrance steps greeted us on our arrival. First impressions were poor. The apt. also needed a good cleaning and dusting. The bathroom was big but very old, cracked sink, rusted bath, avocado in colour and has seen plenty of use. No curtains or blinds on one of the bedroom windows. Although we had to pay in advance for cleaning we were disappointed that it was not clean and would not stay there again. On a positive note the beds were comfortable and clean bed linen was left for us to put on the beds although the pillows were old. Plenty of towels left for us to use. It was spacious enough for 8 adults. Close to town centre.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review my apartment. We always want to try and do better for our guests if possible. I am glad to hear that the beds were comfortable, that is something I always appreciate when I am traveling myself. Regarding the smell in the hallway there was an unfortunate incident with the neighbor's cat. I am sorry that you had to experience it but for future reference this is something we have taken care of and cleaned thoroughly. That the apartment was not very clean in general must be a one off since we have always had good people there and gotten good reviews regarding the cleanliness. So I am again very sorry that you had to experience that and most certainly it won't happen again, that will be taken care of. Even if the house is not new this is something we want to keep in good standard so thank you for pointing out if it wasn't. Also for future reference it is always good to get response immediately, for example with the smell on your arrival. If noted we can react and make things better given the opportunity. The pillows will be replaced with new ones e.g. Thank you also for pointing out the good location of the apartment, in the city center and a good choice for people that don't want to have to rely on the car since everything is in walking distance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Washington DC

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Great private space in the heart of the city.. Easy walking to a lot of shops and restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Great having you! We do feel that we are in the heart of everything hear but still it nice and quiet. Be welcome back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
42 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Car: not necessary

Guesthouse@ Leifsgata25 is located at the very center of Reykjavík, next to Hallgrimskirkja church, everything is in walking distance or easy access by bus. Geothermal pools indoors and outdoors, Perlan, Zoo and family park with all domestic animals of Iceland. 5 min to the main shopping street Laugavegur and Skólavördustigur for Icelandic design. Or the great variety of café's and restaurant to be found in the city center, all offering good quality food, fresh fish and the Icelandic lamb meet known for it's supreme taste, due to the sheep being kept in the wilderness of interiors of Iceland. From here the center, it is easy to plan a variety of day tours, 30min to the National Park at Thingvellir, The Golden Circle including Gullfoss and Geysir, 40 min to the Blue Lagoon, Snæfellsnes Peninsula, hiking. The main Bus station for day tours is 10 min away or you can rent a car and plan your own excursion with the help of your hostess Thorey who is a certified Icelandic tourist guide.

Other Activities: Zoo & Family Park, Geothermal swimming pools.


You might like these similar properties